Time For Mattie To Move On?

Replying To cavanblueman:  "15 mins left in the match, Cavan slightly on top, we get a free 30/40 metres from the Tyrone goal, McVeety (one of our so called better players) decides to take a quick one to Sean McCormack, the kick is intercepted and Tyrone go up and score, so instead of going a point up, we go a point down. Championship match in Breffni a couple of years ago, 5 points up against Monaghan with 15/20 mins left, Mackey gets a ball, solo's the ball into a tackle, loses the ball, Monaghan go and score. That my friends is the difference between good footballers and quality footballers, same mistakes made in the league final vs Roscommon. Those errors cannot be blamed on management. You can bring in Rochford or any other manager, but when players make silly little individual errors, those are the errors that make the difference between winning and losing games.

Regarding the 63 players with underage medals - the GAA commissioned a report back in 2014 about dropout rates - 75% of players between 21 & 25 drop out of Gaelic Football, probably higher now, so this is probably where many of those 63 players are. Our under 17s were hammered last night, this is despite the fact that Mr Brady had them training since early February, yet how many of these players played little if any football with their clubs. Where's all those players from the ages of 18 - 21, what football are they getting? They're getting no football because theres no competitions for them, the U20s doesn't start til November, the senior reserve league is a shambles and many of them arent just ready for Senior.

I said this back in 2015 and i'll keep saying it, you need to have a very competitive, strong club scene before you achieve success at Senior level. The club scene in Cavan is abysmal, its been broke for years and the County Board has ignored it. The same with the underage structure, we have an underage committee who throw together a few under age fixtures now and again without any consideration or care going into it.

Cavan Football is in serious decline, it will take years to do anything about it, thats if they actually do anything."
Playing Johnston between the 2 45s giving 5 yr kick passes across the park because there was no one up front CAN be blamed on management .
As CAN putting on a big full forward at half time and failing to kick the ball into him. That's a management blame too.
That's 2 major no no's that's happened umpteen times this year. In saying that players need to be able to think on their feet too. Something that I never saw Cavan players do.
You won't win games without forwards inside their own 45. And you certainly won't win them if you don't take a shot at the posts hence the turnover in the tackle so often.
You won't walk the ball into the net against teams like Tyrone. You might against Wicklow .
Cork WILL beat Tyrone yet they were never out of 2nd gear against us.
That's how tactically inept we are.
Sad thing is there not a Manager in the county capable of bringing us forward.
Yes we have so good individual players both on the panel and not on it.
But they are individuals , not able to gel together as a team. It's every man for himself. That's not how football works anymore

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 02/07/2018 12:21:19    2117644

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "Playing Johnston between the 2 45s giving 5 yr kick passes across the park because there was no one up front CAN be blamed on management .
As CAN putting on a big full forward at half time and failing to kick the ball into him. That's a management blame too.
That's 2 major no no's that's happened umpteen times this year. In saying that players need to be able to think on their feet too. Something that I never saw Cavan players do.
You won't win games without forwards inside their own 45. And you certainly won't win them if you don't take a shot at the posts hence the turnover in the tackle so often.
You won't walk the ball into the net against teams like Tyrone. You might against Wicklow .
Cork WILL beat Tyrone yet they were never out of 2nd gear against us.
That's how tactically inept we are.
Sad thing is there not a Manager in the county capable of bringing us forward.
Yes we have so good individual players both on the panel and not on it.
But they are individuals , not able to gel together as a team. It's every man for himself. That's not how football works anymore"
I have tried to calculate the amount of time Cavan plus all Tyrone players bar their goalkeeper were in the Cavan half of the pitch I think it would be safe to say 70% of the whole match. What upset me the most was almost every time Seanie had the ball and this was a lot of the time on the half way line not one Cavan player made any attempt to run on from any midfield position not one. When he did get a chance to feed the ball forward his passes were sublime and several scores came from them. Can anyone explain to me why this happened. If you are behind after the final whistle you have lost yet it did not seem to bother our players. I just cannot understand this.
The full management have to go right away. We have to try and bring in a Dublin manager that knows there is a larger pitch than 72 and a 1/2 meters long or even a Kerry manager. If we wish to move forward Cavan CB have to be prepaired to spend to succeed. We are really to be honest a mid division 3 team but we have the players both on and off the panel to turn this around.
I hope at the AGM that the clubs will support any positive change the CB make before the AGM or make noises if they have done nothing by demanding changes.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 02/07/2018 13:31:14    2117692

