Minors

Best of luck to all the players involved in the panel. With hard work, dedication a bit of luck you will have successful football careers ahead of you. Never lose your never say die spirit!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 04/08/2015 14:36:00    1763748

SSI
You are very far off the mark regarding me. I was at all but one of the Minor games, and sadly no, could never kick a ball myself. I am NOT giving out about the players, In fact I feel sorry for them because of the way they were organised for the Ulster Final and the Kildare game. A few postional switches in time, I believe may have made a difference. SSI do not question my motives, I have noone involved at county level, am just a lover of Cavan football. And I have the right to express my opinion without being accused of being dropped!

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 04/08/2015 17:00:47    1763886

the players are playing the game so what's wrong with them making some calls on the pitch because at the end of the day they are the ones who can actually see all that is happening and understand the players they play with ! They are called leaders on the pitch and very often cavan teams don't have too many of them . Hard luck to the lads you gave it your all it was a good run while it lasted !!

Cavanbyrd (Cavan) - Posts: 61 - 04/08/2015 17:03:30    1763890

At the end of the day the gaa is an amateur sport and these boys play for the love of the game and some craic so people should not be coming on here an criticising the young lads they go out and give there best every time and not every day things will go right ! They tried their hearts out and gave it there all so they should be praised not criticised... We should be proud of them !

Cavanbyrd (Cavan) - Posts: 61 - 04/08/2015 17:27:13    1763902

I have to say as a neutral attending the Ramor and St Joes game at my home club last night I was very impressed with the standard of football. Both teams moved the ball well with a tough cross wind and gave an exhibition of excellent scoring. Ramor dominated in midfield with their number 9 orchestrating the Ramor attack. They made great use of the long ball with their full forward and centre half forward showing very well. Young Magee was also impressive at half back. Joes weren't too bad either and could have easily stole the game number 12 and number 14 standing out for them. But what interested me most was the fact that all of the above players from both teams which stood out I did not recognise bar Magee. As far as I'm aware they were not on the minor panel and definitely showed great capability last night!

patman92 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 05/08/2015 12:18:39    1764249

The Deadline for the applications of teams entering the 2015 Minor Championship is Sunday next, August 9th at 9pm.

All teams, whether single Club or amalgamations, must email in there intention to participate in the Minor Championship by the above date.

The competition will begin on Tuesday, August 18th and will run concurrently with the Adult Club Championship competitions, with no exceptions.

iheardthat (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 06/08/2015 13:29:47    1765035

MowBar what the hell is wrong with players calling the shots and being leaders on the field ? Just because one isn't captain does not mean they can't lead and show example to players around them. The likes of David Brady has led by example from start to finish of every game although he wasn't captain. Cavan need more players like him and Dillion Raythorne etc. to be leaders on the pitch instead of shying away which we have seen too many times here in Cavan ! They are young lads isn't it great to see abit of leadership ??

CavanWarrior (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 07/08/2015 11:08:12    1765518

any sign of minor draw???

iheardthat (Cavan) - Posts: 89 - 11/08/2015 09:03:39    1767749

the minor hurling all-ireland semi final was a draw...?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 11/08/2015 15:54:22    1768179

fredflint

Have you ever been happy Mowbar?

Well fredflint are my assumptions correct or not.

To the other poster I named no one yet you noticed as well one individual trying to take over. I am sure if Danny Brady thought he should have been captain I am sure he would have made him captain.
Look try and look at the wider picture and for those of us that are old enough to remember individuals trying to rule the roost are really of no value to you for they drive other quality players away and this is true and cannot be contradicted.
I have seen this at senior level over the last 40 odd years and sadly no manager seems to have the B***s to pull them aside and tell them there is one leader and one manager.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 11/08/2015 17:04:11    1768255

Having watched both minor semi finals over the past two weekends I can only reflect back on some of the comments posted on this forum and wonder once again:

a) what could have been achieved if the best players in Cavan were included on the panel by the management team

b) how some of the contributors, who kept pushing back on fair & constructive comments on this forum, feel now after seeing a Kildare team beating by a 14 man Tipperary team

c) is there any hope that Cavan football can get to a stage where the best players are part of county team panels

d) can Cavan move away from been happy with been good losers and become more hungry for WINNING

My opinion in relation to Kildare's ability was indeed correct and also that modern (successful) football demands the taller player, to win primary possession, to succeed as seen in the last 4 teams in the competition.

experiencedblu (Cavan) - Posts: 19 - 30/08/2015 15:21:14    1777971

The best players were on the panel, we weren't as good as Derry or Kildare, both of those have now lost. So we were a long way away from an All Ireland.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 30/08/2015 17:45:23    1778143

Tip the much better team, Kildare were lucky to only lose by 2.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 30/08/2015 20:46:04    1778361

JonSmith said -The best players were on the panel, we weren't as good as Derry or Kildare, both of those have now lost. So we were a long way away from an All Ireland.

