Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from hogg

League Final. - 2 Like(s)
Congrats. Delighted for ye. Well deserved. Best team by far.DOC is some man to keep going.fantastic show from him.

hogg (Mayo) - 31/03/2019 20:31:01

NO WEBSITE - Carlow Gaa - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Dualclub1:  "It was bad enough having the worse twitter page for info in the country but now.... Its the year 2019, and Carlow Gaa have no website, no proper way of checking results/ fixtures or tables. So poor this day and age and so frustrating for all clubs"
This is the second time it's been down in the space of a year.And it's been like this since Oct 18.I rang NCP about this 6-7 weeks ago and was assured that it would be up and running again shortly.they were upgrading it bla bla bla.Nothing since.not surprised tho.

hogg (Carlow) - 15/08/2019 10:49:15

NO WEBSITE - Carlow Gaa - 2 Like(s)

Replying To CARPS:  "Does the county still have a full time admin?"
Sure does.what he is doing I'm not sure.

hogg (Carlow) - 15/08/2019 22:45:36

Footballers 2019 Season - 2 Like(s)

Replying To GAA_WayOfLife:  "Were you at the game supersub? Meath were too strong for us on the day. We were with them until they got the first goal. We didn't have Murphy last year but we still beat Louth and Kildare on the way to the Leinster semi final. The team that started was almost identical to the team that beat Kildare last year, I think there were 3 new players starting this year. The red card was deserved, you can't strike someone in the face. St Ledger's black was harsh but Ruth's one was a black all day, he rugby tackled the opponent which resulted in the penalty. As for Meath. They done what they had to do. 9 points up at half time and won by 15, if it wasn't for Sansom in the goal and a disallowed goal we'd be looking at a 20+ points win for Meath."
At last a realistic appraisal of Sat. Instead of all the handwringing and and excuses.

hogg (Carlow) - 28/05/2019 19:59:47

Stephen Poacher - 2 Like(s)

Replying To supersub15:  "No Jinxie, you would want to try and keep up to speed, I happened to say back in a previous that, "I had a gut feeling we would meet again in the qualifier's" but some other wise guy butted in and pointed out, " You have a gut feeling we will meet again? Shows how much you know. Teams who previously played in provincials cannot get drawn against each other in qualifiers." So there you have it, its all about keeping up to speed, so when the leinster final is done and dusted, I assume then that Meath can't get another shot at it and be drawn against Dublin, ah no sure that can't be right, after all Dublin would still be unbeaten.??"
Supersub you need to stop.youre embarrassing yourself.you made a ridiculous statement and now you're digging an even bigger hole trying to defend it.own it man

hogg (National) - 11/06/2019 22:35:16

GAA President - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Tom1916:  "Jarlath Burns would be a great President, a man steeped in the Irish language and culture who can be found out around his local club with his sleeves rolled up doing the ground work. He embodies all that is good about the GAA. As for the flag and anthem remarks, they are being misrepresented as Jarlath has already clarified. However, I do believe that Jarlath will be involved in outreach to unionists but not to the detriment or dilution of our values. There are those within Ulster who will be against him but that will mainly be petty parochial politics type of people of an sdlp ilk who will be against him just because of his family connections and history. As for Dublin, the anti-Dublin brigade on this site can be quite sickening, can people not just congratulate Dublin on an historic victory which has nothing to do with money and all to do with hard work, dedication and belief. Every gael should be proud of Dublin and aim to emulate them."
Well said Tom on both Byrnes and Dublin. I have always been impressed by Byrnes both as a player and official. He has the interests of the association at heart always.Might be a tad conservative for some but head and shoulders over some recent incumbents. Excellent speaker in both Irish and English. WRT Dublin I was delighted to see them winning it .They did it the right way too playing attacking football all the way. Bit rich to hear Kerry people whinging on about them!How many AI's do they have?? Just askin like ;-)

hogg (National) - 23/09/2019 11:32:42

Footballers 2019 Season - 1 Like(s)

Replying To carlovia:  "I couldn't care less. He's brought success with him, so what if our neighbors are jealous."
Ha don't think any of our neighbours are too jealous of us atm.

hogg (Carlow) - 27/05/2019 20:08:37

Stephen Poacher - 1 Like(s)

Replying To supersub15:  "It's called Banter Hogg nothing more nothing less, it's a 2 way thing, relax."
Oh sorry I didn't realise. Ah that's different then.youre hilarious supersub absolutely hilarious. Well done........wow

hogg (National) - 13/06/2019 00:30:22

Stephen Poacher - 1 Like(s)

Replying To supersub15:  "It's called Banter Hogg nothing more nothing less, it's a 2 way thing, relax."
Oh sorry I didn't realise. Ah that's different then.youre hilarious supersub absolutely hilarious. Well done........wow

hogg (National) - 13/06/2019 00:30:40

Replying To Carlow12345:  "Agreed.. same lads same problems. No threat up front ever. Plenty of scorers on the bench and a defender brought on. Lads there since start of the year and a lad brought in few weeks ago gets on ahead of them. They will struggle next year to fill a team. Fair play to the usual lads on the pitch that gave their all."
Yeah agreed.no fault of keeper the backs apart from ledger tried hard.midfield was anonymous and only Gannon and to a lesser extent Doyle and walshe up front posed any threat. John Murphy as ever gave everything.

