Cavan Club Championships 2018

Replying To BreffniBlue:  "Youd want to learn the history of football in the parish of lurgan before you make ignorant comments like that. Virginia blues agreed to change name and colours to Ramor united in order to unite whole parish in 1976 (lurgan virginia & maghera). This was in full agreement with the people of maghera apart from the few families who refused to give up maghera after all was agreed. Thats their choice fair play to them .... but dont blame the families who choose to unite not divide."
Very interesting stuff, 100% irrelevant. If Maghera are to survive as a club then the people within their catchment area need to play for Maghera. I thought that's how GAA works, not what your family wanted 50 years ago

JamsieMac (Cavan) - Posts: 481 - 20/08/2018 21:47:28    2135035

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Very interesting stuff, 100% irrelevant. If Maghera are to survive as a club then the people within their catchment area need to play for Maghera. I thought that's how GAA works, not what your family wanted 50 years ago"
People within the uper part of the parish of lurgan have an option to play for the united parish team or play for maghera mcfinns which is each individuals free choice, its not irrelevant ... its the way it is. Im sorry you seem to be venting your anger at Ramor for Magheras position. They are always welcome to join the UNITED parish team like 99% of the people of the parish and the county board agreed to in 1976, which is 100% relevant. If you decide not to then thats fine & up to you but dont blame Ramor

BreffniBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 277 - 20/08/2018 22:58:47    2135070

Maghera will soon be pushing on and becoming more competitive, they have good young lads at underage level and their age profile is pretty good at the minute, with the right coaching and commitment you'd imagine they'll get stronger. Corlough a different story however, age profile of that team is very bad, a lot of lads over 30 and some even near 40. They seem to have a few young lads there too but you wouldn't imagine they have enough to regenerate the team. I don't know what kind of numbers they have coming in from the underage amalgamations but you wouldn't imagine it's too good.

Westcavan5 (Cavan) - Posts: 27 - 20/08/2018 23:07:08    2135076

Replying To JamsieMac:  "Very interesting stuff, 100% irrelevant. If Maghera are to survive as a club then the people within their catchment area need to play for Maghera. I thought that's how GAA works, not what your family wanted 50 years ago"
The history of Ramor's formation is very relevant and history proves that those who formed Ramor United done the right thing for their parish oh that the same vision had existed in more parishes in this county thick headed thinking and hanging onto what was in the past is the reason why Cavan has 40 clubs without the population to support this number in the long term.

Fewer clubs with more teams in each club would be the way to go allowing players to play at their ability level.

rahanman (Cavan) - Posts: 127 - 20/08/2018 23:10:12    2135077

Niall Mc Kiernan gave an exhibition yesterday evening at full forward. Won everything that went into him, kicked great scores and laid off ball. You'd think you could build a county team around himself and thomas galligan

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 20/08/2018 23:13:29    2135081

Just thought I would post this to give those that don't understand the set up for the senior championship so they can try and make out the might and might not happen ?? going into rounds 3 & 4 what might happen if one loses wins or draws. Very interesting looking lay out. Any idea what the table is so far for all 12 teams. ???

5.3 The format for the Senior Championship (12 teams) shall be as follows:

Round 1: Group Games x 6
Round 2: Group Games x 6
Round 3: Group Games x 6
Round 4: Group Games x 6
Round 5: Quarter Finals - Top 8 Teams based on League Table after Rounds 1-4 - 1 vs. 8, 2 vs. 7, 3 vs. 6, 4 vs. 5
Round 6: Semi Finals: Open Draw
Round 7: Final

Team Pld Won Draw Lost For Agst Diff Points
Gowna 2 1 1 0 31 23 8 3
Castlerahan 2 1 1 0 35 29 6 3
Ramor United 2 1 1 0 35 32 3 3
Lacken 2 1 1 0 35 32 3 3
Crosserlough 2 1 0 1 41 28 13 2
Lavey 2 1 0 1 37 33 4 2
Kingscourt Strs 2 1 0 1 31 31 0 2
Killygarry 2 1 0 1 34 36 -2 2
Cootehill 2 1 0 1 29 34 -5 2
Cavan Gaels 2 0 1 1 34 35 -1 1
Shercock 2 0 1 1 22 36 -14 1
Ballinagh 2 0 0 2 30 45 -15 0

Here are the next round games to give you a chance to try and work out where your team is after their games in round 3. Some tasty games coming up. Enjoy. By the way remember top 8 after round 4

Crosserlough vs. Ballinagh
Cootehill vs. Lacken
Castlerahan vs. Ramor Utd
Cavan Gaels vs. Gowna
Lavey vs. Killygarry
Kingscourt vs. Shercock

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 20/08/2018 23:36:40    2135091

Just thought I would post this to give those that don't understand the set up for the senior championship so they can try and make out the might and might not happen ?? going into rounds 3 & 4 what might happen if one loses wins or draws. Very interesting looking lay out. Any idea what the table is so far for all 12 teams. ???

