Australia Forum

Popular Posts from 3rdmidfielder

Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)
I think Declan Bonner is very lucky to have another year with this talented group.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 30/01/2022 16:55:44

Was Joey Barton Correct When He Said Woman Should Not Discuss Mens Sport - 4 Like(s)
Yes he is right. Gender quota nonsense.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 10/12/2023 16:10:43

Division 4 - National League - 3 Like(s)
Today is arguably the most important Leitrim game in years. Hopefully we pack out Paric Sean and get the boys over the line. Huge credit to Terry his management team and most importantly the players. I was delighted when Terry was appointed and was confident he'd get us out of div 4 next year but to get us out a year early is a tremendous achievement. He has put pride back into the jersey.

3rdmidfielder (Leitrim) - 03/03/2019 08:52:43

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To masseyferguson:  "I'd like to thank @Boxtyeater."
Haha good stuff lad!!

3rdmidfielder (National) - 09/04/2024 18:14:58

Leitrim GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
Just looking at the team photo before the NY game and it's obvious one member of the team wasn't taking the game serious, as could be seen by his performance in the game. Same every game to be honest. Not good enough.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 12/04/2023 09:47:06

Qualifiers 2019 - 3 Like(s)
We need to identify some athletic strong footballers, the big problem Leitrim face is an inability to stay with runners and aren't physically strong enough in the tackle. Now a top class strength and conditioning programme will bring on a good few of the current panel but alot of them just aren't athletic enough to play at this level, thats the reality. If we haven't footballers of the required athleticism within the county we need to try and coax some of the players linked with us previously like young Quinn and Guckian in Dublin and any other player that might have Leitrim connections. Roscommon wouldn't be connaught champions without the arrival of Conor Cox so id be all for exploring any player with Leitrim connections to supplement the talent thats already there.

3rdmidfielder (Leitrim) - 23/06/2019 09:34:59

Division 4 - National League - 3 Like(s)
To score 3.15 and arguably not play great is very positive Ryan O'Rourke is a pleasure to watch was involved in everything positive we done. Keeper made one fabulous save and done well one criticism he needs to be faster on the restart. Paddy Maguire showed his class he has plenty of pace and power and was harshly pulled for over carrying one of a number of questionable decisions by the ref and his officals. Shane Quinn second yellow was laughable. Negatives from yesterday, some of the decision making in the first half especially was poor. Some players continued to hop the ball on a surface that was up to it. This improved in the second half. Dean McGovern didn't look fit or comfortable at full fwd looked better out the field. Positives. Ryan O'Rourke fantastic display Ryan is the most exciting forward to emerge since Padraig Kenny came on the scene. Wexford were very poor and Ryan's two quick fire goals killed the game as a contest so lets not get carried away. Two points on the board need to push on now.

3rdmidfielder (Leitrim) - 28/01/2019 12:45:39

Leitrim GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
I was impressed with Leitrim today, we look fitter and more aggressive than we have in a long time. Which was badly needed. Kickouts need a lot of work, but over all I was impressed. Ref was shocking. Great to see a big crowd back in Paric Sean.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 30/01/2022 17:00:10

Leitrim Gaa have issued a statement. It is laughable at this stage!!!

