Laois Forum

Popular Posts from BliainanÁir

David Moran Best Midfielder In The Country? - 9 Like(s)

Replying To kerryforsam19:  "David Moran gave a exhibition of high fielding last sunday. Cleaned fenton while at. Done same to Aidan O'Shea, Brian Menton and Coml Cavanagh throughout the year. >Is there a better midfielder in the country? Would rate him above Mick O'Connell, Jack O'Shea and Darragh O'Se as kerry greatest midfielder of all time."
Ah God no. You're losing the run of yourself. Especially with regards to Kerry legends O'Shea and O'Connell. Moran has been on the scene since 2008 and intermittently contributed to Kerry seniors in any real way. Injuries have been a problem. Also he hasn't the athleticism of Jacko to influence game after game, and for a full game. He has a few good games every 3 years or so.

BliainanÁir (National) - 05/09/2019 12:58:16

GOAT - 7 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Nope but there is in the canal end :) How do you like them apples GOAT"
Be a bit gracious like Stephen Cluxton who spent 10 years from 2001 to 2011 with no all Ireland. You sound someone who never played any serious sport and not used to handling victory and defeat.

BliainanÁir (National) - 02/09/2018 17:57:37

Donal Óg Cusack Belittles Fellow Gaels - 7 Like(s)
What's with this man's agenda. His quip about the counties who prefer a more traditional approach to hurling being influenced by British culture seemed a thinly veiled dig at Kilkenny in particular. Who, whether they do or not, would be seen to play a traditional game. The old 'what did they do during the War of Independence' attitude is under the surface it seems. Tipp would be seen as a traditional hurling county too, but you can't really have a dig at them for inactivity 100 years ago. Also it's a very narrow view of the struggle for Irish Independence over many years. Wexford had 1798. Kilkenny and Laois were the 2 most active counties in fighting against the collection of oppressive tithes to fund the Church of Ireland in the 1830s Tithe War. By the early 1900s counties like Laois and Kilkenny had successfully acquired land, for a large proportion of the population, under the various land acts and were relatively contented. Also these counties were full of RIC barracks, and small garrisoned towns in close proximity and so on. No large tracts of wild, mountainy, hilly land like West Cork. Also there was plenty of ambushes, road digging, rail destruction, telephone wire cutting etc in midland counties. Maybe not the spectacular ambushes and Tan killings like Kilmichael, Crossbarry etc. Also Cork city was known as 'Royal Cork' at the turn of the 1900s. The city gave a tremendous welcome to Queen Victoria when she visited in 1900, red, white and blue and Union Jacks everywhere. The big change came about post 1916, conscription crisis, 1918 general election etc, as that change came about nationally. West Cork was always Fenian country. But no county can afford to have a cut off another with regards to 'Irishness'. Each has their own story to tell.

BliainanÁir (National) - 31/07/2019 15:49:52

Galway Vs Dublin - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Doing well with your love in with the Dubs like another former Laois poster.............."
No love in. Just not begrudging.

BliainanÁir (National) - 11/08/2018 22:07:58

David Gough To Referee The Final - 6 Like(s)
The effort by Dublin posters here to turn this into a 'poor David Gough, his integrity being questioned, this is disgraceful' topic is pathetic. The point being made is a referee who lives and works in a county participating in a big match should not officiate at that game as subconscious bias comes into the equation. Also it simply puts a referee in an unfortunate situation regarding 50/50 or controversial decisions in a match. Likewise for Sean Cleere reffing Tipp v Wexford when his county were already in the hurling final. It has nothing to do with either man's integrity, just best practice in appointing referees.

BliainanÁir (National) - 16/08/2019 12:43:25

David Gough To Referee The Final - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "For a supposed Laois man you have an awful lot of interest in this Kerry circus. Anyway this is about the process and the person. You're talking about the appointment process. I'm not. I'm talking about the person. It shouldn't be that hard to grasp. Gough has been appointed. His family, friends, relatives....are all aware and delighted for him. Eamo, Aido and another group of Kerry men have questioned his impartiality on the basis that he works in Dublin and are calling for his removal, in the case of the Kerry Supporters Club . For some reason you seem to think that if he was now removed it would not be damaging to him. That's just bizarre. 30% of the state's workforce works in Dublin. Good luck to Kerry and their supporters in finding a referee as good as Gough with no connection to the capital!"
His family, friends, relatives....are all aware and delighted for him. On the floor laughing!! Is life some sort of children's fairytale.. Why are you so concerned with the 'person' of David Gough?? For what it's worth i never said he should be removed, it's too late now. He should never have been appointed. And 70% of people have no connection to Dublin, that's a fair percentage to pick from. The hyperbole re.Gough as a referee is ridiculous. You'd swear he had eyes in the back of his head combined with hawkeye installed on him. Get over yourselves and the capital, there are plenty of good referees outside it.

