Meath v Kildare Semi-final

Replying To meath1977:  "oh bring back mick o dowd your some muppet Paul USA"
At least Micko gave us the odd good half! Maybe Banty II should spend less time commenting on the Dubs and more on a defensive plan.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 17/06/2017 23:19:57    2000836

Replying To SS6:  "First time in a long time royaldunne isn't on here straight after the game talking brown stuff,

This will show you how good MOD was, at least he had them playing good for one half,

This lad has them playing bad for both halfs and still starting his son"
good name for yourself ss6 because you talk SHIT

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 17/06/2017 23:20:40    2000840

Replying To royaldunne:  "I see a few of the usual suspects trying to put the boot into graham Reilly, classy.
He was marked out of game. Simple. He came up against his match. No shame in that. Kept going. Eamonn Wallace is not inter county standard, McMahon didn't look interested
I could pick 12 Meath players who didn't or weren't allowed to play today. Graham among them, keoghan had a bad game as did jones , lenihan wasn't at all as good as he has shown, Tobin and Burke were cleaned out in backs , best player was menton. O'Sullivan did plenty of running with the ball, his finish was shocking and gave ball away more often than not,
Relax the heads. Andy is a fantastic manager, the lads didn't perform today, btw we can't draw mayo, Tyrone or Donegal so please less of the we gone after next game. Regroup, refocus. And above all keep supporting.
Hon the Royal."
I take your point on a lot of the mentioned, but how could you say Mickey Burke got cleaned?? Niall Kelly was very quiet for his standards, possibly scoreless? Burke was centre back in most of game.
Menton to be fair really stood up today and played well.
I know biggy was marked out of it,and don't get me wrong,think he is a super player, but I don't buy it as a reason to be found wanting just because he's been marked tightly. We need him to stand up and be counted,he is our best forward. Think that's the difference between biggy and the top top inter county players. The Micheal Murphy's, Conor McManuss and cillian o Connors of the game, find a way to get playing football when the going gets tough

tackleberry (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 17/06/2017 23:21:48    2000842

Replying To royaldunne:  "I see a few of the usual suspects trying to put the boot into graham Reilly, classy.
He was marked out of game. Simple. He came up against his match. No shame in that. Kept going. Eamonn Wallace is not inter county standard, McMahon didn't look interested
I could pick 12 Meath players who didn't or weren't allowed to play today. Graham among them, keoghan had a bad game as did jones , lenihan wasn't at all as good as he has shown, Tobin and Burke were cleaned out in backs , best player was menton. O'Sullivan did plenty of running with the ball, his finish was shocking and gave ball away more often than not,
Relax the heads. Andy is a fantastic manager, the lads didn't perform today, btw we can't draw mayo, Tyrone or Donegal so please less of the we gone after next game. Regroup, refocus. And above all keep supporting.
Hon the Royal."
I dunno I thought lenihan done well with the brutal supply. He had a couple of bad wides in the second half that I think were due to frustration.
Wouldn't be too hard on Burke either, he was trying to plug holes in a sinking ship.
Wallace and tobin, I completely agree. Was surprised to see Wallace last till half time.

Biggy wasn't near 100% tonight for whatever reason. That's the first time I've ever been at a game where he has not had a single shot. Yet he has the opportunity to shoot on several occasions from well within his range. Made no sense to me.

Conlon showed drive when he came on and o'cuillean was very good. Harnan was probably the pick of the backs.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 17/06/2017 23:22:49    2000845

Hon the Royal."
Have always been a fan of Reilly but do not agree he was marked out of game, had a few good options to shoot but laid off ball to player in worse position, his head went down in first half and he never recovered. As you said not they only one, but we really needed him to bring the fight to Kildare or at least try to.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 17/06/2017 23:24:02    2000847

Hon the Royal."
Get the boot in? Proved correct more like it ! You were on here proclaiming his greatness against Louth remember it works both ways !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 17/06/2017 23:24:44    2000849

Unless we get to a q/final or better, which is hard to know at this stage... Then we will have go three full years without winning a game in croke Park. Is that a first for us?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 17/06/2017 23:26:16    2000850

Hon the Royal."
While I do agree with some of your specific points the continued adulation of Andy is very tiresome to read.

