National League 2020

Replying To s goldrick:  "not strictly true but probable.
if we beat roscommon , Armagh beat Clare and Westmeath beat Kildare, it will go to score difference.
We need a set of improbable results to get promoted. The chances of us being relegated are greater than being promoted. So I think another season in div 2 would not be so bad sn outcome."
Promoted? We are favourites to get relegated now. Laois will likely bezt fermanagh and we will likely lose to Roscommon and those 2 results will almost certainly relegate us. Our defence was shocking today, didnt lay a glove on kildares forwards

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/10/2020 20:31:55    2298916

Replying To fredflint:  "Promoted? We are favourites to get relegated now. Laois will likely bezt fermanagh and we will likely lose to Roscommon and those 2 results will almost certainly relegate us. Our defence was shocking today, didnt lay a glove on kildares forwards"
Armagh v clare
Westmeath v Kildare
Cavan V Roscommon
Laois V Fermanagh

The situation with the Virus Fermanagh might not be even able to field a team so Laois would get the win to put them to 7 points. Should Roscommon beat Cavan and Kildare beat or draw with Westmeath Cavan would be relegated on the head to head with Clare. Thats provided the two of them end up with 6 points
So let's hope that Fermanagh filed a team and scrape a result. They are relegated so will they bother. they might like to see Cavan going down with them.
But the ball is in Cavan's hands to survive by drawing with Roscommon or beating them. Depending on these results if Laois get a walk Over
Armagh v Clare
Westmeath v Kildare

Have I got this right
Table . P W D L GF GA PF PAG +/- Pts
Roscommon 6 4 1 1 9 2 97 76 21 9
Armagh 6 3 1 2 7 7 108 86 22 7 V Clare
W/Meath 6 3 1 2 7 15 95 93 02 7 V Kildare
Kildare 6 3 0 3 3 3 90 88 02 6
Cavan 6 3 0 3 7 7 102 104 -2 6 V Roscommon
Clare 6 3 0 3 4 4 74 78 -4 6
Laois 6 2 1 3 4 7 81 99 -18 5 V Fermanagh
Fermanagh 6 1 0 5 1 8 71 94 -23 2

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 18/10/2020 23:46:39    2298990

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "The winners of Armagh and Roscommon will be promoted even if they are beaten in their final game."
Well my post I believe was spot on when I said 9 points might suffice. Well should Roscommon win they will have 11 points but the second team that will get promotion will more than likely have 9 points which I said might suffice. It's in Cavan hands to be safe in the league and be in the top 12 but if they lose it will look like they will not be part of the set up with the top twelve automatically for next year. I hear Cavan were unlucky well the chances cancelled themselves out to be honest. N Murray in the last minuet or so had no chance of getting a goal as he did not even get to hold the ball. Top scorer for Cavan center half but is he a center half. Once again kick outs dodgy despite the amount of times they practice it on the county pitch. "I know you can carry a free taker for if he continues to score like he did today he will be worth his weight in gold "
Jack O'Connor has a fine tuned team now and it showed today that he is a top manager for the game. Did anyone take note of the size and physique of the Kildare player's even G McKiernan looked small beside many of them. They are bulked up well why are the Cavan lads not in the same condition. Don't be saying they did not have the time off course they did. A couple of new faces they did well so thats a start for next year. That young McGovern lad if taken care off will be around for several years.
Just thinking about the keepers kick out's I know Galligan can kick the ball out 80 meters so I ask why the emphasis in keeping G McK in midfield when Gallingan kicks a long ball it will drive it over his head. Crosserlough had two lads in midfield I think Smith and Lynch I stand corrected and they lorded the middle of the field for long periods. Spread the kick outs don't be one dimensional, why does everything have to be short when Cavan have the players to catch the ball and make a mark. Come on it's not rocket science. I tell you what ? nest week Cavan should bring G McK forward seriously to the D and keep pumping balls into him. Players will feed off him and it might in fairness give G McK a break to express himself. Having him in the middle is all very well but everyone in the country knows what damage he can do given the space so will be man marked. Bringing him forward will give Cavan's midfield and half back line a chance to perform and express. It will also upset Roscommon's tactics. Bring in that Mc Govern lad from the start worth a try. I think Brady was wearing the wing half jersey 5 well he was a very lucky man to finish the game today. Like many of you I watched it on TG4.
Let's be bold experiment you Cavan might learn something for the Monaghan game as promotion is out of their hands. Win or lose next weekend.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/10/2020 01:59:36    2299000

