Division 3 League Final

If SJ was going to be called back it would have been at the start of the year so he could blend in. Calling him back now when it could potentially cause problems amongst the squad is a definite no goer, 6 weeks ahead of the championship.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 29/04/2014 09:57:16    1581879

Breffniguide hit the nail on the head.

It would represent a backward step. We have to stick with what we have at the moment, Jack Brady was short of game time and it showed, but he will improve. Givney is also an option in there.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 29/04/2014 10:06:46    1581885

Forget about those who spat on us in Breffni and turned their backs on Cavan.Concentrate on the loyal players we have. Needs to be said , Martin Reilly; hardest working county footballer in the country and has been for the last twelve months.Two finals so far this year and two great displays of football.

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 29/04/2014 11:24:40    1581939

Folks

Seanie should be brought back into the panel if he produces the goods during this years club championship. A recall any earlier is not warrranted!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 29/04/2014 12:24:11    1581983

There is no going back, everyone knows this. Why even suggest it. Decisions were taken and people must now live with their decisions.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 29/04/2014 13:37:05    1582024

fredflint

Great to see dirtybag back. Last heard from the week before Armagh game last year when he predicted we'd get hammered. Never showed his face since until we get beaten again. What is it with Cavan that attracts such people? When he is not slagging off a true Cavan man like Terry Hyland he promoting a certain Gaels player. The only question is how can he get his posts published.

Fredflint just logged on to have a read of what was being posted and I read your post. I have come to one conclusion fella that your post is directed towards me thinking that I am dirtybag well I am not and if you have any doubt its very easy to contact Hoganstand to confirm that I am not him. I am no coward I don't hide behind an alias I am am who I am Sean O'Rinn.
You say Mr Hyland is a true Cavan man well I am sure you must know.
I am not a true cavan man WHY well I was born and reared in the Rebel County and I will alway's be a Cork man.
I am a very good supporter of Cavan until it comes to me making a decision when they play my beloved county then for that match I am a full blooded Cork man and I make no bones about it.
I mentioned S Johnston I make no apologies for doing so, unfortunately he made a bad decision I am sure you and most of us have made a bad decision in our day's.
We Cavan could have done with him last Saturday I make no apology for saying so.
Will he ever wear the cavan shirt again well that is up to Mr Hyland and the man himself maybe he does not want to play anymore for Cavan.
I can tell you there is not many players in the county or country who could push Sean Johnston about for he is a solid player ask those that have played with him and against him.
When it comes to management if you wish to succeed you play your best yes your best regardless of what you or I think its that simple.
I don't hide behind an alias when I said he should never play for again after what he did but time is a healer and let me tell you the genuine Cavan supporters would be very happy to see the best players playing for their county and as a good supporter of Cavan for near on 44 years I would be very happy to see Sean Johnston playing in the Blue and white if he was willing to commit to Mr Hyand and his backroom staff plan going forward.

I could name many players like most supporters who feel might have done a better job last Saturday but these would be just my opinions and are not needed to create a bitter environment amongst what we have right now.
Mr Hyland and his back room staff have their own ideas of what is best despite what you and I think.

Just to make it perfectly clear fredflint once again I am not dirtybag and I take serious offense to you trying to employ that I am. If you are in any doubt I give you 100% permission to ask hoganstand to compare my IP address to that of dirtybags to confirm that I am not.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 29/04/2014 13:43:16    1582028

Honestly, some people have no pride whatsoever in their county team. Conduct yourselves with some dignity folks, he does not deserve consideration so just forget it!!

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 29/04/2014 14:00:23    1582041

Seanorinn
I mentioned S Johnston I make no apologies for doing so, unfortunately he made a bad decision I am sure you and most of us have made a bad decision in our day's.
We Cavan could have done with him last Saturday I make no apology for saying so.
Will he ever wear the cavan shirt again well that is up to Mr Hyland and the man himself maybe he does not want to play anymore for Cavan.
I can tell you there is not many players in the county or country who could push Sean Johnston about for he is a solid player ask those that have played with him and against him.
When it comes to management if you wish to succeed you play your best yes your best regardless of what you or I think its that simple.
I don't hide behind an alias when I said he should never play for again after what he did but time is a healer and let me tell you the genuine Cavan supporters would be very happy to see the best players playing for their county and as a good supporter of Cavan for near on 44 years I would be very happy to see Sean Johnston playing in the Blue and white if he was willing to commit to Mr Hyand and his backroom staff plan going forward.

