Galway Forum

Popular Posts from baire

"Why Should Anybody Have The God-Given Right To See All Games On Television?" - 7 Like(s)
I was in Co. Galway last Saturday and many ppl of all ages in my parish were very interested in seeing the Mayo Donegal match. The local hotel and pubs can't afford Sky anymore so only those with cars and money could watch it. It's different if you're living in Dublin or Galway city but many rural parts of Ireland don't have Sky. It must have been very frustrating for rural fans in both Mayo and Donegal - this was a knock out All Ireland quarter-final and the GAA had sold the sole rights to Sky. What role has Sky played in volunteerism and community-based amateur games? This is the 21 century, the technology is here to show games freely and widely, most ppl pay for a tv licence - it's not surprising that many people believe the GAA has lost touch with rural Ireland and with the grassroots.

baire (National) - 06/08/2019 15:21:19

Fair play TG4 - 7 Like(s)
Were it not for the Irish language and it being the first official language, and were it not for those who campaigned for an Irish language TV station, there would be no TG4. If there were no TG4 there would be no GAA club championships or leagues games shown on television not to mention all the other great sports programmes on TG4. The main aim of the GAA originally was to promote gaelic games and the Irish language, hence the name, Gaelic AA.

baire (National) - 11/04/2017 21:56:51

Dubs V Mayo - 7 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Hahaha Fair enough man whatever you say Hold onto your unfounded outrage and resentment based on nothing. I gave you a way out but you can only lead a donkey to water.. I genuinely feel sorry for people like you"
You're such a sanctimonious, arrogant, self-righteous, deluded keyboard licker that you actually believe I care about how you feel about me! I'll waste no more on this nonsense.

baire (National) - 06/08/2021 13:45:28

T J REID - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Past hurler:  "It's still only May, granted Kilkenny don't look like All Ireland contenders in 2018. If I was you, I wouldn't be so fixated on TJ Reid though. He has 7 Liam McCarthy medals compared to Joe Canning who has just the one for all the huff and puff coming out of Galway over the years. And TJ Reid has buried that Galway team many a day. Concentrate on your own county players and don't worry about Kilkenny hurlers who have reached the pinacle of Hurling with club and county on several occasions."
TJ has 7 AI medals because he's a fantastic hurler but unlike Joe Canning he played on arguably the best hurling team ever with the best manager. When he was tightly marked yesterday and playing on a team in transition he wasn't so hot, he failed to score from play. I haven seen any hurler better than Joe Canning getting scores under pressure as he showed yesterday and in last year's All Ireland semi-final.

baire (National) - 28/05/2018 12:48:55

Kennelly Salutes Egoless Dubs - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Why, would you expect many squads who haven't won jack squat to have big egos? I think the whole point of his comments is that the team he is talking about has had so much success yet the players don't have be egos. No sure where the "all other counties" comes into it."
Who cares what Kennelly says, he's just a poacher, his poaching is against the whole ethos of the GAA.

baire (National) - 18/10/2019 22:13:35

Dubs V Mayo - 6 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Are you referring to Kieran Duff? If so I'm delighted to be the one to enlighten you, and do away with that ignorance rattling around your head for the past 37-38 years Also to your fellow ignoranmious that liked your comment.. Behold the mighty truth..!! let it free you of your burden. https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.balls.ie/amp/gaa/kieran-duff-dublin-laochra-gael-407149 "Duff was sent-off the in second half after appearing to aim a kick at the head of Pat O'Neill. The Galway player later admitted that Duff had not made contact with his head.""
I saw that program, total nonsense, revisionism of the worst kind and O Neill being coaxed to go along with the sanctification of Duff. Laoch gael mo leath deiridh! Peileadóir maith ach peileadóir brocach!

baire (National) - 06/08/2021 13:20:41

Galway Hurling thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  ""Hard enough to listen to a Galway man putting down his own county...." Lets call a spade a spade. A "Galway man" putting down his own county is not a Galway man. He is an anti-Galway man."
Unfortunately there are still too many naysayers in the county and unsurprisingly surface when we lose. The 1980 AI winning team who made the breakthrough by winning the 1975 league final had to endure a huge amount of negativity down through the years, being told they'd never win an AI, weren't good enough, were cursed etc. Clare had to endure the same negativity from their own supporters. I recently heard one of those Galway players saying that after losing the 1979 final against KK that Pat Henderson came to him after the game and gave him great encouragement, saying to keep going, that they had the hurlers and would soon win an All Ireland. Fair play to Henderson, a true sportsman and fair play to John Connolly and the other courageous hurlers who kept it going through those barren years.

baire (National) - 17/07/2023 20:56:53

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 5 Like(s)

Replying To superbluedub:  "of course you are , your a Kerry man"
Why weren't you out celebrating instead of being your usual keyboard pruik?

baire (National) - 15/09/2019 09:56:45

Galway Vs Dublin - 5 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Nothing disingenuous about it at all That's how you have to setup against a park the bus team when playing away from home. Dublin aren't a defence first team. Galway are very much looking that way though and fair play it's working so far but it's very early in the year"
I still hear some Kerry and Dublin people claiming that both county teams play attacking, free flowing, traditional kick passing football. This is self-delusion and snobbery to some degree. Corofin played fast flowing attacking gaelic football on Patrick's day, with a wonderful blend of long & short foot passing along with intricate hand passing - all done at speed and with great skill. The modern game played at county level is not gaelic football anymore, it's based more on soccer as most modern players and managers are consciously or unconsciously hugely influenced by what's happening in the Premiership and in the Champions League. Gaelic football nowadays is a game based on possession, negative defending and counter-attack. When Galway continued to play the traditional style they were derided, being told they played lovely football but that they were naive and would never win an All Ireland. It's about winning at all costs even though it's an amateur game. There is no reward for sporting behaviour - negativity and cynical fouling is done because it prevents the other team from scoring and the punishment does not fit the crime. All teams will play cynically if they are allowed to do so. Cynicism is part of the game. One way of getting rid of cynical fouling at the end of a tight game is to give a free directly in front of goals. A cynical player will take any card in those last moments but they'll think twice if they know it's going to be a 13 metre free in front of goal.