Replying To mowbar:  "I have tried to calculate the amount of time Cavan plus all Tyrone players bar their goalkeeper were in the Cavan half of the pitch I think it would be safe to say 70% of the whole match. What upset me the most was almost every time Seanie had the ball and this was a lot of the time on the half way line not one Cavan player made any attempt to run on from any midfield position not one. When he did get a chance to feed the ball forward his passes were sublime and several scores came from them. Can anyone explain to me why this happened. If you are behind after the final whistle you have lost yet it did not seem to bother our players. I just cannot understand this.
The full management have to go right away. We have to try and bring in a Dublin manager that knows there is a larger pitch than 72 and a 1/2 meters long or even a Kerry manager. If we wish to move forward Cavan CB have to be prepaired to spend to succeed. We are really to be honest a mid division 3 team but we have the players both on and off the panel to turn this around.
I hope at the AGM that the clubs will support any positive change the CB make before the AGM or make noises if they have done nothing by demanding changes."
The biggest problem Seanie J had he was trying to kick balls into where he should have been himself . Or even C o Reilly ( and he didn't start for some reason.
Then we bring on 2 backs McLoughlin and Faulkner when we needed scores.
We had the slight wind in the 2nd half and the only ball we kicked in we got a goal.
The only time Seanie crossed the 45 he kicked a lovely point . Surely that was the cue to move him closer to goal.
Yes he plays between the 2 45s for the Gaels but remember he has lads like Dunne and O Connor inside to kick it into.
That's the difference he had no one to kick it too. So the tactic backfired.
But it could have been rectified at the start of the 2nd half at the latest.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 02/07/2018 13:53:12    2117705

I wasn't surprised that we exited the championship because as soon as I saw Tyrone, I felt what the other fans and players felt - we cannot win this one. This is the reality of where we are at and there is no escaping it. It was very frustrating watching the return to the lateral and backwards passing.

But i don't blame the players for that and we had no shortage of effort out there. I see a lot of people posting on a weekly basis about all the players that we are missing - well other county's have turnover too. We have many who were on the panel who never made any meaningful breakthrough who are being constantly lauded.

There are some things which need to be addressed and I agree with some of the previous posters. My vision is that Cavan clubs and county board need to come together and outline an identity. What do we want to be? This may sound like waffle but stick with me. I would love us to identify how we want to play football and make a template of the Cavan way. If we can make a mission statement within the county board, then the next step would be to start planning how we implement it. Incentivise and ensure that all club managers have a minimum level of coaching which is executed with our footballing principals in mind. Compulsory courses for all underage and senior coaches who will be looking after players of the future as well as today. We need to have a common goal and a common approach.

I think that today in club football, anyone can walk off the street and take a junior job for example but we need to sharpen this up. We need to coach the coaches and at least do all we can to ensure that our best talent, both young and old, is getting the development it needs.

Its time for the county board to plan a future for our teams.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 02/07/2018 14:09:38    2117717

Replying To mowbar:  "I certainly would not go with joint managers with the two above. If they intend to hang onto the present manager bring in Sean Boylan to advise him for the next twelve months it would be money well spent.

Look if you want to bring in Joint managers which never work bring in Micky Graham and Jason Reilly,
If a stand alone manager there is only one and thats a Ramor man John Brady. He knows every player in the county.

I am all for getting rid of the present set up however but don't go backwards.

If none of the above I expect the Mayo manager will be standing down I would fully support this man being brought in with his own team and only his own team I will say that again his own team only."
The beginning of your post was alright, but it went seriously downhill when you mentioned John Brady - you must be having a laugh. You obviously weren't at the u17 match last weekend.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 04/07/2018 13:26:10    2118448

Replying To Reformation:  "I wasn't surprised that we exited the championship because as soon as I saw Tyrone, I felt what the other fans and players felt - we cannot win this one. This is the reality of where we are at and there is no escaping it. It was very frustrating watching the return to the lateral and backwards passing.

But i don't blame the players for that and we had no shortage of effort out there. I see a lot of people posting on a weekly basis about all the players that we are missing - well other county's have turnover too. We have many who were on the panel who never made any meaningful breakthrough who are being constantly lauded.