hogg (Carlow) - 09/06/2019 22:01:17

Leinster Club Championship - 1 Like(s)
Why in the name of God did they split this double header. NCP is probably the best drained pitch in the country and well able to take 2 games tomorrow. We really are led by donkeys in this county.

hogg (Carlow) - 26/10/2019 17:58:18

Club Hurling Championship 2019 - 1 Like(s)
Agree on the mouse. An unbelievable performance. Rangers had no forward that could score from play apart from Chris Nolan. Ź

hogg (Carlow) - 21/10/2019 01:46:20

Replying To Hometown45:  "I've said this before on here but they train three or 4 times a week. Assume play games in training. Practice matches. but if managemt felt they would help the side win a game I'm sure they'd play them. I've also said before that they obviously pick the team on what they see in training and how these fellas conduct themselves on and off the field.and if they aren't doing it in training etc I can't imagine how they deserve a shot in games. It's lile that with club sides so I'm sure it's the same with a county. Jim Gavin always talking about picking lads who perform well on training field. So I also assume this applies to fellas like gahan as was mentioned earlier. Co management are in a results business. They will Be trying to win every game. I hope this is the case anyway."
All well and good except that we are watching players picked over and over again who do not deliver or don't even look like delivering. Are the vast majority of supporters who know the players well all wrong. Not I my opinion and if you're being honest you must see it too.

hogg (Carlow) - 11/06/2019 23:20:07

Replying To Carlow12345:  "Robbie kane was in..got a bad break in his wrist training in fenagh. Had operation last week. B lucky to play club football this year I'd say"
That's a shame.speedy recovery to him.

hogg (Carlow) - 11/06/2019 00:22:23

NO WEBSITE - Carlow Gaa - 1 Like(s)

Replying To LetItIn6:  "Guys its an absolute joke that at this stage of the year there is still no update on the carlow gaa website. Even yesterday evening in the relegation playoff in the IFC between Grange and The cocks there was no updates on any social media forum from either team in the play off or the official Carlow facebook/Twitter. Not good enough for people who cant get to games."
Just have to keep on to them in NCP. They really are a joke at this stage. The pathetic effort up on Twitter doesn't give the venue sometimes. Keep ringing them.emails are completely ignored.

hogg (Carlow) - 10/09/2019 23:40:00

Breheny's Article On Pay For Play - 1 Like(s)

Replying To thelongridge:  "Totally opposed to pay for play. Introduce that concept, and you can write off the smaller counties who are striving to field teams to compete with the bigger counties. The system is already favouring sides with a bigger drawing potential. The elite will get stronger, at the expense of the lesser lights. The GREEDY PLAYERS ASSOCIATION, seem to set the agenda."
It's amazing that GPA are getting such a free run. I know Colm o Rourke has highlighted tgis anomaly on a few occasions but it has never gotten any traction.I wonder why ....

hogg (National) - 05/05/2019 23:49:15

Replying To carlowman:  "Without good leadership a team will be rudderless. One of the current management team has been on media spouting essentially about himself as centre and how others have contributed to his suspension. Absolutely pathetic stuff. Its not about him !!!! The team is what is important. Let's get real now. Our senior footballers are an intelligent committed and above all else want to wear the county shirt with pride. They have ambition.They have been let down by the very people who should have been their leaders. Dress it up as passion or whatever you like but that is the real situation. Our players who have given up serious time have been dealt a body blow that needs to be lanced. It's a sad day if those managing our county do nothing to change those st the top on the basis of ' sure who else can we get to mind our team ' or money. Nobody will be told how much the current duo cost... nobody will be told that. Do you think thst one of those people is there because of the good of his health ? The behaviour that was reported by a few at the end of the Laois match if true, should be more than enough to close the current debate. Reports about that incident have not been out there in the printed media as it was so serious. There are standards that should be upheld by those who represent us and shockingly those standards have not been upheld. Occasionally the behaviour can be a one off response but if reports are true about the aftermath of the Laois game, then people need to be removed . Those people in positions of authority have duties that go beyond borders and when behaviour is outside of standards they should realise that and do the decent thing and resign. We have standards in Carlow. Players know those boundaries. Players have standards too. How can they have any respect when those boundaries have been broken on more than occasion ? How can they wear with pride the shirt afterwards? How can they stand in the circle shoulder to shoulder with those who have broken their standards and then go on the pitch and give it everything and even more ? I don't think they can. The bond has been broken, the link is beyond repair. Time for a new start. The players deserve good leadership. Those who have respect for the team should demand it as a matter of right"
Well said.

hogg (Carlow) - 18/06/2019 09:40:42