Carlow Forum

Popular Posts from carlo

Joe McDonagh Cup 2023 - 6 Like(s)

Replying To skirge7:  "Great start for Carlow. They really struggled in the league. I wonder can Offaly maintain the level. They have played Carlow, Kildare, Kerry, Kildare, Laois the last 5 weekends l. 2 more to go."
Carlow struggled in the league as they were missing a lot of big players & were never at full strength. The idea was to use the league to give exposure to more fringe players & develop our youth. Iv heard a lot about Carlow being in transition but that was a very strong & experienced Carlow team today. I'm not making any bold predictions about us winning the Mcdonagh Cup but they will certainly be a lot more competitive than they were in the league. Its wide open really & any team could beat anyone on a given day. It's a great competition

carlo (National) - 08/04/2023 22:04:30

Carlow GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Got the win. Played Offalys 2nd team but we could only beat whats in front of us. Final in 2 weeks in Croker which is something great to look forward to. Couldn't ask for more. Great to see all the kids in Carlow colours on the pitch at half time & full time. Over to the fooballers now tomorrow....

carlo (National) - 13/05/2023 21:16:31

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Square_B:  "We'll not have to worry about promotion after that. Shocking stuff."
Was anyone laughing in the stand today?? Just asking for a friend

carlo (National) - 05/03/2023 15:20:46

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Excellent victory on Sunday. I thought Shane Quinn was the standout player on the field by a distance and Plunkett and Beirne not far behind him. Worrying that Prior has injured his hamstring once again. He gives us a great out ball and is a good foil for Beirne. Would be shocked if he was fit for the Wicklow game. Jordan Reynolds also looks to have picked up a serious injury. Hopefully I'm wrong on that. Whats remarkable is that a Leitrim team won a game by 15 points and were not overly impressive for long stretches of the game while missing Dolan, O'Rourke, Casey, McGloin who will all start in Gaelic Park if fit. I've been watching Leitrim a long time and that doesn't happen to often. I have huge concerns over our half back line. Quinn is named at 6 but is acting as a sweeper which we will get in every division four game as teams will double up on Keith Beirne. But its that area in most games an no difference last weekend where we are conceding soft scores and or frees. Our Wing backs is an area Andy is going to have to look at. From what I've heard most of our injured players will be back in for the next game apart from O'Rourke who could be another while yet. On Carlow's discipline, I seen another poster saying that they thought Carlow's Red card for striking Mulligan was soft. They must have been in the old stand as anyone in the new stand could see how much of a cheap shot it was and that it caught Mulligan flush in the face. The rest of Carlow's Red Cards were just pure frustration and stupidity really. Was quite embarrassing to see an Inter-County team act like that. That stand was laughing at them by the end. Good to see Barry McNulty kick a score. If he can work on his pace, I think he could be a player that sees a lot of action as the year goes on. A word for Aidan Flynn by the way. I don't think many supporters who were at the Waterford game expected to see him again this year. A testament to him."
Keep laughing my friend. Any team can have a bad day with performance & discipline. Are Leitrim not in Division 4 along with Carlow most years apart from the odd promotion?? Concentrate on getting promoted not laughing at a team self imploding on a particular day.