There are some things which need to be addressed and I agree with some of the previous posters. My vision is that Cavan clubs and county board need to come together and outline an identity. What do we want to be? This may sound like waffle but stick with me. I would love us to identify how we want to play football and make a template of the Cavan way. If we can make a mission statement within the county board, then the next step would be to start planning how we implement it. Incentivise and ensure that all club managers have a minimum level of coaching which is executed with our footballing principals in mind. Compulsory courses for all underage and senior coaches who will be looking after players of the future as well as today. We need to have a common goal and a common approach.

I think that today in club football, anyone can walk off the street and take a junior job for example but we need to sharpen this up. We need to coach the coaches and at least do all we can to ensure that our best talent, both young and old, is getting the development it needs.

Its time for the county board to plan a future for our teams."
Well said reformation but the problem in Cavan is that Clubs do not and will not pull together for the sake of Cavan Football. In fact, many clubs will not pull together for themselves. The clubs are yes clubs, they wont make stand against what is Cavan's biggest obstacle and Cavan's biggest issue - the County Board. They have absolutely no vision and have continued to ignore major problems for years. One of the major problems facing the GAA is the ever increasing drop out rates. A survey commissioned by the GAA in 2014 showed that there was a 75% drop out rate of 21 - 25 yr old in Club Football, and 65% in Club Hurling. Some of this is down to natural reasons such as other commitments, other sports, but serious questions have been left unanswered as to why 75% of players in their prime are no longer playing football. I'm sure anyone involved in football with their clubs can see this. What has the Cavan County Board done about it - ill tell you, they introduced development squads wherein the best young players are taken from their clubs and sent into be 'developed' - those other players are then left behind with their clubs, what happens then? those other players suffer because due to the fact that many of their clubs players are in with the development squads, training gets cancelled due to low numbers. The development squad managers get a free reign and start to dictate to the players when they can and when they cant play with their clubs, or indeed telling them not to play with their clubs. I know this for sure because I was told this from players involved in one of these development squads, I know this because I saw a text from a manager to one the parents telling them not let their kid play with the club. Then you have amalgamations - there are no rules in regards to clubs amalgamating. Amalgamations should be allowed where both clubs are in the same parish, or short players, but yet you have certain clubs putting in two amalgamated teams. Again, the underage board, like the senior board lack any kind of vision for the future. The future is far from blue, and mark my words, in another few years, a lot of clubs will become extinct. When you have some of the major clubs in Cavan withdrawing from competitions and conceding matches, you know there are major issues.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 04/07/2018 13:55:03    2118468

Replying To cavanblueman:  "
Replying To mowbar:  "I certainly would not go with joint managers with the two above. If they intend to hang onto the present manager bring in Sean Boylan to advise him for the next twelve months it would be money well spent.

Look if you want to bring in Joint managers which never work bring in Micky Graham and Jason Reilly,
If a stand alone manager there is only one and thats a Ramor man John Brady. He knows every player in the county.

I am all for getting rid of the present set up however but don't go backwards.

If none of the above I expect the Mayo manager will be standing down I would fully support this man being brought in with his own team and only his own team I will say that again his own team only."
The beginning of your post was alright, but it went seriously downhill when you mentioned John Brady - you must be having a laugh. You obviously weren't at the u17 match last weekend."
Agreed. Felt sorry for the Cavan lads the way they were set up in that defensive straight jacket. 8 points down at one stage and not a forward in the Monaghan half.......then one up front....no support so ball turned over or having to shoot from impossible angles.

Some fine footballers on that Cavan side but management let them down badly....those young lads deserved better !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 04/07/2018 13:58:45    2118469

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Well said reformation but the problem in Cavan is that Clubs do not and will not pull together for the sake of Cavan Football. In fact, many clubs will not pull together for themselves. The clubs are yes clubs, they wont make stand against what is Cavan's biggest obstacle and Cavan's biggest issue - the County Board. They have absolutely no vision and have continued to ignore major problems for years. One of the major problems facing the GAA is the ever increasing drop out rates. A survey commissioned by the GAA in 2014 showed that there was a 75% drop out rate of 21 - 25 yr old in Club Football, and 65% in Club Hurling. Some of this is down to natural reasons such as other commitments, other sports, but serious questions have been left unanswered as to why 75% of players in their prime are no longer playing football. I'm sure anyone involved in football with their clubs can see this. What has the Cavan County Board done about it - ill tell you, they introduced development squads wherein the best young players are taken from their clubs and sent into be 'developed' - those other players are then left behind with their clubs, what happens then? those other players suffer because due to the fact that many of their clubs players are in with the development squads, training gets cancelled due to low numbers. The development squad managers get a free reign and start to dictate to the players when they can and when they cant play with their clubs, or indeed telling them not to play with their clubs. I know this for sure because I was told this from players involved in one of these development squads, I know this because I saw a text from a manager to one the parents telling them not let their kid play with the club. Then you have amalgamations - there are no rules in regards to clubs amalgamating. Amalgamations should be allowed where both clubs are in the same parish, or short players, but yet you have certain clubs putting in two amalgamated teams. Again, the underage board, like the senior board lack any kind of vision for the future. The future is far from blue, and mark my words, in another few years, a lot of clubs will become extinct. When you have some of the major clubs in Cavan withdrawing from competitions and conceding matches, you know there are major issues."
I posted this in the U17 discussion but it's relevant ( imo) to this discussion......

