Cavan v Meath

deanmartin

. No team currently in Division 2 will survive a season in Division 1,, and again, both Roscommon games, the league final and All Ireland Qualifiers and most recently, they McKenna Cup Final.

DeanMartin what was the score in that div 3 final v Roscommon. (also we missed a penalty and I believe we were 6 or 7 points up at the time.It was a very close game. True the qualifier was a bad performance. but thi sseason we have drawn with Roscommon in the league. in recent years under Hyland we have run Monaghan close in the championship, beat derry and Armagh. so we are not that far away. lot sof people said they didn't know where we would pick up points from in Div 2. yet we have already 7 on the board. Of course we are not up to the standard of the likes of Cork,Dublin,kerry,mayo but don't be angry about that. don't be getting upset about that.
and Don't be offensive to the Cavan team and management who are putting in tremendous efforts to try and improve our standing in the game.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 02/04/2015 21:55:13    1710036

Would be nice to put one over on our old arch rival. We beat them last year and I can't see why we can't do it again.
Discipline is the order of the day ( no sending off's) Meath are masters at the niggle game. Our defence is pretty good but it's upfront where we need to sparkle.
Best of luck to the lads, another appearance in Croke park beckons.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 03/04/2015 10:42:51    1710059

This will be another difficult game for Cavan but with our great record v Meath its one we can win... The way Hyland sets up means we would struggle to beat a Div. 4 team but makes us hard to play against hense our recient low scoreing wins... Meath do not like playing against blanket defences and have a poor record v Ulster teams in the league so this could be our chance.. I see this as been a low scoreing bore of a game we might squeeze by a point or two...if we dont concede goals... Posters are on about our forewards neediing to be on top form for us to win but if we are set up to only score 8/9 pts per game I think its our defence that needs to be in top form...?

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 03/04/2015 12:09:20    1710122

sean66

whoever scores a goal or 2 will win the game.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/04/2015 13:31:53    1710151

Ziggy... That may rule us out so...because we only average a goal every 6/8 months or thereabouts !!!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 03/04/2015 14:58:11    1710182

sean66

Meath have actually kept 3 clean sheets in their last 4 games,as you Cavan don't score many goals,so they will prob score 5 on sunday! :P

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 03/04/2015 15:31:59    1710194

Last time I posted on this forum was before the Roscommon match when I was really positive about Cavan getting something from that match . Now league safety has been achieved ill sum up our progress team wise and management. I feel we had an average level of performance in the league with its ups and downs. We played well in Roscommon, and laois Very poorly against Down and Kildare . Better against a very poor Galway, and struggled against a very poor westmeath . Player wise some lads really stood out . But for me some lads are holding there place on the team and haven't had one good game in any of the games. Two of our more senior players cost us badly in our 2 home matches but are played as soon as they become available again . Management keep on about our panel . In the Down game 3 subs were brought on 2 minutes into injury time .like hello. Daragh mc avitty was taken off when he was playing well against Down .Didn't play well since and left on . Safety secured I'd love to see a forward play instead of a back for Niall Mc who fractured a bone in his leg but knowing our management we will play another back . I don't think mc hale has improved the situation . Maybe he has no say . Our selector on the line is not doing us any favours. Mc hale should be there instead of him . Wrong decision s are been made players leaving ect . I honesty don't know if we've progressed or are the other teams getting worse and I'm a very positive person . Sorry had to be said

kinglarry (Cavan) - Posts: 189 - 03/04/2015 20:53:48    1710308

upramor I have been reading o lot of posts lately and to me they are a lot of nonsense. For example Sean 66 says we would struggle to beat a div 4 team if that was true how in the name of god could we beat Meath or any div. 2 team so Sean is talking trough his hat. Ziggy says whoever scores 1 or 2 goals will win. How can he come to that conclusion what if the other team scores enough pts. this is all hypothetical. wait until the game is over, then make your constructive comments in future.

luckyduck (Cavan) - Posts: 3 - 03/04/2015 21:03:10    1710312

Luckyduck.... It is very clear that you are for some reason unable to read between lines as I never said we would not beat a Div 4 team but would struggle to because of our style of play...and Ziggys point mearly says in what will surley be a low scoreing game that whoever gets a couple of goals would most likley win...simple but mutch too complex for your little mind Luckyduck.... On another note an eccellent summary of where we are by "Kinglarry".... !'