What recent form is this based on Seanorinn? Seanorinn was desperate in his last few games for Cavan. He then moved to Kildare and couldn't get a start. He is now back playing for the Gaels and I've yet to see an outstanding performance that would warrant a recall. He didn't even play for the Gaels at the weekend.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 29/04/2014 18:54:13    1582190

Lads ye may stop looking in the past, seanie played for us, we all surported him when he had the cavan jersey on, he went to Kildare, played against us,he made sure to get taking a free to score that point against us , that chapter is closed. Time to look at the future players we have,,the thing that baffles me about Saturday nights game is ,obviously by team line out and slow and incorrect changes that was made the management didn't really care if they won it or not, i cant understand why they didnt blood new players from the u21 and give them a run with the likes of Joe Dillion, Faulkner, Ciaran Brady and Conor Moynagh if he had recovered from injury , i actually think Joe Dillion would have offered more up from Saturday.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 29/04/2014 19:55:06    1582209

BreffniGuide

I am not trying to get him back on the panel for I was very outspoken with my views on what he did unlike many I fired from the hip. The lad is training every night he has to be a dedicated GAA footballer and lets be honest if he still has the spark and would like to play for the county again he has to be given the option, it will not be a backward step as there is a few years in him yet.
Remember this counties have suffered because of the no surrender attitude but we as supporters deserve to see our best players on the field do we not. Its well documented that young Dunne would be happy to see him on the panel.
Remember a few years ago Makey Lyng and Johnston were dropped two are back on the panel why they worked hard to get back this is what we need passion for the jersey and county.
He was badly advised he went to Kildare it did not work. I confronted McGeeney when Kildare played in Breffni and told him some home truths. But that is the past lets move forward united in the journey this year for the Anglo Celt. Be nice to rub some salt into McGeeney's wounds the first week in June..

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 29/04/2014 20:01:45    1582210

As I asked Sean, what recent performances have you seen that you would pick Seanie based on? No politician style answers again please. Its a simple question.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 29/04/2014 21:31:53    1582268

BreffniGuide

As I asked Sean, what recent performances have you seen that you would pick Seanie based on? No politician style answers again please. Its a simple question.

Have I mentioned form NO
Have I seen him play this year NO
Have I seen him train YES BIG TIME.
No politics no bullshitting just an opinion.
Can we afford to keep the shutters down NO.
I feel sorry for the die hard supporters who travel all over the country and pay out big money to end up crying because they have lost again yes crying. They wanted to win the division 3 final facts because they told me so. You cannot mess about with these people if your intentions are not to play your best team well let them know so they don't have to keep digging deep everytime Cavan are playing away or at home.
If there are better and stronger players out there you must use them its that simple that is off course if they want to be involved with the current management or the county, I cannot answer that question for I have not spoken with him or anyone else.
Is that answer good enough for you.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 30/04/2014 14:42:55    1582520

People calling for the management to be replaced would want to wise up. Its a 4 term and they are still learning and developing like the team.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 30/04/2014 15:05:24    1582529

foolsgold
not saying your are not right but

a theoretical question....
- as young players grow older is it appropriate that the coaching staff use this time to learn.,.....are the players getting value for the effort and commitment?

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 30/04/2014 16:23:22    1582565

To me the Johnstone issue is not worth talking about...he will never be seen in a Cavan jersey again imo... He had a choice when dropped to battle his way back onto the panel or jump ship to another county which he did... It was his own doing so he should live with it... Cavan have moved on and are better off without him...!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 30/04/2014 17:40:18    1582609

BreffniGuide

Have I mentioned form NO
Have I seen him play this year NO
Have I seen him train YES BIG TIME.
No politics no bullshitting just an opinion.
Can we afford to keep the shutters down NO.
I feel sorry for the die hard supporters who travel all over the country and pay out big money to end up crying because they have lost again yes crying. They wanted to win the division 3 final facts because they told me so. You cannot mess about with these people if your intentions are not to play your best team well let them know so they don't have to keep digging deep everytime Cavan are playing away or at home.
If there are better and stronger players out there you must use them its that simple that is off course if they want to be involved with the current management or the county, I cannot answer that question for I have not spoken with him or anyone else.
Is that answer good enough for you.

