Meath v Louth

Replying To Colin66:  "From a Louth man, rant and rave about Reilly's 7 points all you's want, but your real MOM was the number 9 today, he was quality, up there with the best in the country based on today's performance"
jones? ya good prospect without a doubt. thought mcmahon was brilliant today too.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2017 09:52:54    1994867

Overall, delighted to get the win. A number of big positives but we have to remember that Louth were two points up about 10 mins into the 2nd half. Man of the match for me was Ronan Jones with an outstanding debut performance. Biggy and Donal Lenihan were both superb and I thought McMahon was very effective at times. Also, Toher did well on the half forward line and is a great option for frees on the right hand side.
Another big positive was that the players heads never dropped and turned the game around and did enough to win quite easily in spite of the setbacks.

On a negative side, we gave up 6 goal chances. In addition to the 3 goals, Paddy made a superb save in the first half when Louth were through 1 on 1. On another occasion in the second half there was a Louth player free in front of goal and fumbled the ball. To be honest I am not certain of the reasons for this but losing McGill in from full-back really destabilised the full back line. Tobin was steady alright. I am sure that Andy & co will look closely again and decide what changes to make as that defensive performance wont cut the mustard against Kildare.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 05/06/2017 09:53:51    1994868

Was at the match yesterday. Ended up in the terrace behind the goal that Meath defended in the First half. Couple of observations I noticed while getting a good look at our defense. Micky Burke needs to work on his anticipation of when the ball is going to be delivered in. He was at fault for the first goal yesterday. He was marking his man with his back turned to play. The ball was kicked in and as he was turning to see where it was going his attacker had already left him. In fairness to Mickey he marks tightly but I don't think you can get away with just staring at your man and paying no attention to the delivery of the ball. In general I don't think we have a good defensive IQ. Paddy O'Rourke while Imposing and a great shot stopper is prone to some absolute clangers. One foot pass yesterday went straight into touch from about 30 yds not under any pressure.

I thought Gill defended well when he was on the pitch. Despite conceding a couple of inches against his opponent I thought he imposed himself fairly well physically and got a nice dispossession in at one stage. Him going off seem to unsettle things at the back.

I felt Louth fetched ball in the air better than us for most of the day. We are not a great team aerially and I would be worried about this going forward. All things considered you'd have to be fairly happy with that display. Fitness wise and conditioning wise we are on a different level to Louth. You could see the Meath players were packing bigger guns all around the pitch V their Louth opponents. If one of our early goal chances went in we could have strolled away with this one. I really can't split our selves and Kildare in the Semi. I have a feeling Kildare might be -1 in the handicap spread.

Coylesrighthand (Meath) - Posts: 11 - 05/06/2017 10:38:19    1994895

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Did Keoghan play better in the half back line or was he missed further back?"
Look Donal had a very good game at 6, but Andy swapped him and burke later on and there was no more goals, that I think says a lot. For me its a difficult one, our centre backs are better with him at 6 but our backs are weaker. Its one Andy has to work out, I dont envy him

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2017 11:51:15    1994924

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Overall, delighted to get the win. A number of big positives but we have to remember that Louth were two points up about 10 mins into the 2nd half. Man of the match for me was Ronan Jones with an outstanding debut performance. Biggy and Donal Lenihan were both superb and I thought McMahon was very effective at times. Also, Toher did well on the half forward line and is a great option for frees on the right hand side.
Another big positive was that the players heads never dropped and turned the game around and did enough to win quite easily in spite of the setbacks.

On a negative side, we gave up 6 goal chances. In addition to the 3 goals, Paddy made a superb save in the first half when Louth were through 1 on 1. On another occasion in the second half there was a Louth player free in front of goal and fumbled the ball. To be honest I am not certain of the reasons for this but losing McGill in from full-back really destabilised the full back line. Tobin was steady alright. I am sure that Andy & co will look closely again and decide what changes to make as that defensive performance wont cut the mustard against Kildare."
Good to hear you taught Jones was MOM for it was Biggie he showed leadership in the middle third of the game to score a few points when everyone else was giving the play away or blowing goals chances but that's just my opinion. I never really seen Jones before but I am exited by him he has massive future ahead. But I would'nt have giving him MOM in the first half himself and Menton where wiped out air. He was giving his man to much space on a few occasions. But that all changed in the last 20 Jones but in a massive last 20 with some really powerful runs he look really impressive he obviously super fit and it told last 20. I would worry about him and Menton winning ball against Kildare. Hopefully they can do the But its going to take one massive crow bar get him off that team now. keep it up Ronan.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 05/06/2017 12:17:01    1994941

Congrats to Meath yesterday. Biggy Reilly had some match. Disappointed with Louth yesterday but wee will still rally the Wee troops. Best of luck for the rest of the championship and I am really looking forward to the Meath/Kildare match. It is one of my fav fixtures in Leinster.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 05/06/2017 13:10:56    1994981

