Limerick Forum

Popular Posts from ONdeDITCH

Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views??? - 6 Like(s)
The Scots,Welsh and Irish and most European countries love to see England getting beaten in sport and so do I. Nobody likes to support the oppressor unless of course its Stockholm Syndrome and there is a tiny bit of that in Ireland and among a tiny Irish minority in England.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 08/07/2021 22:42:13

Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area! - 5 Like(s)
Dublin city.....population 554k, Co Town Dublin Dun Laoghaire- Rathdown...pop. 218k Co Town Dun Laoghaire Fingal......population...….. 296k Co Town Swords South Dublin...…...population...278k Co Town Tallaght The above is the official designation given to the four administrative regions in Dublin together with their Co Towns,each has their own coat of arms also. Is it too much to ask that each of the four field a team to compete against counties of similar and indeed much less populations? For those that know can you say what and how many GAA Clubs are in each region?

ONdeDITCH (National) - 07/12/2020 20:59:32

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 5 Like(s)
Really looking fwd to Meath v Dublin tomorrow.As a Limerickman hurling is my number 1 game.Having lived in Meath since the early 80s I witnessed and supported all those Meath/Dn clashes.There was nothing like them to rouse a crowd...even neutrals. Back in 1974 I supported Dublin,they had only won a couple AIs the previous 30 years and a sizeable chunk of the country wanted Dublin to succeed,there was a fear that the gaa could die in our capital city.Those were the days when many of us "culchies" left our bedsits on most Sunday afternoons and headed for Croke Pk,you paid at the style on the way in and sat on a grassy hill 16. Meath have fallen back too far over a number of years but still beat Dublin in 2010 with those 5 goals past Cluxton,what rejoicing in Meath….beating Dublin is the closest to winning an AI in Meath….its almost on a par but not quite. I am impressed by those Meath young lads taking the field tomorrow,it will be an experience like no other for them.Dublin are a fantastic team,speed,skill,athleticism they have it all. Leinster needs to be competitive again,would be a huge shock for Meath to win but here's hoping for at least a competitive performance. I used to work with many Dubs supporters,some had kept the Evening Herald from 1974 at their desks up until I retired anyway. The slagging used to be great craic....questioning why I could support the Meath "animals",my retort being I felt privileged to be allowed live in their county. Hope its a great game tomorrow,has been hard to watch the one sided stuff in Leinster finals for too many years,am sure even the Dubs supporters have been disappointed with the fare on offer. It would be some fillip for football in Leinster if Meath were to pull it off tomorrow.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 20/11/2020 21:44:44

Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views??? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "But who knows how we would behave if we had a half decent football team? Who are we to judge? It's all well and good playing the part of the charming underdog when you know you're not going to win anything, but our arrogance and nastiness doesn't be long coming out when we're on top. Look at mcgregor, and the way he has conducted himself, the arrogance and obnoxiousness of irish fans over the last 6 years. Think we're throwing stones on glass houses tbh. And many of those so called "bigoted" English fans we're all having a go at (waving an English flag is almost enough these days to be labelled a bigot) come from perhaps the last communities in England it is now socially acceptable to despise and discriminate against. I can guarantee you that they face plenty of intolerance and prejudice from the enlightened intelligentsia in their day to day life too."
We know how we behave,perhaps you're too young to remember the Charlton years...we were the best behaved and most likeable fans in the World and done the country proud.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 11/07/2021 14:28:59

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 4 Like(s)

Replying To conordee:  "Whelan and Brolly saying it wasnt even a foul? Desperate. Very poor halftime analysis.Studio stuff was poor, Exciting game, cant wait for replay."
Agree with u,Whelan and Brolly were appaling in their half time bias,if that's all RTE can offer as analysis its a sad day and time for neutral only pudits!

ONdeDITCH (National) - 01/09/2019 17:57:08

Limerick Hurling 2021 - 4 Like(s)
Limerick hurlers....take a bow...in fact take several bows...ye are some men,some athletes,some hurlers.Ye made my heart jump for joy again today...my poor grandkids visiting today will think granda has gone mad with all the shouting and whoops of joy at the TV. I'm still walking on air.Thank you Limerick hurlers.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - 18/07/2021 19:48:30

Tradition - 4 Like(s)

Replying To worple:  "I've come across a fascinating new book for schoolchildren 7-11. It's called "Brilliant! 25 Catholic Scientists,Mathematicians and Supersmart People" by David and Jaclyn Warren. Illustrations and biographies of Pasteur,Mendel,Copernicus,Braille ,Hildegard etc. It could help to know that faith and science are entirely compatible. Norma Foley should get it into every primary school in Ireland."
Science by all means in the schools but religious indoctrination NO,that is something that should be left privately to people to take up or not.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 21/01/2021 11:10:06

