Laois Forum

Popular Posts from CmonAymonow

Top Referees - 3 Like(s)
David Coldrick and David Gough are usually very good.

CmonAymonow (National) - 25/03/2022 15:09:01

Anti GAA Agenda - 3 Like(s)
To be fair to Duff (what a player by the way in his day), he was very complimentary to the GAA's facilites a couple of years ago saying that their grounds and training centres were miles ahead of LOI teams. I didn't like his "dinosaurs" jibe at the GAA back at the time of the Liam Miller game - he'd do well to remember that those same "dinosaurs" acoomodated the ROI team when they were effectively homeless. As for his most recent comments regarding the €50 million for Casement, the main issue is that no-one can trust the FAI to spend taxpayers money correctly. Delaney is long gone but there still seems to be a cohort of chancers running the sport at the very top.

CmonAymonow (National) - 23/02/2024 13:45:12

Anti GAA Agenda - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Pikeman96:  "100%. In the last four or five years, my own club has lost three very good young hurlers and footballers to other sports. One went to one of the big soccer clubs in Dublin, and the other two are with the Leinster rugby academy. All have been told not to play hurling or football any more, even in the soccer and rugby off-season. We haven't gone running to the papers about it, or kicking up a stink on social media. Maybe we should!"
I'd have the same experience. I coached a bunch of under 14s 8 and 9 years ago and 4 of them were good enough to make a Kennedy Cup squad. Those in charge of that squad told the chaps to drop the football and hurling. One of them refused and returned to the GAA immediately. The other three followed yer man's rules. Missed championship games, a league final etc. By the time they were 17, there wasn't even a soccer club in the parish. All 4 played underage for county and one progressed to be a county senior.

CmonAymonow (National) - 08/04/2022 11:55:06

GAA Clubs Had It Tough In The North During The Troubles - 2 Like(s)
Jaysus, An Spideal are painted like some combination of Glasgow Rangers and Carlow there! Harsh.

CmonAymonow (National) - 28/01/2019 09:40:49

Soft Spot - 2 Like(s)
The Tipp football team under Kearns. The Wexford football team of the noughties with Mattie Forde. Offaly hurlers from 80s to 90s. The current Dublin football team.

CmonAymonow (National) - 29/04/2020 13:07:30

Laois Junior C Final. - 2 Like(s)
The 2 clubs in question wanted to play this game on St Stephen's Day - don't go blaming Laois county board or the greater GAA in general. Stupid thread.

CmonAymonow (National) - 21/12/2016 13:06:19

Allow 17-year-olds play Adult - 1 Like(s)

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Young lads are just going to feck off and play other sports now - there simply are not enough games provided for 17 year old footballers and hurlers in most counties. I have two 17 year old nephews, one in Laois, one in Offaly and they will play 6 or 7 games this year at best. Crazy. Heraf (Laois) - Posts:307 - 27/02/2017 16:23:01 Change under 17 competitions and give them more games in that. That solves all this."
That wont happen. This time next year young lads will have stopped playing GAA because of lack of games.

CmonAymonow (National) - 27/02/2017 17:59:31

Your County Board - 1 Like(s)
Laois county board aren't too bad. Decent people in the main. Have done good work on the centre of excellence and the fixtures programme is well run. Hard to balance football an hurling in a small county.

CmonAymonow (National) - 14/12/2018 14:51:57

Well done Ireland - 1 Like(s)
As George Hamilton said last night "Ireland are through to the last 16 of the euros for the first time ever". Emm, except for 2012 George when there was only 16 teams in it! Or what about 1988 when we reached the finals with only 8 teams in it?!

CmonAymonow (National) - 23/06/2016 12:49:49

Match Day Equipment - 1 Like(s)

Replying To gti:  "Just on the heading Match Day Equipment - Im getting involved with a team as Kitman/General GoFor and I want to bring some professionalism to it. What do teams/Management expect these days for trainings/games? Water bottles filled (Do teams still bring water bottles or do players bring their own since Covid) Bibs washed for each session. Fruits and Energy drinks available. Do the Jerseys be hung up in the dressing? Every club is different and I am just seeing what the general feeling is."
Jaffa cakes and jelly babies! Seriously. Lads tend to use their own water bottles at training but maybe bring a few clean bottles for the lad who forgets.

CmonAymonow (National) - 13/10/2022 12:20:06

Carlow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Very disappointing day for Pal yesterday - OK, I'm from Laois but I would like to see Carlow teams and clubs do well in general. That little spell just before HT probably cost Pal the game. Port will hammer a lot of teams once they get 4 or 5 points ahead. Losing Crowley was a huge blow too. Still a good year for them overall.

CmonAymonow (National) - 07/11/2022 10:23:10

Club Names And Where They Are From - 1 Like(s)

Replying To thelongridge:  "The Offaly clubs are usually based on their town or parish. Football Tullamore, Clara, Rhode, Edenderry, Ferbane etc. Some of the sides are dual clubs. Hurling. Birr Kinnitty, Shinrone, Ballinamere, Coolderry, Belmont ( same parish as Ferbane) . Shamrocks are from Rahan parish, an amalgamation of 3 former clubs , St, Carthages, Mucklagh, The Island. St. Rynagh's are from Banagher/ Cloghan. Seir Kieran are Clareen parish, the only Offaly parish in the diocese of Ossory. Lusmagh parish of the same name, west of Banagher, are in Clonfert diocese. Clodiagh Gaels in Killeigh parish, are a combination of the former clubs Killeigh and Killurin. The river Clodiagh flows through the parish near the Laois border."
St Brigid's in Croghan too.

CmonAymonow (National) - 07/11/2022 10:27:27

Carlow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To carlo:  "A hugh opportunity lost. Iv never seen a poorer laois team & we let them off the hook. So frustrating. 5 points up early in 2nd half & we never finished them off. We missed some brilliant chances & they took theres. 6 point loss doesn't tell the story of this game as Laois didn't go in front until the last 10 mins. They refuse to lose to Carlow & played that way in last 10 minutes. Going back to my previous posts our discipline is just shocking. I counted 4 or 5 frees that were moved in front of the post for mouthing or not moving back. We made it so easy for their free taker. We foul so easily inside the 21 yard line it's unbelievable. We are not capable of holding up a man without pulling the shirt & giving away a handy score. Finally the ref was shocking. My Laois friends all agreed. He gave Carlow nothing. I wonder was he overly hard on Carlow as his brother is the Old Leighlin manager????? Anyway the 35 year wait continues"
Hard to argue with much of that. It's a poor enough Laois team. Not even as good as the 2018 Division 4 outfit. But ye're fouling in bad positions was terribly silly. Kingston will kick those all day long. And one point in the last half an hour cost ye too. Ye didn't make the most of a dreadful first half from Laois. Haven't seen Leitrim yet but if Wexofrd can beat them ye have nothing to fear and promotion is still something Carlow can achieve. Laois could quite easily lose to Wicklow next game - it's that open.

CmonAymonow (National) - 20/02/2023 09:36:29

Attendances 2023 - 1 Like(s)
Mayo v Kerry 15,756

CmonAymonow (National) - 20/02/2023 09:48:11

Hurling All-Stars - 1 Like(s)
I've no particular complaints about the team chosen (or not much interest either) but it seems that the league is completely irrelevant altogether now when it comes to assessing a player's chances of a nomination or an award.

CmonAymonow (National) - 10/12/2021 11:36:44