Round 5: Quarter Finals - Top 8 Teams based on League Table after Rounds 1-4 - 1 vs. 8, 2 vs. 7, 3 vs. 6, 4 vs. 5

Gowna 2 1 1 0 31 23 8 3
Lacken 2 1 1 0 35 32 3 3
Lavey 2 1 0 1 37 33 4 2

Here are the next round games to give you a chance to try and work out where your team is after their games in round 3. Some tasty games coming up. Enjoy. By the way remember top 8 after round 4

Cootehill vs. Lacken
Cavan Gaels vs. Gowna
Lavey vs. Killygarry
Kingscourt vs. Shercock

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/08/2018 09:21:03    2135135

Replying To kanu:  "Niall Mc Kiernan gave an exhibition yesterday evening at full forward. Won everything that went into him, kicked great scores and laid off ball. You'd think you could build a county team around himself and thomas galligan"
Maybe if McKiernan and Galligan did it consistently, you could make comments like that, but as it stands, neither have dont it consistently, nor in the big games when it counted.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 21/08/2018 09:50:44    2135142

Just thought I would post this to give those that don't understand the set up for the senior championship so they can try and make out the might and might not happen ?? going into rounds 3 & 4 what might happen if one loses wins or draws. Very interesting looking lay out. This is the table is so far for all 12 teams. ???

Gowna 2 1 1 0 31 23 8 3
Lacken 2 1 1 0 35 32 3 3
Lavey 2 1 0 1 37 33 4 2

Cootehill vs. Lacken
Cavan Gaels vs. Gowna
Lavey vs. Killygarry
Kingscourt vs. Shercock

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/08/2018 10:01:07    2135146

Firstly I was not at the Junior Game on Sunday with Corlough V Mountnugent but I was chatting to a few on Sunday evening at the Drumlane game who was there none of them were from any of the competing clubs might I add. They actually talked about the game with a great deal of sadness.
So I am just going on what I was told. The scoreline I guess does not lie. I really feel for Corlough they did not need that beating as we all know they are struggling badly at the moment. But I still believe they are not as bad as the scoreline suggest just look at the league result with the same opposition this year.
I have been involved in many a battle down the years with them and one thing I can say once that game was over nicer lads you would not meet. ( I was selling tickets for a fundraiser one time non GAA related and having a pint after a game played in Corlough , the guy I was marking actually came to me for tickets when he seen me selling them to one of my own. He went on to pass them around to everyone who was there. ) I know this is neither here nor there but I feel it is only right to make sure whatever goes on from here on in that this Club or its players is not run down , anyone posting here is a GAA fan and for a minute can you imagine what it feels like to be from Corlough at the moment .
Corlough like Maghera and many more Clubs entering this dark era are paying their way to keep things going like any Club in Cavan, they have one of the finest set up's in Cavan, but I do think maybe the County Board can step in and help in some way. They are not going to be able to increase numbers but maybe come up with some solution let it be short term or long term. Where Corlough are in just unfortunate as alot of other Clubs this will come to in the near future , I am long retired but the Corlough Team still has players I played against 20 years ago, so credit to these lads they could of easily walked away. I think it is a sad weekend for West Cavan , I see they have Templeport this weekend which is not going to be easy but I am sure they will field a team and wear that green and white jersey with pride and finish out the Championship like they have done for many a year . I don't want to sound childish but I don't think Templeport will see the need to put 10 goals past a team struggling for their lives , maybe Mountnugent should of eased off but then they were on the field to win a game too. I just want to wish all involved with Corlough the very best they have big decisions to make probably hardest ever the Club has had to but I am 100% sure whatever is decided will be in the best interest of all involved.

indaknow2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 21/08/2018 10:08:50    2135148

Replying To cavanblueman:  "Maybe if McKiernan and Galligan did it consistently, you could make comments like that, but as it stands, neither have dont it consistently, nor in the big games when it counted."
Instead of running down lads suggestions how about we hear a few from you?

