Leitrim Forum

Popular Posts from Tacaí Liatroma

Move To National Forum Only Model - 6 Like(s)
Absolutely atrocious decision. If you really, really, really wanted to consolidate everything on one forum, what would have been wrong with moving everything to the national forum rather than removing all the county forums? And are they just hidden from view, or is there any possibility (following everyone's backlash) of restoring them? There were discussions on the Leitrim forum about the county championships at all levels as well as about who the new Leitrim manager would be, and I was keeping a keen eye on the Donegal forum too where there's a palaver over the 2020 football final and appeals and shenanigans. Where is that all now??? All that history, is it down the toilet? And it was often good to see what the point of view in other counties was to various stuff, particularly when your own county was involved. What was wrong with just leaving things as they were? Surely it's not as though the county forums were located in a different office and were too much of an overhead. And no discussion with the posters here about it, an active, passionate community of GAA lovers who have debates, arguments and the craic about the games and counties they love.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 30/09/2021 17:38:01

Does The GAA Have Too Many MEANINGLESS Matches? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Trump2020:  "Yes. That's what I mean by combining the League and Championship in some kind of SMART way in which the matches have meaning. Interest would grow, attendances would grow, etc. Everyone cares about the All Ireland but who really cares who wins the League every year?"
You can be sure the League meant something to Leitrim last year, and this year too as they try to stay up and enjoy the tougher games in Div 3.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 26/05/2020 14:49:38

40 Year Ban For Soccer Ref Assailants - 4 Like(s)
It was announced today that those who attacked that soccer referee in the Midlands have been banned from all soccer-related activity under the jurisdiction of the FAI for forty years. Is this the scale of punishment that the GAA needs to start introducing for violence on or near GAA grounds?

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 23/11/2018 13:12:10

Fair play TG4 - 4 Like(s)
Whoops, just after depositing a series of replies to other people's comments before reading Admin's notice to get back on topic, sorry all... Final word on this from me, and then I'll quit, and I won't take it bad if the admin team edit or do not post this comment. People who possess a bit of pride in their country might consider learning their country's native language, particularly if it's a minority language, and if the majority language is the language of their neighbours who had conquered them for a long time. Not trying to make a political thing out it at all, but imagine if Spain ruled Portugal for ages, and now 95% of Portuguese spoke Spanish, and the 5% who spoke Portuguese had to fight to live their lives in their, national, language.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 13/04/2017 21:07:46

No GAA news on RTÉ Six One news (Sunday)! - 4 Like(s)
Seven county finals in football, 2 in hurling, and 2 Ulster senior club hurling semi-finals, and not a dicky-bird about it on today's Six One news on RTÉ. Surprised, anyone?

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 09/10/2016 18:27:39

New York vs Sligo - 3 Like(s)
It's our turn next year, I'm already on the hunt for brown trousers in Penney's

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 04/05/2017 17:06:12

Armagh Vs Galway - 3 Like(s)

Replying To credit_crunch:  "It really is a fine line though if we start bringing in a whole load of new rules like this your going to kill the passion of the game and this is what it was built on. Dan Hughes great article in Irish news. We had our prob our first blockbuster match in nearly a decade due to the passion and emotions running high be strange if emotions werent running high. As a armagh fan i was basically shaking just after witnessing one of the best comebacks ive saw and the biggest roar croke park heard in quite a while even some kerry and mayo fans joining in just for the occasion not even cos they like armagh. its hard to have a close tight match and not spill over. Even the mighty dublin past few years when it was tight got themselves in situations I agree the eye gourge was ***** and he lost the run of himself but how come this is the first ever 24 week ban for it. The outrage on social media is madness.... Actually this society is turning into a bunch of snowflakes.... Some of the hits and passions of the 90s and 00s is what i grew up on and i miss it. The Mayo Kerry game was basically souless"
Banning headlocks, neck rolls/throws, interference with the eyes or pushing someone off the pitch isn't going to kill the passion of the game.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 07/07/2022 10:38:22

All Ireland Club Final, Kilmacud V Glen (Derry) - 3 Like(s)

Replying To StopTheLights:  "If Glen scored a goal in the dying seconds would they have lodged an objection to winning due to Kilmacud having 16 players on the field? They're only interested in being fair after all. Thank god we have Northern teams looking out for the integrity of our game."
Well obviously not. Why would you object against yourself? Is it even allowed? And anyway, if you still beat a team with an illegal numerical advantage, isn't that justice?