Tradition - 3 Like(s)
Oh we have a terrible past,we did well to survive the priest ridden society of my youth. Looking back,it was great to have ones own open mind despite the brainwashing. I remember it all, bishops throwing in the sliothar and the crowd singing Faith of our Fathers before every intercounty game...well in Munster anyway and my first intercounty game was in 1955. We still have a bit to go especially with the schools,particularly primary schools.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 13/01/2021 23:09:51

Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I think, presuming current trends continue (I mean the increasing popularity of the GAA in Dublin allied to the huge population) a split is inevitable, more of a question as to when it will happen. Dublin might be the cash cow now, if inter county competition becomes meaningless they will kill all the cash coming in to the inter county game."
Agreed,if/ when the crowds fall off even more the Dublin sponsors will put their money somewhere else,its foolhardy thinking Dublin will continue to attract major financial sponsorship with a dead duck competition continuing as it is,the hard nosed marketing people will put their money elsewhere,they have no allegiance to Dublin or the game.I hope it doesn't continue to drift downwards much more before corrective action is taken but already the AI competition is on life support. It amazes me that there are still fans that want the status quo to continue....none so blind..etc. etc! Splitting Dublin and offering Amalgamated teams in the AI competition only, initially,would give us a realistic and fair and competitive structure,it should be inevitable for those of us that want a good fair and competitive AI competition. And yes as I said before its well past the time when the FOOT should be brought back into football,it certainly doesn't meet the trade description requirements as its presently played.With change, and people should not be afraid of change,the AI football competition can be a fabulous competition with the emphasis on competition and fairness and equality of opportunity for all players.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 02/02/2021 19:11:43

Mayo V Tyrone All-Ireland Football Final - 3 Like(s)
Hope Mayo win this one,they have so little to show for their wonderful contribution to the game,bit like my own county in hurling till recently,nothing against Tyrone but I believe the majority of the country would rejoice in a Mayo victory!

ONdeDITCH (National) - 30/08/2021 17:28:32

All Ireland Replay Profits - 3 Like(s)
Anyone who was at the game today should be allowed turn up at the styles for replay and pay a fiver for the ticket,that will bring in enough to cover GAA expenses for the day!

ONdeDITCH (National) - 01/09/2019 18:04:36

Limerick. All Ireland Champions 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To skillet:  "We've just won our 2nd all Ireland in 3 years (or 4th in 80 yrs if you want to be precise) Reading a fair few of the comments on here.. The reason behind our success is as follows. 1, JP McManus money. (bought success, even though he's sponsored Limerick for about 20 yrs not just since 2018) 2. Limerick are too big.. Try telling that to Peter Casey, Cian Lynch, Graeme Mulcahy or Sean Finn. 3. Limerick are cynical ie: we don't let the opposition score against us.. Unlike Tipp or Kilkenny who won all Irelands through sheer brilliance and nothing else. 4. Our style of hurling is boring... We tried the whole, belt the ball up the pitch and watch it come back again just as quickly... Style of hurling. It didn't really work out too well for us. 5. The best yet.. Good coaching and strength and conditioning has taken average hurlers and made them all Ireland winners.. No response possible. 6. Limerick are unbeatable ( I feckin wish) Fact remains, after a horrendous beating at the hands of Tipperary in the all Ireland semi finals 11 yrs ago, a players strike 10 yrs ago and years in the wasteland of division 1B (or division 2) we got our act together, set up an academy for young players , put resources into cultivating talent and we're fortunate to have an excellent management team gel it all together... As Limerick hurling supporters we've seen enough misery to last a lifetime. These days won't last but we'll enjoy every minute of it while they do. So Thanks to JP McManus, John Kiely, Paul Kinnerk (and the few 100 in their back room team:) Thanks to the players who gave so much of themselves to give us an amazing Christmas present. Hopefully we'll have an uninterrupted 2021 Championship, stay safe and Happy Christmas. Luimneach Abu!!"
That's a fair resume of whats happened in Limerick hurling.Did we have bad days supporting Limerick? we sure did and much too many.So many years with a negative result but come the following year the brother and myself would be on the road again with hope in our hearts,it hasn't been easy in my supporting Limerick since 1955......Mackeys Greyhounds!The current bunch of Limerick hurlers are a joy to behold in full flight and I don't think any hurling team of all the teams I have seen in my lifetime would live with them when they are on full throttle,such speed of thought and movement,passing skill with the hurl as well as the hand,like a synchronized orchestra of movement and skill.Am thinking these guys are so fantastic that it was worth the wait and the suffering,thanks to each and every one on the team and panel and backroom.Also the people that had the foresight to set up the Academy and go over to Liam Brady and Arsenal and see what they were doing there...the leading Academy in English soccer at the time.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 15/12/2020 21:21:55

