Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from TaosHum

Joe McDonagh Cup 2023 - 4 Like(s)
It's probably been 5 years or so years since I saw a Carlow side play to the standard they did yesterday. Forwards were so sharp, always out on front and some of the inter play between them was very impressive. Back line was also very strong, especially in the first half playing with a strong wind. Cleaned up alot of ball and gave up very little. All of Carlow's top men performed, Marty Kavanagh lethal from dead balls, James Doyle very strong in the middle and Chris Nolan very sharp from play. Also worth mending two of the newer lads on the panel, Conor Kehoe is an absolute handful, but has bags of skill to go along with it. Paddy Boland having scored 4 goals against Down in the league, bagged himself another hat trick. I have sympathy for Kildare. Very tough ask to lose a league final six days before your first Championship outing against a team who hadn't played a game in 3 weeks. They were sluggish, turned over alot of ball and were a step behind Carlow. yesterday. They're a far better team tan what they showed yesterday, but with tough games to come, will they have the time to rectify it?

TaosHum (National) - 09/04/2023 12:24:52

12 Counties In Leinster Only 2 Compete In LSH And Sam Maguire - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jobber:  "There are 12 counties in Leinster only 4 of whom compete in the Leinster Senior hurling championship.Of these Kilkenny don't play senior football while Wexford are already Tailteann cup contenders that just leaves Dublin and Westmeath. There are a lot of questions Leinster people need to address regarding upgrading our teams in both codes but also in hurling why are we helping Galway and Antrim when we clearly need more investment in Westmeath,Offaly,Laois,Carlow and Kildare who are trying so hard in both codes."
The like of Carlow, Laois , Westmeath and Offaly are small counties trying to facilitate 2 intercounty sides equally. When you consider only Galway were able to compete in Division 1 football and hurling this year, it goes to show how difficult it is for even the larger counties to run two top tier intercounty sides. Dublin and Galway are the only ones that consistently do it.

TaosHum (National) - 11/04/2023 08:50:15

Carlow GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
One glaring problem at the moment for Carlow football (and it's highlighted in this year's panel) is that there is no avenue for lads to play senior championship, unless there club anagens to get to senior status. I counted 14 lads on tonight's panel who have not played SFC in the last 3 years, most of which have never played senior football in Carlow. For an intercounty side that's a massive problem. But even in general, I do believe that every player at every club should have access to play senior football in Carlow, especially if they are good enough. The direction I would go is sectioning the county into three regions as follow (rough guess)s: North West: OL, Ballinabranna, Blues, Leighlinbridge, Asca & Eire Og North East: St Pats, Kilbride, Cocks, Clonmore, Grange, Pal & Rathvilly South: MLR, Fenagh, Myshall, KC, Ballon, St Mullins & Bagenalstown 5 club teams and the 3 regional sides play in the SFC. The regional teams have access to any player who is not affiliated with a senior club in their region. On the basis of the 2021 Championship, the below is how it would look. Group A: EO, Pal, NW & South Group B: Rathvilly, Bagenaltown, MLR & NE Same structure as now, one club team goes down and the intermediate champs go up. Regional teams stay senior. Run off the Junior and Intermediate championship early, to accommodate availability in the SFC. There are real advantages to doing something like this. It would increase the standard of the SFC, players at every club have a chance to play senior football ( this especially important for lads at small rural clubs) and can be used as a stepping stone for lads who have aspirations of playing inter county football. This is just a rough idea, but I'd like to see something to this effect happen eventually.

TaosHum (National) - 13/01/2022 17:18:24

County Hurling Team 2020 - 1 Like(s)
Congrats to MLR, by far the best team in the county and nobody even got close to them in any of the games they played. Obviously, certain lads will get the plaudits (and deservedly so), but I thought Paul Coady had an excellent campaign along with Tony Lawlor & Ted Joyce. Serious team who would have taken some stopping in Leinster. The standards been set now, everyone else knows what they need to do. Disappointed for Ballinkillen, tough day, but they can still be proud of their campaign. In 2013 a young St Mullins team took a similar beating against MLR in the final, but came back the year later and won the county title. That's what Ballinkillen will have to look towards now. Hopefully this season is on the beginning of good things for the club. Even though there wan't too many tight games this year, I still think it was a good Championship for Carlow hurling. Bagenalstown held their own, Ballinkillen getting to the final and MLR playing a standard of hurling very few teams in Carlow have reached. St Mullins will be back next year, hopefully fully fit and Myshall will take comfort in winning the Intermediate playing some fine hurling in the process.