who remembers the days as a 16 yr old, that you played sport for fun. Enjoyed the craic, met with friends, went fishing, went for a cycle and basically enjoyed life.

Sport was a past time. Something you did because you enjoyed it.

Now according to some posters here, we should abandon life, having fun and being young and free and become regimental in our lives to play an amateur game for your local club. Then add in development squads and you add fuel to the fire, and with too much fire we have burn out !!!!!!

"It's only a few years. Put your life on hold and dedicate it to the county cause "! Fail exams, repeat exams, travel from Dublin or elsewhere for training, travel away from home for games, return late at night, try to get a lift, train or bus in the wee small hours or early in the morning. Then when they are done with you, you are disposed off, maybe do all that and never feature. Career on hold, study affected and the county don't care.

Their life becomes a never ending cycle of Eat this, don't eat that, train, train, train, do weights, eat protein, hydrate, focus, focus..................

What happened to letting young lads and girls enjoy themselves. Live their lives and have some fun.

Life is serious enough, there is more pressure on young people than in the past and now we want to turn their past time into something serious and life consuming. I agree we all need exercise but, hey, everything in moderation.

By the time these kids are 19 or 20 they have had enough. It's no wonder their are high drop out rates, clubs are struggling, and playing numbers are down. It's all become too serious, too regimental and too time consuming. Life is too short for this crap and young people are reacting by dropping out of clubs or county panels.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 04/07/2018 15:47:51    2118524

The future is far from blue, and mark my words, in another few years, a lot of clubs will become extinct. When you have some of the major clubs in Cavan withdrawing from competitions and conceding matches, you know there are major issues.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 286 - 04/07/2018

At the moment there's 40 senior clubs in the county and I doubt you'll see any becoming extinct at senior level, there'll all too proud to join with there neighbours at senior level yet at underage they're very happy to amalgamate. Do you ever think you'll see the day when you might have a senior Division 1 consisting of St Finbarrs,St Joes, Drumloman Gaels, Southern Gaels etc? this year at U13 we have 34 teams competing at U15 31 teams and at U17 27 teams maybe this is the way we should go at senior level?

A survey commissioned by the GAA in 2014 showed that there was a 75% drop out rate of 21 - 25 yr old in Club Football,

I hope they didn't spend to much on this survey, of course there's going to be a huge drop out rate, most clubs have two squads senior & junior consisting (if your lucky) of about 25 players each and most years you have at least 8-10 lads coming up from minor, other than a token U21 championship (now U20) what other football have they got if they can't get on either of the clubs junior/senior teams? How many of the Gaels lads who won minor after minor in the noughties went on to play senior football? simply put the teams aren't there to accommodate all these lads and if they want to keep active they'll turn to other sports athletics,soccer,basketball etc

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 04/07/2018 16:09:32    2118530

Replying To aceofspades:  "The future is far from blue, and mark my words, in another few years, a lot of clubs will become extinct. When you have some of the major clubs in Cavan withdrawing from competitions and conceding matches, you know there are major issues.

At the moment there's 40 senior clubs in the county and I doubt you'll see any becoming extinct at senior level, there'll all too proud to join with there neighbours at senior level yet at underage they're very happy to amalgamate. Do you ever think you'll see the day when you might have a senior Division 1 consisting of St Finbarrs,St Joes, Drumloman Gaels, Southern Gaels etc? this year at U13 we have 34 teams competing at U15 31 teams and at U17 27 teams maybe this is the way we should go at senior level?