Ros are already promoted so will be on autopilot next week. Wouldnt be worried at all about getting a result against them.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 19/10/2020 09:40:45    2299028

I would be very concerned about next week . I think the government are the only ones who could save us now. Even listening to Mickey's interview after the game it sounded like he was trying to call on the government to step in . That doesn't strike confidence at all .. division 3 would be a major blow to us and a double relegation is not acceptable.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 19/10/2020 10:27:07    2299052

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Ros are already promoted so will be on autopilot next week. Wouldnt be worried at all about getting a result against them."
We are not already promoted. Highly likely we are but not officially. We need a win or a draw to win the League at that will be our aim to win it for a third time in recent years.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1145 - 19/10/2020 10:28:38    2299055

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Well my post I believe was spot on when I said 9 points might suffice. Well should Roscommon win they will have 11 points but the second team that will get promotion will more than likely have 9 points which I said might suffice. It's in Cavan hands to be safe in the league and be in the top 12 but if they lose it will look like they will not be part of the set up with the top twelve automatically for next year. I hear Cavan were unlucky well the chances cancelled themselves out to be honest. N Murray in the last minuet or so had no chance of getting a goal as he did not even get to hold the ball. Top scorer for Cavan center half but is he a center half. Once again kick outs dodgy despite the amount of times they practice it on the county pitch. "I know you can carry a free taker for if he continues to score like he did today he will be worth his weight in gold "
Jack O'Connor has a fine tuned team now and it showed today that he is a top manager for the game. Did anyone take note of the size and physique of the Kildare player's even G McKiernan looked small beside many of them. They are bulked up well why are the Cavan lads not in the same condition. Don't be saying they did not have the time off course they did. A couple of new faces they did well so thats a start for next year. That young McGovern lad if taken care off will be around for several years.
Just thinking about the keepers kick out's I know Galligan can kick the ball out 80 meters so I ask why the emphasis in keeping G McK in midfield when Gallingan kicks a long ball it will drive it over his head. Crosserlough had two lads in midfield I think Smith and Lynch I stand corrected and they lorded the middle of the field for long periods. Spread the kick outs don't be one dimensional, why does everything have to be short when Cavan have the players to catch the ball and make a mark. Come on it's not rocket science. I tell you what ? nest week Cavan should bring G McK forward seriously to the D and keep pumping balls into him. Players will feed off him and it might in fairness give G McK a break to express himself. Having him in the middle is all very well but everyone in the country knows what damage he can do given the space so will be man marked. Bringing him forward will give Cavan's midfield and half back line a chance to perform and express. It will also upset Roscommon's tactics. Bring in that Mc Govern lad from the start worth a try. I think Brady was wearing the wing half jersey 5 well he was a very lucky man to finish the game today. Like many of you I watched it on TG4.
Let's be bold experiment you Cavan might learn something for the Monaghan game as promotion is out of their hands. Win or lose next weekend."
Did you watch the game?

Conroy was our top scorer because he took the frees.

As for kicking long kickouts - Kevin Feely is probably the best fetcher of the ball in the country. He's lorded it over the likes of Brian Fenton. That tactic would've been suicide.

Tactically, we were OK.

Going forward, we were pretty good. Plenty of good scores, the penalty was poor and I think if Murray hadn't just come on, he might have gathered that ball and scored.

Defensively we were dreadful. McLoughlin came out with some ball, but he was the only one. Killian Brady fouled all day and kept doing it even tho the ref had copped onto him early. Faulkner or Clarke have to go back in to FB.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/10/2020 10:29:46    2299058

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Ros are already promoted so will be on autopilot next week. Wouldnt be worried at all about getting a result against them."
Agreed. If we can't beat a team with nothing to play for then we deserve to be relegated.

Showed enough yesterday to show we can score. Tighter defending needed.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/10/2020 10:31:28    2299060

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Well my post I believe was spot on when I said 9 points might suffice. Well should Roscommon win they will have 11 points but the second team that will get promotion will more than likely have 9 points which I said might suffice. It's in Cavan hands to be safe in the league and be in the top 12 but if they lose it will look like they will not be part of the set up with the top twelve automatically for next year. I hear Cavan were unlucky well the chances cancelled themselves out to be honest. N Murray in the last minuet or so had no chance of getting a goal as he did not even get to hold the ball. Top scorer for Cavan center half but is he a center half. Once again kick outs dodgy despite the amount of times they practice it on the county pitch. "I know you can carry a free taker for if he continues to score like he did today he will be worth his weight in gold "
Let's be bold experiment you Cavan might learn something for the Monaghan game as promotion is out of their hands. Win or lose next weekend."
Did you watch the game?