BliainanÁir (National) - 18/08/2019 11:07:35

The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage - 5 Like(s)

Replying To PatOLogical:  "The biggest infraction, foul, injustice or whatever you want to call is not the referee's consulting with his officials. The greatest here is that a team and management group who are above reproach were chastised and disciplined. The rules are for other teams only. What else can be understood manager says he is not interested in players who will die for him, only interested in players who will kill for him. There is an unwritten and carefully cultivated "license to assault " has been at play for decades and it needs to be addressed before serious injury results."
Would you give over. Every team in the country has players who get sent off. Human nature is the same everywhere and doesn't change with county boundaries. You've a 'pathological' hatred of Kilkenny. Those type of phrases about killing are common in all sports don't take them literally. For example Johnny Giles quoting a football manager 'would he kill his granny?'. For an uncompromising player. Bill Shankley 'football is not just a matter of life and death, it's more important than that'. Try Compromise Rules against the Aussies for some serious clothes line tackles etc. Here's a nice Limerick/Clare hurling brawl for you.. https://youtu.be/4nOmN6G3XXY Here's the Limerick county final 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ic_QMP3YYDY

BliainanÁir (National) - 20/08/2019 18:07:10

Galway Vs Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Doing well with your love in with the Dubs like another former Laois poster.............."
One can't acknowledge the Dubs achievement or small simple minds accusing you of a love in. You lot brought no fight to the table today, unlike Mayo over the years. What good is beating Mayo and being bet out the gate when it really matters?

BliainanÁir (National) - 11/08/2018 22:13:46

Keep The Dubs Fans Happy - 5 Like(s)
Another Dubs love in thread.

BliainanÁir (National) - 30/07/2019 16:02:50

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To midlands:  ""Pauric Maher goes down ROLLING"; Cathal Barrett MAY have received SOME contact". If this is your vision of these incidents how can we take the rest of your comments seriously? How can you be so sure of what Tipp's "team policy" was? Like so many Kilkenny legends, it seems to me that the real motivation for all the whingeing is to devalue Tipperary's victory. How many teams have won seven championship matches on their way to winning the McCarthy Cup? If you want to attach a" sour taste" to their success I'm afraid you must be part of a very sad minority."
In all fairness Pauric Maher's reaction to the little flick was pathetic for one who goes in to be such a titan. Barrett greatly exaggerated his 'hit'. It looks like team policy to me. This is a public forum for giving your opinion. Just because you're in the minority doesn't make you wrong. There's wholesale begrudgery of Kilkenny because of their success over the past 20 years. many of the 'majority' make comments based on anti Kilkenny feeling and puff up the majority. The 'sad' majority in many cases. Tommy Walsh bounds up after the dirtiest stroke I ever saw pulled on an inter county pitch in 2009. Richie Hogan does the same when he gets a harder shoulder to the head v Tipp than any contact Barrett got. Tipp 2019, nah, not for me. ROLLING, EXAGGERATING. They are turning hurling into soccer. Tipp 2010, 2016, 2001, 1991 and any other year I remember manly, principled teams. Not divers.

BliainanÁir (National) - 23/08/2019 15:16:14

Well Done Anthony Cunningham - 5 Like(s)

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just like to say well done to Anthony Cunningham what a fantastic achievement for him personally, the man has won All Ireland's with Galway in the 80's has managed Galway to Leinster success and unlucky to lose All Ireland's with them also managed St Brigids footballers with good success was with Laois footballers then selector with the Dubs the mans a true Gael and I'm delighted for him especially after what happened with the Galway hurlers in the end. He seems like a lovely man from listening to him on podcasts and interviews over the years so again Well Done Anthony."
Well said. Absolutely, he was so unlucky with the Galway hurlers in 2012. They were unreal in the Leinster final that year. Henry Shefflin saved KK in the drawn All Ireland.

BliainanÁir (National) - 16/06/2019 21:20:03

It Will Be Five Years Since Kilkenny Won Liam - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Galway winning Leinster? that says it all about the way hurling is, I couldn't give a sh1te who wins the hurling championship, can't even watch the thing."
And no one gives a sh1te what you think. Both great games (hurling and football) when played well. The ultras who only like one code are generall narrow minded and carry a big chip.