A survey commissioned by the GAA in 2014 showed that there was a 75% drop out rate of 21 - 25 yr old in Club Football,

I hope they didn't spend to much on this survey, of course there's going to be a huge drop out rate, most clubs have two squads senior & junior consisting (if your lucky) of about 25 players each and most years you have at least 8-10 lads coming up from minor, other than a token U21 championship (now U20) what other football have they got if they can't get on either of the clubs junior/senior teams? How many of the Gaels lads who won minor after minor in the noughties went on to play senior football? simply put the teams aren't there to accommodate all these lads and if they want to keep active they'll turn to other sports athletics,soccer,basketball etc"
Instead of a token Under 20 competition thrown in at the end of the year run on a Knockout basis where most clubs get 1/2 games, a meaningful Under 19 competition should be run on the same basis of last year's Minor or this year's Under 17

Breffnisbest (Cavan) - Posts: 471 - 05/07/2018 09:20:31    2118737

Replying To Breffnisbest:  "
Replying To aceofspades:  "The future is far from blue, and mark my words, in another few years, a lot of clubs will become extinct. When you have some of the major clubs in Cavan withdrawing from competitions and conceding matches, you know there are major issues.

I hope they didn't spend to much on this survey, of course there's going to be a huge drop out rate, most clubs have two squads senior & junior consisting (if your lucky) of about 25 players each and most years you have at least 8-10 lads coming up from minor, other than a token U21 championship (now U20) what other football have they got if they can't get on either of the clubs junior/senior teams? How many of the Gaels lads who won minor after minor in the noughties went on to play senior football? simply put the teams aren't there to accommodate all these lads and if they want to keep active they'll turn to other sports athletics,soccer,basketball etc"
Instead of a token Under 20 competition thrown in at the end of the year run on a Knockout basis where most clubs get 1/2 games, a meaningful Under 19 competition should be run on the same basis of last year's Minor or this year's Under 17"
County Board proposed an U19 competition but withdrew the proposal as they felt there was enough football for them at reserve and senior levels - that shows you how so far out of touch the County Board are.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 05/07/2018 11:36:29    2118780

That use to be the case, but there has been an endless amount of reserve fixtures cancelled due to clubs being unable to field teams.
There is no longer 8-10 players coming through from minor, because there is no longer a minor grade, it has gone back to u17. There are now lots of players over 17 but under 18 who are not yet good enough or strong enough for reserve or senior level and have played no football this year, many of these lads have now turned to other sports or have simply lost interest because there is nothing for them to train for.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 05/07/2018 11:40:18    2118782

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Well said reformation but the problem in Cavan is that Clubs do not and will not pull together for the sake of Cavan Football. In fact, many clubs will not pull together for themselves. The clubs are yes clubs, they wont make stand against what is Cavan's biggest obstacle and Cavan's biggest issue - the County Board. They have absolutely no vision and have continued to ignore major problems for years. One of the major problems facing the GAA is the ever increasing drop out rates. A survey commissioned by the GAA in 2014 showed that there was a 75% drop out rate of 21 - 25 yr old in Club Football, and 65% in Club Hurling. Some of this is down to natural reasons such as other commitments, other sports, but serious questions have been left unanswered as to why 75% of players in their prime are no longer playing football. I'm sure anyone involved in football with their clubs can see this. What has the Cavan County Board done about it - ill tell you, they introduced development squads wherein the best young players are taken from their clubs and sent into be 'developed' - those other players are then left behind with their clubs, what happens then? those other players suffer because due to the fact that many of their clubs players are in with the development squads, training gets cancelled due to low numbers. The development squad managers get a free reign and start to dictate to the players when they can and when they cant play with their clubs, or indeed telling them not to play with their clubs. I know this for sure because I was told this from players involved in one of these development squads, I know this because I saw a text from a manager to one the parents telling them not let their kid play with the club. Then you have amalgamations - there are no rules in regards to clubs amalgamating. Amalgamations should be allowed where both clubs are in the same parish, or short players, but yet you have certain clubs putting in two amalgamated teams. Again, the underage board, like the senior board lack any kind of vision for the future. The future is far from blue, and mark my words, in another few years, a lot of clubs will become extinct. When you have some of the major clubs in Cavan withdrawing from competitions and conceding matches, you know there are major issues."
Trying to understand Reformations and cavanbluemans post.
Can either of you imagine if you gave the coaching officers their head to develop our county teams U16 U17 U20 and our seniors we would be in a terminal position in 5 years instead of a critical condition right now. Manual coaches are of no value to anyone yes manual coaches.
Support the clubs to coach their youth and to bring the best out off them this way is the only way forward.
Bring in the quality players to the county set up and support them with their education going forward.
Education is a must and to try and bite of a chunk of the students study time you will alway's have a huge fall out for they just cannot commit even though they want too play for our county because of this.
Many students struggle to have pocket money so they have to get part time jobs why not support them in every way you can you being the CCB. One of you is a senior CB person so this is not falling on deaf ears.
Look Tuesday and Thursday and Saturday morning and many times Sunday's does not suit everyone this is one area that needs to be addressed big time.
Allow competitions to run throughout the year and not try and box it all in after the county teams have finished. Allow the fringe players to play with their clubs allow the usual players that train all year to sit on the subs bench to play with their clubs for there is no better training than match playing. This will also give management a chance to watch games and maybe find some stars of the future.

