Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from cluichethar

Dubs V Mayo - 5 Like(s)
Why are we seeing the same post over and over again sometimes with a little added at the end. A wee bit on the driving me nuts side at this stage.

cluichethar (National) - 20/08/2021 16:22:42

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 5 Like(s)
Congratulations Tyrone, job well done. You took your goal chances and Mayo didn't. Deserved All Ireland Champions. This one bites but we'll be back. I think I'll lay low for a while the Bucket List still has the big one on it. Again Congratulations Tyrone enjoy every minute of it.

cluichethar (National) - 11/09/2021 20:11:16

Disingenuous, Disgusting, Odious, Nasty!! - 5 Like(s)

Replying To waynoI:  "Just some of the words Ewan McKenna placed ina tweet about Jim Gavin over the weekend. I think that's very harsh if you dont know the man personally. Totally uncalled for in my view. If people want to talk about Dublin playing two games in croke park, their finances, population etc then fine I respect that, and if people feel jim gavin comes across as a bit patronizing and boring, fine, I accept that too, but surely McKenna went over the line in describing jim as disgusting, nasty and odious.. Or maybe he didnt? Am I just reading too much into it ? Seems very personal to me. No need for it."
Waynol you answered your question with the 6th and 7th words you used in this post. He's just seeking attention, looking for clicks. Jim Gavin cares about 1 thing that's Dublin football & as Dublin manager that's what he should be thinking about. Would he say the same thing about Brian Cody.

cluichethar (National) - 22/07/2019 18:20:41

The Judas Transfer - 4 Like(s)
If a player is goodenough to play for a county & its allowed under the rules, & not getting playing time with his own county why would you call him a Judas. Espically a goalkeeper, theres just 2 on each team

cluichethar (National) - 03/01/2020 19:47:34

Mayo GAA Thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Keep the Bear in the Square. If O Shea had stayed or was told to stay in the Armagh square for the last 10 minutes, he would have kept their goal keeper and full back there also and a sweeper would also have to stayed inside their 45, leaving three less Armagh players to attack mayo and mayo witht two spare players to pass ball to, also if he was in the square McLaughlin had another option than taking that last pot shot. Leave The Bear in The Square."
I think the only way you'd keep Rafferty in the square is if you chain him to the goalposts. He's like an young bullock that's got the taste of sweet grass in an other farmer's field.

cluichethar (National) - 07/02/2023 18:48:46

JP McManus Donates €1M To Each County Board - 4 Like(s)
A man gives 32 million of his own free will, money he could keep for himself but out comes the begrudgers saying he isn't giving enough. It's true what the song says "Ireland is a very funny place sir, it's a strange and troubled land". I would much rather he give his money direct to organizations that he thinks needs it than to the Government that would only trn around and give it to their stupid causes.

cluichethar (National) - 18/12/2023 15:52:58

Mayo GAA Thread - 4 Like(s)
Congratulations to Dublin on an excellent win. Now. This game goes was a total excrement display by Mayo, Management and Players. O'Shea the only player winning any ball up front is taken off. Players taking the ball into cover and losing it. Going direct looked like an option but was used enough. Just a horrible display. 4 games in a row that our forwards underperformed unfortunately I expect when the league starts again in January the same players will be playing. At least my weekends from now on won't carry the same anxiety. I think McStay and his back room team can now start working on having a plan B because it's obvious not f*****g up plan A isn't a good plan B. What a horrible display to end our championship.

cluichethar (National) - 02/07/2023 19:35:26

Mayo V Dublin - 4 Like(s)
Congratulations Dublin, it took you 35 minutes plus half time to wake up but you woke up and put Mayo to sleep. Ruthless is the only way to describe how you play. When you get on top you really turn it on. Dublin has a lot of great players but the brains of the team Jim Gavin is worth more than any player. After the 5 in a row, & in 3 weeks it will be 5 in a row would love to see him leave Dublin & take over another team because I really believe he would bring them to the top. For us Mayo fans the Teens are over & no Sam. The 20s start next year. Again Dublin congratulations

cluichethar (National) - 10/08/2019 18:49:51

Dublin V Kerry NFL Final - 4 Like(s)

Replying To bangbang:  "Fair play to Kerry. Some dubious decisions by the ref through the match. It was quite funny watching some of the Kerry players and especially Fitzmaurice celebrating like they'd won the All-Ireland. It's only April lads, calm down."
Best referee I've seen in quite some time I thought he done a great job He let the game flow & only stepped in where he had to

cluichethar (National) - 09/04/2017 17:52:36

Dubs V Mayo - 4 Like(s)
https://twitter.com/foxymm21/status/1426610785447555076?s=21. This is a clip from John Fox on Twitter. I've been looking for better angles but so far this is the best. At no time was John Small in a position to deliver a legal hit to McLaughlins shoulder. The second part of this clip shows this. It clearly shows that Smalls shoulder makes contact with McLaughlins chest and head. It is physically impossible to deliver a shoulder to shoulder hit coming from the front like Small did. Dirty dangerous hit Red card every time.