carlo (National) - 04/03/2023 10:20:28

Louth GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ninjasmyth:  "Lads, We just bet Carlow in a championship game by 15 points. Ollie you might want to check is that a record as I don't remember us scoring 5 goals in championship match. We have a young ambitious Louth team here playing with real confidence We all know when this happens we are definitely a match for Kildare and have turned them over in the past. They had a great win over Dublin in the league and a draw with Kerry, the rest was a disaster for them, trashed by Donegal and not scoring against Northern teams bar Monaghan. There confidence is Fragile, ours is not. Bring it on. An Lu Abu."
First of all well done on Sunday the best team won well & no arguments here. But please dont be reading too much into the margin of victory as Carlow are at our lowest ebb in years. Of the team which beat ye in 2018 we had 4 starters on Sunday & none on the bench. We have lost most of our big men & leaders & have a whole new young team & unfortunately a lot of them are not up to inter county standard. When we beat Kildare in 2018 they were also after being relegated from div 1 but they had lost all games. This time they won 2 & drew one. I wouldn't agree that they got hammered in the other games as they ran Armagh & Tyrone close enough. I'd love to see ye beat Kildare & make the Leinster Semi but dont get carried away with beating this poor Carlow side considering at half time ye had only 6 points on the board compared to 5 for Carlow after playing with a gale force wind. Yes I know ye had 2 goals as well but that wont do against Kildare. Please dont take this post as sour grapes ( I predicted an 11 point win for ye ) as I genuinely would love Louth to rattle the lillywhites & would be great for all the smaller counties. Best of luck.

carlo (National) - 26/04/2022 14:08:15

2020 Championship Fixtures - 1 Like(s)

Replying To jigger:  "After Leinster gaa draw today Carlow Minor footballers play Laois in the Q/Final with the winners likely to play Dublin in the semi. Carlow Minor Hurlers play Westmeath with the winners playing Dublin in the Q/ Final. U20 hurling Carlow play Laois with the winners playing Galway in the Q/Finals. No news yet of u20 football"
U20 Football already played. We lost to Wexford in Enniscorthy earlier in year

carlo (Carlow) - 01/07/2020 10:44:27

Carlow 2021 - 1 Like(s)
Brendan Murphy is a brilliant footballer & Carlow are always better with him on team sheet. Iv seen him win games on his own ( eg louth 2011, Wicklow 2016 & that brilliant performance against the dubs u21 in 2010) However at times he can be the most frustrating player to watch as he tries to do it all himself. I'm sure that's got to do with being the best player at his age group all the way up & never fully learned to be an all round team player. Now I know it's an amateur game & he can do as he pleases but I feel he has opted out so often now its disheartening. He must be around 32 at this stage so to miss last year & this year hes running out of time. I always look to Gary Brennan of Clare as he was there leading light & he was always class against the likes of Kerry, cork etc. I dont think Brendan got to his level or consistency but he should have with his ability. Leaving the panel in 2018 before the championship broke my heart as I felt he could have made all the difference. Imagine him at his best in Croker against laois with a Leinster final place at stake.... still haven't accepted that loss. Anyway all the best to him in whatever he does. He has been our best player for years

carlo (Carlow) - 07/05/2021 09:07:27

Carlow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Massive weekend for both our Senior Hurlers & Footballers. First Saturday evening in Dcp will be a massive occasion for hurlers. A Mcdonagh Final in Croke Park the prize for our hurlers. A strange one in the fact that Offaly are already in the final & we don't know how they will set up for this game. Will they go full strength and try keep on their winning run or will they rest players for the final. We were on the wrong side of this last year when Antrim played a weakened team against Kerry in the last game & lost which knocked us out. Antrim then went on to beat kerry in the final. I recall a similar situation with the fooballers in 2017 when we played Wexford in the last game of the league after they were already promoted. They played a weakened team against us & we hammered them. Few weeks later in first round of the championship with our confidence up after beating them in the league we beat their full team in DCP. All the hurlers can do is beat whatever Offaly team is put in front of them on the day & qualify for the final. Won't be easy as Offaly Hurling is on the rise but I think we can do it by a couple of points On Sunday in Aughrim our Footballers are playing to save their season. Apart from the first 15 mins the last day we can't be as bad again. Some of our more experienced men had an off day & I'm expecting a massive performance from them. We have nothing to lose & should go for it from the start instead of sitting back like we did the last day. We have been described as Cannon Fodder by a poster on the Wicklow page & if I was playing I know where I would shove that. Will be close but if we play like we can I think we can sneak it. Ceathearlach Abu

carlo (National) - 11/05/2023 13:23:59

Terrible result & terrible performance. We never got going. It was like we had done a heavy weeks training as there was no spark at all. Even at 7 points each in the 58th minute I didn't fancy us to win it but to lose by 10 after that is shocking. What sumed it up for me was when we were 7/8 points down near the end one of our half forwards passed the back back to our own half back line when they was space to push forward. Management have a lot to answer for & I don't think they are fit for purpose. Was a great chance at home tonight to really push on for promotion but that is now gone no matter what the maths say.

