Laois Forum

Popular Posts from Andy

New football manager - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Pat Mustard:  "Hah stop will you. Paul Garrigan is th manager and will be ratified probably not til november mind you. The chairman will make a point of thanking the commitee for their hard work which is a laugh when they were told what to come up with. I can assure you no interviews will take place sire the commitee itself has not even met FACT and will not be meeting. Its all a sham process with yes men."
Oops!!

Andy (Wicklow) - 30/08/2017 10:23:12

Wexford vs Killkenny (Hurling) - 4 Like(s)
Ah don't Wexford still have to play us?!! We didn't use more than the allowed subs again and have to forfeit did we!

Andy (National) - 21/05/2017 17:41:28

Kildare V Meath - 3 Like(s)

Replying To lilypad:  "Boys oh boys, ass handed on plate lads :)"
Good man, make sure you stick that boot in! You could always be humble in victory but sure who wants that! The good news is the Premiership will be back soon so you can get back to that.

Andy (National) - 17/06/2017 22:50:30

Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried? - 2 Like(s)
In response to the originally posted question... guess not!!! Fair play Kildare massive win!

Andy (National) - 30/06/2018 21:12:43

Leinster Football Championship - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Laoisvillian:  "Ha...born and bred for my troubles thanks very much. Only recently on this HS forum to find Laois people here are a dying breed...was there a falling out somewhere?"
There is the odd few here and there including myself but havent been on here in a while, generally go to gaaboards where a lot of the Laois chatter is. Good win for us against Westmeath, the backs were fantastic the whole game through while Evan had a stormer! Meath will rightly go in as favourites for the semi but i definately would expect us to give them a game. Its a far better test than last year where we went from playing Div4 teams the whole year (with the exception of Westmeath) before then finding ourselves in a Leinster Final against the Dubs. If Meath win I would hope that they will at least give the Dubs a decent game, in theory the good year should stand to them and the more Leinster teams in Division 1 of the league the better (which is by far and away a better competition than the championship). I'm praying for someone to at least make a game of the Leinster Final for a change!

Andy (National) - 29/05/2019 16:34:22

Leinster Football Championship - 2 Like(s)
Fair points Furlong and lilywhite1. Going by current form Meath should see it through in fairness, they are in great form from the league campaign and they are motoring along nicely now with 2 wins already in the championship. The more Leinster counties in division 1 the better so I was delighted to see Meath get there, hopefully Kildare and Laois (and others) might follow suit in years to come. Playing top quality opposition year in year out would bring all counties on no end. There has been so much talk about making tiered championships and (nonsense) talk about splitting Dublin, but how fecking awesome would it be if all counties made the province competitive again as a result of hard graft, effort and just a bit of initiative.

Andy (National) - 03/06/2019 19:06:44

Carlow vs Wexford - 2 Like(s)
Fair play Wayno, you were bang on the money with your sarcastic comment as it turned out! It did sound like a classic!

Andy (National) - 21/05/2017 17:30:44

Stephen Attride .. - 1 Like(s)
From my view of it on the Hogan it looked like the Carlow player lost possession and it turned into a 50/50 chase for the ball. Stephen could have just put a foot to it to clear it but knew that if he was able to get possession then it would be game over (think we were already in 2 mins of injury time by that stage). Testament to the bravery of the chap that he was willing to slide in for it knowing he would more than likely get whacked. Shining example of a player putting the team before himself and is a true reflection of what the GAA should be about.

Andy (National) - 12/06/2018 12:51:07

Unfair allocation of GAA money yet again - 1 Like(s)
Are the decision makers in the Leinster Council (and the GAA for that matter) just utterly stupid or are they seeing how far they can go with taking the p*ss? If they were limiting the counties that would receive aid to 4 it would have been better to give it to counties who have been in Div3/4 of the league. At least then you could say that there was some sort of structured approach to who was receiving the funds. For example an extra 600k plus would go a long way in counties like Wicklow and Carlow which would bring them to an even keel with most of the rest, with the end possibility of at least a chance for a Leinster semi final place. This would be monumental for those counties where one win in Leinster is something that comes around once every 10 years. Would this extra money really bring Meath and Kildare closer to Dublin? Giving it to counties because "they are on the commuter belt" is utterly ridiculous.

Andy (National) - 03/08/2016 12:47:54

If Aughrim Now Worthy Of Being A Home Venue. - 1 Like(s)

Replying To witnof:  "Yes, for two Division 4 yeams."
Actually Cavan got promoted to division 1 this year, so wrong on that one also.

Andy (National) - 02/06/2018 10:18:01

Dublin V Laois - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Royalio11:  "Dublin by 18. Should have listened the first time fella"
Twat! The rest of your original post was "this is a pointless exercise". It absolutely is not if Laois can bring this experience of playing a super team and knowing what the bar is to future matches. For a team going in playing div 3 and 4 opposition all year what were you expecting? A heroic rally where we outpaced Dublin in the last 15 mins? As far as we are concerned it's draw a line through this, take what positives we can and move onto the next one and next year.

Andy (National) - 24/06/2018 21:37:06

Did Laois use 7 subs ? - 1 Like(s)
I swear to God if the powers that be throw us out of the competition for making a genuine mistake when the game was done (the 7th sub came on 3 mins into injury time when Armagh were 2 points down at the time), then it will seriously look like their aim is to do a number on us! Would the Armagh contingent look for a replay? I would accept if the sub came around 10 mins from the end but the game was up? I would hazard a guess that we would get a fine, but even that I would hope the Laois county board stand firm on, especially after running it by the 4th official and him Ok'ing it.

Andy (National) - 21/06/2016 13:29:48