Replying To royaldunne:  "Totally different to last year, fitness was 100 % better, attitude better, sideline doing what a sideline should and giving instructions and direction all the time, no arms folded looking bewildered. To say it was like last year is the most ridiculous statement you could have said, oh and double the winning margin."
I think everyone was happy to the defeat of Louth last year RD so in that way I think it was similar, it's what came after that was the problem!
You always got the feeling that we'd had enough yesterday. Either way I hope you are correct in what you were saying earlier in the week, that the Louth game will be tricker than V Kildare. They certainly don't look a spent force based on yesterdays result.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 05/06/2017 18:00:39    1995146

Replying To pauk123:  "I think everyone was happy to the defeat of Louth last year RD so in that way I think it was similar, it's what came after that was the problem!
You always got the feeling that we'd had enough yesterday. Either way I hope you are correct in what you were saying earlier in the week, that the Louth game will be tricker than V Kildare. They certainly don't look a spent force based on yesterdays result."
Man for man I believe we have the overall better players. Our forwards are on fire (well 4 anyway) I dont fear Kildare one bit despite my bit of yarra yarra on main forum (cause Kildare believe all they have to do is show a white jersey to Meath). I really think we can annihilate them if we tighter at back. From 8 to 15 (included toher) the only one where Kildare would be ahead is on Wallace the rest are streets ahead.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2017 18:38:34    1995171

Replying To OLLIE:  "Congrats to Meath yesterday. Biggy Reilly had some match. Disappointed with Louth yesterday but wee will still rally the Wee troops. Best of luck for the rest of the championship and I am really looking forward to the Meath/Kildare match. It is one of my fav fixtures in Leinster."
I really hope you have a good run in qualifiers Ollie. Best regards for the remainder of the year. And keep the faith.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2017 18:50:44    1995179

Replying To OLLIE:  "Congrats to Meath yesterday. Biggy Reilly had some match. Disappointed with Louth yesterday but wee will still rally the Wee troops. Best of luck for the rest of the championship and I am really looking forward to the Meath/Kildare match. It is one of my fav fixtures in Leinster."
fair play to ye ollie!

best of luck.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2017 19:21:25    1995207

On a side note, does anyone else think McMahon shot off bar bounced over line, I thought it did, and got to say on sg last night it looked as though it did, doesn't make a difference but just wondering

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2017 20:22:49    1995231

Replying To royaldunne:  "On a side note, does anyone else think McMahon shot off bar bounced over line, I thought it did, and got to say on sg last night it looked as though it did, doesn't make a difference but just wondering"
not one the players complained so that tells its own story. thought the pen and black card was harsh though..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2017 20:34:45    1995237

Replying To ziggy32001:  "not one the players complained so that tells its own story. thought the pen and black card was harsh though.."
Yeah it was harsh, thought it was a bought penalty tbh, seemed to wrap his arm McGill arm and drag him with him

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/06/2017 21:13:56    1995256

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah it was harsh, thought it was a bought penalty tbh, seemed to wrap his arm McGill arm and drag him with him"
McGill was playing well too,had an effect on the defence when he went off.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2017 21:23:32    1995263

felt sorry for james mcentee. missed the champ last year and then gets injured in the warm-up.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/06/2017 21:27:52    1995267

Best of luck with it Ollie, I could never understand some of the hatred Louth fans had for Meath(even before big joe). I always hope Louth do well except against us of course. Delighted when yous got promoted and hopefully it will help yous improve over the coming years.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 05/06/2017 21:46:34    1995276

Well done to toher. I have to say I doubted him and after the crap with the hurlers and Andy dropping him for the first game of the champ he really stood up. Balls galore!

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 05/06/2017 21:47:11    1995278

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yeah it was harsh, thought it was a bought penalty tbh, seemed to wrap his arm McGill arm and drag him with him"
Should have been a blatant penalty just before that incident. D Tobin came in the back of the Louth player.

Modbantyeob (Meath) - Posts: 4 - 05/06/2017 23:20:39    1995317

I didnt think it was a penalty at the time and having seen it again in TV last night I certainly don't think it was a penalty and no black card either, thought McGill was having a stormer up to that point and his loss was certainly felt for the remainder of the match. Thought we had some lovely forward play yesterday, great running and quick hands were a joy to watch at times and the Mention/Toher/Jones trio done a power of work and impressed no end. That game had banana skin written all over it yet our response to adversity and mental strength were most encouraging as was our fitness and strength at the end, were making progress lads no doubt let's have patience now to see this progress flourish, I think a place in the last eight of the championship is a realistic and schievesble goal which would satisfy me for 2017

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/06/2017 00:13:17    1995338

A lot of positives to take, main ones for me being:

Biggy - 14 from play in his last two games? Absolute class, long may it last.

Ronan Jones - what a way to arrive on the county scene, at 20 years of age. Forgetting for a minute how good he can be, we were badly in need of a midfielder now. It was widely agreed after the Kildare game this was priority, I reckon we now have one.

Forwards - we are motoring really well as a unit here, 27 points is seriously impressive and showed our big scores in the league weren't a flash in the pan. We can give any team plenty to think about.

Fitness & character - if we had have gone 2 points down in the 2nd half in that fixture last year, we'd have been rightly worried, especially after dominating the game, but this team is showing something different, and that is down to Andy Mac.

dunboynelad (Meath) - Posts: 227 - 06/06/2017 01:41:40    1995350