Mayo Forum

Popular Posts from Spoddgy

This Mayo team will never have a better chance! - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "No disrespect to Tipp

They are 100% there on merit but lets not forget just how handy Kerry won Munster this year!

It would be a massive shock if Mayo lost - this is as handy a route to a final that they've had in a long time

Mayo have all the necessary experience and we've seen the lengths they are willing to go to win this year

Then just add it all up here

Dublin are missing 3 of their best players and are trying to do a back to back All Ireland titles - in fact back to back Trebles

Straight away trying to do a back to back is a massive disadvantage to any defending champion and this has long since been proven

Many of Mayo's big wins over the last 5 years have come against defending/deflated AI Champions not being the team they were...

Kerry although still capable of great things are not the truly great side they once were

Mayo have proven they are their equal in recent games against them and in fact should have beaten Kerry in 2014 when Kerry went onto win the All Ireland.

Its all there for Mayo in 2016 - the luck is also with them, all those home draws in the qualifiers, we know what AOS got up to and got away with, and then Tyrone missing several sitters, Mayo once again targeting players and getting them sent off with no retribution...

No it's going to happen at long last for Mayo - Mayo for Sam 2016

It's all adding up!"
Another dub started thread on Mayo this is getting embarrassing! Particularly disrespectful of Tipperary too! It wouldn't be a major shock sure Galway beat us and look at what happened to them. Mayo haven't played at the same level in previous years they will need to improve against tipp. And you got in your usual tripe about Mayo diving and targeting players sure we have invented it this year! Dont cry for me Argentina!

Spoddgy (National) - 16/08/2016 12:12:00

Funniest moment of the year in the GAA world - 3 Like(s)

Replying To The_DOC:  "-Funniest moment of the year: When Mayo thought they were going to win d'All Ireland 2nd Funniest Moment of the year: When Mayo thought they were going to stroll to another Connacht title"
Moment one when Galway thought they won an all Ireland when they beat Mayo in castlebar! Moment two when Galway thought they were going to win in croke park and reach a semi final when they were lining out against Tipperary. Moment three when the likes of yourself sat down to watch Mayo play in the all Ireland final twice this year and actually take the game Dublin the best team in a generation.

Spoddgy (National) - 19/11/2016 19:19:20

'The People's Game' - 3 Like(s)
Well it's not the people's game, it's on the people's awareness at this moment in time. I've been keeping up with the scores of the 6 nations but I haven't watched any of the matches in full, same with Connacht I've been keeping up with the scores but only caught the end of the last match. World Cup in the Southern Hemisphere you won't catch me getting out of bed unless Ireland are in a semi final or final I'll watch World Cup matches if it's in Europe hell I was in Wembley and the Olympic stadium in 2015 but seeing as I live 3 stops from Wembley on the tube and on the same line as Stratford that was handy. I'm happy when Ireland win and win championships but I'm not too put out when they lose. It's only rugby! The Irish national soccer team and Everton would get closer to the passion I'd have my gaa club and county. I'm browned off when Ireland and Everton lose but it's heartbreak when my county loses. I have had more interest in mayo than the rugby so far this year I'll probably watch the Ireland match on paddy's day wether or not Ireland are going for the grand slam and if they beat England I'll be happy but I'm more worried about what mayo are up to. After that day rugby will be down the pecking order again unless one of the provences are going for a European cup competition.

Spoddgy (National) - 09/03/2018 15:53:56

"I'M Finished With That Now, And Life Is Already Much Better" - 3 Like(s)
Alright alright paddy is getting a fair amount of stick. In truth if Meath are to make progress it would have been without him in the team. To be fair he has been in the panel a number of years and has been putting the effort in to remain in the team he isn't a professional he isn't getting paid to be there and he has chosen that he can't continue to make the same commitment with his work/life balance. I think some posters would want reminding of what is involved in training and preparation is needed to play inter county football even if you aren't going to win anything. Also these posters should note that they haven't made the effort themselves and are here on hoganstand and not with in an ass's roar of making county. Come lads have a bit of cop on!

Spoddgy (National) - 22/02/2018 09:41:11

Kerry V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
Kerry blew it! They had everything working for them today and they had plenty of opportunities to win it and they have blown it. They had a referee who was reffing Dublin's defence more tightly than before and sent off cooper for them. The replay will be a different day I fear a major backlash for them.

