Under 21's

Fantastic achievment. And the following in bold under age next year to Cavan - J Farrelly; B Fortune (0-1), K Clarke, P Faulkner; G Smith, C Moynagh, C Brady; L Buchanan (1-0), M Argue (0-1); P Graham, E Flanagan, A Watson; D McVeety, K Bouchier (0-3f), J Dillon (1-1, 0-1f). Subs: A O'Hara for C Moynagh (BC), T Hayes for K Bouchier, E Hession for E Flanagan.

Improvment will be needed to beat the Dubs. Long periods without scoring wont be good enough, Cavan will need to go more direct as against Cork last year it cost them - and then in the AF Cork couldn't handle the direct play of Galway.
I think Dublin will find it hard to break down this Cavan defence , getting scores the other end is the issue. Tom Hayes and Enda Hessin very good players to bring on though.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 10/04/2014 10:30:59    1573260

Well done lads on the u21

4 in a row

An cabhain Abu

94allstar (Leitrim) - Posts: 1737 - 10/04/2014 10:52:21    1573272

Congratulations Cavan - a phenomenal achievement and you did the hard way! There's still a journey to be completed. At this rate we might be looking for the re-unification of Cavan & Monaghan!! No fear... but seriously well done!

drumlingael (Monaghan) - Posts: 40 - 10/04/2014 11:11:06    1573277

Great win last night.....but have we nobody that can come up the field and take a point with his left foot from the left side!? The Dubs will be a serious test our backs have been outstanding unfortunately our forwards our not hectic, should we start Tom Hayes & Enda Hession the next day? Also the referee made some strange decisions Moynagh black card?

neilarmstron9 (Cavan) - Posts: 110 - 10/04/2014 11:24:01    1573291

Folks, an incredible achievement to win four in a row in Ulster, just incredible. However, we will be up against it when we play Dublin. Let's hope that we don't give them too much respect as we did with Cork this time twelve months ago. We only started playing in the last 15 minutes and should have won the game.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 10/04/2014 11:33:39    1573295

just want to say Cillian Moynagh's speech last night was a credit to him his family & those magnificent young lads & management.To lead his team in a round of applause for us the Cavan supporters will be something that will stay with me for the rest of my life.Well done Cillian!Hopefully you will have a repeat performance on the May Bank Holiday!!!

spiritof97 (Cavan) - Posts: 36 - 10/04/2014 12:05:30    1573316

yeah.. his name is Conor.

joeybartonIII (Cavan) - Posts: 26 - 10/04/2014 12:28:34    1573326

Conor Moynagh?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1687 - 10/04/2014 12:30:03    1573327

If someone told me before the game that we wouldn't have Sankey, would lose Moynagh early on and wouldn't have Madden as an impact sub I mightn't have gone because we were up against a good Donegal team. I wouldn't have missed that for anything though. Whatever else about Cavan teams this year you can say that when they get going they break the opposition in a few minutes both at U21 and senior level.

The defence was outstanding again even when Conor Moynagh was gone. Midfield was good at times but struggled in the 2nd half. When they switched Michael Argue to full forward Donegal didn't know what to do with him and midfield began picking up the broken ball. That was a game changer I thought. Buchanan came more into it and he used his power to break tackles before he scored that goal. This will have done his confidence a world of good because he wasn't getting game time. We need his sheer physicality against the Dubs in the absence of Brian Sankey. I thought we got another power display from Aaron Watson but he never gets a chance to go forward. I thought he was a defender anyway and maybe that's his role. I'm not sure if Dara McVeety is a corner forward. I always thought he was a defender too and a good one at that.

We should have been at least 7-8 points up at half time in spite of losing Conor Moynagh. Both teams struggled with their shooting into that goal so I think there was a strong breeze coming in from the corner of the stand but you wouldn't notice it much farther out the field. You have to admire the character of these players when the pressure is on. In spite of everything going against them and some bad misses in the 2nd half they kept their shape all the time and once they got the goal they went for the jugular like all good teams do. Donegal were just overpowered in a few minutes and we'd have won by more if it had gone on a few more minutes. Serious shooting practice needed though and maybe we need to up the physical stakes a bit. Donegal played on the very edge in the 2nd half and I though the referee bottled it a few times when they put in some cynical tackles. We seemed to be playing a lot of fancy football and they spotted that. But when we got stuck into them in the last 5 minutes they just lost their way. We need to bring a hard edge to the Dublin game - the Dubs don't take prisoners. Bring it on, you did your blue jersey proud lads!

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 10/04/2014 12:30:12    1573328

spiritof97

1573316 just want to say Cillian Moynagh's speech last night was a credit to him his family & those magnificent young lads & management.To lead his team in a round of applause for us the Cavan supporters will be something that will stay with me for the rest of my life.Well done Cillian!Hopefully you will have a repeat performance on the May Bank Holiday!!!

