Cavan Seniors 2024

Also fair play to the hurlers. I'm ashamed to say I have never been to a Cavan hurling game despite attending many other ones from different counties. I watched the Louth game highlights on tg4 and I intend to try getting to the next one. To go up a division and hold their own is brilliant progress

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 15/02/2024 13:04:19    2526190

Cork have been poor ,but will probaly raise it after a 2 week break and playing at home. Sean Powter seems to be back available.. It's still a game Cavan can win. The wide spaces in Pairc UI Chaoimh will suit the Cavan forwards.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 15/02/2024 14:38:12    2526208

Replying To 97Cavans:  "Also fair play to the hurlers. I'm ashamed to say I have never been to a Cavan hurling game despite attending many other ones from different counties. I watched the Louth game highlights on tg4 and I intend to try getting to the next one. To go up a division and hold their own is brilliant progress"
Yes they made a great comeback in their first league game with Sligo when behind by 15pts at ht , losing out by just 4 in the end… Great win last weekend with Liam O Brien hitting back to back big totals… Their next outing away to Mayo will be another step up from what they are used to facing…. It would be great to see them survive in this Division after winning their league last season….

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 15/02/2024 17:42:51    2526245

Team is named. Few changes to team named v Donegal with Oisin Kiernan (Castlerahan) still out, Gerry Smith drops back, Tiarnan Madden and James Smith changes numbers and so on. Oisin Brady back to the bench. i expect him to start if he's fit, we need him.

Think we can go at these. we're not a great goal scoring team, so time to change that. they seem to leak goals, so grab a few here and I think we an turn them over. they'll battle hard not to be 0/3, but if we play our game and take the chances then we'll do well

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 16/02/2024 12:58:45    2526342

Decent Cavan crowd down so far in the stand. Good to see. Hope more get in before throw in

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 17/02/2024 15:38:53    2526489

What a win down in PUC. Lot to talk about, nearly threw it away, then went and won it. But what a win!

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 17/02/2024 17:57:00    2526518

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "What a win down in PUC. Lot to talk about, nearly threw it away, then went and won it. But what a win!"
Brilliant win! Well done Cavan! After a poor first half what a second half performance.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 885 - 17/02/2024 18:15:30    2526519

Great to win that game as it was far from a great performance… we gave away a lot of needless possession and drifted back into backwards and lateral passing which almost cost us the game… Cavan are at their best when they move the ball quickly and only get themselves in trouble by slowing it down… Cork had some terrible wides which were nowhere near the goals… A brilliant win to get but another game with no goal scored which is a worry as 1/2 of our first 3 fisted points were goal scoring opportunities but it's hard to be too critical seeing as we still picked up the 2 points… On to Louth now and another win will surely see us safe…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 17/02/2024 20:18:46    2526545

A big shout out to Paddy Lynch who kicked some great points in Cork … 9 in total with 3 from play.. If we can get the ball to him quickly he will score given a chance…

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 18/02/2024 08:59:14    2526599

So long day travelling back yesterday, lots of time to get thoughts together on Saturday. First off, absolutely unreal to come away with the win. It is a long journey down and all that, but lot of energy from the players to see that out. You could tell how much they appreciated the supporters who travelled, as they stayed in the stand and the players came over to say thanks and they got a great cheer.

Now it's not all positive. A fair bit positive, but some things to work on. Basically Cork should have been out of sight in the first half. They missed at least 3 gilt edged goal chances (including one open goal when a palmed effort came off the bar) and could easily ahve been far ahead and they'd ahve deserved it. We had our own chances too, but of the first 3 points (all of which were fisted efforts) at least 2 of them could/should have been a shot on goal. Don't think we even made their keeper make a save. We're the only team in all 4 divisions not to have scored or conceded a goal of any form.

Now saying that, we did well to keep in touch. We brought the game back level just before half time when we got a bit streaky, before Cork pulled ahead again. Ref gave some very dubious frees to them (though he was odd all game, they gotr handy frees, while we couldn't buy a free sometimes. And the added on time at the end was very very mad) but they were still worth their lead.

That initial period of the 2nd half won the game. Things must have been said at half time, or at least calmed things and reorganised. To score 6 out of 7 points and move ahead was class and while they drew level late on, they never lead again. Back to a negative, when we were leading by 2 points or so and they were pushing back, we played keep ball and when they withdrew inside their 45 we had no idea what to do. We got turned over many times by trying to find the % shot instead of taking a shot on even if the % was lower. That was poor. But saying that, when it came to it we stood up and got the 2 point lead meaning they needed a goal. Near heart attack stuff with the time that ref let play. 9 minutes total when he allowed 6 initially (where was this guy when we played Donegal a few weeks back).

So anyway, a great weekend. We did it missing a fair few players, and losing players during the game. But jeez those boys showed spirit. I really hope that's spurring them on in games like this and we can push on further with each game. Oh and Lynch is an absolute baller...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 19/02/2024 12:09:19    2526920

Anymore thoughts on it Loughduff lad or anyone else at it ?!
It was torture listening to the radio - I don't think I've ever cursed Monaghan as much than when Micky Brennan handed over to Celtic park with 5 minutes to go ! Sounded like we played well in patches but rode our luck at times
The radio seemed to think James Smith went off with concussion. I wonder what happened to Niall Carolan?