TaosHum (Carlow) - 31/08/2020 12:28:17

St Mullins Vs Ballyhale - 1 Like(s)
If St Mullins can go with conceding goals, especially early, then I'd give them a slight chance at winning, But that Ballyhale team is unreal, would probably win the Joe McDonagh cup with the talent they have! If Mullins can keep it to within 10 points or less, I think that would be a good performance.

TaosHum (Carlow) - 29/11/2019 10:04:06

Joe McDonagh Cup 2023 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To skirge7:  "Hurling gets as much if not more coverage than football. And I'd say it's completely lobsided given the playing numbers. There used to be 4 games in the Munster championship. 1 qf, 2 semis and a final. It's now as if they want the whole round robin covered. If the had a Joe mcdonagh game on every week they still complain about lack of coverage. It's more Munster championship they want not more hurling"
I'd agree with that. Carlow played Laois a few weeks back in the McDonagh in what turned out to be a cracking game, but I doubt there was 1500 at it. Taking into account they are neighbouring counties and challenging for a place in the final, it says alot about the interest levels in both counties. This is in contrast to the NFL game played in March between the two counties, where there was at least 3000 at the it. Over double the amount of people attended a Division 4 league game, over a Championship hurling match. It's hard to argue that any McDonagh game should be shown live, when by all accounts, attendances have been average. If people within the counties competing aren't showing up, I can't imagine the demand to see the games outside it is too great. Also, out of the 12 games played so far, 8 (I think) have been decided by 10 points or more.

TaosHum (National) - 09/05/2023 16:47:10

Hurlers 2021 - 1 Like(s)
After the Offaly game, I was critical of the management and players, but they have really turned it around since then. The intensity, speed, sharpness, physicality/ movement have all improved immensely. Honestly like watching a different team. Even though the game yesterday meant very little in the grand scheme of things, it was an opportunity to get in a competitive game before the McDonagh in a couple of weeks. The result meant little, but Kerry will be very worried with yesterday and how they were dominated all over the field. Confidence very low going into the McDonagh. Carlow on the other hand, are playing some of the best hurling they have played over the last couple of years. Only real negative with yesterday was they probably weren't clinical enough when in on goal, but even at that the Kerry keeper pulled off some great saves. Work rate was very high, Kerry had very little time on the ball and were forced into making poor decisions. Physically, lads won most of the 50/50 balls and the back line really held it's onw against some very good Kerry forwards. JM Nolan deserves a mention as he has been excellent the entire league campaign and is playing some of the best hurling I've seen from him. Fair play to the lads and management for ending the League with two very good wins and a real increase in the standard of performance. This without the the Byrnes and Whelans also. Confidence now high for Kildare in two weeks.

TaosHum (Carlow) - 14/06/2021 08:48:31

Hurlers 2017 - 1 Like(s)
Gutted for the lads, but 3 League final defeats in 4 years now is tough going. Hopefully they can put it right in the Christy Ring.

TaosHum (Carlow) - 02/04/2017 12:46:40

Carlow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Disappointing from the hurlers yesterday. No question Kerry were the better team, their half back line and midfield were very good, but was expecting more from Carlow after a good win against Westmeath. Second half felt very similar to Offaly last year, continually pucking the ball out into the opposition half back line and losing it every time. Understand not much you can do when down to 14, but when Kerry also had a man sent off there was no change or attempt to go short. Worrying getting dominated like that against division 2 teams. Overall though the performance felt off, lads struggled to get to grips with the conditions. Spilt alof of ball and too much in decision when in possession. Next game against Kildare in Newbridge is massive now. Another similar performance and they will be starring down a relegation decider the week after against Meath in Navan.