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 27/01/2023 13:57:49

Tipperary v Armagh - 3 Like(s)

Replying To atta:  "Did Jamie Clarke not foul the ball in the lead up to the goal. He showed the ball and took it back in."
That's never ever been a foul.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 15/07/2017 19:02:50

Next Leitrim Manager. - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "With the news filtering through that Shane Curran was interviewed for the Fermanagh job, we surely don't have much hope. I wouldn't even have Curran down as a obvious choice for Leitrim never mind Fermanagh. I also find it hard to believe that there was only 2 people interviewed for the Fermanagh job... https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1245623/"
CAKE????? He'll play forwards as backs and goalkeepers as forwards, just so Leitrim can lose by 40 points. I'm only speculating; he gives me the impression as a Rossie who would enjoy Leitrim misery.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - 16/09/2021 22:00:53

What your username represents? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To PyatPree:  "Poor old pyat pree who was burned alive by daenerys targaryen in game of thrones, loved that guy"
Haha, brilliant! Loved that guy. Scottish actor, can't remember his name but his accent crept through. "They miss their mother. When your dragons were born, our magic was born again. It is strongest in their presence. And they are strongest in yours." Really irks the wife when I quote him with (my attempt at) a Scottish accent!

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 23/07/2017 16:07:24

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Gough could easily have sent a Dublin player off for consistently dangerous, reckless tackles."
Agree. A lot of reckless stuff after a Kerry lad would release the ball. Some of it was deliberate, without a doubt.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 30/07/2023 17:18:17

Decouple Provincial Champ In Football From All Ireland - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Whammo86:  "Yeah and the FA Cup has died a death as a result. There's plenty that the GAA do wrong but having the secondary competition played in advance of the main competition is actually the right thing to do."
The FA Cup was always played during the league season and it never did it any harm, its slow demise beginning only after 1999 in my opinion when treble champions Man Utd were pressured into not defending their title in order to swan off to Brazil ("I hope they get diarrhoea" - Brian Clough) to play in FIFA's new club world cup. I still think it has oodles of merit. They need to keep the final though to the weekend after the Premier League finishes. I'm sure winning it this season and doing the double would have been a massive deal for Man City, rather than losing to Chelsea. And then Leicester City went and won it after four final defeats! A good shot in the arm for the FA Cup.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 11/07/2021 20:39:09

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Following the fourth quarter collapse against Laois and now today's no-show against Sligo, there's an argument to be made that we got promoted despite the management rather than because of it, and that the result against Laois in round 6 was a one-off and the defeats to Longford and Carlow were not inappropriate for our true level. Discuss.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 07/04/2024 23:43:19

Things That Seemed Ridiculous At Start Of Decade That Actually Happened - 2 Like(s)
Are there people on here whinging about the 5 in a row? Christ. I predicted that if it happened, the good Kerry football people would stop at nothing to rewrite history and do a 6 in a row, and that will be a life's goal for players and managers alike. If they see themselves as some sort of kings of football, let them regain the record ASAP and put these jackeen upstarts in their place. The cheek of them to steal Kerry's 5 in a row.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 02/01/2020 15:55:21

NFL Division 4 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To dubarra:  "Who ever gave that a thumbs down must have serious issues. Well done Letrim"
Thumbs down for all the congratulatory posts, it seems! Someone must be bitter. Great campaign for Leitrim. Looking forward to seeing them in Croke Park on March 30.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 10/03/2019 17:26:36

Come On Engerland.....Peoples' Views??? - 2 Like(s)
Naah, keep it. Lock it maybe, but keep it. It's been a good discussion on something very central to Irish identity, namely our relationship with our (third) nearest neighbour.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 13/07/2021 12:28:31

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "I'm afraid we may forget about promotion after that. A game we had to win. It's so disheartening. Hard to see how we'd be able to win any of our remaining games."
I wouldn't be too pessimistic just yet. We're still second in the table, isn't that right? If we win all our remaining games we'll go up. Even if we lose to Laois, we can keep Wicklow and Sligo at bay by beating them. But I will concede that with Wexford having already endured a Laois defeat and now after beating us, that's a big minus. Let's take it one game at a time and get Carlow out of the way first. Let's worry about what we can do and who we can beat.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 19/02/2023 20:26:17

Move To National Forum Only Model - 2 Like(s)
As I said a page or two back (a year or two ago), if the admin staff found it necessary to restrict the amount of county forums for whatever, that's one thing, but hiding/deleting them completely so that all that mountain of information and discussion was gone was extremely poor judgement.

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 09/02/2024 17:14:16

HS As Gaeilge (2) - 2 Like(s)
Bhuel, fuair an seansnáth Gaeilge bás. Tá sé ina luí anseo; cuimhnígí air i bhur bpaidreacha. Idir an dá linn, cad a cheapann sibh faoin mbliain go dtí seo?

Tacaí Liatroma (National) - 06/11/2021 17:15:08