New manager candidates

The discussion is about prospective managers not prospective players. Any of the players mentioned as well as those who have dropped of the panel and a few more around the county, are all worthy of consideration but without a competent manager at the helm they are no more than an amalgamation you might see pulled together to play in a pitch opening!

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 17/07/2015 20:57:01    1755119

Shannon 414
point taken

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 18/07/2015 09:52:32    1755165

Reading all the posts about a new manager I was not aware that Mr Hyland had stood down. I think he was given a 5 year contract so let him serve it out. We don't want to become a county of get rid of the manager because he is to blame for everything. My own personal opinion sights have been set to hight we are not yet able to compete with a lot of teams but I am sure these day's will come sooner rather than later.
If I were Mr Hyland I would consider fresh blood with new ideas but again this is his call.
I am happy we survived in Division 2 and I think our aim for next year first and foremost is survival once again in division 2 worry about the championship after that.

Does he cost the county money I don't know but if what one reads in the Anglo Celt I think for now we should stick with home management and not be getting into having to pay huge money for outsiders,.
If I were Mr Hyland I would take the Killygarry manager under my wing and groom him to take over his roll he proved his worth with Ballinagh on a shoe string so I feel it would be a good call to ask him to support Mr Hyland but off course continue with Killygarry. I would also bring in Bernard Morris as a selector.
This off course is just my opinion I see most games and please god I will be bale to see a few now that the championship is starting next Friday in Breffni Park with Kingscourt and Mullahorn.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/07/2015 11:18:18    1755180

Seanorinn aren't we very lucky we can't put your opinions into practice!!! As for Mr Hyland grooming a successor? I wasn't aware he was qualified enough to do that. He seems to be struggling in the position himself . After all he's tried almost 100 players since he became a stand alone manager. His time is up

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 18/07/2015 13:18:26    1755213

Sean, I would have thought that you were better informed on the manager payment issue, or are you being a bit mischivious here? The county board are already on record on this issue. It's not safe to assume that a local manager comes FOC.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 18/07/2015 14:44:32    1755240

ondforty

Sean, I would have thought that you were better informed on the manager payment issue, or are you being a bit mischivious here? The county board are already on record on this issue. It's not safe to assume that a local manager comes FOC.

To be truthful I would not have a clue no more than yourself. What are the County Board all ready on record for ?? and I am not being mischievous at all for I don't have a clue about payments to anyone as it's none of my business if they are or not.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/07/2015 18:20:44    1755320

It was you who brought the subject up Sean. If you're interested, best to chat to your club county board delegate. I don't think Cavan are any different to many other counties on this issue. In the event of us needing to search for a new manager, funds should not be a problem. We've been successful in this area for many years. When it comes to GAA fundraising / sponsorship, the county board, with the help of Cavan supporters, have always delivered.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 19/07/2015 09:04:12    1755515

Ulster final day and a huge sense of regret, wonder, and what if. Interesting, when Derry were knocked out yesterday the Derry manager resigned. When Tipperary were knocked out yesterday the tipperary manager resigned.

I can't help but wonder, what's the delay about Terry?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 19/07/2015 13:56:00    1755677

Terry Hyland and his management team are staying, heard from a very reliable source in Clones today. So it will be 2017 before we can start to think of progress. Fair play to Monaghan today, but its Malachi Rourke is the difference. We have every bit as much talent we have just been clueless as to how to develop it and next year we are guaranteed more of the same.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 19/07/2015 16:02:30    1755745

So another year of crazy selections and players walking away ah well whats new for CB

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 19/07/2015 20:09:39    1755964

It shows what a good manager can do with a team, when you see Monaghan wining another Ulster title today, O'Rourke must be up there with the top managers in the country, When the Banty had Monaghan he could only bring them so far, I think he and Hyland are similar in that , both put in great efforts but just lacked the tactical ability . Cavan desperatley needs a man like O'Rourke .