Andy did not come out of this game well. 3 goals and 2 other decent goal chances conceded against Louth and Andy picks the same team against a much better team (though if you were to read some here they didnt rate Kildare. Yet Andy picked exactly the same team as played Louth.

We didnt get a goal in either game and didnt come close to scoring today. I was full of praise for Ronan Jones and 100% it was right to statr him, however it was obvious after 20 minutes that he was totally out of his depth yet it was, what, about 40/45 minutes before he was hauled ashore.

I am beginning to think that Cillian O'Sullivan is the most overrated player in Meath, he really tried his best but goes nowhere most of the time and loses possessions far too frequently.

I dont blame Andy for the defeat as the players do not look to be there but he made mistakes tonight and the point about overdoing the warm up is also a good one. All in all, Kildare looked much better prepared than Meath and the gap has widened between the two teams.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 17/06/2017 23:27:01    2000852

If Andy is such a fantastic manager RoyalDunne what on earth was his gameplan today? Playing one player in the FF line for the whole second half was bemusing. It's a sad period for Meath football when Kildare humiliate us twice in the one year

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 17/06/2017 23:32:08    2000857

Replying To meath1977:  "you are disgraceful comeing on here with your bull, who said it won't take time to build these players , it's great to jump on people when they are down and the same fools will clap them if they win. the sunny day supporters. com"
What are you on about - I never mentioned one thing about whether it will take time or not to build this team. What happened in Tullamore today was downright embarrassing. The lack of fight shown by the Meath players was unbelievable and I'm still bewildered as to what Meath's gameplan was. Maybe you with your superior knowledge of Meath football could shedsome light on this for all of us.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 17/06/2017 23:38:59    2000863

Hon the Royal."
Ah, so not a single person can criticize Biggy when he goes missing in a big game but you get carte blanche to "put the boot in" to other players? Fact is, if Biggy is a truly great player (and he can be) he simply should not get marked out of big games like this evening.
Fact is, regardless of how good Andy is a manager (and I do think he is a good manager), the players simply are not there. If it was 12 months ago and this evening's performance was produced under MOD, you would be spitting feathers. At least have the decency to admit that! Now though, you sound like Comical Ali saying everything is fine even though we've been trounced by Kildare in two games this season.

On today's game, COS I think just got completely frustrated and tried to do everything himself. He was one of the few that actually gave 100% until he went off injured. I don't know what we were playing at with our full forward line to be honest. Our half forward line was completely non existent and hail Mary balls were played into Lenehan and McMahon giving them no chance. Kildare always had two or three players free to mop up the ball.

Kildare were good but I think Andy has to take at least some of the blame for that result today.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 17/06/2017 23:39:32    2000866

It was a long drive home from tullamore.yea totally rite no support from o sullivans runs.a lot of big headaches in that meath camp once AGAIN .

condae99 (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 17/06/2017 23:43:34    2000868

Yea there rite digging into biggy .he is the captain he didnt look interested today .he has done this the last few years .flying against the poor teams .I wish them the best in the qualifiers.mcentee is a good manager .its going to take a long time to get things rite and being consistant.as alan brogan said meath have dissapeared since sean boylan has being gone.

condae99 (Meath) - Posts: 34 - 17/06/2017 23:52:00    2000871

Hon the Royal."
So what your saying is everyone was poor except biggy because he was marked out of the game.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 17/06/2017 23:56:31    2000874

There was an element of being outclassed pure and simple by the better team. But I think on another day our lads could have done much better. Kildare were wide open at times, and we just didn't seem to have the confidence to go at them. I did feel we were a wee bit over-hyped by the media coming into this match, but on the flip side.. we are a much better side than we showed today. We played within ourselves. Graham Reilly typified that sort of performance. He Just didn't show up. As for Kildare, I was hugely impressed by Feely today. They totally bossed us in midfield, even when we won possession , more often than not it was scrappy and we lost it soon after. When Kildare won it, they had the time and the space to set up attack after attack., credit goes to Feely in particular for that. Until we get a similar type of player to compete with the best midfielders on a regular basis we will always struggle. Its an old failing, lets face it. the last top class midfielder we had was McDermott.