BliainanÁir (National) - 03/09/2019 14:52:36

Replying To ballydalane:  "I think there is absolutely no way Liam Sheedy sends his teams out with a deliberate tactic to get players sent off. He just doesn't come across as that type of manager, I just can't picture a scenario where he's instructing players to try get lads sent off. Other managers, it wouldn't be that big a leap to imagine it, but not him. That's not to say Tipp players (and players on most if not all teams) don't partake in playacting of their own accord, but I seriously doubt it's coming from the top."
A deliberate tactic is too strong but they are told to make the most of any illegal stroke or clash. No way would Paudi Maher do what he did against Laois and Barrett make such a meal of the contact last Sunday. He went down in a very unnatural way. Liam Sheedy wants to win as much as the next man. I'm sure he's a fine man but exaggerating contact brings results. Why wouldn't simulation creep into hurling?Tipp were sluggish against Laois and it made for an easy 2nd half once Laois lost the man. Tommy Walsh (2009) and RIchie Hogan (2019 v Cork) wanted to get up as quickly as possible after the hits they took, as if it was a sign of their toughness. Totally different mindset to Paidi Maher (especially) and Barrett. Now where does this come from? Seems to be management driven as under O'Shea and Ryan this culture wasn't there.

BliainanÁir (National) - 25/08/2019 01:51:26

David Gough To Referee The Final - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Same thing though is it not. If people knew that he was going to be impartial then they would not call for his removal. If people doubted that he could be impartial then they would call for his removal. Remember, removal would be hugely damaging to Gough's reputation personally. So people are willing to do this so must have just cause and that is because they are questioning his impartiality. I've spoken to some on the "removal side" this week and they're all saying that "he'll give Dublin everything". Now two were from Kerry and one Kildare but still it's clear that his ability to be impartial is in question."
Daft post again. Damaging to Gough's reputation?? It's not personal. Refs should not be appointed to games when they live and work in one participating county. That's a universal law that should be applied. Universal for everyone, not personal. Can you not grasp this concept Joxer? It's not questioning an individual's integrity, just putting proper procedure in place. Transparency, eliminating any risk of bias.

BliainanÁir (National) - 17/08/2019 17:55:29

The faux concern of certain Dublin posters for David Gough is hillarious. I've never seen such a rush to defend any other referee.

BliainanÁir (National) - 17/08/2019 18:28:28

Replying To KillingFields:  "This is ridiculous and embarrassing for you. Every team makes the most of any stroke/clash If you watched him go down you wouldnt say it was unnatural."
They don't to the extent Tipperary did this year. Why is it embarassing? Since when has stating your opininion being embarassing? By the way my posts about Tipp going down soft are receiving more thumbs up than down which would indicate a silent majority agrees. Everyone goes down for every little tip according to the ironically named Killing Fields.

BliainanÁir (National) - 25/08/2019 13:36:03

Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown! - 5 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "We've got Joyce, Wilde, Yeats, Beckett, ...feck it, even U2. What have you got???......The Saw Doctors???.......hmmmm"
All anglo irish ascendancy. That's your culture. The Union Jack. Jackies and Jackeens. Your gaelic culture comes from outside the Pale. And you consides U2 and 'Nobby' culture. You'd find more culture in a tub of yogurt. Your welcome to them. Wonder you didn't mention Sir Bon Geldoff, another lad with the Union Jack tattooed on his buttocks.

BliainanÁir (National) - 16/09/2019 21:07:25

Galway Vs Dublin - 5 Like(s)
The begrudgery towards Dublin is worse than expected. They don't smile enough, if they do they're smug or arrogant. Can people not acknowledge that they are a great team who have cruised to the All-ireland final and may equal Kerry and Wexford's 4 in a row team, possibly surpass them?

BliainanÁir (National) - 11/08/2018 20:11:42

Replying To brisbane:  "Deegan was judged on his poor performance he gave kerry very soft frees he had a huge impact on the outcome.. Gough is being judged on his personnal life by the kerry media"
Who has questioned his personal life? Where you work and live are not your personal life when it comes to appointing a referee for an all-ireland. Are you suggesting something else? Come on this is all just anti Kerry stuff. Many Dublin posters aren't even posting on it as they are fair minded people. You just have a few die hards, their sychophants and Kerry begrudgers. I have commented on Dublin advantages that exist, you can't deny them. However at the same time I want to acknowledge the excellence of their team. Greatest football team ever. If they win the 5 in a row I will sincerely congratulate them. It would be petty not to.

BliainanÁir (National) - 18/08/2019 07:10:24

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 5 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Grow up would you. Clown."
We're grown up alright. And you're right in many respects we are clowns. We shouldn't participate in any competition with Dublin until finances are divided equally and unfair advantages are taken away. Let's spell it out for you again Avonlie. 1. Massive unfair government funding. 2. Regereeing bias as evidenced by lack of cards, officiating in favour of Dublin. 3. Provincial population. 4. So many home games. You know the rest. Seen as you can call people clown. I'd call you a little jumped up bully.

BliainanÁir (National) - 25/07/2019 16:57:39