Minors 2017

Replying To JonSmith:  "Were you in Clones Slasher? Were you in Carrick?
Derry are an excellent side and I find it hard to see how we would beat them were we to play them again. Although we made errors, we didn't play poorly on the day of the Ulster final; we were simply outclassed.
I don't believe we have the pace and power to match Derry and their forwards ability to win their own ball and score is superior to ours. I'm basing this opinion on seeing them play and seeing us play, football maths doesn't work.

This is no slight on our lads, they are in the last 4 on merit and they're a team that have made us proud to get out and support them. They're a credit. I'm giving an honest analysis of what I believe the team are capable of."
Replying To Cavan_Slasher: "Derry were a better side ON THE DAY.
Funny how Derry only scraped past Sligo who were soundly beaten by Galway who were then beaten by Cavan.
As has been said already - minor football teams are very temperamental. Anything can happen on the day."
Were you in Clones Slasher? Were you in Carrick?
Derry are an excellent side and I find it hard to see how we would beat them were we to play them again. Although we made errors, we didn't play poorly on the day of the Ulster final; we were simply outclassed.
I don't believe we have the pace and power to match Derry and their forwards ability to win their own ball and score is superior to ours. I'm basing this opinion on seeing them play and seeing us play, football maths doesn't work.

This is no slight on our lads, they are in the last 4 on merit and they're a team that have made us proud to get out and support them. They're a credit. I'm giving an honest analysis of what I believe the team are capable of.
JonSmith (Cavan) - Posts:1402 - 08/08/2017 00:43:59 2030736

I am not sure you really are however your analysis I am sure are correct but as I have stated minors are a complete different kettle of fish when it comes to performances. Were you at the 97 senior final would say the result was a correct one reason I am asking this question I want to get an idea what type person we are dealing with. To be honest I don't give a rats ass how Joh Brady and John Young along with the rest of the management and players won last Saturday but they won it and won it on pure never say die attitude. The amount of bedgrudgers there are towards this team is unbelievable.
Unfortunately once again I missed this match but please god I will make the Kerry game and anyway it's handed to me once they win I personally don't care but being the person I am I will accept the result one way or the other and walk away proud of these young lads for what they have done.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 08/08/2017 10:07:07    2030825

Replying To StirringIt:  "I bet there will be a few thousand extra " Genuine Minor Supporters" looking for tickets for the semi final !!!!!!"
Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts:605 - 08/08/2017 09:47:06 2030809

I don't know why I had it in my head that the score was a 13 point defeat but off course you are correct my error thanks for the correction. Still nice for the lads to pick themselves up from that defeat and go on and beat the Connaught champions long may they continue.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 08/08/2017 10:38:52    2030850

Replying To seanorinn:  "Replying To Cavan_Slasher: "Derry were a better side ON THE DAY.
Funny how Derry only scraped past Sligo who were soundly beaten by Galway who were then beaten by Cavan.
As has been said already - minor football teams are very temperamental. Anything can happen on the day."
Were you in Clones Slasher? Were you in Carrick?

This is no slight on our lads, they are in the last 4 on merit and they're a team that have made us proud to get out and support them. They're a credit. I'm giving an honest analysis of what I believe the team are capable of.
JonSmith (Cavan) - Posts:1402 - 08/08/2017 00:43:59 2030736

I am not sure you really are however your analysis I am sure are correct but as I have stated minors are a complete different kettle of fish when it comes to performances. Were you at the 97 senior final would say the result was a correct one reason I am asking this question I want to get an idea what type person we are dealing with. To be honest I don't give a rats ass how Joh Brady and John Young along with the rest of the management and players won last Saturday but they won it and won it on pure never say die attitude. The amount of bedgrudgers there are towards this team is unbelievable.
Unfortunately once again I missed this match but please god I will make the Kerry game and anyway it's handed to me once they win I personally don't care but being the person I am I will accept the result one way or the other and walk away proud of these young lads for what they have done."
For someone that has alot to say, you miss alot of matches.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 08/08/2017 10:56:21    2030862

well done to the lads. I'm truly delighted for them. I was chatting to one of the young lads last week and i must say he was a credit. a great lad with a great attitude and at that point he was confident and ready for the challenge and so it came to pass that he was right to believe in himself and his teammates. I'm actually starting to wonder are Cavan people negative towards football from years of despair or what?? Here our lads lads are in an All Ireland semi final for the first time in 40+ years with a chance of bringing the reign of an empire in Kerry down. Regardless of gripes towards management and resentment to ''fair weather '' cavan supporters can we just get behind them. they're at least the 4th best team out of 31 teams. Fair play to you Sean for your constant positivity but honestly you shouldn't need to be always defending and explaining

