Cavan v Down

Tomsmith here

Very disappointed with our performance
I just wonder have we not more talent in Cavan than what was on display here tonight.
As I have said we need divisional teams to get the new talent on view

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3860 - 28/02/2015 21:11:14    1697762

Could only listen on the radio so cant comment to much nut it seems that the trend of waiting to long to make changes is continuing. Sounded like things clearly weren't working for much of the night. Why wasn't Argue brought on at full forward to mix it up? Also Hayes and Madden should be on the panel as our full forward is not functioning- still two and half weeks till the holy grail of ulster u21 champ returns.

fxhvg (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 28/02/2015 21:21:58    1697764

We are indeed a Div 3 team and no mistake.
That was very poor from us.
Some of the forwards just didn't want to know. Far too timid.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/02/2015 21:23:53    1697767

Cavan_Slasher

We are indeed a Div 3 team and no mistake.
That was very poor from us.
Some of the forwards just didn't want to know. Far too timid.

No we won all of our Division 3 league games proper last year remember? We're a Division 2 team as a result. And we will be until the maths of the table say otherwise. We lost a game. It happens. Our first league loss of the year. Let's not lose the head here. Did anybody expect us to go unbeaten? Down beat Kildare, they're no walkovers and just about deserved their win tonight. Conditions were also atrocious and we got the worst of the wind and the rain in the first half. Survival in Division 2 was always the main aim for the league this year, it'll be difficult but we can still do it.

Flanagan had been our best player and should never have been sent off. It could well have cost us the game but in truth we probably weren't good enough on the night to deserve anything. Barry Reilly and Niall Murray were very poor when they came on, made no impact. I'm assuming McEnroe and Jack Brady were injured, both very good in Portlaoise in the last game when they came on. Disappointing performance and it won't be any easier next week. Need to put this behind us and dig deep now.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 28/02/2015 21:39:50    1697771

All I can say is thank God I decided to watch the match in the comfort of the pub with a few creamy pints instead of going to that rubbish...and will do the same next week ... Puke football but great pints... The ref should have sent no6 off in the 1st half and cost Cavan the game by sending Flanagan off for nothing...more bad refeering

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 28/02/2015 21:41:19    1697772

ˇSean66

All I can say is thank God I decided to watch the match in the comfort of the pub with a few creamy pints instead of going to that rubbish...and will do the same next week ... Puke football but great pints... The ref should have sent no6 off in the 1st half and cost Cavan the game by sending Flanagan off for nothing...more bad refeering

Players train all year, give up their social lives, put in effort that we can only imagine, kick 31 points in their first two games, go out tonight in atrocious conditions and lose their first game of the league and you post that. Please stay in the pub for the next game, and all games.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 28/02/2015 21:54:52    1697780

I really feel sorry for all the poor unfortunates who had to witness that first-hand.

a few things to note. Niall McDermott is a decent forward and seems capable of winning his own ball. Jason McLaughlin did very well.
Rory dunne showed some nice touches and got forward well on occasions. I don't think either of Ronan Flanagan's cards were merited.
Dara Mcvitty is a good positive player and for a player who doesn't look all that physical is not afraid to take men on. Good to see Mackey come on at the end (although what is the point at 69 or 70 mins). When Arthur McConville came on he caused us great problems, didn't seem to be able to handle him. Maybe we should just consign this match to the dustbin and never revisit it . hopefully Kildare will be a better reflection of where we are.

londonblue (Cavan) - Posts: 33 - 01/03/2015 08:43:48    1697788

It is a pity Cavan didn't push on after the Laois win and get into a winning mentality. We still don't have enough forwards able to take scores. Our management team are too slow to react. They should have replaced Ronan Flanagan before he got the second yellow.
Also what is the point in putting on Mackey with 5 minutes left. As for getting Joshua Hayes onto the field in injury time two matches in a row that is just insane .
All the managers that are successful are using the bench we seem to be afraid to make changes.
This was a match we could have got at least a point from and we will need all these points by the end of the campaign.
Lots of things to be improved on before Galway.

marita (None) - Posts: 467 - 01/03/2015 08:59:37    1697790

I would be very concerned about the future as we don't seem to be improving, back to the old days, one step forward two steps back. Down are a team we should expect to beat especially at home.
I was in a local pub recently and I was talking to a knowledgeable barman about the Cavan team. His main worry was that the team were still to small, lack of fire power up front and nothing on the bench.
He said " what we have now is the team that will be lining out for the championship bar Mackey and possibly Argue to come in."
There's nothing else teally to come into the team.
He's pretty much right.
Worrying scenario.
We should have been able to shut shop last night and secured 2 valuable home points which would have left us in a good place for survival, now we have an up hill battle and we'll be lucky to even beat Westmeath.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 01/03/2015 09:50:17    1697802

JonSmith... Cavan were playing at home and only one foreward got a pt from play in 70 mins...with only 2 scored in the whole match... That is a disgrace regardless of the conditions which by the way were the same for both teams... Our forewards were pathetic...how is Lyng getting his place and Dunne in the 1st half could do nothing right...what are these guys at in training at all...?