Spoddgy (National) - 01/09/2019 17:15:59

Galway vs Mayo - 2 Like(s)

Replying To StopTheLights:  "And tell me why he should get out of the way ?"
He's blocking the man off the ball third man tackle black card offence

Spoddgy (National) - 11/06/2017 20:27:25

Bernard Flynn v James Horan - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=270692 This is getting good!!! (Horan has inadvertently dragged the AOS story out even more and this serves no one except his own column and the editory of the Star Newspaper. It certainly doesnt help AOS. Well done James Horan. Now who's the t*t)"
They can both put out full page articles slagging each other. I would still put Flynn being the bigger tit of the two for joining in on the O'shea bashing. Don't forget to buy fergal connellys book ya know now we know who he is mans got to get paid his paper!

Spoddgy (National) - 24/05/2017 11:14:37

Dunphy on the Dubs - 2 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "If fans' bad behaviour bothers you then it's a good job you didn't go to the All-Ireland final. I have never witnessed anything like the collective booing and catcalling at Dean Rock every time he took a free. This wasn't from a small section of the crowd. I was sitting in the upper Cusack and the bad sportsmanship -and sportswomanship - on display from a huge number of Mayo fans was quite amazing. Was I disgusted...no. Surprised yes, because I had always thought Mayo fans were the most sporting of all. Not any more."
Great bit of whataboutery there! There are plenty of people will attest supporters of many counties poor behaviour your own included ive seen enough of it down the years. Plenty of your own were catcalling and booing during this years final. Plenty were magninous in victory the same would go for mayo fans in defeat. Let's keep the relationships in the positive there are plenty of other platforms to go negative on.

Spoddgy (National) - 26/09/2017 22:19:06

Targeting - What a load of ***** - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "No surprise to see this coming from a Mayo man"
At least we don't spend our time talking about Mayo like ye dubs! 5 minutes have past isn't it time for you to start another thread about those mean boys from Mayo are upsetting everyone?

Spoddgy (National) - 18/08/2016 16:46:06

MONEY - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "Is that true though really, Mayo have spent more then Dublin some years, i mean what are the individual things Dublin have in preparation that other counties dont? I dont really mind that popular view point, and it seems counties are always looking to do what Dublin do, but what is it exactly? As a Dub im kind on envious of some of the facilities and other aspects of prep other counties have."
Well the for starters the ability for the Dublin panel to train collectively more often with less players working away home which has always been the case for Dublin. That's an issue for the governance of the country and not for Dublin GAA. This is about Dublin right now being the standard bearer, a group of players who are talented but have certainly being helped achieve their success with the preparation afforded them by the management, the county board and their partners. There have been plenty article about what and who provides services to the Dublin senior team. Another area you would look at is the training the senior team do other counties would look at Dublin's training to find ideas for their own training. You must remember the noughties when Armagh and Tyrone made their breakthroughs everyone else was trying to copy them. If Dublin seniors won 5 in a row by pushing cars in the car park in training everyone would start doing it and expanding on it. You look at the way the Dublin players play the game the talent only gets you so far Dublins preparation helps them to play to their best and better together as a team. The team that beats this Dublin team no doubt will be a talented group but also will be as well if not better prepared by their management and county board resulting in a lot of money being spent. Just look at the back room teams involved and equipment used aswell as training camps, accommodation, travel, travel expenses, different specialists ie. sport psychologists, catering, etc. This is what has happened down through the years I'm sure you knew that.

Spoddgy (National) - 02/10/2019 21:56:22

County you least want to see win in football? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Finsceal:  "Mayo all day long Undeserved sense of entitlement ."
We will have our day and I'll find you to rub your face in it!

Spoddgy (National) - 28/07/2016 10:00:18

Lee Keegan throwing GPS at Rock? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To El_Torro:  "It's more ironic for anyone from Monaghan considering the dodgy tactics employed by Monaghan teams down the years, people in glasshouses indeed.
Keegan deserves a lenghy ban for this alright"
You've crawled back out I see, no shame losing by point eh what? Or 12. Lee was probably thinking what would Sean cavanagh have done

Spoddgy (National) - 22/09/2017 13:24:55

Gaelic Football Rule Changes Lets Hear The Suggestions - 2 Like(s)

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "GAA looking for rule changes to gaelic football I'll start the ball rolling please feel free to join in with comments or suggestions 1. Both teams must have at least 4 players inside their opponents 45 at all stages during the game (This would help to eliminate the blanket defences) 2. Ball can be picked straight off the ground 3. Do away with the black card and introduce 10 minute sin bin for yellow card offences 4. After 5 consecutive handpasses the ball must be kicked, punishment for breaking rule a free for opposing team"
I got as far as pick the ball off the ground and you lost me. I don't understand this infatuation with allowing players to pick the ball off the ground and I don't understand why the women's game allows it! It's an important skill and should be kept otherwise Gaelic football will truely become basketball or Olympic handball. The rule takes nothing away from the sport but I feel it would be detrimental to remove it.