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 08/08/2017 11:16:00    2030874

This is an unexpected bit of sunshine in August for Cavan fans. Well done to all the players and management. I thought we were beaten by a much better team in the Ulster Final but id take losing that and finding our way into Croker any day. We have a habit of getting excited with medals and trophies in Cavan and these young lads had the hunger in abundance in Carrick-on-Shannon on Sunday.

Well done all but lets not stop here. Go and make a bit of history!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 08/08/2017 11:26:45    2030879

Replying To cavanblueman:  "For someone that has alot to say, you miss alot of matches."
For someone that has alot to say, you miss alot of matches.
cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts:163 - 08/08/2017 10:56:21 2030862

If you are referring to me well those that know me and what I do know why I miss games. For example this week I had planned to go to the match with O Martin in fact I could have traveled with the team on the bus for they invited me too but I had to attend the Mater at 12-30 Saturday after receiving a call Friday morning. I hope that explains why I was not there. Sadly there are other things happening in Breifni that prevent me from going to most matches but when I can I attend as many matches as I can. I am also not a young man and I have personal issues so would not be able to travel long distances but I could have managed the 62 km to Carrick on Shannon.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 08/08/2017 11:41:04    2030889

Replying To theweanling:  "well done to the lads. I'm truly delighted for them. I was chatting to one of the young lads last week and i must say he was a credit. a great lad with a great attitude and at that point he was confident and ready for the challenge and so it came to pass that he was right to believe in himself and his teammates. I'm actually starting to wonder are Cavan people negative towards football from years of despair or what?? Here our lads lads are in an All Ireland semi final for the first time in 40+ years with a chance of bringing the reign of an empire in Kerry down. Regardless of gripes towards management and resentment to ''fair weather '' cavan supporters can we just get behind them. they're at least the 4th best team out of 31 teams. Fair play to you Sean for your constant positivity but honestly you shouldn't need to be always defending and explaining"
Fair play to you Sean for your constant positivity but honestly you shouldn't need to be always defending and explaining

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts:118 - 08/08/2017 11:16:00 2030874

Yes I think you are right and time I stopped. I just replied to cavanblueman however but the last. I find it hard to be honest for I see the work that is put in by these young lads and management behind the scene it's annoying to read the negative posts towards your county lad's. I am a Cork man and proud of it but I love to see my adopted county doing well.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 08/08/2017 11:48:38    2030898

Replying To JonSmith: "Derry are an excellent side and I find it hard to see how we would beat them were we to play them again."

Hi Jon. There is no doubt Derry are a fine side but I would dearly love to be presented with the above problem :).

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 08/08/2017 11:55:58    2030906

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Replying To JonSmith: "Derry are an excellent side and I find it hard to see how we would beat them were we to play them again."

Hi Jon. There is no doubt Derry are a fine side but I would dearly love to be presented with the above problem :)."
You can hum that one again Hardtimes!! :)

Championship football in August isn't something we see very often.