Football Championship 2021 - 3 Like(s)
The football championship has been a disaster competitively so far.It needs to be dispensed with in its present format.The sooner we have amalgamated teams the better and we can look fwd to a real championship...one worthy of the name! And the Dublin situation...well we know what needs to be done there.....the nettle needs to be grasped by Croke Park.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 11/07/2021 15:28:45

Replying To TheUsername:  "It's a point I haven't considered, but a fair one. But I suppose it can be a geographical lottery. It's a great point - you often hear words like fairness bandied about - but there is a bit of a geographical lottery for players to achieve within existing county structures. One of the best players I ever saw was Matty Forde, he had relative success with Wexford, but if he played for say Kerry or Dublin, you can imagine he probably would have won an awful lot moreover maybe selfishly we would have seen an awful lot more or him and he had ,ore opportunity to prove his greatness. Declan Browne also springs to mind. Maybe the lads if asked though wouldn't change a thing, but did the GAA offer them the opportunity to achieve all their talent could have, it's an interesting point certainly and does underline the geographical lottery with success in current structures."
Geography,Team Structures,Population and Playing Population are critical elements to formatting a competitive County team,if you have all these elements and the financial back up and coaching you have a huge chance of being successful.Not many counties have all those elements though.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 06/02/2021 17:47:10

2021 Hurling Championship - 3 Like(s)
I'm still on a high after Sunday,this Limerick team are one of the greatest hurling teams ever.Its great to read all the accolades of informed hurling fans.Its also nice to see that there is very little begrudgery except form a few full time begrudgers.Onwards and upwards for this Limerick team,we are so lucky and so privileged in Limerick....we know it won't last forever but its a wonderful experience.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 24/08/2021 20:47:29

Bloody Sunday - 3 Like(s)
What a despicable act perpetrated on sportsmen and fans,hard to believe it happened,so called British civilization.No wonder most of us could never support a team representing England and gleefully rejoice when they are beaten.I could never forgive and forget such an act.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 11/11/2020 17:49:02

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I think there was a reason your old lecturer used to say that to " you" brian he was probably trying to be subtle. And if you're hearing noise while reading a written forum you might be suffering from tinnitus."
You made me smile with that riposte Kingdom Boy. Was that a self deprecating post by "Brian" or is he an innocent abroad...lol?

ONdeDITCH (National) - 13/02/2021 01:13:28

Munster Hurling Final - 3 Like(s)
Well done our Limerick heroes,what a phenomenal performance.I was remindec of 1996 in the Gaelic Grounds and Tipp up ten points at half time.I can still see the Nashes clearing ball after ball in the second half into the danger zone and Limerick coming back point after point to draw the match.Limerick won well in the replay in Cork.It was a privilege to be there that day and witness it all.It would have been something else to be in Cork today and watch those titans from Limerick scale such heights in the second half. Thank you all concerned in Limerick,you truly are wonderful.What a day.....WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

ONdeDITCH (National) - 18/07/2021 19:30:17

Tradition - 3 Like(s)
I can understand how members of the Catholic Church find it so difficult to drag themselves away.They are victims of this cult,I was also one.We all were being worked on from the age of 5 or 6 and the roots were buried deep in us.We thought it was faith but really it was just something we inherited from our parents and then at school the doctrine was repeatedly given to us on a daily basis. I wonder how many would be members if they weren't exposed to this doctrine from such an early age.Perhaps our schools should be secular and not be clouded with religious teaching.Really religion should be left to people to make a choice rather than have it imposed on them. I have noticed here a recurring theme from those who proclaim their Catholic faith,without fail they all end their posts being an apologist for the Catholic Church. Having little innocent children exposed to this cult/doctrine is wrong and surely will change in time,there is a difficulty with the Catholic Church controlling so many of our Primary schools. I can see the Irish State apologizing for this in the future when it will all change,it will take time but surely it will have to change.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 19/01/2021 10:58:37

Santa Claus - 3 Like(s)
geez lads some of you are getting very tetchy and adversarial,if yer not careful Santa won't come to ye at all.

ONdeDITCH (National) - 13/12/2020 22:05:11