Spoddgy (National) - 26/08/2018 13:09:08

Come Back Mayo All Is Forgiven - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Belclare1:  "Disrespectful to the teams in the supsr 8. Fact is Mayo lost to Kildare and Galway this year so they are not good enough. The team that ran Dublin close the last two years were on the go for 10 years and now have burnt out. Hopefully Galway will learn from this year and build. People forget this was a debut season for Sean Andy, Sean Kelly, Barry Mc Hugh Ciaran Duggan, Kieren Molloy."
Been a quiet year for you belcare no mayo to begrudge this year. I'm sure you are getting misty eyed too! You are right at the end of the day we weren't able to overcome Kildare who were the better team on the day. I don't think we would have competed aswell it we had made the super 8 or a semi final with a few key men missing. Let's look towards the final now lots of people writing Tyrone off I'm sure that will give them no end of motivation akin to Offaly in 82. I'm sure the dub posters are confident which is understandable but doubt they or their team will take Tyrone for granted. Best of luck to both counties may the best team win!

Spoddgy (National) - 14/08/2018 08:32:42

Dublin v Mayo - All Ireland Football Final 2016 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Not bitter or sour at all,why would I be? just delighted to see Dublin win the 2 in a row, sick listening to everyone whining on about Mayo anyway, the reality is ye just haven't got the talent up front and have beaten yourselves as well with bizarre management decisions, and it's not just Rochford, why did James Horan put Keane in to try and mark Michael Murphy in 2014? talk about men against boys, that game was over after 15 mins,what a sweet victory. Donegal have a better chance of winning Sam again in our lifetime than Mayo do in my opinion, doesn't seem to matter if ye get to another final, the chance will be wasted again, call it 'the curse' if you want an excuse, truth is Mayo aren't good enough."
As bitter as the lemon you are sucking on! You have been harping on about Mayo the last few months. We can see you are rebelling in it! I'd be careful what you wish for you may not see donegal win Sam for 66 odd years! I'm sure people in Mayo in 1951 thought they would see Sam again but we know how that had gone haven't we. We will keep going and we will be back and have another tilt at winning Sam!

Spoddgy (National) - 03/10/2016 13:10:30

What is Aidan O Shea's best position? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Toothless:  "for all the national media this fella gets, he is pretty poor. Does not show in the big games. and mayo supporters wont hold him accountable. thats the problem, culturally ye accept losing. 6000 people at a home coming for a losing team. I could not believe it, then I thoughts, "It is Mayo""
Great post last night buddy I was struggling to get to sleep but I came on here and started to read and a fell a sleep within 2 second cheers toothless!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - 25/10/2016 06:32:27

Aidan O'Shea's Comments - 2 Like(s)
I'm struggling to understand. Aiden oshea isn't supposed to defend himself when his name and character is attacked but it perfectly fine for a journalist to write a whole article in a national newspaper when he is questioned?

Spoddgy (National) - 04/05/2017 21:55:01

Dublin v Mayo. Who will win the 2017 All Ireland football final? - 2 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "All we ask for is that Mayo take their hammering like men this year and no crying like last year. Last years ref did everything in his power to get Mayo the draw and they were still crying after."
I am enjoying craic, your some 'character'. Talking about crying I am a amazed some lads in the capital have spent 6 years crying constantly even after see their county win 4 all Ireland's.

Spoddgy (National) - 05/09/2017 23:47:30

Targeting - What a load of ***** - 2 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yeah no Mayo poster ever talks about Dublin How observant of you"
Whataboutwhataboutwhatabout!

Spoddgy (National) - 18/08/2016 18:01:44

Is Ashbourne The New Ballaghaderreen? :) - 2 Like(s)

Replying To sam1884:  "Ballaghaderreen part of County Roscommon but part of Mayo GAA. Is Ashbourne the next area to move into a different GAA county from where it belongs and have the Dubs successfully invaded it? :-)"
When the gaa in mayo was founded ballaghaderren was part of mayo. In 1898 it Was transferred to Roscommon can't hardly blame them for not transferring gaa wise to Roscommon. Not really the same Ashbourne has been colonised by dubs and they aren't like anyone else going to give up their county of birth.

Spoddgy (National) - 17/09/2019 19:07:03