Minors 2017

That's just the way it is. Leinster and Munster has a backdoor for the first round losers. Kerry were beaten twice one year in Munster and still in the All Ireland Competition.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/08/2017 13:57:40    2031983

Replying To StirringIt:  "as a point of discussion, does anyone think it's unfair that the beaten finalists get a second bite of the cherry when the provincial champions don't.
Derry beat us well, yet we get another chance to get to the semi. If Derry lost the quarter final they are gone.No extra chance !
How would we feel if Cavan won Ulster and were beaten in the quarter final and the team we beat went on to win the All Ireland.
Should the beaten finalists be gone. Are we taking away the shock defeat like the senior super 8 will next year ?"
When do you stop giving second chance then? Semi, final???

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 10/08/2017 14:04:56    2031984

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "When do you stop giving second chance then? Semi, final???"
The super 8 is going to end up as a complete joke.
Take the four senior teams that played last week.
Monaghan and Armagh get hammered .
They would get another hammering by Dublin and Tyrone in round 2.
And really would both teams be interested in playing each other in round 3 after 2 hammering and nothing at stake?
It's a money thing and nothing else.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 10/08/2017 15:13:52    2032011

Will we be missing the Minors that played with their clubs on Sunday for The All Ireland Semi Final?

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 10/08/2017 15:24:20    2032016

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "Will we be missing the Minors that played with their clubs on Sunday for The All Ireland Semi Final?"
who played for there clubs?

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 10/08/2017 15:42:32    2032023

When do you stop giving second chance then? Semi, final???
doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts:1047 - 10/08/2017 14:04:56

Should any team at any level get a second chance ?
The back door is just a money spinner for the GAA. Wheres the shock win/defeat element. Teams now get a second bite ( unless you're a provincial champion)
The super 8 will now make sure the provincial champions get a second bite but in all honesty it's a farce of a set up.
The championship should be knock out. The chance of a big upset is now gone.
Just my personal opinion.
incidentally, credit to the minors. It's great to see a semi final position. Don't think i'm knocking them.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 10/08/2017 16:14:46    2032041

The League should be the major competition for the All Ireland and the c/ship as it now stands should be knock-out and the second competition. lose and you're out.
The League should be re-named and played in a Champions League format with home and away games ensuring at least 6 matches for every team.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/08/2017 20:16:55    2032143

Replying To Breffni81:  "who played for there clubs?"
Read this weeks match reports and you will easily figure that one out yourself.

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 11/08/2017 10:13:01    2032255

What a great achievement for John and his backroom team, they have managed this talented squad to reach the All Ireland semi-final
When the lads get rob the final they will beat Derry and we will have an all Ireland again.

Good luck to all our county men

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 15/08/2017 01:55:48    2033489

What backroom team........?

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 15/08/2017 10:07:13    2033518

Replying To tom84:  "What backroom team........?"
What backroom team........?

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts:122 - 15/08/2017 10:07:13 2033518

Yes the back room thats there are responsible for the success that the minors have had and long may it continue.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 15/08/2017 12:23:19    2033575

Replying To seanorinn:  "What backroom team........?

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts:122 - 15/08/2017 10:07:13 2033518

Yes the back room thats there are responsible for the success that the minors have had and long may it continue."
Surely some little part of the Credit should be given to the 2 men that were there for 18 months up to the Ulster Final.

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 15/08/2017 15:25:50    2033678

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "Surely some little part of the Credit should be given to the 2 men that were there for 18 months up to the Ulster Final."
Surely some little part of the Credit should be given to the 2 men that were there for 18 months up to the Ulster Final.
Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts:324 - 15/08/2017 15:25:50 2033678

WHY

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 15/08/2017 17:50:21    2033765

The very best of luck on Sunday . Great to have a Cavan team in croke park on all Ireland semi final day . Ye have put so much pride back into Cavan football . No College success to go on either . Massive respect and well done so far . .,Can we dare to dream . Come on Cavan

Countrywide2 (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 15/08/2017 19:00:09    2033796

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "Surely some little part of the Credit should be given to the 2 men that were there for 18 months up to the Ulster Final."
Also huge credit to the coaches & selectors of the various development squads that brought these lads through from u14 level despite the rubbish that people spouting on here. It's a coordinated effort from all groups & great to see it being effective