I am delighted to see that you are in agreement that Derry and Kildare were poor teams and that Cavan were a long, LONG, way away from an All Ireland.

You stated on the 25.07.15 that it was "a matter of opinion" if the best players were on the Cavan County Minor panel of 2015 - your tune appears to be changing to a position of "the best players" were on the panel of 2015

The trial games along side the league games presented much better players than those that ended up on the panel. Indeed there were many players on the final panel that did't try out during trials and league games !!!!!!!!

One statistic worth noting is that 16 of the Tipperary panel (beaten Munster finalist !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! by 6 points ) completed their leaving certificate and were of the upper age limit for minors (no building for the following year in Tipp !!!!!!!!!!!!!).

Cavan appeared to have a policy of selecting players who are under age for the following year (and please don't try to inform us that they were better than the older and much more powerful (& taller) guys-today was a prime example for having the players at maximum age and power) which appears to be a bit of an emerging cover up strategy for the management to hide behind.

experiencedblu (Cavan) - Posts: 19 - 30/08/2015 21:08:13    1778394

JonSmith

1778143 The best players were on the panel, we weren't as good as Derry or Kildare, both of those have now lost. So we were a long way away from an All Ireland.

There were better available !! We can name at least 6 - me thinks management made bad decisions too hastily !!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 31/08/2015 15:12:04    1779073

Kerry beat Tipp by 20 points !!!!

I will sign off this debate fully satisfied with my earlier assessment and in particular the average ability of the Kildare team who were well beaten by Tipp and demolished today.

Cavan had the players in the county (not necessary on the county panel) to challenge today's winners - Kerry - and you only have to look back at the Mc Rory/Hogan cup performances and in particular the all-Ireland semi final where Cavan were unlucky not to beat the eventual winners - KERRY (which included many of todays minor team)

Final word on the 2015 campaign is that I hope our Co Board have the cop and cuts to address the short comings of the 2015 management team and take action to prevent the errors in 2015 been repeated in 2016 for the sake of Cavan football.

experiencedblu (Cavan) - Posts: 19 - 20/09/2015 15:13:10    1789524

The best players in Cavan were on the panel. They weren't good enough. Move on.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 20/09/2015 15:24:06    1789528

experiencedblu

Kerry beat Tipp by 20 points !!!!

I will sign off this debate fully satisfied with my earlier assessment and in particular the average ability of the Kildare team who were well beaten by Tipp and demolished today.

Cavan had the players in the county (not necessary on the county panel) to challenge today's winners - Kerry - and you only have to look back at the Mc Rory/Hogan cup performances and in particular the all-Ireland semi final where Cavan were unlucky not to beat the eventual winners - KERRY (which included many of todays minor team)

Final word on the 2015 campaign is that I hope our Co Board have the cop and cuts to address the short comings of the 2015 management team and take action to prevent the errors in 2015 been repeated in 2016 for the sake of Cavan football.
Will you stop living in the past The difference between Cavan and Kerry is 30 points or more. People going round with huge imaginations we could have is the best you can do. These Kerry minors would hammer our senior county team so let this year die and look forward to Danny and Co doing something for 2016

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 20/09/2015 19:12:40    1789697

JonSmith

1789528 The best players in Cavan were on the panel. They weren't good enough. Move on.

Not true my good man. I watched Ulster League games this year and caught a few challenges along the way. There were better available !!

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 21/09/2015 10:55:55    1789950

I would imagine that Danny and Larry have more experience and knowledge about these players, what they wanted from them, how they were going in training and about Gaelic Football in general than anyone who spends their time posting on Hoganstand. I have also yet to see a player mentioned who was definitively better than someone on the panel.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 21/09/2015 11:26:27    1789986