Cavan v Kildare

Many people think that this system works for us BUT i think it makes us easy to play against. It is a horrible system with such a slow build up teams find it easy to get between us and the goals. I can understand players walking away from it. It doesn't allow them to express themselves, is anti the flair players and is more like basketball than gaelic football. It makes robots out of good footballers.
Time to change the system.
Read that we have gone nearly 8 hours of football without scoring a goal. It's the system.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 06/03/2015 21:54:45    1699993

Good luck to the team tonight, no need for any motivation given the manner in which we were humiliated three summers ago.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 07/03/2015 10:48:56    1700014

Good luck to the boys tonight. I'd love to see us turn them over send them to division 3.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 07/03/2015 11:14:12    1700022

Best of luck to the lads tonight, Hope we have a good crowd and get behind the team tonight. CMON CAVAN!!!!!!

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 07/03/2015 11:19:21    1700023

Would have to agree with " tenyearplan"
All these defections not good for moral both for team and fans.
I would fear for us tonight.
Defeat will leave us in big trouble.
Must be something going on in the camp ????

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 07/03/2015 11:35:00    1700029

C.GILSENAN
J.MCLOUGHLIN
R.DUNNE
B.RADY
R. FLANNAGAN
F. FLANNAGAN
D.O'REILLY
MCKIERNAN
K.CLARKE
P.SMITH
MCVEETY
M.REILLY
M.DUNNE
MCDERMOTT

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 07/03/2015 11:49:46    1700032

desagov

Defeat for us tonight will still leave Laois and Kildare below us so not the end of the world yet.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 07/03/2015 11:52:13    1700034

Mobar, are they playing 14 aside tonight :)

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 07/03/2015 12:08:04    1700037

Best of luck to the lads tonight i believe you can do it lets get behind the team

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 07/03/2015 12:09:30    1700039

We're not scoring goals because we have no one inside that takes a man on . Last Saturday was a perfect example . We got the full back isolated with a one on one situation . We just took the easy point - our forward didn't fancy himself to get a shot at goal . Had someone like Jason being playing it would have been a goal or a good save .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 07/03/2015 13:21:52    1700068

If all was good in Cavan football this would be the team I would have starting. with each position earned on performance ,because we would have the talent to fill each position (on right)
Farrelly
Mc Loughlan
Dunne
Hayes/Gunner
Tinnelly/Moynagh
Mc Enroe/Toasty
Killian Clarke
Givney/Declan Mc Kiernan
Argue/Buchanan
Martin Reilly/Smith
Mackey
Mc Vitty/Mc Dermot
Enda Reilly/Hayes
Gearoid Mc Kiernan
Keating

Best of luck to the lads tonight,, I think we owe Kildare one !!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 07/03/2015 14:18:00    1700072

All the best to the collective tonight. Let's hope we can end a bad week with a good result.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 07/03/2015 14:51:11    1700075

What do people think of the team selected? Will Barry Reilly give us that much needed goal threat?

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 304 - 07/03/2015 15:33:39    1700082

Not much of a muchness between this team sheet and last weeks . Hopefully the drier ball will improve the standard of the game . Looking for a big performance from our half forwards and midfield if we are to win . We need a big game from McDermott as well which he is capable of delivering .
If we play against the wind the first half I would be reasonably confident of going in at half time in a healthy position . Either way we have to make good use of the wind whichever half we have it . Taking points from distance will be our best bet at putting up a big score .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 07/03/2015 16:00:23    1700084

Hardtimes calls it about right. One thing i didnt understand last week was why lads like Gearoid didnt just have a go from far out, he's usually worth 2-3 points from midfield, in fact he's arguably our best score getter which says it all really. A midfielder is our main scoring threat.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 07/03/2015 17:10:23    1700094

im afraid we could be going down lads. some of ye will blame management. but at end of day we have no guile or streetmartness.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 07/03/2015 20:36:55    1700141

If you can't score from play then you can't hope to stay in division 2.

A trip to Galway looks even more of a tall order now.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 07/03/2015 20:37:21    1700142

Same old crap, Kildare lose 3 in a row, come to Breffni against what is supposed to be one of the defensive teams in the Country and they come away with a comfortable win. So remind me again how far we've come under Hyland? clueless isnt the word, take off McVeety, one of our main threats. Killian Clarke in full forward, the game last week was crying out for a big fullforward and it never came.
We cant play with the wind nor can we play against it...2 pts from play from our forward line.

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 07/03/2015 20:52:21    1700153

We score 5pts and the visitors score 2-10..,. What does that tell us about our great improveing set-up... I also think the supporters have finally coped on to this rubbish and stayed away...! 2900 is a paltery crowd for this fixture...? I guess people have seen enough...???

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 07/03/2015 21:02:34    1700162

Last week I thought we were unlucky to go down to 14 men but no excuse this week, shocking stuff from O'Reilly. People will say it was harmless, and it was, but when you shove your hand into an opponents face you are giving the referee a chance to give you gate.

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 304 - 07/03/2015 21:12:22    1700169