cluichethar (National) - 16/08/2021 14:54:28

Did The Rugby Steal A March On Gaa During Presidents Biden Visit - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Biden may not be perfect but better than trump"
You obviously know nothing about Biden. You obviously are easily led by what you read and hear in the media. In what way is Biden better than Trump?

cluichethar (National) - 13/04/2023 15:39:22

Kerry V Dublin - 4 Like(s)
David Gough just proved my point how was not a second yellow for O' Sullivan. Disgraceful refereeing

cluichethar (National) - 01/09/2019 16:44:19

Dublin fans do you agree with us now that David Gough is a top level referee. I don't know what the GAA has to do but they have got to improve their refereeing. Conor Lane was the best this year by far.

cluichethar (National) - 01/09/2019 17:16:16

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Dublin were completely ripped off by Gough and still nearly snatched it."
I would love Mayo to get the rub of the green that Kerry got today. I guess the Gold hoop carry's more fortune than the Red. Gough terrible.

cluichethar (National) - 01/09/2019 17:19:41

Mayo GAA Thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bdbuddah:  "As a neutral looking in I felt sorry for O'Shea. He was winning ball up front and I thought playing fairly well for the team and taking him off early seemed like a bad call. You needed a goal to get back into game and I thought with O'Shea catching balls and laying them off this may have produced a goal chance. Did McStay do this just take off Mayo's mosthigh profile player just to the gallery a bit. He seems to be often made a bit of a scapegoat."
No plan B. Same 20 players all year. One good game against Kerry then bad against Louth, Cork and just scraped through against Galway. Total incompetence by management to keep going to the same players all the time no matter how they performed. McStay keeps talking about having a big squad of players then why didn't he use them. I'm hoping that he'll look hard at these games and change his ideas but I doubt it. A lot of Mayo fans saying they're happy with his first year, I'm not, back in the 70s I had a whole life to see Mayo win Sam now most of it is behind me.

cluichethar (National) - 03/07/2023 16:33:11

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Ah sure that's Mayo, the media's wee darlings, journalists couldn't say a bad word about them having 16 men on the pitch and gaining an advantage from it by having that 45 retaken, you couldn't make it up, they had a fella throwing his Gps at a free taker kicking a free to win the 2017 All Ireland and not a word about it?? if that had been a player from any Ulster county I'd say they'd still be talking about it and not making him a Sunday game pundit and interviewing him on the Late Late, On this subject though teams in soccer or Gaelic often refer to their supporters as their '12th man' or in Gaelic sports their '16th man' Seems in this case Kilmacud had their '16th man on the pitch!!"
The referee had his hand up stopping the 45 from been taken which the Mayo goalie didn't see. Therefore the referee had no choice but to have it retaken. Of course we all see where this whine is coming from and understand.

cluichethar (National) - 24/01/2023 17:09:26

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
How in Gods name can the RTÉ panel say Kerry were great today. They played more half the match with an extra man. Should have had a man sent off & if it was a penalty for Kerry in the 1st half it should have been a penalty for Dublin in the 2nd half. Today proved just how good Dublin are, out numbered and they still almost won. Unfortunately I don't think the replay will be anywhere as entertaining. I think Dublin in a landslide. Also hoping Conor Lane is the man in the middle, best referee this year.

cluichethar (National) - 01/09/2019 17:40:49

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
The point for Dublin that was ruled out by HawkEye was the 1st time I've seen the ball shown inside the post and ruled wide. It's technology & I haven't much faith in it.

cluichethar (National) - 01/09/2019 17:48:50

Is Croke Park Pitch Too Big - 3 Like(s)
Jasus COVID-19 is worse than I thought, it's making some go cuckoo. The pitch in Croke Park is too big, the grass is too green, the goal posts are too white. Seriously the only problem I have with Croke Park right now is they it's Too Friggin Empty. God help us from people with too much time on their hands & access to a keyboard

cluichethar (National) - 10/12/2020 01:03:25

Galway V Mayo - 3 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Why do people have to be so disrespectful to another county with phrases like "crap in the in their shorts" etc? It's as if AS if a team's failure to win showed some weakness of character. Honestly Mayo gave us some great finals over the last few years and they will give Kerry a good contest as they did in 2014. They were the one team who could put it up to Dublin in an All-Ireland final and they were a feared and respected team who put us to the pin of our collar. They had the beating of Dublin in 2016 only for two freakish own goals..Those own goals had nothing to do with a loss of nerve. A team that keeps coming back like they do has remarkable character and to suggest otherwise is simply not fair. How would you have responded if people had characterised Donegal's loss in 2014 to Kerry in similar terms. You could argue Durcan completely cracked on that kick out and gifted Kerry the title."
Without a doubt your best ever post Avonali. Unfortunatly it won't stop the whingers and begrudgers.

cluichethar (National) - 27/07/2021 14:31:11