Donegal Forum

Popular Posts from ruanua

Karl Lacey retires - 13 Like(s)
Wishing Karl Lacey the best in retirement Donegals most decorated footballer with 4 all stars and a POTY award Karl had won 3 all stars prior to 2012 which is remarkable considering the teams he played in won just one provincial title in that period Prior to 2010 he was the best man marker in the game - always tasked with man marking the opposition key attacking threat - evolved into a key playmaker at CHB dynamically shifting play to attack whilst marshalling the defence formation What stood out for me was his footballing Brain - always in the right place and always taking the right option in possession. Calmness personified whilst having a habit of picking off scores at key moments in the game. Abiding memories his winning point v Kerry and delivery to Murphy v mayo. One of and argueably Donegals greatest Karl - All the best with family life and retirement

ruanua (National) - 31/08/2017 20:08:23

Croke Park Hotel Bistro - 8 Like(s)
Going to let you into a secret If Croker is sold out 1) the hotel closest to the stadium will be busy 2) it won't be easy to get out of the clonliffe road. car park 3) you might have to queue for the jacks in the stadium ( especially if you are female) 4) cold oven chips at 4 euro a carton probably isn't the most economical way to fodder yourself 5) the barman in croker isn't going to lovingly craft a 3 stage pour pint of guinness in a pre chilled glass And if it's AI final weekend you will probably queue to get into coppers ( unless you are a copper) Otherwise it's a fairly big town so there maybe second third and fourth options - Go figure !

ruanua (National) - 06/08/2017 12:06:29

Dublin line ball - 7 Like(s)
Any thoughts on Connolly wrestling the ball from Kilkenny - with some composure Dublin could have worked a score or killed the clock Instead Connolly tries a Hail Mary on a wet heavy day and gives Mayo possession Kilkenny clearly knew it was wrong thing to do but got bullied out of it He wanted his Maurice fitz moment and may have cost Dublin the game

ruanua (National) - 18/09/2016 21:55:53

Kimmage rant at Jim Gavin - 7 Like(s)
Saw a video on social media of JG speaking at Round Towers yesterday - genuine and personable amongst "Real People" - much more important than humouring the fourth estate Sign of the times I guess - the more prevelant social medics becomes as being a medium for " news" the more outlandish journos feel they need to be

ruanua (National) - 25/09/2017 21:45:34

If i could, I'd build a wall - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Jackeen:  "As a member of the fairer sex i can indeed confirm that the Donegal accent is immense...now present Christy Toye to me in the handball alley after the match & I'll fix yis up!!"
Why look for a Toye - When you could have the real thing

ruanua (National) - 05/08/2016 13:38:46

Dean Rock - 5 Like(s)
I think I read an article in Saturday mornings paper that Dean Rock had scored 17 points from free's in a row without a wide - don't believe he missed any on Saturday which takes that to 21/22 Appreciate that he has some help from fact that cluxton takes the longer ones but that aside its some statistic - people can harp on to the halcyon days of Sheehy/Giles/B Rock/ Tompkins but sure it's a remarkable record under any comparison He took one shortly after Mchughs goal into a breeze into the Davin from a tight angle on right last week that was key in calming any nerves Dublin may have had

ruanua (National) - 08/08/2016 23:07:59

Car park - Clonliffe Road - 4 Like(s)
Take M1 - port tunnel Park in IFSC ( old jury's inn now Hilton garden) It's 10 minutes from M50 15 minute walk to croker 5 euro for the day with a match ticket ( 3 euro each way for the tunnel )

ruanua (National) - 06/08/2017 19:36:28

Eamon McGee's Diarmuid Connolly phone calls - 4 Like(s)
If you want to make sense of everything Eamon has said or done while on the sauce - let me know when you have an answer ! That said fair play to him for his part in Dublin winning the 2011 final If the intention of the post is to wind up Donegal posters based on a players off the pitch behaviour then maybe including Connolly in the same post is a flawed approach.