One thing especially for young lads and girls doing their group and leaving cert do what Garry Donohoe former successful Cavan minor manager along with Fintan Reilly former senior Cavan goalkeeper did they supported the youngsters with tuition time in Breifni park for subjects they were week on ( They brought in a teacher to support them) and from reports back it worked wonders.
Be seen to support the lads and lassies and you will be amased what will happen. I wonder how many of those young lads that were having small issues did with their exams and were the grinds successful I believe they were. Here maybe someone should ask those that were involved how they did as a result.
Be seen that you have their future at heart and not sod you once you are gone we want to know no more about you.

Look as a father and a grandfather I know how hard it is for our youngsters today getting qualifications to be able to survive in this modern world time the GAA understood this as well.
Quality time away from studies should be relaxing and not people shouting at them for 6 hours a week and more.

Sorry for waffling but some will understand what I am trying to say.
You know who I am and you know I understand players needs. Having a degree that includes communications I know how to understand what it's like to be listened too and to advise the person and even the management what is required to get the best from these lads and ladies.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 05/07/2018 12:00:10    2118789

Replying To GallantJohnJoe:  "Anyone suggesting the likes of Jim Mcguinness, Stephen Rochford or James Horan need to come back down to planet earth, these guys are way too smart to take over a thankless job of managing a county with high expectations but few elite players and a dysfunctional club scene.

I hold my hands up and say that I thought mcgleenan looked a very promising appointment but he has turned out to be fool's gold. I recall a monaghan poster suggesting that it would only be a good appointment if Colin Mcaree followed him from Scotstown, this didn't happen, he joined the monaghan backroom instead."
pete mcgrath is now available i think he could help out mattie, shrewd man knows how to win, i know a load of ye will be on saying he's outdated and could'nt win a game with louth but i think the could work well together.

cousinjohnjoe (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 06/07/2018 00:14:59    2118992

Replying To cousinjohnjoe:  "pete mcgrath is now available i think he could help out mattie, shrewd man knows how to win, i know a load of ye will be on saying he's outdated and could'nt win a game with louth but i think the could work well together."
McGrath could be the man . He didn't have a lot to work with in Louth.
Knows his football inside out and what it takes to win. What you see is what you get with McGrath.
He's a perfectionist and demands so much that's why he fell out with players in Fermanagh.
He would be a great asset working with maybe Jason Reilly to teach him the ropes.
Think most players would want to learn from a person like Pete McGrath.
Word is Mattie will walk away .

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 06/07/2018 09:51:43    2119040

Will you stops lads...can you please quit with the nonsense of nominating names for Cavan Manager. I said it already, Jim Gavin could be the manager and he'd have as much success as Mattie or Terry. The quality in Cavan is poor, take a visit to any club game and its clear how bad football is in Cavan. We need to fix club football before we can fix the County.
The only club team in Cavan that has any sort of quality is the Gaels, which is reason that they're unbeaten in the last 18 months in Cavan. Jason has done a great job, the quality has always been there, but in the last few years, the attitude wasn't right but Jason brought them around. There is no problem with the Cavan Players attitude, you cant fault their effort, but sadly, unlike the Gaels, the quality simply isn't there.

So, go back to grass roots, develop the players in their clubs right up to under 20. Ensure there is plenty of club football, and in some cases, some clubs need to wake up and think seriously about what the future holds, if amalgamation at senior level is the only option, then go and do it. It will happen eventually because the drop out rate of 75% is ever increasing.!