As for kicking long kickouts - Kevin Feely is probably the best fetcher of the ball in the country. He's lorded it over the likes of Brian Fenton. That tactic would've been suicide.

Tactically, we were OK.

Going forward, we were pretty good. Plenty of good scores, the penalty was poor and I think if Murray hadn't just come on, he might have gathered that ball and scored.

Defensively we were dreadful. McLoughlin came out with some ball, but he was the only one. Killian Brady fouled all day and kept doing it even tho the ref had copped onto him early. Faulkner or Clarke have to go back in to FB."
He was but I think the point is he is not the solution at Ctr Half. Kildare ran through the middle of our defence at their absolute ease and tapped over two clear goal chances when they were already 7/8 points up. Our FB line were so far off their men it was crazy. Now Roscommons forwards are way ahead of Kildares, I hate to think what they will do to us if we set up like that against them. All we can do is pray Fermanagh get an unlikely win against Laois.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/10/2020 12:01:26    2299113

When losing the game by three at the end of the game we took off a forward and put a half back on that hasn't played football for 6/7months
Madness

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 19/10/2020 14:03:10    2299193

Replying To cavanman47:  "
Did you watch the game?

Tactically, we were OK.

Defensively we were dreadful. McLoughlin came out with some ball, but he was the only one. Killian Brady fouled all day and kept doing it even tho the ref had copped onto him early. Faulkner or Clarke have to go back in to FB."
Is Killian Clarke back with the panel as is implied in some posts?

TheFean (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 19/10/2020 14:11:49    2299198

Replying To cavanman47:  "Agreed. If we can't beat a team with nothing to play for then we deserve to be relegated.

Showed enough yesterday to show we can score. Tighter defending needed."
I don't agree they want the title as champions so they will not give up much I can tell you now.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/10/2020 15:38:52    2299231

I also thought it was lunasy to be bringing on Niall Murray yesterday. There's enough other lads there that Murray can mind himself until next year and let lads that are fully fit have a go. He cant possibly be used against Monaghan given the lack of gametime he has had.

Mickey seems to have sparked a decent increase in the teams scoring tally since his arrival, but at the weekend, and going right back to the start of his tenure, he seems to be dislaying a lot of naivety in the defensive side of the game.I do not see anything to suggest we wouldnt get waded through like Donegal did last season in this years c'ship again.

We are extremely easily run through and arguably no more (if not less) competive than we have been under the previous managers if you merge improvements v weaknesses. Both Ciaran Brady & Killian Clarke were tried at No.6 has proved the answer. It may prove to be his natural position but this coming c'ship is too soon for McTimoney there also despite a good IFC.

I would also like to point out the fact that there is a regular re-ocurrance of posters making the point about playing Gearoid McKiernan in the forwards or moving hi around somewhere else to get the best out of him. It is the opposite when it comes to Faulkner. We talk about where can he not play. I think it is time for McKiernan to start taking games by the scruff of the neck wherever he is playing, and for Mickey G to sacrifice Faulkner's attacking prowess and put him into the biggest hole in that Cavan team, at No. 6 and not moving from between 30-55 yards from his own goal to stop runners coming through the middle.

The excuse that we are a "team in transition" has been used since the end of the season in which we got promoted from D2 under Terry Hyland. Not sure what year that was (maybe 2013), but the "team in transition" excuse only lasts so long, and the next stage is "they are just no good".

PatTheDandy (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 19/10/2020 15:50:35    2299237

Replying To TheFean:  "
Replying To cavanman47:  "[quote=The Quiet Man:  "Well my post I believe was spot on when I said 9 points might suffice. Well should Roscommon win they will have 11 points but the second team that will get promotion will more than likely have 9 points which I said might suffice. It's in Cavan hands to be safe in the league and be in the top 12 but if they lose it will look like they will not be part of the set up with the top twelve automatically for next year. I hear Cavan were unlucky well the chances cancelled themselves out to be honest. N Murray in the last minuet or so had no chance of getting a goal as he did not even get to hold the ball. Top scorer for Cavan center half but is he a center half. Once again kick outs dodgy despite the amount of times they practice it on the county pitch. "I know you can carry a free taker for if he continues to score like he did today he will be worth his weight in gold "
Did you watch the game?