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 19/02/2024 12:15:56    2526925

And speaking of Lynch,a word about some of the players. He was just unreal. Perfect from frees (including that monster long range one) and 3 from play and only 1 wide I think. So needed on the day. Did get space which will be harder up vs Ulster teams but still had to make the most of that. Oisin brady back is good too, as now you've different options that defenders need to look at. Caoimhin O'Reilly was good too early on, but did fade out a bit. Carolan was class until injury. James Smith unlucky to go off as he was coming into it and getting on ball. Holla his usual class self. Faulkner and Gunner were good, but will be disappointed to pick up black cards when there was no need for them. O'Rourke in goal was good again. At one stage we dominated on kickouts, but then started losing them for a time. Not all on him though, got some boot on him. Oisin Kiernan (Denn) is quietly going about his business very well, I'm impressed with him so far. Clarke and McLoughlin their usual selves and doing what is expected of them. Gerry Smith too, and nice point from play from him. Brian O'Connell looks made for this level too, the more time he gets the better he'll be too. Ryan Donohoe probably not a midfielder, he also needs time to grow in but needs to make more impact. Ryan O'Neill industrious too. Cian Madden made a serious difference when he came on for the 2nd half, took a while for them to get a handle on him. Tiarnan was grand too but also needs to impact on the game more.

Overall very good team performance. you'll always have a few players who ahve an off day, just up to them to make it up next day and great to be able to say that after a win. looks like we'll be down McVeety v Louth, and maybe James Smith and Carolan too who both went off. Suppose we'll hear. Hope Conor Brady and Kiernan will be back soon too. Otherwise we will look light in a few places

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 19/02/2024 12:49:37    2526934

Another tough assignment on Sunday in Ardee.. I often went to Drogheha for a game but never Ardee..
Are they doing work on the Drogheda pitch…? They will as always be a hard nut to crack at home but if we take our chances and please God end our goal drought we should be well capable of winning.. Let's hope McVitty is back as he makes such a difference to the team…!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 21/02/2024 10:14:45    2527331

His name is MCVEETY. No excuse for getting it wrong after all these years. Basic respect.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 21/02/2024 11:06:14    2527345

Replying To Breffni40:  "His name is MCVEETY. No excuse for getting it wrong after all these years. Basic respect."
Ah my auld spelling doesn't be the best at times and certainly I was not meaning any disrespect to the chap… most people with an ounce of intelligence would know who I meant and passed on but unfortunately you might not fall into that category….!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1960 - 21/02/2024 13:12:21    2527369

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Ah my auld spelling doesn't be the best at times and certainly I was not meaning any disrespect to the chap… most people with an ounce of intelligence would know who I meant and passed on but unfortunately you might not fall into that category….!!"
Replying To Breffni40: "His name is MCVEETY. No excuse for getting it wrong after all these years. Basic respect."
Ah my auld spelling doesn't be the best at times and certainly I was not meaning any disrespect to the chap… most people with an ounce of intelligence would know who I meant and passed on but unfortunately you might not fall into that category….!!
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1756 - 21/02/2024 13:12:21

The Ironic thing is you would never see it spelt like that because it is wrong with all those caps. Should only be a Capital M and V.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 851 - 21/02/2024 14:01:45    2527382

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Ah my auld spelling doesn't be the best at times and certainly I was not meaning any disrespect to the chap… most people with an ounce of intelligence would know who I meant and passed on but unfortunately you might not fall into that category….!!"
I clearly did know who you meant. Like I said, no excuse. Your idea of intelligence is irrelevant

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 21/02/2024 14:17:16    2527384

Replying To RHF:  "Replying To Breffni40: "His name is MCVEETY. No excuse for getting it wrong after all these years. Basic respect."
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1756 - 21/02/2024 13:12:21

The Ironic thing is you would never see it spelt like that because it is wrong with all those caps. Should only be a Capital M and V."
Alright Alanis. That was intentional.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 21/02/2024 14:52:05    2527395

Tricky fixture on paper, mainly because of the Ardee factor. I watched Meath and Louth and I thought the standard was poor enough. I presume Ardee is a heavy pitch so it could come down to 50 50s and who wants it more. I think in general Cavan play better on heavier pitches anyway. If we tie up Mulroy and Burns we will be 70% of the way there I think.

How many times will we hear "get ahead of the ball" this weekend. Seems to be everywhere at the moment across all divisions. To me it basically just means to create space for the ball carrier.

Our possession retention game plan doesn't seem to have gone too well the last day in Cork. This is something that will need to be worked on if we are to complete with the top teams. Not nice to look at but definitely something that can be practiced. Galway did it very well in Omagh at the weekend.

This week I'm going for Tyrone +1, Cavan -1, Antrim +1, Longford -3 for 13/1

97Cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 325 - 22/02/2024 10:30:16    2527509

Be tight going on Sunday. It's a small club pitch really in Ardee (fyi get your tickets early, it will sell out - kids need tickets too) so will be a tight field, and they generally go well there. Saying that, i think we're in a good place. We might be down some players, but a win after not playing very well in a lot of areas in Cork, eans we get that good feeling after a win while also knowing we can improve and get better. I take Cavan to sneak it, maybe pull away by 2 to 3 points by the end but this will be a battle. Best of luck lads

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2409 - 23/02/2024 13:49:48    2527718