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 01/03/2015 09:53:09    1697804

Sean who pays homage to his beloved world cup win can be ignored as even after 3 points from first two games he still choose to allow arthur G rather than a trip to the game inform his already brilliant mind about the game. Look last night for those who paid in was poor but teams do lose league games occasionally. As always the fair weather fans jump off the bankwagon and back to bad mouthing their own county from the safety of the high stool. I repeat last night was bad but not terminal. Also did anyone else notice how a complete gombeen has actually alluded to advice he recieved from A VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE BARMAN!!

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 01/03/2015 11:06:15    1697822

It would be great to say what one really's feels but there is no point for hoganstand will not post it.

There are that many stats people on the county set up it's no wonder we are going no place. Terry listens to all these people week after week and he must be a very confused individual or brim full of adrenaline after all the positives they scraped out of the whole negative match.
Why Cavan need so many around is beyond belief. Terry should stay where he is as the manager get rid of the rest of the baggage behind him. Honest to god footballers with intercounty experience behind them would be what Terry should have not fellas who can see noting wrong with this team. Reminds me of the Cavan V Donegal match when the stats men were patting themselves on the back after wining 95% of the kick outs these were to the 13 meter line but forgot to do the stats as to what happened with the ball by the time it got to the half way line. These stats are crazy and a complete waste of money for I am sure the county board are not getting it done for free.

Last night at least Down were leaving the park with a point nothing less I said it all ready in this topic. We were a total disgrace to be honest. Looking at Down there was no tall man really but one thing they had they understood each other, movement off the ball was orchestrated Cavan would be better off watching how Down played and try and implement some of this player awareness into our team.

Will it change next saturday well should Kildare win today you can put your shirt on them coming to Cavan with the same expectations of Down we are leaving with nothing less than a point but on last night performance it will be two points.
Galway well they are going to get promotion I expect so what do Cavan get from them, can we say hand on heart can they Cavan beat Westmeath on last nights performance it will be safe to say division 3 beckons. Please prove me wrong.
Also don't forget what you see is almost 90% percent if not more of the championship team.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 01/03/2015 11:34:16    1697825

sceptical

Yes I noticed it that sean66 sat in the pub and it would be safe to say does so all the time. Bet he got a better understanding of what happened than us who paid to watch our county team.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 01/03/2015 11:39:34    1697827

Disappointing performance last night played in atrocious conditions . Too many players under performed . Last night highlighted the problems we have with our inside forwards , especially in the first half , when it's impossible to kick scores from distance . Even in the second half when we had a wind we scuffed a lot of chances with the greasy ball . Dunne looks very light weight but I thought he did ok at times . I thought McDermott was very poor - he tried very hard but the ball would just not stick and everything seemed to breakdown with him . He took a heavy knock at start of game which might have effected him . Didn't think midfield were great either . Disappointed with management as well - far too slow to make changes especially after the sending off . The subs used didn't give us anything either while Down made changes which gave them a boost .
On the plus side we were still well in the game even though we had an off night . Even after the sending off we still looked light we might get something out of the game but the goal killed us . It actually came from poor execution when we were on a very good attack . I thought Jason McLoughlin was excellent . We had a number of good performers and in fairness to the lads that didn't play well , it wasn't from lack of effort . Some of our tackling was excellent .
It's much better to be involved in games like this than to be in Division 3 . We'll learn a lot more and it's better preparation for championship . Moving on to next week hopefully we'll put in a better display in better conditions .
Too early to panic yet . To those that were not there feeling sorry for those that were - don't . While I can't speak for everyone that was there I still enjoyed the game . The result was disappointing but I saw enough to make me believe we can survive and compete in this division .

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 01/03/2015 11:53:19    1697833

Can the TerryHyland bandwagon remind us again how far we've come under his tenure? Shocking, abysmal, wasteful, junior football
at its best.
Id say McHale will soon realise what hes let himself in for!!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 01/03/2015 11:54:09    1697834

Hardtimes

I saw nothing from any section of the team to warrant praise.
I am a supporter of McDermott for he is strong and will be part of the panel for sometime. You may well be right that the knock he took may well have effected his game. Again management should have sub him.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 01/03/2015 12:52:51    1697857

I was at the game last night ,and to be honest we were well worth our win

Maybe it was an off night for yourselves I don't know, but from what I seen too much hand passing and no long ball into the forwards

But its early days don't panic

germac (Down) - Posts: 535 - 01/03/2015 13:28:17    1697877

So mowbar, who said a few weeks ago that Terry had built up a good management team, now wants rid of all the baggage and for Terry to manage alone....maybe Terrys the problem mowbar!

deanmartin (Cavan) - Posts: 643 - 01/03/2015 13:48:43    1697887

What are you going to do next week if we win deanmartin? You'll have to change usernames again!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 01/03/2015 14:03:18    1697895

Mowbar.... If you paid into that rubbish last night and you cant see what was wrong then you must have no clue off football what so ever.... I was down the Country and was glad to be able to see it on tv but God help any GOMBEEN that paid into see that rubbish...!!'

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 01/03/2015 14:06:40    1697897