baire (National) - 19/03/2018 11:04:03

Dublin 10 In A Row Odds! - 5 Like(s)
Another boring thread about Dublin - endless BS, who cares if they win 10 in a row! The Dublin media rarely mention how the cunning BA used state funding to get the Dubs into a totally dominant position. Dublin's success is tainted by a disgraced politician, one of their own, unfortunately. The comparison with Kerry or the KK hurlers is odious.

baire (National) - 13/08/2019 07:57:21

Dublin V Roscommon - 5 Like(s)

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Dublin invented that style of play, now you know how the whole country felt watching ye play keep ball for minutes on end."
To be fair Dublin did not invent that style. What's played these days by all counties isn't FOOTball. It's more like basketball on grass with a few players still able to kick the ball.

baire (National) - 31/05/2023 10:10:06

Dubs V Mayo - 5 Like(s)

Replying To realdub:  "Not sure about 1974 I was only a kid but I remember 1983, queuing up for Hill 16 at 11.30am and the Galway supporters train had stopped on the bridge above us. There were cups of tea, sandwiches and whatever raining down on the Dublin fans. Not mentioned in the national media either, funny auld game!"
1983! I wouldn't go there if I were you. A Galway player lying on the ground and one of your heroes kicking him in the head comes to mind - funny auld game indeed!

baire (National) - 06/08/2021 10:39:30

NFL Division 1 - 5 Like(s)

Replying To mightydubs:  "Yes they did as did Tyrone players as there backroom team but a Tyrone supporter started the whole thing hitting a Dublin player. Hopefully we play them come summer"
Get down off your high and mighty horse!

baire (National) - 29/02/2020 21:54:22

Boycott Leinster Championship 2020 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Doped one team? Comical. Heaven forbid your county might actually try and raise their standards. Instead they would rather compete against Carlow and Wexford. Oh how the mighty have fallen. The last I checked it was 15 players against 15 players. The manner in which Tyrone ripped Kildare apart in their home patch would suggest that the second tier in Leinster of Meath and Kildare both have some way to go to get to the standard of the top counties. It will be interesting to see how Meath get on in the super 8s with no Dublin to play against and to whinge about."
How the pompous have risen!

baire (National) - 02/07/2019 10:22:32

Loughnane tears into Galway - 4 Like(s)
I see Ollie Canning has responded to the Clare magalomaniac. I was in Thurles in 2008, the day Joe scored 2-12. Cork were down a man before half time. What tactics did Loughnane employ to win the game in the second half? The Galway keeper hit each puck out down on top of the best half-back line in Ireland at the time. Ollie Canning was the loose Galway man, one of the most skillful hurlers in the country. Not once was the Galway keeper instructed to play the ball to Ollie Canning! Not once has the Clare magalomaniac assessed his own performance in public as a manager of Galway. He did more harm than any other manager in Galway. I will not read his rantings in future. Let him wallow in his bile.

baire (National) - 05/07/2016 13:09:34

Kerry V Dublin - 4 Like(s)
Puke football is now the prerogative of the so-called aristocrats! Blanket defences, 30 minutes of passes and soloing across the field, foot passes almost non-existent - I wonder why it's called gaelic football?

baire (National) - 01/09/2019 17:47:15

Galway Hurling thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "Well I am happy with Henry as it stands, but my preference IF a new manager was required would be Davy Fitz."
The one thing that's to be learned from the AIs we have won, they were all won with a Galway man in charge. All the Munster managers set the teams back years and treated them with derision, even McIntyre who lives in Galway used to address the media before talking to his team in the dressing room after a defeat. Loughnane despised Galway. I have respect for Shefflin and I appreciate the huge sadness of losing his brother. The one criticism I'd have is the same tendency to disassociate himself from the team when they lose. He and his management team are part of the team. Rather than looking at why the players lost the management team must also accept that they were to some degree responsible for the loss or the margin of the loss. D Fitz! No thanks!

baire (National) - 14/07/2023 08:46:27

National Hurling League 2022 - 4 Like(s)
Very sad news about Paul Shefflin, Henry's brother, who passed away suddenly yesterday. RIP.

baire (National) - 05/03/2022 14:02:56

Galway Hurling thread - 4 Like(s)
The GAA has lost all credibility when it comes to dangerous play and hits to the head. The shoulder in full force onto Niland's chin today would be a straight red and a suspension even in rugby but the ref didn't even give a yellow card. Unbelievable.

baire (National) - 11/02/2024 18:17:13

Dublin GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "For me.. It's now time for Con to step up and truly take Bernards place. He's a remarkable baller but ow it's time to go up to the next level. He's not a youngster anymore and its time to become a senior leader. Dublin need a BB like performance and Con nees to take it and own the responsibility."
What a load of nonsense - the most lethal forward in the country and this is what you come up with! BS!

baire (National) - 01/07/2023 08:40:39