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 04/04/2015 10:49:55    1710351

Kinglarry , there is a lot of truth in your post but maybe it's a little harsh . There are no world beaters in Division 2 and this applies to us as well . However it is a level above Division 3 and no one can deny we're making progress . But although this may be true , teams are in Division 2 for a negative reason as well and it's because they are limited and off the pace of the big boys . There will be aspects of their teams that every county will be unhappy about . All we can do is work on these , try and improve and move up the rankings . As we iron out the kinks we will have setbacks as well but there's no point getting despondent when we hit a spanner . We have to deal with it and look forward .

The Down and Kildare defeats were disappointing but you have to give some credit to the opposition as well . They are allowed have a go and play well too . We made some poor decisions in these games but even so we were not that far off the pace and still competed well enough . I actually don't think they were that bad of games - sometimes the result can influence a fan's perception .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 04/04/2015 11:34:59    1710355

Agree largely with King Larry. And don't feel that you have to apologise for expressing an opinion either, you're well entitled to do so, never mind those policing this forum slinging mud at people for voicing a dissenting viewpoint.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 04/04/2015 12:01:05    1710360

I think it's premature for people picking a stage mid-league to examine where we are at.
I know we've avoided relegation but at 5pm tomorrow, we could be facing into a league final having finished 1st or 2nd in Division 2 - or we could be 3rd from bottom of the division. But until then, I'll hold my opinions on progress back.

On tomorrow's game - I don't see a game that could prepare us any better for the Monaghan game than this one - a local rivalry with a tough hard-hitting team and by the looks of it, a huge crowd to boot. Win tomorrow and promotion or not, we will be in a good place!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 04/04/2015 12:50:35    1710367

Question for Sean66, you admitted in previous match threads that you don't go to watch Cavan play because you don't like the style, the most you will have seen is the Down and Kildare games on tv, how can you comment on our improvement based on watching 2 games in which we played with 14 men in horrendous conditions for the majority of the game?

Nobody here seems to want to focus on positives so I'll give it a go:

First of all and most importantly the heart and desire shown by the team throughout the league this far has been outstanding.
The draw against Roscommon in the first round was a fantastic display of grit and determination. Clawed our way back into a game against a very good side away from home and Martin Reilly stepped up to rescue a point for us.
Against Laois we recovered extremely well from two sucker punch goals in a game we dominated, showed cool heads to keep tagging on points and ran out comfortable winners. Against Galway 5 points (I think it was) down at half time and looked like we were in for a trimming, stepped it up a few gears in the second half until Galway didn't want to know about it anymore, our best win of the League that took us out of the relegation battle.
Team morale is obviously very high, even in the Down game we still pushed right to the end and had Argue not been taken out as he went through on goal, who knows we could have rescued something.
Credit for this must go to management, the team are confident, they are hungry, determined, working hard for each other and playing as a unit. Compare against Cavan from 4 or 5 years ago, completely different culture.

Secondly, we have a number of players playing consistently well and imposing themselves on games. Mackey isn't necessarily the heartbeat of the side anymore. James McEnroe has been outstanding all year, Rory Dunne has flourished (Laois game aside) in a full back line which is offered less protection as Cavan get more bodies forward. Dara McVeety has stepped up to Senior Level and looks like he belongs there. Gearoid is offering more than his name on the end of a few scores, he's mixed it up around the middle and won possession at vital points in games.

Thirdly, our style of play. Cavan have been subject to lazy journalism and lazy commentating this year. Anyone who has attended the games will see the obvious focus on a more offensive game. Laois played with 13 men behind the ball, Galway played with 13 men behind the ball, yet the media just brand Cavan as the defensive side. Why? There have been periods in games where we have packed the defence, but against Galway Mackey Dunne and McDermott stayed in the full forward line for the majority of the second half. Cavan have been no more defensive than the teams we have faced and more offensive in many cases.

