Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from ThisIsIt

National League 2018 - 4 Like(s)
Maybe everyone is jumping to the wrong conclusion here. Things have been going bad for leitrim the last number of years. I don't think anyone can argue against that point. New county board has been in place lots of new managers over the last number of years. Yet we are getting worse. Ok on reflection the common denominator might lie with who has been responsible for coaching in leitrim over the last number of years. The coaching in the schools the coaching at under age school of excellence. There has been absolutely noting done until james clancy came on board. He has organised different top coaches to come and take sessions. For 20+ years I have been involved in coaching and noting like this was ever done before, the amount of information you pick up is unbelievable. In 98 we won a Connacht minor championship. We haven't won a single one since. Think we competed in a final around 02. We got to one u21 final in the last few years. if anyone in an other job or walk of life was producing such bad results they would be long sacked and that's the reality of it. The difference with roscommon and even Cavan is they put in the hard work 10 years ago and now they have teams able to compete at a high level our problem is we put in no effort at all so we are in effect 10 years behind other counties. The true saying is you reap what you sow.

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 06/02/2018 13:38:18

National League 2018 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To totalrecall:  "players are representing their clubs and their county , not the management, leitrim have had around 6 different managers in the last 8 years and it seems that that all the appointments have been bad, on top of that people are dreaming that unless leitrim can come up with 80-100k to tempt a really top manager in, then what calibre of manager do they think leitrim will get? but when are people going to realise that results in both league and championship for the last 7 years are clear proof that the talent just isn't there, and the problems lie alot deeper than the county set up and it's high time each club takes a serious look at their own coaching standards before pointing the finger at the county board or anywhere else."
Can't agree that the talent isn't there with the best crop of players this county has produced in a while. They won a minor league and should have won a Connacht u21 title last year. Unfortunately the reality is the management has got worse each year. We can't keep our best players playing as a result. Look at mohil putting castlebar to the pin of there collar. Aughwillian beating tubbercurry, Ballinamore getting to Connacht inter final against the eventual all-Ireland winners. All in the last few years. Talent is here to be at least a div 3 team problem is the wrong people are in charge of that happening.

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 02/02/2018 14:46:23

National League 2018 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Dodgy_Pass:  "I'm on record here over the last while in calling for experienced manager with a track record ... going back to before Shane Wards appointment if you have a mind to go back through the posts I think. Certainly prior to the current set up being appointed. But calling for the management to step aside mid season is nonsense really because it won't happen. It reduces the whole thing to premier league pantomime with managers departing mid season. Everyone knows the right time to do that was at the end of 2017 but the Co. Board were happy to go again under the impression that management had the backing of the players. Mass exodus since seems to have cast a cold eye on that one. Anyway, the management have to keep at it and we have to trust they can come up with something to get us out of NY with a win. No manager in their right mind would go near us mid season. You're inheriting something you've had no chance to establish in terms of training, playing personnel etc etc. Despite all the debate here, how many of us will get onto our respective club officers and ask them to bring this up at the next Co. Board meeting. Not a sinner. That's a fact. There won't be mention of it at the next Co. board meeting , save perhaps them acknowledging that it's tough and lads are doing their best and get behind the team etc. Which amounts to a knowing wink that says 'Look we know we're in bother but not much we can do about it now' The most alarming thing I've read here lately is the apparent recklessness and idiocy of the Co. Board in not accepting donations from abroad. That is enough to have the whole lot of them impeached. Especially when they can't go and bring in the same themselves through sponsorship deals of substance. When we're willing to accept €15K per annum for the front of our Jersey and then turn down money from ex pats and diaspora who want to contribute substantially more we deserve our medicine really. And finally regarding the management suggestions, I think asking Declan Darcy to chair a committee to do a root and branch review of coaching from U17 up and identify potential managers / coaches to be shortlisted for 2019 is a good idea. But as someone said .. profile doesn't necessarily equate to success hence the issue with some of your names. A blind man could see that we need someone with a track record of developing players and securing promotion. Neither of our previous 4 managements have had that. What do they county board expect?"
While I agree with your posts a big name manager isn't the solution I also feel at this stage it has to be a relatively big name to get players back supporters back on side and enthusiastic for next season. But prob the most important part of a management set up is his coach. They are the ones hands on at training. The previous post from Carlow man says while turlough has done a great job prob the best thing he done was bring in the coach they have. So leitrim in my opinion need to pick up the phone to fergal o Donnell or someone of that type ask him what he needs to take over the job from 2019. Let him know now it's his so he can attend club games. Also give him time to get a top class trainer in along With him. The county board need to sell our county by saying we have the best crop of 20-22 year olds we have produced in years. We really believe we can get promoted from div 4. Not we are a small county we lack resources we lack funding. Nobody here expects us to be Within 12 points of Dublin but I think everyone expects us to be within 12 points of Carlow and that's our starting base. Let's be honest it's a low starting base but that's where we are at. I think it's a perfect job for the right person with ambition. Take leitrim to div 3 in 2019 following year stay in Div 3 2020 I think any manager who can achieve that would walk Into a lot of other jobs of at least div 2 quality. Bring the begging bowl to New York and come back with enough money to fund this and enough money to keep investing in our underage because Tbf the underage work is very good. Now is the time to invest in the senior team and get a team where our 15-16 year olds want to play and they will keep improving themselves. It will all have a positive knock on effect.