TaosHum (National) - 28/02/2022 07:26:36

County Hurling Team 2020 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Blow-in:  "TaosHum. Agreed there are outlets to further develop players, both before and after adult level within the county setup with out creating a team to facilitate a very small number of players. I agree developing youth is the key but you are wanting a team for adults, i have played against the player in question and hurler indeed. But i still don't believe we should create a team for him and very few small number of players like him, which i never said would not benefit them of coarse they would but it would harm potential hurling growth in county in general. So you are saying they don't want to play senior i would contend that they don't feel they can compete at the the level but desperately want to play senior. Look the county board again are culpable her fixing football games same time or week as hurling games i know NB could not get there full team out because of fixture back logs of games in both codes that doesn't help. But dont talk for people in these clubs saying they dont want to be senior unless you are certain that is the case. If it is why is the reason for it. I think you wont comment on the concept of county proposal i put forward because you would be against it which goes fundamentally against your argument. You don't want to discuss hypothetical scenario's but you are proposing a hypothetical scenario with this amalgamated team no???? Your using the "wont work" argument yet players travel to every county home from Dublin etc every week for trainings, it just your opinion it "wont work". Again you came up with your idea for an amalgamated team first then only did you think about the practically of it , just do the same for this weigh up the logic, thinking and rational behind pro & cons of have combined team for we counties in the CR and forget about the "practical reasons". Im challenging your rational, pro & cons of a carlow divisional team not the ability to implement it. I wont say it could not help develop those cork players in a small part because that part of your argument is correct, it would defiantly be good for them & the Araon Amonds of Carlow to have this option but does it make it right to do what are long term implications for hurling in general. Dalton cant play with Imokilly any more his club Fr O'neils are now senior and to be honest that is mainly down to him so like i said if the player are young good and hungry they will drive there teams up through the ranks anyway. Bill Cooper, Brian Lawton, Séamus Harnedy, Paudie O'Sullivan and Declan Dalton all would have played for Cork if Imokilly didnt exist it is my assertion they all to my knowledge played underage with cork and all have been in the county set up since they were 20 or so. My point to this is if i thought more county players would to be developed or the hurling growth within the county would be served by your amalgamated team i could agree with it but it doesn't. All your saying is that a small number of players at the moment could benefit from it but for what greater good to carlow hurling in general? Araon is already in the county set up training with the squad and anyone of his ability of interest in hurling if they wanted to would be in the squad also. he learning curve is steep but seems to be doing well based on last 2 games. This year to my knowledge the inter carlow club champ will feature CT & NB and again like i previously said if both could get all players fit available and the County board not put football fixtures to hamper this both could a-quit themselves very well in 2020 and if Araon keeps his current form maybe NB might get names on the trophy."
I'll agree the county board have been culpable of poor fixture scheduling in the past (the issue with Ballinkillen and the Inter football final only last season) but in a county like Carlow, these issues shouldn't be happening. Carlow has 4 months (July-October) to run off an 8 team football and 5 team hurling championship. Bigger dual counties have a far smaller window and can get their Championships run off. If they really wanted to alleviate fixture congestion, then they could always play a round of both codes in April. I actually like this idea in general as a full blooded Championship game would be no harm leading into Leinster SFC/ McDonagh HC. If Division 2/3 counties feel it would work and had the full support of all involved, then fair play, on they go. But it won't work for the reasons I stated above. The combined North Carlow team (amalgamated is prob the wrong word) is hypothetical but it's based on practical and workable reasons, on a very small scale geographically. Combining county teams is a totally different animal and debate, which I never proposed. I'm only looking at what might benefit Carlow, couldn't care what benefits other counties. I'm not arguing those Imokilly players wouldn't be playing county hurling if Imokilly didn't exist. I'm merely stating they benefited from playing with Imokilly and others are benefiting from playing with these lads and Imokilly. At the end of 2009, Carlow had a 7 team SH Championship, in 2019 that was down to 4. The county team and certain clubs may have improved, but it was an awful decade for the SHC in general, dominated by two clubs. The success of MLR & St Mullins in Leinster & the County side have masked real problems with club hurling in Carlow, especially in the North. So why not try something different? Give it 3 years (with annual review), 1 combined team for the SHC only, made up of Junior/Intermediate clubs. working out of Milford and ideally coached by someone independent of the involved clubs. Allow players the opportunity to play SH. Speak with the clubs and get them on board (if possible as I feel this is the biggest obstacle). If it flames out and doesn't work, fine. But what's the harm trying it? Will the clubs/county be in a worse position for trying it for 1-3 years? No. Will they be in a better position if it succeeds (improving standard of players and quality of SHC)? Yes IMO.