ruanua (National) - 01/09/2016 11:55:25

Eamon McGee - True Gael! - 4 Like(s)
Eamon is one of those players that is a real character of the game - his own county men will regard him as a legend many opposing fans will despise him - like a Galvin or Ricey or McMahon - Also one of the last of the old regime whose idea of letting off steam could last to midweek Also a lot deeper than you would expect if you follow him on Twitter and follow his views on everything from gay marriage to his science journal subscription - there were only two brief moments of joy for Donegal last Saturday - the Mchugh goal and brogan getting caught in a McGee brother sandwich - highlight of his career will be the brilliant interception in 2012 that led to Murphys goal and 3 days in Downings after the 2013 Ulster final Thanks for the memories !!

ruanua (National) - 08/08/2016 22:31:06

Total Injustice! - 3 Like(s)
I can see why Mayo fans might be unhappy with the ref but 1) the free at the end of the first half was for a tackle after the Kilkenny/Andrews collision - it may still have been soft but that's another argument 2) there was contact outside the square and then heavy contact in the square - if he blew for the first contact it was a free 3) the CoC free chance came from a incorrect line Ball and a fairly soft free 4) he correctly gave Mayo 2 mins to equalise due to time wasting -,this is not always the case ( 2011) 5) it was a red card All in all Mayo probably were unlucky on the big calls but don't think any of them were 100 pc wrong They lost the game -from 3/4 easy wides - not being able to sustain the effort on ckuxtons kick outs ab

ruanua (National) - 17/09/2017 18:36:49

Car park - Clonliffe Road - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Onion Breath:  "[quote=MesAmis:  "Getting the Luas from Hueston only gets you to Middle Abbey St., Busaras, or Connolly. All are min 20 mins walk from Croke Park, but a lot longer with young kids and requires walking through parts of the city that best avoided. Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts:917 - 06/08/2017 20:22:36 ???? It's not war torn Damascus bud. Thousands of us manage to live there without incident everyday believe it or not. "Area best avoided" me hole."
I can't think of another part of any city or town in the 26 counties that would be less safe to walk through than the drug ravaged crime ridden hell hole that is the north inner city of Dublin. You may feel comfortable walking around there however."]Seriously exactly how do you intend to go to croke park without going through north inner city Dublin ( short of a helicopter or drone ) A million odd people a year seem ok to brave it and the casualty rate hasn't been high enough to invoke a DOF travel ban To be honest the walk to Croke park experiencing the headband makers / ticket touts / water sellers / unofficial parking attendants and having a pint in sone pub that being honest I wouldn't visit on a Friday night ( is all part of the atmosphere ) and what makes match day special Whatever route I take - summer hill parade / gardiner street / mountjoy square / Buckingham street - I've never experienced any discomfort on match day - thousands of match fans / families / kids heading to and from the games - I do hope that you are able to insulate your family in your utopian bubble for the rest of their lives but failing that you might need them to experience the fact that the world and your country is a bigger place

ruanua (National) - 06/08/2017 23:27:04

Dublin v Donegal - 3 Like(s)

Replying To CroiGorm:  "You make more in a month than he/she will make in a lifetime? Now that's some statement."
What's a maters degree ? Is this where they teach open heart surgery ?

ruanua (National) - 30/07/2016 21:43:28

Testimonials for individuals - in the GAA? - 3 Like(s)
Not comfortable with this - it is a first - in effect it's purpose is mainly to benefit Gooch. Appreciate there is a charity angle but this sounds very like it's a " percentage" I see this as different to guest speaking, punditry etc, where a players expertise allows him TO benefit as part of a wider event for travelling working and allocating his time This event has no other purpose than to reward a player / its s slippery slope - let's have a dinner and give David Clifford 250k not to go to Sydney Swans

ruanua (National) - 23/09/2017 23:07:05

Murphy v EOG - 2 Like(s)
Man trying to get ball and being overly physical v man 50 yards from ball striking an opponent Are not comparable

ruanua (National) - 06/08/2016 22:52:22

Glenswilly 0-03 St Eunans 0-02 - 2 Like(s)
I'd ask why these lads aren't on the county panel we never managed to concede less than 8 points when Jim was at the helm