carlo (National) - 02/03/2024 21:46:19

Replying To fullbach:  "Carlow gaa fans will be in netwatch Cullen Park regardless of what other sports might be on. So I hope they wouldn't even consider changing the time as 'Carlo' said in previous post even if it suits him. I can't be at the Carlow game but I'll be tuned in to kclr. I just hope I don't have to listen to Rugby updates every 2 mins during our game."
There will be supporters at the game(including myself) but not the crowd they would have got if the rugby wasn't on. It will be Paddys weekend & many Gaa people will go to the pub to watch the rugby unfortunately especially as Ireland will probably be going for the grand slam. The fact that we are more or less out of the running for promotion won't help either. I would love to see as many as possible there to support the lads so yes I do hope they change the start time. No point burying the head in the sand saying "the true supporters will be there"

carlo (National) - 06/03/2023 12:06:46

Looking to Leitrim game & wondering what kind of team we will have? Are Ciaran Moran & Crowley fit? We have small enough panel & can't afford to be missing anyone. I think we are making progress but to back that up we really have to go up to Leitrim & either win or run them very close. If we get a good beating by 6 or 7 points not only are our promotion hopes gone but it will Show our inconsistencies again & will be a step backwards. Beirne is shooting the lights out for them & will take some watching. Hopefully we dig out a result. With a bit of luck we could have 6 points on the board already( still can't believe we let Laois off the hook)

carlo (National) - 23/02/2023 20:59:07

Replying To Unusedsub:  "Massive weekend for the hurlers. Offaly are favourites but that's nothing new to Carlow are going into the McDonagh Cup this year only Down were lower in the betting. I believe we can pull it off if the lads bring their A game. One thing I noticed which annoys me a small bit is the amount of underage games fixed for Saturday. I know these fixtures were organised well in advance but this is essentially an All Ireland final for the county. Surely the county board could of reorganised these fixtures for the Friday and/or Sunday as to encourage/enable as many supporters to travel to croke Park as possible. It's also important for young kids to see their county on the big stage and aspire to be the same. Anyway best of luck to the team, I'll be there cheering them on with my son. Ceatharlach Abu!"
Your right a massive weekend for our hurlers. Offaly are definitely favourites but we are in the final now & if we play as well as we can I believe we will do it. There should be no fixtures on Saturday afternoon/evening as this is an All Ireland Final for us. I have no problem with the early games on Saturday morning ( go games) as they will be over before noon. On another note its sad to see the lack of colour for this final. I didn't see one Carlow flag around the town yesterday & its such a pity. Its a great chance to promote the game & get our young people interested. It's not just the town i have seen very few flags out the countryside either. If the footballers were in the Tailteann cup final there would be flags everywhere. I know the footballers tradionally get a far better support but it's a shame as the hurlers have given us some massive days over the years. Anyway best wishes to the entire panel for Saturday. We will be there to shout ye on

carlo (National) - 23/05/2023 14:59:59

Wicklow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To sponger:  "Im not on the wind up by the way. I expect us to hammer Carlow next week, by about 10 points."
Well did ye hammer Carlow after??? After seeing ye the first day I knew ye were beatable. Brilliant for Carlow