For balance, there have been some disappointing aspects of our league campaign. Our full forward line malfunctioned early on, there's a lack of suitable candidates which is being eased somewhat by the return of Bud and Tom Hayes. We don't have a top quality forward like McManus or Jamie Clarke etc. We have one in the county, it happens, we move on.
Another disappointing element has been our sloppy play, it's probably due to the increase in the speed of play in Division 2. Players are still adapting to the step up in intensity. Against Galway and Down in particular the amount of misplaced passes and turn overs was far too high. I think the longer we stay in the top 16 the less of this we'll see.

Overall it's been a very very good league campaign. Safety secured with a game to spare, outside chance of promotion, confidence high going into Championship, injured players coming back into form. It's a good position to be in even if there are a few worries facing into a Championship opener against a Monaghan side that are second in Division 1 having just beaten the All Ireland Champions. Best of luck to the lads tomorrow.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 04/04/2015 13:26:41    1710377

Jasus lads I can't eat today with nerves. One thing we can't do is lose to this shower in a game as potentially as big as tomorrow. Jasus I hate them. See you all in Ryan's after the game. COME ON CAVAN

TheGremlin (Cavan) - Posts: 26 - 04/04/2015 13:35:38    1710378

Jonsmith,that is a well constructed and balanced post.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 04/04/2015 14:17:24    1710386

Jon Smith .... Its not hard to form an opinion on thiis Cavan team as for the last 2/3 years under Hyland they are terrible to watch but if u and your kind like to watch this type of football thats fine by me...you will soon cop on.. I am going to Navan tomorrow and Cavan should be winning this game if there is the slighest hope of turning over Monaghan in the Championship....

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 04/04/2015 14:54:39    1710401

Sean66

Jon Smith .... Its not hard to form an opinion on thiis Cavan team as for the last 2/3 years under Hyland they are terrible to watch but if u and your kind like to watch this type of football thats fine by me...you will soon cop on.. I am going to Navan tomorrow and Cavan should be winning this game if there is the slighest hope of turning over Monaghan in the Championship....

Well I would think it's hard to form an opinion given that you're not watching the games? I could give an opinion on any team in any of the 4 Divisions based on what I read in the media and the scorelines of their games but it wouldn't hold any weight if I'm not actually going to see them play. Then again if you want to speak as an authority on Cavan football without actually watching the games, this is the perfect place to do it.
I'm afraid I won't soon "cop on".. I'll go and watch Cavan regardless and do what I can through my club in the meantime to help in some way. It's good that you're going tomorrow, the fair weather supporters like yourself that arrive when things are going well are part and parcel of any successful period for a team.

As for your ultimatum for the team that they must win tomorrow to have a chance against Monaghan, again that's simply more hyperbole, meaningless, no bearing on reality. We got hammered by Roscommon in the last round a few years ago and went out as massive underdogs and beat Armagh. Tomorrow's result is important for the chances of promotion and for maintaining a high standard of performance against a side we are roughly on a par with. It's bearing on the Monaghan game is no greater than any other game we play.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 04/04/2015 16:08:18    1710431

Do you know what you do tomorrow Sean 66. Go and support Meath ! You obviously "like a good few others" have serious chips on your shoulders about Terry Hyland. We are possibly one win away from divion One and all you can see are negatives. I suppose you would love to see us playing free flowing football in division 4. COME ON CAVAN

TheGremlin (Cavan) - Posts: 26 - 04/04/2015 16:22:33    1710441

Sean66. You've had your arse handed to you on a plate. Honestly, I check in in the forums of other counties and there is none of these baseless attacks on their team. What is it about Cavan that attracts 'fans' like Sean66, Mowbar. Deanmartintynan etc.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 04/04/2015 17:13:49    1710454

JonSmith... Ye another poster unable to read properly... I didnt say "must beat" but should be beating Meath if we are to put it up to Monaghan in my opinion... Was in Roscommon and Laois but didnt make the other games and will go tomorrow... Id say I was at more games than most over the years and well able to give an opinion wheather it annoys or not... A lot of people just dont like hearing the truth but I have no problem been proved wrong... As for some Dimwit wanting Cavan people to support Meath I just dont know what to say...would he be crackers...???

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 04/04/2015 17:23:41    1710463