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 06/07/2018 10:52:18    2119066

A lot of posters are complaining about the tactic of using SJ as a playmaker. They seem to forget that this was first tried in the second half of a league game v Meath two years ago in Navan when we were 7 pts down and came back to win pulling up. We still have the players in the county to play that style of football.

What annoyed me most this year was our lack of awareness of things happening on the pitch that were to our advantage. E.G. Against Down we got a lucky goal when their keeper dropped a high ball into the net. He must have been amazed and very grateful when we didn't send another high ball in for the rest of the game. No excuse, poor guidance from the line and also poor leadership on the pitch.

I also can't understand why we introduce potential game changers like COR and deny them the ball. I'd hate to spend 20 mins sprinting into multiple open spaces and be completely ignored. No wonder previous equally promising forwards walked away.

However, my biggest problem with our tactical approach is that we never try to create an overlap to score a goal. We charge up to their 45 and then play keep ball across the pitch. To beat an organised defence these days you need one or two forwards that can beat not just one man but two, and be closely supported off the shoulder like a rugby attack in full flow. Then you have an overlap that properly managed should create goal opportunities. This is why Kevin McMenamin has been so important for the Dubs. Enda Smith does it for Ross, the Mc Hugh's for Donegal, now Kerry have young lads willing to run at defenders to open them up. I believe we also have talented players that have this ability but we've beaten the creativity out of them.

There is no future in playing defensive football and we are living proof of that. We've had it now for 8 years. Mattie came and promised to introduce a more expansive attacking style of football but became even more defensive than Terry. It's time for our CB to call this and stop it. They need to set the standard of play that Cavan desire and find a manager to deliver it.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 06/07/2018 11:30:17    2119083

Replying To ondforty:  "A lot of posters are complaining about the tactic of using SJ as a playmaker. They seem to forget that this was first tried in the second half of a league game v Meath two years ago in Navan when we were 7 pts down and came back to win pulling up. We still have the players in the county to play that style of football.

What annoyed me most this year was our lack of awareness of things happening on the pitch that were to our advantage. E.G. Against Down we got a lucky goal when their keeper dropped a high ball into the net. He must have been amazed and very grateful when we didn't send another high ball in for the rest of the game. No excuse, poor guidance from the line and also poor leadership on the pitch.

I also can't understand why we introduce potential game changers like COR and deny them the ball. I'd hate to spend 20 mins sprinting into multiple open spaces and be completely ignored. No wonder previous equally promising forwards walked away.

However, my biggest problem with our tactical approach is that we never try to create an overlap to score a goal. We charge up to their 45 and then play keep ball across the pitch. To beat an organised defence these days you need one or two forwards that can beat not just one man but two, and be closely supported off the shoulder like a rugby attack in full flow. Then you have an overlap that properly managed should create goal opportunities. This is why Kevin McMenamin has been so important for the Dubs. Enda Smith does it for Ross, the Mc Hugh's for Donegal, now Kerry have young lads willing to run at defenders to open them up. I believe we also have talented players that have this ability but we've beaten the creativity out of them.

There is no future in playing defensive football and we are living proof of that. We've had it now for 8 years. Mattie came and promised to introduce a more expansive attacking style of football but became even more defensive than Terry. It's time for our CB to call this and stop it. They need to set the standard of play that Cavan desire and find a manager to deliver it."
The year we beat meath SJ scores 0-6 points and he certainly didn't get them playing between the 2 45s.

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 06/07/2018 14:18:57    2119138

Seanie was played as a playmaker because hes one of the very few players that has any sort of football brain. The others run into tackles and lose the ball and lack ability to spot a pass. This isn't on the manager, the players are responsible on the pitch, its up to them to carry out the managers tactics.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 06/07/2018 14:42:36    2119146

{The development squad managers get a free reign and start to dictate to the players when they can and when they cant play with their clubs, or indeed telling them not to play with their clubs. I know this for sure because I was told this from players involved in one of these development squads, I know this because I saw a text from a manager to one the parents telling them not let their kid play with the club.]

Replying to cavanblueman: Pointing a finger in one direction and excluding others is unfair for you know as well as most people in Cavan this has gone on for a very long time right up to senior level. So the buck does not stop at what you call development squad managers.
For Cavan to go anywhere fast a full revamp of the coaching set up needs to be addressed for one would think that they are the be all and end off of everything for Cavan.
The money that is spent on these so called quality coaches would be far better given to the clubs to train and coach their own youngsters going forward and everyone would get a fair crack of the whip.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 06/07/2018 15:41:54    2119158