Tactically, we were OK.

Is Killian Clarke back with the panel as is implied in some posts?"]He was names as corner back on the program so I presume he is back.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/10/2020 15:55:48    2299240

Replying To PatTheDandy:  "I also thought it was lunasy to be bringing on Niall Murray yesterday. There's enough other lads there that Murray can mind himself until next year and let lads that are fully fit have a go. He cant possibly be used against Monaghan given the lack of gametime he has had.

Mickey seems to have sparked a decent increase in the teams scoring tally since his arrival, but at the weekend, and going right back to the start of his tenure, he seems to be dislaying a lot of naivety in the defensive side of the game.I do not see anything to suggest we wouldnt get waded through like Donegal did last season in this years c'ship again.

We are extremely easily run through and arguably no more (if not less) competive than we have been under the previous managers if you merge improvements v weaknesses. Both Ciaran Brady & Killian Clarke were tried at No.6 has proved the answer. It may prove to be his natural position but this coming c'ship is too soon for McTimoney there also despite a good IFC.

I would also like to point out the fact that there is a regular re-ocurrance of posters making the point about playing Gearoid McKiernan in the forwards or moving hi around somewhere else to get the best out of him. It is the opposite when it comes to Faulkner. We talk about where can he not play. I think it is time for McKiernan to start taking games by the scruff of the neck wherever he is playing, and for Mickey G to sacrifice Faulkner's attacking prowess and put him into the biggest hole in that Cavan team, at No. 6 and not moving from between 30-55 yards from his own goal to stop runners coming through the middle.

The excuse that we are a "team in transition" has been used since the end of the season in which we got promoted from D2 under Terry Hyland. Not sure what year that was (maybe 2013), but the "team in transition" excuse only lasts so long, and the next stage is "they are just no good"."
Agree with most of what you say, except for McKiernan. He was very good yesterday. Kicked some great scores and was fouled for a few of our frees too.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 19/10/2020 16:50:53    2299263

The problem with gmac is he only plays when we are winning by or losing by ten. He needs to step up and start playing when the game is needed to be won.
Faulkner needs to go back to the full back. He is not a midfield or forward and our full back line is too soft.
From half time to the water break no one tracked the kildare runners and we should have been punish by more goals. Way too open. Conroy not a center back. need to fill that hole with someone who will sit and protect the d.
Badly stuck for target up front maybe madden needs to be left in the full forward line we don't seem to any one else who offers that physically up front

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 19/10/2020 17:08:38    2299278

Replying To cavanman47:  "Agree with most of what you say, except for McKiernan. He was very good yesterday. Kicked some great scores and was fouled for a few of our frees too."
We are a team in transition because our best players walk away and wont play for us. In fairness to Gearoid, he shows up year after year. How can a manager build a team when he gets to an ulster final in year one and then 5 of his best players quit aftwerwards!
Martin McHugh got to an Ulster final in 95 and that team stuck at it and got over the line 2 years later. Them lads were made of stronger stuff I am afraid.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 19/10/2020 17:20:23    2299284

Replying To fredflint:  "We are a team in transition because our best players walk away and wont play for us. In fairness to Gearoid, he shows up year after year. How can a manager build a team when he gets to an ulster final in year one and then 5 of his best players quit aftwerwards!
Martin McHugh got to an Ulster final in 95 and that team stuck at it and got over the line 2 years later. Them lads were made of stronger stuff I am afraid."
When 5 of your best players quit your doing something wrong

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 19/10/2020 20:05:35    2299357

Replying To tom84:  "When 5 of your best players quit your doing something wrong"
The last time we had those 5 on deck for a championship match we were bate by 16 points.
Don't get too carried away with who is missing, support who is there.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 19/10/2020 22:37:30    2299430

Replying To tom84:  "When 5 of your best players quit your doing something wrong"
Yes, something wrong with the set-up or something wrong with the mentality of the players. I dont know for certain which. What I do know is that we've had many many set ups and have had players leaving. Can all the set ups be bad?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/10/2020 13:41:59    2299588