carlo (National) - 14/05/2023 17:38:14

Positives, 3 points down in 2nd half with 14 men & fought back for a draw. We even had the last kick of game to win it but unfortunately it was too far out of range for Foley. We would have lost that game a year or 2 ago. Negatives, gave away so many handy frees in front of goal, we can't seem to hold up the player but instead pull them down for a handy tap over free. Their goalie also kicked at least 3 frees from fouls a little further out. Our shot selection was questionable at times & we often ran out of ideas in attack & got turned over. We also left a couple of goals behind us. Doyle was unlucky with the 2nd yellow but when your already booked you have to be so careful. How many times do Carlow Football & Hurling teams shoot ourselves in the foot with getting men sent off??? To be honest Moran was also blessed not to get a 2nd yellow, the ref obviously didn't want to send off a 2nd Carlow man. Now I wouldn't ref in a million years & they have such a hard job but he hadn't a good game last night for both sides. Div 4 teams are always the guinea pigs for new refs to earn their stripes but he was so fussy & nearly every tackle was a yellow card. If he reffed a div 1 game like that he would never get another game. There must have been 10 cards in a game without a dirty stroke. Anyway onwards to Waterford. Other game was a draw also so not too much ground lost. This young team is getting more experienced & dug out a draw when it looked like a defeat.

carlo (National) - 29/01/2023 09:04:54

Replying To Blackbog:  "Great comeback today to score last 6 points of game. Genuinely was not expecting a win. Nor was I expecting a hammering"
Tbh I was confident of a win. I knew we couldn't or wouldn't be as poor as the last day again. Super comeback & delighted for these lads. Great weekend for Carlow Gaa & by God was it needed

carlo (National) - 14/05/2023 17:53:43

Carlow V Dublin Dr Cullen Park 17Th June - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Overthebar53:  "That's Netwatch Cullen park."
To some of us of a certain age it will always be Dr Cullen Park

carlo (National) - 29/05/2023 14:32:39

Replying To carlowman:  "I agree with the main points you make, and I would add that the team beaten fairly and squarely last Sunday has learned a lot and has improved enormously since the London match. They are a very young but eager bunch. Darragh Foley echoes your main point that he hopes that the panel will stay together for next year and that I think is vital to improved performances next year. Overall, the team has played to a pattern and it is productive as seen last Sunday and the previous week against Tipperary and the game plan has slowly emerged and has given the panel confidence as they now see how it works and what it takes for it to be successful. The team has a few things to improve on especially retaining possession from long kick outs and midfield will need more thought for next year and I believe that the situation can be remedied from within the current squad. I take your point on nobody from certain clubs being there but realistically, is there anyone good enough from those 3 clubs to make the panel? I also think that the confidence that the team has generated by being in the Tailteann as well as the league together will pay dividends IF the same crop stays put next year and again prepares well."
Yeah I see Foley has come out saying he hope's they stick together & hopefully he will stick around too to help this young squad. I heard rumours after the game on Sunday that Ruth could be retiring so not many old heads left if that is true. As regards my point on the 3 senior clubs I still feel that there has to be players there good enough to play inter county. I know MLR concentrate on hurling but they stay up Senior in football every year & have regularly made semi finals. I remember Gary Kelly was on the team few years back & was good but it will be hard to get them to play inter county football when most of them play hurling. Tinryland had a lot of lads on the panel up to recently but with the retirements of Broderick & Redmond they are all gone now. Where is Jackson & Lawlor? They were there with O Brien & would be a good addition but have fallen away also. Ballinabranna had Darren Luney in there for years but didnt get much game time but with all the retirements he would probably get a start now. They also have the big lad Dorgan who played with the Carlow u20,s last year or the year before who would be good enough. That's just 3 senior clubs with no representation but a lot of other Senior & interimediate clubs could have more lads in there too. Fair play to Leighlinbridge a junior club with young Brennan in there & interimediate clubs like Grange & Fenagh with a few each on the panel. We are a small enough county so we need to spread our wings as wide as possible.

carlo (National) - 09/06/2022 11:18:49