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 21/08/2018 10:29:47    2135159

its unfortunate that teams like Corlough and Maghera are struggling, but unfortunately, thats reality of many clubs throughout Cavan and the rest of the Country, the warning signs were there a few years back, but the GAA have ignored them. Its not just small clubs, bigger clubs are starting to see it too, look at the amount of underage amalgamations there are now, Gaels and Killygarry amalgamated at u17, two big town clubs with massive catchment areas.
Ireland is no longer a Country where the GAA was the sport of communities - you now have soccer, rugby, basketball, athletics to compete with, all enjoyable sports, sports where young people are not under pressure to train 3 or 4 times per week, sports that they can enjoy, sports that they can play regularly.
I was chatting to three of our 16 yr old players last weekend...they're fed up and disillusioned with the GAA, I asked why, they said there's far too much expected of young people nowadays and they've no time to enjoy life. They've been involved with development squads from a young age, they're current on the County U16, and in two weeks time, they go back to school and the schools football starts up again, and when they're not training, they're expected to do their own strength and conditioning, and watch their nutrition, so in essence, apart from a 2 week break for their summer holidays, they haven't had a break from football in 2 or 3 years. These are 16 yr old kids, they're not professional athletes.

cavanblueman (Cavan) - Posts: 636 - 21/08/2018 10:50:50    2135167

What will happen if teams are tied for positions in the top 8?
Will there be play offs or will it go to score difference?

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 21/08/2018 10:59:23    2135172

Replying To indaknow2018:  "Firstly I was not at the Junior Game on Sunday with Corlough V Mountnugent but I was chatting to a few on Sunday evening at the Drumlane game who was there none of them were from any of the competing clubs might I add. They actually talked about the game with a great deal of sadness.
So I am just going on what I was told. The scoreline I guess does not lie. I really feel for Corlough they did not need that beating as we all know they are struggling badly at the moment. But I still believe they are not as bad as the scoreline suggest just look at the league result with the same opposition this year.
I have been involved in many a battle down the years with them and one thing I can say once that game was over nicer lads you would not meet. ( I was selling tickets for a fundraiser one time non GAA related and having a pint after a game played in Corlough , the guy I was marking actually came to me for tickets when he seen me selling them to one of my own. He went on to pass them around to everyone who was there. ) I know this is neither here nor there but I feel it is only right to make sure whatever goes on from here on in that this Club or its players is not run down , anyone posting here is a GAA fan and for a minute can you imagine what it feels like to be from Corlough at the moment .
Corlough like Maghera and many more Clubs entering this dark era are paying their way to keep things going like any Club in Cavan, they have one of the finest set up's in Cavan, but I do think maybe the County Board can step in and help in some way. They are not going to be able to increase numbers but maybe come up with some solution let it be short term or long term. Where Corlough are in just unfortunate as alot of other Clubs this will come to in the near future , I am long retired but the Corlough Team still has players I played against 20 years ago, so credit to these lads they could of easily walked away. I think it is a sad weekend for West Cavan , I see they have Templeport this weekend which is not going to be easy but I am sure they will field a team and wear that green and white jersey with pride and finish out the Championship like they have done for many a year . I don't want to sound childish but I don't think Templeport will see the need to put 10 goals past a team struggling for their lives , maybe Mountnugent should of eased off but then they were on the field to win a game too. I just want to wish all involved with Corlough the very best they have big decisions to make probably hardest ever the Club has had to but I am 100% sure whatever is decided will be in the best interest of all involved."
Huge hammering and I feel for Corlough as they seem to be struggling for numbers.
Can't balme Mountnugent for not taking the pressure off as they were probably thinking of score difference when the points are put into the table.
Mountnugent also doing well to keep going with a small parish and small squad. A few older lads on the team will probably retire in the next year or two. We played them recently and they had small numbers on the bench. Not sure if or how many they have coming through from underage, but they have some very good lads on the team. Could make the semi if they avoid the big guns in the quarter finals.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 21/08/2018 11:05:04    2135177

Replying To kanu:  "Niall Mc Kiernan gave an exhibition yesterday evening at full forward. Won everything that went into him, kicked great scores and laid off ball. You'd think you could build a county team around himself and thomas galligan"
Was at the game in Virginia on Sunday evening on the way back up to Dublin. McKiernan had a great second half and really gave young Faulkner a tough evening. Two Galligans for Lacken also impressed me and you'd imagine they'll be there about come the business end if they can stop anymore men from getting injured. Kingscourt looked sharp in the first half for a team that hadn't played well all year but faded well in the second. I wouldn't be surprised if these meet again at a later stage however.