Conor his brother is Killian! get it right!

neilarmstron9 (Cavan) - Posts: 110 - 10/04/2014 12:30:36    1573330

Congratulations to the team and management on a wonderful performance last night. never gave up and got your rewards, every single player gave absolutely everything until the end and the cavan supporters are so proud of you all, thefutureisblue!!!!!

Breffni81 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 10/04/2014 12:38:58    1573342

Was puzzled by black card for Moynagh, linesman seemed to flag something, he was under savage pressure from crowd and then Donegal management were in his (linesmans) face. One thing we miss this year is a target man like Paul O'Connor from last years team, it allowed us to vary our attacking play a bit more. Anyway Well done to all the players and manangement, its no small achievement to win 4 Ulster titles on the trot. Waaaaaahooo, mon the blues

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 10/04/2014 12:55:06    1573356

It was a fantastic achievement to pull the game out of the fire. But to be honest we were the better team for most of the game. Our shooting let us down in the 1st half and we just couldent get our shot away in the 2nd until the final push.
But fair play to all the lads for the never say die attitude. This will be needed more so against the Dubs but definately if we can get our forward line right then we can take them.
Amazed Tom Hayes dident start and again he was superb when introduced.
Aaron O'Hara was also superb when intoduced for Conor Moynagh. Never put a foot wrong. Liam Buchaanan for a big man lasted the pace really well and finished with a bang. What a goal to stun Donegal. Joe Dillon was very good and won some great ball.
But all the lads were heroic and did us the loyal Cavan fans proud.
Really looking forward to the semi-final.
Cavan Abu.

Brownred (Cavan) - Posts: 229 - 10/04/2014 13:47:07    1573401

A very proud occasion and terrific speech by Conor Moynagh." We are Cavan, and this is what we do". I like that.

I noticed that Greg McGovern made the match day panel. With Liam Buchanan and Aaron O'Hara playing such pivotal roles unexpectedly, I can understand Ronan Carolan saying it's our strongest panel yet.

Really impressed at how the lads went for the jugular once we got the goal and smelt blood. That's experience, and an acute awareness of timing and opportunity.

Thought Gallagher showed poor sportsmanship in the way be badgered the linesman to get Conor black carded. I'd call the result, and the manner in which we rescued the game, poetic justice. No way would they have waltzed through our defence for the last two points if Moynagh was there.

We need to get our best 15 starting from here on and that's going to be interesting. Who are they?

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 10/04/2014 16:26:36    1573463

Unbelievable fairy tale stuff.these boys are something to be proud of.they never died,things were not looking good but great teams find a way to win.i was very happy with the way argue played,caught some great ball and carried very well,great interception and score at the end.thought mc veety was really good,was man marking mc Hugh for most of the game but he was everywhere,he won a free in front of his goal in injury time and in the same move won a ball that he had no right to win at the other end line and got the free.flanagan and Boucher weren't great in the forwards but paul graham was a lot better this week.o hara had a great game when he came on, it's unreal the strength in the panel,hopefully we can get the forwards firing. and finally I'm not really into post match speeches but moynagh's last night was amazing,really made me think of these wonderful games,great cavan players and teams of the past and the way he included the supporters was a credit to him and the whole panel.cavan supporters felt 10 feet tall leaving Armagh last night.thanks lads!

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 10/04/2014 17:02:20    1573488

Congratulations to the lads on a fantastic achievement last night to complete the four in a row . It's more than could have been expected from them when the draw was first made and best of luck to them against the Dubs . They will be up against it for sure but this team have a bit about them and are more than capable of defying the odds . As the lad said , just go out and do what you do!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 10/04/2014 17:25:34    1573498

Congratulations to all the lads and management team on a magnificent achievement. This time I actually thought we were bet. I am sorry I should have no better with this Cavan set up. It will be a very interesting game against the dubs. can't wait.I would say to some of the forwards, don't be afraid to shoot. if you miss so what, you will probably get the next one. we need to be taking more shots on. nevertheless youse are a credit to the county and to your families.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 10/04/2014 17:58:08    1573507

A great win last night for Cavan...a few years ago we would never pull a game out of the bag like that... The game itself was terrible stuff to watch with both playing a double blanket defence but it got the result in the end I guess... The Cavan attackers will find much more space afforded to them in the Dublin game but will they be able to make use of it...? Dublin have players who can kick points from far out but they tend to play as individuals and wont like been bottled up...they miss Kilkenny for picking out the killer pass... If our attack can convert most of their chances then we might have hope... Again this will not be the venue to see attractive football...unless your in in time for the first game...!! Should be good banter with the Dubs nontheless..!!! Would anyone know when was the last Championship meeting with the Dubs..apart from the LJF Champ a couple of years ago....?

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 10/04/2014 18:48:32    1573524

Fantastic stuff. Was at the game and the atmosphere was better than anything i have witnessed over the past 10 years at any grade, got goosebumps when we got that 2nd goal. Just brilliant, congratulations again lads!

Champion2011 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 10/04/2014 19:45:21    1573547

Well done on your victory lads, looking forward to the semi.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/04/2014 21:15:30    1573593