Simonstown refusing to field

Replying To Maestro:  "A bit of coincidence that the other 2 Navan teams matches weren't FIXED for Saturday night....."
If they didn't field a team because of Mass, I have even less sympathy for them but I doubt that was the issue.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 09/05/2017 21:46:15    1985552

Replying To Maestro:  "I'll think you'll find no Navan team played Saturday night....."
Walterstown played Sat nite, and before you say they are not a Navan club, as far as I would be concerned they are

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 09/05/2017 22:35:47    1985562

Replying To Maestro:  "A bit of coincidence that the other 2 Navan teams matches weren't FIXED for Saturday night....."
So now it's some sort of a conspiracy against Simonstown...?

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 09/05/2017 23:53:44    1985571

Replying To Analyst:  "Walterstown played Sat nite, and before you say they are not a Navan club, as far as I would be concerned they are"
I was not aware that Walterstown has moved into Navan- when did this happen? Has Skryne and Tones moved as well?

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/05/2017 13:13:32    1985656

Replying To browncows:  "I was not aware that Walterstown has moved into Navan- when did this happen? Has Skryne and Tones moved as well?"
I would consider it Walterstown a Navan club, Johnstown is one of it's biggest catchment areas and that's considered Navan.

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 10/05/2017 15:06:24    1985710

Replying To Wedgie:  "I would consider it Walterstown a Navan club, Johnstown is one of it's biggest catchment areas and that's considered Navan."
well wedgie they themselves wouldnt consider themselves navan

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 10/05/2017 15:52:56    1985727

Replying To browncows:  "I was not aware that Walterstown has moved into Navan- when did this happen? Has Skryne and Tones moved as well?"
No walterstown hasn't moved but navan as a town has spread out. Johnstown navan and all that

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 10/05/2017 17:45:32    1985756

Is Bective a Navan club...?

Wedgie (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 10/05/2017 19:40:18    1985785

And would Blackhall be a Dunboyne club? Curraha an Ashbourne club etc?

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 10/05/2017 21:25:37    1985821

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "And would Blackhall be a Dunboyne club? Curraha an Ashbourne club etc?"
Not yet no. Bective is by all accounts a Navan club

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 10/05/2017 22:36:52    1985846

There are only two GAA football clubs in Navan :) at least in or in close proximity to the town itself. One for the townies and the other for town & country folk :)

Now if you were going by postal addresses, then there are many other clubs in "Navan". We're all from Navan (or just outside Navan) in the grand scheme of things. But at the same time, most of us are very proud of the rural (or non-urban) communities where we grew up, and so prefer to identify with same (where we can) than the nearest major town. Supporting the local GAA club/team is one way of doing so and making the distinction.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 10/05/2017 22:46:44    1985849

One of the senior powerhouses requested a switch of dates with another club for a league encounter which this junior club duly did. Some players had to switch shifts in order to accommodate the club in question. For whatever reasons known only to themselves it seems the bigger club did not contact the county board about the proposed switch. So it was poor form of the lowest order when this club decided that the original date once again suited them and informed the other club that the original date would stand. Having already made the changes to accommodate their fellow Gaels the smaller club quite rightly refused to field and as a result are down the points. Was this premier club in the county really that afraid of a junior club struggling at this level? All this will serve to do is leave this badly-stung club highly reluctant to ever accommodate another team in the future. Though in the true fashion of most Gaels I hope this will not be the case as I believe such incidents are more the exception than the norm.

emmet (None) - Posts: 33 - 11/05/2017 10:39:37    1985900

Replying To Wedgie:  "Is Bective a Navan club...?"
bective are considered navan for this discussion they were part of the mass with o'mahonys and simonstown

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 11/05/2017 10:57:24    1985905