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 21/08/2018 11:20:31    2135182

Replying To StirringIt:  "Huge hammering and I feel for Corlough as they seem to be struggling for numbers.
Can't balme Mountnugent for not taking the pressure off as they were probably thinking of score difference when the points are put into the table.
Mountnugent also doing well to keep going with a small parish and small squad. A few older lads on the team will probably retire in the next year or two. We played them recently and they had small numbers on the bench. Not sure if or how many they have coming through from underage, but they have some very good lads on the team. Could make the semi if they avoid the big guns in the quarter finals."
I have to agree with you sadly there are those that love nothing better than hammering the opposition no matter what the cost and what ever level from underage upwards, Well done to Corlough and Maghera as well for fielding teams week after week I wish them well going forward. Many clubs have not achieved what Maghara achieved years gone by. Hard to close your door and forget the history. I wish them well going forward who knows things may change population wise.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/08/2018 11:26:38    2135185

Replying To StirringIt:  "Huge hammering and I feel for Corlough as they seem to be struggling for numbers.
Mountnugent also doing well to keep going with a small parish and small squad. A few older lads on the team will probably retire in the next year or two. We played them recently and they had small numbers on the bench. Not sure if or how many they have coming through from underage, but they have some very good lads on the team. Could make the semi if they avoid the big guns in the quarter finals."
Ah sir I totally understand Mountnugents position I suppose I just feel strongly for them which is ironic as there was no love lost when we played against each other but that was only on the field of play but isn't that what the GAA is about !! I just seen something on twitter about the game which annoys me which won't be allowed to be posted on here , I don't think rubbing any Corlough persons nose in it will help anyone. Of course their players are going to take insult with articles they wouldn't be playing for their club or be a memeber you would hope if they didn't.

indaknow2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 17 - 21/08/2018 11:31:02    2135187

Replying To westcavankid:  "Was at the game in Virginia on Sunday evening on the way back up to Dublin. McKiernan had a great second half and really gave young Faulkner a tough evening. Two Galligans for Lacken also impressed me and you'd imagine they'll be there about come the business end if they can stop anymore men from getting injured. Kingscourt looked sharp in the first half for a team that hadn't played well all year but faded well in the second. I wouldn't be surprised if these meet again at a later stage however."
Lacken won't be near it. Haven't the firepower to beat Ramor Gaels or Castlerahan.

theDagger1986 (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 21/08/2018 11:31:44    2135188

Was at the game in Virginia on Sunday evening on the way back up to Dublin. McKiernan had a great second half and really gave young Faulkner a tough evening. Two Galligans for Lacken also impressed me and you'd imagine they'll be there about come the business end if they can stop anymore men from getting injured. Kingscourt looked sharp in the first half for a team that hadn't played well all year but faded well in the second. I wouldn't be surprised if these meet again at a later stage however.

westcavankid (Cavan) - Posts: 83 - 21/08/2018 11:39:07    2135190

Replying To theDagger1986:  "What will happen if teams are tied for positions in the top 8?
Will there be play offs or will it go to score difference?"
Here you are I hope this helps as it has me.

Placings in the group stages of the Senior Championship shall be decided in accordance with rule 6.21 of the GAA Official Guide 2018:

6.21 (4) If a Championship is partly organised on a League basis, the following Regulations shall apply:
(a) League Results shall be credited as follows: 2 points for a win, and one for a draw
(b) If a Team is Disqualified or Retires during the course of a League Stage, its played games shall stand, and its un-played games shall be awarded to the opposing teams
(c) As provided for in this Competition Regulation, when teams finish with equal points for Qualification for the Concluding Stages, or for Promotion or Relegation, the tie shall be decided by the following means and in the order specified:

(i) Where two teams only are involved - the outcome of the meeting of the two teams in the previous game in the competition;
(ii) Scoring Difference (subtracting the total scores against from the total scores for);
(iii) Highest Total Score For;
(iv) A Play-Off

Exceptions to (c):

(1) In relation to (ii) and (iii) above, if the accumulated scores of a team, so involved, are affected by a disqualification, loss of game on a proven objection, retirement or walk over, the tie shall be decided by a Play-off.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/08/2018 11:55:03    2135199