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 19/07/2015 20:19:00    1755972

shannon414

1755745 Terry Hyland and his management team are staying, heard from a very reliable source in Clones today. So it will be 2017 before we can start to think of progress. Fair play to Monaghan today, but its Malachi Rourke is the difference. We have every bit as much talent we have just been clueless as to how to develop it and next year we are guaranteed more of the same.

That's it Shannon keep up the delusion ..blame the manager & nothing to do with the fact that there isn't ba single forward in the county of Cavan & judging by your minors today and recent under 21s, none on the way. So give credit to Monaghan on another Ulster Title. Muineachain Abu !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 19/07/2015 20:37:51    1755986

SHELBOURNE ,why d you say none on the way ? ,Cavan minors reached the final ,Monaghan didn't ,there's more a chance we have players coming through than you do, fair enough your current senior team is good but you have nothing coming through ,your comment makes no sense,

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 19/07/2015 21:22:04    1756039

Shelbourne
County: Monaghan

Yeah good lad, shouldn't you be out celebrating your 16th or (whatever number it is) Ulster title. Why would you come onto our page after winning an Ulster title, bizarre.

Only another 17 Ulsters to go before you match us.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 19/07/2015 21:33:56    1756054

23 rather, not 17.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 19/07/2015 21:34:50    1756055

shannon414

Terry Hyland and his management team are staying, heard from a very reliable source in Clones today. So it will be 2017 before we can start to think of progress. Fair play to Monaghan today, but its Malachi Rourke is the difference. We have every bit as much talent we have just been clueless as to how to develop it and next year we are guaranteed more of the same.

If this is true Shannon, then I echo your sentiments that we can indeed forget about progress for the next 12 months, because this manager has continuously got it wrong and there are no reasons to believe he has any ability to deliver success. Watching Monaghan win today was a bitter pill, this is a team we outplayed for 50 minutes, we had them on the ropes only to crumble when the prospect of winning was in sight. (It's crazy that we haven't a settled goalkeeper or a settled freetaker after all this time).

The majority of Cavan supporters believe a change is needed, I can't help but feel the county board will be doing the supporters and indeed the players a huge disservice by persisting with the same approach which is not yielding the desired outcome. The players deserve to work with the best, a household name, someone who can instill a bit of self belief.

I for one will not be going back to Breffni Park if the county board show a lack of ambition and persist with the current management who have us on a downward trajectory. There are 5 Ulster teams in Division 2 next year, we're facing a serious struggle to stay in it.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 19/07/2015 21:57:18    1756076

Lads I think the time is right for change, Terry has done well but we need a different approach. There are decent forwards in the county Keating, Tierney and Johnston (yep he has to be included regardless of what anyone says) to name a few. The county board are going to have to pay top dollar for a decent manager and they don't have it - Terry will be here to stay like it or lump it.

sidelineview (Cavan) - Posts: 109 - 20/07/2015 10:32:57    1756151

As you are all big football people here and all involved with your clubs on committees/Secretary's/Chairmen etc I'm sure you all know how to have the present Management removed.

It will probably have more success than posting here.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 20/07/2015 11:24:36    1756222

unfortunatly I dont think Terry is going any where lads

sammaguire1 (Cavan) - Posts: 279 - 21/07/2015 08:57:57    1756751

RHF

As you are all big football people here and all involved with your clubs on committees/Secretary's/Chairmen etc I'm sure you all know how to have the present Management removed.

It will probably have more success than posting here.

RHF I don't alway's agree with a lot of what you say I do this time however when you say the Clubs can oust the management come the next AGM however this is not going to happen for the majority of committees/Secretary's/Chairmen etc don't have the b***s to stand up and be counted. Yes men running the clubs and with a very weak County Chairman and vice Chairman we are going no place fast for the next 8 years. Don't be surprised if the current manager is still there until then also.
Fast to oust Kerrigan Austin Andrews McIlkinnen Carr outsiders but whats there now are locals.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 21/07/2015 13:41:01    1756943