TaosHum (Carlow) - 25/02/2020 10:52:18

Great performance yesterday from Carlow, although the score did flatter them somewhat, as Brain Tracey pulled out 3/4 great saves in goal. Big difference in this Johnny Kelly has a big decision to make this weekend on whether to rest players or not. Being already in the final, and players with alot of games under their belts, he may decide it's a good opportunity to give lads a rest before the final. Also, they may prefer to play Carlow in the final instead of Laois (I'd expect them to beat Kerry). On the other hand, there's a two week break between the final round and the final itself. May decide three weeks is too long a break and will want the players to have another game under their belts going into it. I personally don't see Offaly making wholesale changes. Any lads carrying knocks won't be risked. but other than that, it'll be Offaly's strongest side lining out against Carlow, which is the way it should be.

TaosHum (National) - 08/05/2023 06:48:02

Replying To Carlowrising:  "2024 Hurling & Football Championship proposal Given there are 5 rounds of group games in the senior hurling championship and only 3 rounds in the football group stage, is there anything to be said for letting the hurlers get off to a headstart in July and then introduce the football after a few weeks so one is not getting too far ahead of the other. (July) Week 1. Hurling round 1 group stages (July) Week 2. Hurling round 2 group stages (July) Week 3. Hurling round 3 group stages (Aug) Week 4. Football round 1 group stages (Aug) Week 5. Hurling round 4 group stages (Aug) Week 6. Football round 2 group stages (Aug) Week 7. Hurling round 5 group stages (Sep) Week 8. Football round 3 group stages (Sep) Week 9. Break (Sep) Week 10. Hurling Semi Finals (Sep) Week 11. Football Quarter Finals (Sep) Week 12 . Hurling Finals (Oct) Week 13. Football Semi Finals (Oct) Week 14. Football Finals"
Problem with that is you go back to some players/clubs having to juggle both hurling and football at the same time. It a huge advantage to football clubs not having to worry about players splitting time or picking up injuries while hurling. Don't see why they deserve that advantage when they have done nothing to promote or offer hurling within their clubs. The split Championship, although not perfect, has led to revival of hurling in Kildavin/Clonegal and football in St Mullins. Ballinkillen and Bagenalstown have reached county finals in hurling since it came in, along with MLR reaching 3 semi finals in the football.

TaosHum (National) - 21/09/2023 08:01:36

Fair play to Eire Og, that was a great win for them yesterday. I did not think they have that level of performance in them, based on what I had seen previously to date. Really took it to Tinryland in the second half, they began running at Tinryland and when EO were able to break the line, Tinryland were in serious trouble. Ross Dunphy has really gone to another level this year, he's the best forward in the county at this point and deserves player of the year. Darragh O'Brien's free taking has also really improved this season, Tinryland couldn't afford to be at less than 50% shot conversion, They needed to be up at 75%. That will be the big disappointment for them, along with their struggles from the kickout. Tinryland don't have a plan B because they just don't have the players. When they were forced to open up, they looked far more vulnerable and EO really could have exploited it more. They've overachieved to get to two county finals, last year now seems was their opportunity to win a county title. It's an aging team and their best players are all 30 plus, with very little coming through. I wouldn't be surprised to see them intermediate in 5 years.