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 12/02/2018 12:34:38

Pity the supporters who went to Antrim it must have been awful. We can have as much positivity as we like on here but we can't cod ourselves either. I feel sorry for the players who are training and giving it there all when you have a management team that are not near good enough. Really wonder if this management team are on the plane to New York is there any hope of a result.

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 28/01/2018 16:16:51

Replying To Leitrim1:  "I find it incredulous that people are even attempting to question the management. We are so lucky to have them in place and Benny is a fine, fine man and he has conducted himself with the utmost dignity through all of this. I firmly believe that if he is given the necessary time and resources he will make us contenders again. I fully stand behind him and I really passionately believe that Terence Boyle has been right not to be trigger happy and fire him as head coach. His club record is excellent and he is slowly getting the team to play the way he wants them to play but we need to have patience!"
Can only assume that's a joke. Yes I think Benny is doing his best. If scoring one point in the second half against Antrim and Carlow is the way Benny wants them to play then we are in trouble. What's his achievements with clubs?

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 13/02/2018 12:04:51

Division two 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Having seen roscommon twice in the fbd this year I was impressed and think yee will be straight back up too div 1. Apart from Dublin mayo Kerry and to a lesser extent Tyrone I think roscommon are as good as the rest. one can't but wonder if you lost to New York 2 years ago would you be as far on and even The Gay Shearan outburst it all seemed to galvanise this group of players.

ThisIsIt (Roscommon) - 23/01/2018 14:24:43

Replying To Peircep:  "Your bottom has nothing to do with this , firstly 100% agree our league is our championship and always should be until we are out of div 4 , secondly bringing on the likes of Ross and that caliber of players is weaking them that's fair enough. Laois kicked 9 wides because of pressure by our backs , my issue would be with the 3-16 that was scored and the fact that we missed some very scorable chances including a penalty at crucial times , so yes I do believe we could of won the game with a bit more composure , just happy that u aren't the manager with your attitude ... yes we want to be competitve and win division 4 but our first 3 games we are playing the favorites for the division ,teams years aged of us in strength and conditioning terms and experience.. and your point every team is competitive in their own divisions might be a bit off with Sligo hammered last week and Wicklow hiring a big named manager and got hammered by London yesterday and have yet to play any of the 3 favorites to win the division Antrim/Laois / Carlow . .... let's take the point Mayo won an all Ireland u-21 3 years ago and not one are deemed ready for a regular place on the senior 15 yet, look at Leitrim average age is 23 , we had two 19 year olds on the pitch that didn't look out of place but expecting things to happen instantly is foolhardy .... once I see an improvement which wouldn't be hard after the Antrim game I will be happier knowing everyone is working towards improving every game ...... but you work away posting that everyone should be got rid of county board managers .... all problems and no solutions ... oh yes get rid of management and county board cos that we help achieve more disruption ... change manager every 2 years players come and go as they please and then we expect to be competitive in every game .. maybe players need consistency, they by all accounts didn't want last management team to go but was pressure put on county board by people like yourself now it's pressure again cos u feel the players don't think the management is good enough.... think it's a poison chalice and no right langer would touch it as it's a no win situation"
Yes there is a flip side to every argument and if we know the full and proper reason why our best players aren't playing for leitrim then maybe we can judge better. I suppose the management can only pick what's at there disposal. It is a young team and I don't think many managers would get the current players out of Div 4 for a couple of years at least. But the hunch I have is that the players who aren't committing is because they don't believe in the management set up that's where the problem lies with the management. For leitrim to have any chance of competing even in Div 4 we need the best 20-25?players available. So the county board need to put a team in place to make that happen. It's all about 70 mins in the big apple now. I don't think asking players back in for a free trip to New York is a good idea either. this squad has trained hard and they deserve the chance to play in New York. I do not believe looking at yesterday's performance we will beat New York but having said that this is the panel that deserves a chance to do so. They are doing there best. And maybe if things don't go to plan in New York people will finally put the hand up and say stop but I 100% hope we beat New York.

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 05/02/2018 11:37:41

Replying To Ouryear:  "i think one name that could be looked at as a potential manager is Mickey Graham, he's doing great stuff with Mullanaghta in Longford. I think the next step for him is to manage a county team. And could be a good fit for us."
Next appointment has to be proven at inter county that's just the reality of the situation we find ourselves in. We can't have another manager next season and our supporters asking who's he or I never heard of him. That's been the case basically since Mickey Moran stepped down. I no it might not be the Answer and the best manager could be an unknown name but I don't feel the county board can take that risk.

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 15/02/2018 12:08:31

Replying To Leitrim1:  "Yes he managed Saint Marys to two county finals and was head coach at Elphin for a time but I think he had a disagreement with the board in that particular club! Some would argue that he would be highly sought after in other counties but a Messiah is never accepted in his own land there"
he got the job on the back of loosing 2 county finals and almost relegating elphin???

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 13/02/2018 13:49:03

Division two 2018 - 1 Like(s)
I see some people on this forum questioning mcstay. He has done a class job With roscommon your younger players have came on leaps and bounds. When you look at the gap that has came between leitrim and Ross over the last couple of years the rivalry is even gone now. I still think you will get promted this year And will make the super 8 in the championship.

ThisIsIt (Roscommon) - 14/02/2018 13:29:35

Transfers - 1 Like(s)
I also see Ronan gallagher has transferred from Mohil to the gards and Arron Duignan transferred from Annaduff. Was he a first team player for annaduff?

ThisIsIt (Leitrim) - 30/01/2018 19:02:11