Cavan v Westmeath

Very tough game but we have home advantage which should swing it for us hopefully but u wouldn't know on yesterday's showing predictions for this ?

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 09/06/2014 08:49:29    1600276

I can't see us been beaten in Breffni. But how do you motivate a team after a performance like yesterday? Westmeath have a few handy forwards like Dolan, Heslin, so they will be dangerous. Defensively we looked awful in our last two games, had Armagh taken their goal chances we'd have been beat by 12+ points.

Draw for me in this one.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 09/06/2014 09:58:24    1600341

Would have to agree with above posted comment.
How can you motivate the lads after yesterday's performance.
Where are the scores going to come from??
Westmeath have Dolan,Heslin and Glennon.
Wouldn't be over confident.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 09/06/2014 10:26:19    1600383

I dont think i have the stomach for this any longer. Was disgusted with yesterday's performance. I think Killian Clarke made a wise decision if that is the type of performance we intend to produce this summer. Really really dissappointed. Team needs some new faces.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/06/2014 11:33:35    1600468

We need to bring in some of the young lad that's want to play this attacking brand of football like Hayes and o'connor we need to scrap this defensive stuff ye ok it was good last year and previous years for Donegal but going forward yestirday we where clueless where a bunch a headless chickens Westmeath will be a tough test an be interesting to see how we fair against them as there also in division 2 next year we will need to change the way we play or we will loose this game against Westmeath and by god teams in divisions 2 will rip us apart of we play this slow hand passing build up and going no where with the ball only backwards and left and right

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 09/06/2014 12:57:30    1600569

Very disapointed yesterday, surely we must have expected a blanket defence, fast ball into the forwards is only way to counteract this, at least we have another chance to progress, a few suspensions will give a young players the chance to shine. Some of the most important lessons are learned from losses. We learned a hard one and truthful one! Come on the BLUES!

fifty (Mayo) - Posts: 108 - 09/06/2014 13:38:47    1600645

Along with Cavan people, I'm very disappointed with Cavan yesterday. Leave it behind and look forward. This match up with Westmeath is very winnable but players/management need to change their approach when is comes to attacking, far too slow getting the ball up to the forwards. Cavan have players that can do damage but not if your going sideways with the ball.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 09/06/2014 17:18:42    1600946

i feel Cavan will win this, but it wont be easy, Cavan will be hard beat in Breffni, Cavan have a young team,will have learned lot s from yesterday, especially playing Ulster teams,ie not knowing what will happen, in your face stuff,trying to put 1 of their game, which Armagh, no disrespect, set out to do, they have done this before, hope Martin Dunne makes a speedy recovery, i feel if this Cavan team,plus some others from u21 s,plus the boys back from the states, Terry, Management stay together,yous will bounce back, its all a learning curve,Ulster wont happen this year, but hi boy s, the more practice, experience in games etc,it will happen sooner rather than later, it took time, experience, beatings etc for us, Donegal to win 2011,2012, while we have gone back a little, we are still there thereabouts, same with Monaghan,took them the last few year s for their players to finally get over the line in Ulster. good luck against Westmeath,

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 09/06/2014 18:11:22    1600990

I was in 6 different towns in Cavan today. A lot of people around the county talking about the team cannot understand the continued perseverance with a number of players constantly being selected purely out of favouritism and the omission of one player in particular has met with disbelief everywhere? The substitutions at half time beggared belief , Mc Dermott may not have been having best game ever but in the absence of Dunne already was it wise to take Mc Dermott out of the game. Of the half time subs Mackey was the only one effective. Is it true that a player on the panel had only just returned from holiday ( entitled to a holiday certainly) but then walk straight on to the team.? Discipline or what or does discipline only apply to some.? The continued omission of Tiernerney and Paul O Connor. I would have criticised This management for its abuse of power and it's blatant use of favouritism. This lot have been around for too long now heavily promoted by a P R campaign that would put any dictatorship to shame telling us that under this management he future is blue. The anger and disappointment felt around the county today was extraordinary. Armagh was a bridge too far. The management need to wake up and deliver against Westmeath and stop insulting the intelligence of the Cavan fans and the integrity of the jersey.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 09/06/2014 18:41:43    1601013

You will have nothing to worry about lads. Westmeath have never been in such a bad place. They have some very good players but a dreadful management set up. Very few Westmeath fans will travel. Cavan by at least 10 points,

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1006 - 09/06/2014 18:55:55    1601024

I agree with Matthew. A few Cavan lads talking about Dolan, Heslin and Glennon. Dolan was on his own 45 for most of the game and the other 2 were passengers. Cavan by 6+

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 09/06/2014 19:03:17    1601029

Westmeath have the better player's and will win by at least 2 points. Cavan have nobody of the calibre of Heslin. Cavan are one dimensional

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 09/06/2014 20:34:07    1601079

I would say Cavan should win this game but I would be more concerned by the way we go about winning it.... If we put this deplorable defencive stuff behind us and win it trying to play football it might be the start of something new for us...but if we continue with what we have been at then we'd be better of out of it !!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 09/06/2014 21:10:27    1601112

If the Management persist with this negative going nowhere football should they be removed?

The #futureisnotblue playing that rubbish.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 09/06/2014 21:39:23    1601147

It's coming up against a Westmeath team low on confidence after losing all their games in Division 1 and beaten in Mullingar in the Championship by Louth. I think there will be a response from Cavan. Mackey in from the start will be a help. Yesterday was a wake up call,

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 09/06/2014 21:56:26    1601162

I thought the Div 3 Final defeat was the wake-up call??
Cavan lacked guts, motivation and determination on Sunday and that is down to Terry & Co. as much as themselves.
Fail to prepare, prepare to fail comes to mind. They need to select the best players and send them out prepared to fight and win.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/06/2014 10:43:19    1601248

Westmeath low on confidence!!
We hardly have a bucket of it ourselves after last weekend.
The problem is, where are the scores going to come from???

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 10/06/2014 11:25:51    1601288

The League final was there for the taking but was kicked away. Difference in performance against Armagh where players were out muscled and out faug

Which players on form should have started. O Connor yes, he still has to prove himself at Senior level. they play in house among themselves and they see more then you or I do. The Junior team played the Senior team last Sunday and one of the backs who would have been in the frame to start was destroyed.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/06/2014 11:43:04    1601302

desagov

1601288 Westmeath low on confidence!!
We hardly have a bucket of it ourselves after last weekend.
The problem is, where are the scores going to come from???

No Cavan aren't full of confidence, but it's home game and there is bound to be a reaction from the team. It will be another dog fight probaly.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/06/2014 12:15:14    1601339

I can see a lot of supporters who braved the elements to travel to Armagh with their children staying away from this one now.
Never saw so much dejection and bewilderment on the faces of supporters at the tripe they witnessed in Armagh and at the lack of nous on the sideline..

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 10/06/2014 18:05:47    1601679