Replying To royaldunne:  "I would be disgusted in either of my clubs doing anything similar. And I would hope they would be severely punished. Simonstown have acted stupidly and should be sanctioned appropriately. If this isvwhat has happened."
Acted stupid cause u said so.why should they b punished.just scrape the league so.tell me why 2 rounds of the championship have not been played yet.it's a disgrace not relasing players for league.pointless league with best players not allowed play.a joke but ts easier blame a team that makes a stand than look at the real offenders here

Kc77 (Meath) - Posts: 36 - 11/05/2017 18:45:35    1986040

Replying To Kc77:  "Acted stupid cause u said so.why should they b punished.just scrape the league so.tell me why 2 rounds of the championship have not been played yet.it's a disgrace not relasing players for league.pointless league with best players not allowed play.a joke but ts easier blame a team that makes a stand than look at the real offenders here"
Punished because if you don't field for scheduled fixture the other side gets a walk over, simple as

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 11/05/2017 22:04:49    1986080

I agree it doesn't reflect well on Simonstown in terms of not playing and how it looks on the team as they have a big squad. However, it has got people thinking and talking about the situation with county players being available for league games. This will also make the county board accountable and acknowledge that there is a huge issue as in the past clubs have complained year in, year out but know one has actually made a stand (to the best of my knowledge) and shone the light back onto the county board to do something about it.

rightthere (Meath) - Posts: 128 - 12/05/2017 10:31:14    1986131

If other teams decided not to play league games due to missing county players there would be up roar. Simonstown need to be hit with a heavy fine so that they don't do it again, points should be awarded to Na Fianna.
County champions should have a sufficient squad to deal with players missing through county commitments and injury etc...
Don't think they will do much this year with that mentality.

6Laps (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 12/05/2017 11:00:10    1986143

Replying To 6Laps:  "If other teams decided not to play league games due to missing county players there would be up roar. Simonstown need to be hit with a heavy fine so that they don't do it again, points should be awarded to Na Fianna.
County champions should have a sufficient squad to deal with players missing through county commitments and injury etc...
Don't think they will do much this year with that mentality."
the main issue i think simonstown had at least with the na fianna fixture is that the na fianna county players were released and the simonstowns werent. now not being from simonstown i can only imagine this is the case. to me its a fair point. why should one lot of county players be released and some not. i know there was a challenge the next day against cavan but club should come first. mcentee is going back on his word saying he'd make the swuad available to the clubs. compettitive a league games will stand more to the lads than half hearted challenge matches

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 12/05/2017 12:03:26    1986186

Replying To srgt_slaughter:  "the main issue i think simonstown had at least with the na fianna fixture is that the na fianna county players were released and the simonstowns werent. now not being from simonstown i can only imagine this is the case. to me its a fair point. why should one lot of county players be released and some not. i know there was a challenge the next day against cavan but club should come first. mcentee is going back on his word saying he'd make the swuad available to the clubs. compettitive a league games will stand more to the lads than half hearted challenge matches"
Who from Na Fianna is on county panel ?

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 12/05/2017 12:23:55    1986196

Na Fianna dont have anyone on the meath panel at the minute. I would actually say the meath players have played as much if not more with there clubs than any other county players in other counties considering meath have not started there championship yet. It is unrealistic to expect county players to be available for every league match. Andy is not going to learn anything about how he wants his team to line up for championship by watching them play league games with there club, he needs the challenge matches to work tactics etc. The intensity may not be huge in these friendlies but they are very important for working on tactics and keeping momentum going from the league as meath have had a 8 week break from league to championship. The players will be released to there clubs for all of next week and then its 2 weeks until meath play louth. Last sundays game against cavan was the last chance to get a decent match under there belts before Louth. The players on the panel that havent featured in the match day squads have played almost every league game except for one or two so i think people need to have a bit of cop on really. And also the same people whinging about players not being released will be the same ones whinging if meath dont perform in the championship. Andy and the lads are giving the players the best possible preperation in order to perform on the big days, and given they have been training flat out since the middle of october they deserve this.

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 935 - 12/05/2017 12:48:06    1986205