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 18/06/2017 00:10:23    2000881

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "While I do agree with some of your specific points the continued adulation of Andy is very tiresome to read.

Andy did not come out of this game well. 3 goals and 2 other decent goal chances conceded against Louth and Andy picks the same team against a much better team (though if you were to read some here they didnt rate Kildare. Yet Andy picked exactly the same team as played Louth.

We didnt get a goal in either game and didnt come close to scoring today. I was full of praise for Ronan Jones and 100% it was right to statr him, however it was obvious after 20 minutes that he was totally out of his depth yet it was, what, about 40/45 minutes before he was hauled ashore.

I am beginning to think that Cillian O'Sullivan is the most overrated player in Meath, he really tried his best but goes nowhere most of the time and loses possessions far too frequently.

I dont blame Andy for the defeat as the players do not look to be there but he made mistakes tonight and the point about overdoing the warm up is also a good one. All in all, Kildare looked much better prepared than Meath and the gap has widened between the two teams."
always thought cillian is more suited at wing forward.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2017 00:18:16    2000886

Replying To RoylerKing:  "If Andy is such a fantastic manager RoyalDunne what on earth was his gameplan today? Playing one player in the FF line for the whole second half was bemusing. It's a sad period for Meath football when Kildare humiliate us twice in the one year"
I'm sure the plan was the exact same as the plan was against Louth.. It worked great against Louth, lots of support runners running off the shoulder at angles into the space and kicking lovely points.. Today the runs weren't there, and the whole thing fell apart and turned into an omnishambles. So you end up with one lad in the forward line and nothing happening.... Meath looked gassed. I coudln't believe the difference. Against louth graham reilly collected the ball in the middle, turned his man, and put ten yards on the poor sod, while soloing the ball .. Today,, a couple of times , Kildare defenders sprinted away from him WITH the ball and made him look like an oul fella who just had a hip replacement. Reilly is a better footballer than that, he just didnt show it today. Along with most of his team-mates.

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 18/06/2017 00:22:19    2000888

Replying To condae99:  "Yea there rite digging into biggy .he is the captain he didnt look interested today .he has done this the last few years .flying against the poor teams .I wish them the best in the qualifiers.mcentee is a good manager .its going to take a long time to get things rite and being consistant.as alan brogan said meath have dissapeared since sean boylan has being gone."
Why are you listening to that dub.. I read that article, he conveniently airbrushed 2010 out of that narrative. They win a few of all irelands and think they are cock of the walk.. BAH!

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 18/06/2017 00:25:00    2000890

Replying To ziggy32001:  "always thought cillian is more suited at wing forward."
Agreed. I thought he put in a very good shift of work today tbh.. He spilled a few balls and ran into dead ends, but you could tell he was busting a gut... He had little help.

TobinsBeard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 18/06/2017 00:27:03    2000893

Replying To TobinsBeard:  "I'm sure the plan was the exact same as the plan was against Louth.. It worked great against Louth, lots of support runners running off the shoulder at angles into the space and kicking lovely points.. Today the runs weren't there, and the whole thing fell apart and turned into an omnishambles. So you end up with one lad in the forward line and nothing happening.... Meath looked gassed. I coudln't believe the difference. Against louth graham reilly collected the ball in the middle, turned his man, and put ten yards on the poor sod, while soloing the ball .. Today,, a couple of times , Kildare defenders sprinted away from him WITH the ball and made him look like an oul fella who just had a hip replacement. Reilly is a better footballer than that, he just didnt show it today. Along with most of his team-mates."
in a nutshell,support runs were poor today. hard to get my head around why that was the case.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 18/06/2017 00:28:37    2000895