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 15/08/2017 23:26:40    2033956

Good luck to our minors
Good luck to John
We are Cavan

potnorwindow (Cavan) - Posts: 363 - 16/08/2017 04:12:00    2033993

Replying To bond:  "Also huge credit to the coaches & selectors of the various development squads that brought these lads through from u14 level despite the rubbish that people spouting on here. It's a coordinated effort from all groups & great to see it being effective"
Also huge credit to the coaches & selectors of the various development squads that brought these lads through from u14 level despite the rubbish that people spouting on here. It's a coordinated effort from all groups & great to see it being effective
bond (Longford) - Posts:112 - 15/08/2017 23:26:40 2033956

So now you want to give the credit to others instead of the present management I wonder why. John Brady John Young are proven trophy winners I don't know much about the others on the backroom team but I am sure young Jack has won several quality medals over the last few years and the young lads must surely have respect for those helping. No praise to anyone else except of course the players who are a great bunch of lads and have shut most of the bedgrudgers up and long may it continue. Jesus if they win Sunday and I have no reason to think they cannot who will people dig up to start giving credit too. John Brady and John Young have been a long time around and have I would say nearly seen every potential minor for the last five years if not more. I saw them both for years watching matches so they did their background for sure. The Brady family have some history behind them and it shows.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 16/08/2017 11:53:31    2034116

Replying To seanorinn:  "Also huge credit to the coaches & selectors of the various development squads that brought these lads through from u14 level despite the rubbish that people spouting on here. It's a coordinated effort from all groups & great to see it being effective

So now you want to give the credit to others instead of the present management I wonder why. John Brady John Young are proven trophy winners I don't know much about the others on the backroom team but I am sure young Jack has won several quality medals over the last few years and the young lads must surely have respect for those helping. No praise to anyone else except of course the players who are a great bunch of lads and have shut most of the bedgrudgers up and long may it continue. Jesus if they win Sunday and I have no reason to think they cannot who will people dig up to start giving credit too. John Brady and John Young have been a long time around and have I would say nearly seen every potential minor for the last five years if not more. I saw them both for years watching matches so they did their background for sure. The Brady family have some history behind them and it shows."
As long as the young lads are treated with respect too Sean.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 16/08/2017 13:12:40    2034183

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "As long as the young lads are treated with respect too Sean."
As long as the young lads are treated with respect too Sean.
doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts:1062 - 16/08/2017 13:12:40 2034183

I hope you don't think they are not
. Management show them nothing but respect. They make changes and people knock them who should know better than the management who are up for it or not. I have been around a long time and seen the good and bad side of it and for me the current management are doing a great job and not taking credit for something they had nothing to do with like others.

It will be great coming home Sunday evening with another win all going well and there is no reason why one should think otherwise. Galway Cork Dublin Kerry, Cavan are capable of beating them on the day. This is the glory of Minor football and Hurling hot today cold tomorrow so be positive let's hope people stop the negative crap it's fecking sole destroying.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 16/08/2017 14:25:35    2034238

Replying To seanorinn:  "Also huge credit to the coaches & selectors of the various development squads that brought these lads through from u14 level despite the rubbish that people spouting on here. It's a coordinated effort from all groups & great to see it being effective

So now you want to give the credit to others instead of the present management I wonder why. John Brady John Young are proven trophy winners I don't know much about the others on the backroom team but I am sure young Jack has won several quality medals over the last few years and the young lads must surely have respect for those helping. No praise to anyone else except of course the players who are a great bunch of lads and have shut most of the bedgrudgers up and long may it continue. Jesus if they win Sunday and I have no reason to think they cannot who will people dig up to start giving credit too. John Brady and John Young have been a long time around and have I would say nearly seen every potential minor for the last five years if not more. I saw them both for years watching matches so they did their background for sure. The Brady family have some history behind them and it shows."
Actually if you got down of your high horse for a minute you might realise I was also praising John Brady because he was manager of the county u16 development squad for 2 years when this current team were at that group.... maybe you should think before you jump to defend.....

bond (Longford) - Posts: 174 - 16/08/2017 14:49:31    2034249