TaosHum (National) - 02/10/2023 10:56:24

Fantastic game on Saturday between Carlow and Laois. For the first 20 minutes in both half's, Laois built up a 7 point lead and looked like they would go on and win it. But Carlow were able to claw their way back each time and were aided in the second half by a Laois red card. Once Laois went down to 14, Carlow looked like they would go on and win, but too many stray passes and wides meant Carlow couldn't build on their dominance. To Laois' credit, when the sides were level going into injury time, they were able to rattle off three points and looked like they would take the win, but a hopeful ball into the box resulted in a penalty for Carlow, which Marty Kavanagh smashed into the net. Laois will be disappointed, as they were the better side for most of it and should have been able to see off Carlow with a minute left in injury and three points up. Was impressed with Laois, played some lovely stuff at times and their full back line was very good. Ross King and Paddy Purcell as always were very god, along with Stephen Maher. Carlow will be relived at the end, but they will also feel they left it behind them, as between 60-70 minutes they were on top, but the ball just wouldn't stick at the vital times. Certainly had enough possession and control during that phase, just didn't make it count of the scoreboard. Both Kavanagh's were excellent for Carlow. Marty was Carlow's only real scoring threat, as Laois had the better of Carlow's forwards. Conor Lawlor, Diarmuid Byrne and James Doyle the other standouts for me.

TaosHum (National) - 24/04/2023 08:33:29

Hurlers 2021 - 1 Like(s)
Complete performance yesterday by MLR, especially in the first half. St Mullins just couldn't live with them in the first half, even with a sweeper, the Nolan's just had too much for them. Scary thing is that's a side that's becoming less reliant on the old guard, adding 1 or two lads each year from u20. Great club reaping the benefits of fantastic work being done at underage.

TaosHum (Carlow) - 20/09/2021 17:31:18

Replying To legendzxix:  "It is a great competition. One of the most competitive across all levels. It is not transferring into big crowds however."
Biggest reason why it's not getting the exposure it probably deserves. Also, because hurling plays second fiddle to football in each in the counties in the competition.

TaosHum (National) - 18/04/2023 11:21:27

New Football Manager - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Lets hope youre right.wonder what the delay is if only poacher is left.Saw co.chairman saying there probably wont be an appointment before co. Cha mpionship starts. Why ??? Get him in there now."
If that's the case then I'd imagine it would have to be Poacher then. I can't see the Co Board announcing Joe Murphy as new manager just before he starts the Championship with Eire Og. Would he be expected to do the two jobs, given there will be an overlap between the Co Championship & inter-county training?

TaosHum (Carlow) - 03/07/2020 10:36:31

Hurlers 2021 - 1 Like(s)
As bad as Meath were, Carlow were excellent on Sunday. Dominated all over the field and Meath just couldn't live with them. What I was really pleased with was the continued ruthlessness to punish Meath for every mistake and not let up when the game was over. Against Down, Carlow were in a strong position early and then faded, so nice to see no let up in intensity. Really good performance to build on. Confidence will be back and hoping they get a bit more of a test against Kerry, with the McDonagh to come.

TaosHum (Carlow) - 08/06/2021 08:47:50

Good showing by Clonmore on Saturday, but just fell short in the end. Discipline and wayward shooting really let them down on the day. Castletown dominated f playing against 14/13 in the final 15 or so minutes. But still, great campaign for Clonmore, who will relish intermediate next year.

TaosHum (National) - 21/11/2022 08:25:17

Could go anyway really. Pal hammered Rathvilly only a few weeks back, but thing will be very different on Saturday. Find this one very hard to call. MLR and Tinryland both have great opportunities to reach a SFC final/ Tinryland will need to limit MLR's goal threat, as they have been banging them in lately and teams have struggled to defend the long ball into Eddie Byrne and Chirs Nolan. MLR won't want Tinryland keeping the ball for long phases and will need to pressure and foce turnovers. Eire Og were a a disaster it has to be said. Major regression since Joe Murphy left. Lads are missing, but they have depth some clubs could only dream of. The play of their forwards yesterday was staggeringly bad.

TaosHum (National) - 19/09/2022 08:14:24