So Sean, let me get this straight, you expect management to replace one of our dedicated panel with a lad who, leaving the Kildare debacle aside, hasn't played a decent game at inter county since the Wicklow game in 2010. Where he didn't start I might add. You have also admitted this individual has done nothing at club level to make him worthy of selection. So why ask for him to be brought in Sean?

It's ridiculous. We have a hard working dedicated team of players who have EARNED their place on that panel. It's hard enough for lads to make the starting 15 let alone the panel of 26 yet you want to parachute in a lad who isn't even performing at club level. Can you not see the lunacy in it yourself? If the lad was even performing at club level I could see your point but I haven't heard anything that points towards that.

As for Cavan people crying, I was at Croke Park and saw alot of disappointed fans but nobody crying. I believe our best 15 available for selection played so I can't see where you are pulling that point from. Again we're discussing a different topic and you try to twist it back round to the management. It's not just the managements decision Sean. I wonder what his colleagues who played in that game in 2012 would think of him? You mention Martin Dunne saying he'd welcome him. Well a few of the panel weren't very welcoming to him that day on the pitch and I was proud that they conveyed mine and many other people's feelings.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 30/04/2014 19:21:57    1582662

BreffniGuide

Twisting nothing.
I am not directing my post towards management.
A question was asked and I saw no reason why I should not mention the man.
He probably does not want to come back anyway.
A strong corner forward was mentioned well I just mentioned Seannie is that a crime. Is he not the best corner forward in the County ???
Surprised by the silence of the gaels people.
When I say people were crying it's a fact not just made up to fill a space.
You keep thinking I have issues with management May I ask why should I or do you know something I don't.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 30/04/2014 21:33:08    1582751

DD10

1582565 foolsgold
not saying your are not right but

a theoretical question....
- as young players grow older is it appropriate that the coaching staff use this time to learn.,.....are the players getting value for the effort and commitment?

They are promoted to Division 2 next year made the All Ireland Quater final last year, yes i would say they are getting the value for effort and commitment. Some players might not be getting as much game time as others .it depends how they perform in training, you or i dont see them train,

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 01/05/2014 10:19:31    1582821

seanorinn

I don't think you can form a good team with a bunch of individuals. A player might be a talented individual (we have all at times been guilty of trumpeting the cause of a certain player based on his ability, However we must take in to account the dynamics of the "team". The best team or panel may not be the best group of individuals but instead they are more likely to be the group of players that adhere to the collective spirit. the gell well, get on well together, play for each other, listen to what coaches and mgmt have to say and follow game-plans and instructions , sometimes sacrificing their own individual aspirations for the good of the team. A particular player may well be capable of scoring 7 or 8 points in a game but if he is not prepared to bring others in to the play, not prepared to work hard and track back and defend from the front then those 7 points may count for nothing. It's best to look at the bigger picture.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 02/05/2014 14:20:19    1583416

S Golderick you do spout some dung. Isn't management suppose to be able to manage? Manage all types? Individuals? Blend players together ? See a little further than average joe soap? Another words manage? Your trying to justify why the best forward in the county remains sitting in the house all because of a few simple mistakes by all parties 2 years ago. He didn't kill anybody just made a few wrong choices which privately maybe he regrets. That doesn't take anything away from his ability as a top class forward something we happen to need. So maybe everybody should pull their horns in for the betterment of Cavan football and let bygones be bygones. Ppl are calling for Seanies return for the simple reason what we have in the full forward line are not good enough end of story. Commitment and passion is one thing but a certain amount of skill and no how is also a vital ingredient . Now Seanie has that and if he can add that to some commitment and passion well he is bound to be an asset

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 02/05/2014 20:38:29    1583569