ruanua (National) - 24/07/2016 21:28:27

Dublin v Tyrone Semi-Final - 2 Like(s)
Disappointing game for the neutral - really expected this to be a tense and tactical battle. But Dublin dominated this from start to finish and in every corner of the field Looked to be more powerful and quicker in every position. Thought in the opening exchanges that it would be a good game - Dublin were forced to use the wings early and ended up with a bad shot selection and felt game was setting up nicely but the early goal from a sloppy turnover but Tyrone on the back foot and their game plan without plan B wasn't going to let them chase the game Dublin's system of off the ball running between the 21&45 is awesome and showed extreme patients to create a break - Tyrone on the other hand carried the ball on countless occasions into dead ends At the same time Tyrone list nearby every kick out in the first half What is frightening is how much Dublin had in reserve in the bench if this had of developed into a contest This is easily the most comfortable Dublin have been in getting to a final Mayo will need to play out of their skins to make this a contest in September Can't see any reason to complain about the ref from a Tyrone perspective booked 3 Dublin players for off the ball / late tackles in first half - gave a penalty that many wouldn't and should have red carded Colm cavanagh

ruanua (National) - 27/08/2017 21:02:51

Car park - Clonliffe Road - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Onion Breath:  "That advice is no use at all. Matches in Croke Park are played on Saturdays and Sundays. There are no trains from Sligo, Longford or Newbridge that stop at Drumcondra on these days - only on weekdays. Getting the Luas from Hueston only gets you to Middle Abbey St., Busaras, or Connolly. All are min 20 mins walk from Croke Park, but a lot longer with young kids and requires walking through parts of the city that best avoided."
Reckon you should avoid altogether until Uber bring in Drones that will bring you safely from the leafy suburbs of Carlow to the corporate suites in croker

ruanua (National) - 06/08/2017 21:36:57

Petition: To get Dan Shanahan to turn his cap - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "Petition: To get Dan Shanahan to turn his cap around properly It's just getting awkward at this stage, it's not 1997 anymore Dan I feel that the only appropriate course of action is to intervene on his behalf, it's for his own good. This level of absolute uncoolness must stop"
Every second lad on the GAA course in Carlow IT wears their cap like he does. It's more fashionable than you might think ."]Notable fashion and trendsetting capitals of the Globe - Paris / New York / Milan / London and Carlow IT GAA course

ruanua (National) - 10/08/2016 14:54:30

Dublin v Donegal - 2 Like(s)
There is an intriguing clash next Saturday which serves up many points of interest - just a few 1) Gavin learned from 2014 so the same gaps won't exist in their halfback line for Ryan Mchugh 2) who do Dublin try and isolate and restrict Based on history Murphy and Ryan Mchugh - based on yesterday Mcbrearty and Eoin Mchugh and that still leaves mcniallias 3) will Dublin press on Donegal kick outs and force the long ball - Worked for Tyrone and Cork 4) will Donegal try and test Cooper v Murphy or will murphy act as plAymaker or decoy for mcbrearty 5) Mcbrearty wont get red carpet treatment he got v cork from likes of Philly McMAhon 6) ageing Donegal HB line Mcglynn Lacey Thompson - struggled in first 20 minutes in 2014 v Flynn and Connolly / can't see this being any better now for Donegal 7) run at Donegal causes problems - what about KMAC 8) Donegal are goal leaky this year - Brogan has never got much space V Donegal but could this be his year and it would be if Donegal give even half the space they gave Cork 9) will Gallagher have an ego moment and try and outdo Jim 2011 and think he can go for a shut out - full double decker park the coach And many more / should the thread think about these and other challenges rather than who got the most hilarity from Kerry winning the 2014 All Ireland - Are we really using a Kieran Donaghy fluke goal as the main point of argument ?

ruanua (National) - 01/08/2016 00:14:45

Murphy v EOG - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Joxer:  "Donegal's systematic targeting and sledging of Dublin players today was shocking but we won out in the end. I understand the win at all costs mentality but the targeting of Connolly and O'Gara today was something to witness, will not have been caught on TV. I've lost some respect for what was a decent group of players at one stage. How Murphy, a great player if he could lose the dark element of his game, stayed on the pitch I don't know. I know he must be frustrated playing that brand of football but he needs to control his aggression. Not sure how many points Donegal got from play but couldn't have been many. A good tough game for the Dubs and let's hope we see a football match in the semis. Well done Paul Mannion on scoring one of the goals of the season."
Connolly could have 4 yellows in total most of them for late hits on Ryan McHugh -

ruanua (National) - 07/08/2016 09:12:51