If anyone can locate some highlights, take a look at Cian Madden's point near the end. A wonderful score. He's a bit like Killian Clarke was underage, he gets going when the game is at its most intense.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 08/08/2017 13:16:50    2030989

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "I thought we had big chance because Galway would play open football too. I also correctly predicted Derry would beat us as we are tactically naive. I expect Kerry to beat us because they have far superior players. Fair play to the players doing so well in spite of being hampered by a poor game plan."
We've got to an all ireland semi final and we haven't got the players to beat Kerry!! ??
Maybe we should stay at home with that kind of attitude.
Beaten before we start, that's the kind of attitude that has Cavan football the way it is.
What more incentive does any Cavan team need ,sure weren't we written of against Galway and what happened there.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 08/08/2017 16:38:47    2031153

Replying To Virginia:  "We've got to an all ireland semi final and we haven't got the players to beat Kerry!! ??
Beaten before we start, that's the kind of attitude that has Cavan football the way it is.
What more incentive does any Cavan team need ,sure weren't we written of against Galway and what happened there."
Supporters don't play so their attitude doesn't matter but they are entitled to express an opinion on a public forum.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 08/08/2017 16:58:29    2031166

Fair play to Derry who deserved the Ulster title and fair play to our boys who were also in a provincial final!! Now, let's get behind them and I hope as many can get to semi as possible. It's a fantastic achievement for any Co. to get to an all Ireland semi final any grade!! The whole panel and management deserve huge thanks and support from the genuine gaa supporters. Thank you.

Leon1912 (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 08/08/2017 18:32:33    2031231

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "I thought we had big chance because Galway would play open football too. I also correctly predicted Derry would beat us as we are tactically naive. I expect Kerry to beat us because they have far superior players. Fair play to the players doing so well in spite of being hampered by a poor game plan."
We've got to an all ireland semi final and we haven't got the players to beat Kerry!! ??
What more incentive does any Cavan team need ,sure weren't we written of against Galway and what happened there.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 09/08/2017 12:36:51    2031522

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Supporters don't play so their attitude doesn't matter but they are entitled to express an opinion on a public forum."
I just expressed mine.
I've seen Cavan play in two all ireland semi finals in my life time and everything in between has been a disappointment.
Let's take the positives for a change.
1974 the last time.
Long time ago.
Pat on the back time no matter the result.

Virginia (Cavan) - Posts: 101 - 09/08/2017 12:45:00    2031531

Replying To Virginia:  "I just expressed mine.
I've seen Cavan play in two all ireland semi finals in my life time and everything in between has been a disappointment.
1974 the last time.
Long time ago.
Pat on the back time no matter the result."
Spot on !!!

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 09/08/2017 14:01:34    2031577

Replying To Virginia:  "I just expressed mine.
1974 the last time.
Long time ago.
Pat on the back time no matter the result."
Eh Virgina?
Think we may have played in 6 of them this decade.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 09/08/2017 14:03:11    2031578

Replying To Hardtimes:  "Eh Virgina?
Think we may have played in 6 of them this decade."
eh the heading to the thread is MINORS!!! which would state we are talking about minor all ireland semi finals

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 09/08/2017 14:39:40    2031605

Wouldn't read so much into the Derry defeat as if we do meet them again it'll be an all ireland final and anything can happen.

The semi final in it's own right is a massive test. This is a serious Kerry team. I saw them live in last year's semi final and then on tv in the final and was amazed at their quality and by the fact that a lot of their lads still had this year at minor!

It'll take something special to beat them IMO but our lads are here on merit and are capable of beating anyone.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 10/08/2017 12:47:03    2031954

as a point of discussion, does anyone think it's unfair that the beaten finalists get a second bite of the cherry when the provincial champions don't.
Derry beat us well, yet we get another chance to get to the semi. If Derry lost the quarter final they are gone.No extra chance !
How would we feel if Cavan won Ulster and were beaten in the quarter final and the team we beat went on to win the All Ireland.
Should the beaten finalists be gone. Are we taking away the shock defeat like the senior super 8 will next year ?

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 10/08/2017 13:28:57    2031972

Replying To StirringIt:  "as a point of discussion, does anyone think it's unfair that the beaten finalists get a second bite of the cherry when the provincial champions don't.
Derry beat us well, yet we get another chance to get to the semi. If Derry lost the quarter final they are gone.No extra chance !
How would we feel if Cavan won Ulster and were beaten in the quarter final and the team we beat went on to win the All Ireland.
Should the beaten finalists be gone. Are we taking away the shock defeat like the senior super 8 will next year ?"
Well it's the same for the Seniors isn't it?

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 10/08/2017 13:41:13    2031978