3rdmidfielder (National) - 12/04/2023 11:09:16

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "The "great players" mentioned in a previous post are mediocre at best, yes they are absolutely great in the Leitrim club scene. But very poor once they operate outside of the county boundaries . The quality of player available to the senior inter county manager is extremely poor. They look great in our club leagues and championships but are extremely limited in reality. The club scene is where the changes need to happen - not the county manager. That is my honest and steadfast opinion. You asked for three changes to make the club scene better: 1. Have senior, intermediate and junior championships all first teams from clubs only, no second teams allowed- let them compete in junior B and C. 2. Reduce number of teams in each championship to 8 in senior, 8 in intermediate and 7 in junior for our 23 clubs. 3. Three divisional sides of Leitrim North, south, east and west to play in senior champ. Each made up of the best players from whatever current intermediate and junior clubs in their division to play in senior championship. Bulking up senior champ to 8 club teams and 4 divisional teams, so a 12 team senior champ. Giving every player in Leitrim the chance to win a senior club championship and the experience of playing senior championship club football. There you go: That's just for a start. There is three changes to make. Give that structure 4-5 years and then the quality of players becoming available to the inter county set up would be smarter, better, faster and stronger. And the guys coming in 10-15 years time would be top class. Will it happen?? Well for it to happen the clubs have to vote for it and pass it. As a previous poster said - turkeys don't vote for Christmas. Clubs are so self involved and most have dinosaurs voting for them. Dinosaurs are extinct - we still have them captaining our ships. "Bring it forward to your clubs" - they say! "Get involved" they say. I have! It's never brought forward! It needs to happen - it won't happen! And we'll go round and round and round again and again and fail over and over and over again and again, and remain in division 4 and then change manager over and over again and say we have great club players but the manager isn't getting the best out of them….. etc… etc… etc…."
The players I mentioned in my post are well able to operate at division 3 standard under the right management. They more than capable of holding their own, I think "mediocre at best" is an unfair comment. Your suggestion of divisional teams is certainly worth a look at. And I also agree turkeys won't vote for Christmas so we need strong leadership at county board level to see real change. We don't need to reinvent the wheel, we need to see what is working in other counties and copy it.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 04/06/2023 22:23:47

Replying To Forgodssakeref:  "I think this type of post is typical of someone who won't know a football from a cricket ball! Shame on you for posting such rubbish and criticising individuals who have given it all for their county. You have no idea the sacrifices and hardship the whole 35+ of the panel have given since last November when you were scratching yourself in front of the fire And no, I have no allegiance to the clubs of either players or the county board or Andy Moran for that matter"
Jack Heslin and Tom Prior are two good footballers, youd be hoping to build your team around guys like them.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 06/06/2023 22:56:00

Replying To kentuckytucky:  "We got the result we needed, deserved and ultimately craved. This puts the wheels back on the trailer and that trailer comes in the shape of a promotion of the team itself. Scoring that amount of scores is a good day's work and hopefully it will give the Tipperary manager food for thought."
FOOD for thought!! Brilliant!! We haven't forgotten the crap he spouted a few years ago!!

3rdmidfielder (National) - 06/02/2022 16:19:57

Replying To Backheel:  "That's great news will we leave you to "the easy fix " of a poor quality in our club game? Give me the first three things that you would do, that would sort out the standard of club football in the Leitrim. Looking forward to the answers.Fair play to you a great future awaits."
Another easy fix for you Backheel that the county board could subsidise clubs for players to get individual strength and conditioning programmes, there are plenty of young people getting qualifications in S & C and they would be glad of the experience. You have Cathal Cregg in Connacht that would pass on his expertise. This would not break the bank. Underage coaches brought into to more coaching seminars. These are very popular all over the country. Davy Burke done one in Drumlish, Mick Bohan, Stephen Poacher, Colm Nally these guys do this all the time. I haven't seen this done in leitrim in the last few years. Andy is free for the summer now he could run a few coaching clinics for underage coaches in the county. Players in the clubs in county need benchmarks the need to know what the standards is for your runs at different distances, the benchmark for your bench press etc, this is information that can be easily obtained and worked towards.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 05/06/2023 08:21:37

What's another year!!

3rdmidfielder (National) - 19/02/2023 15:39:46

Roscommon GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
I dont think Davy Burke is up to the job that's just my opinion. Roscommon looked disinterested today. I'd love to know what they are doing at all these training sessions.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 17/03/2024 18:59:57

Replying To Maggiepie:  "Well lately instead of putting on comedy cds I just log on to the Leitrim forum for a few laughs. Honestly they were only stopping just short of saying that they would be contenders for Sam once Andy figured out the way to the jacks in Pairc Mhic Diarmadha."
Comedy cds lol

3rdmidfielder (National) - 20/02/2022 20:35:06

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "i think if our game is close coming to the end and we hear leitrim are winning we should take the foot off the clutch and let longford win, revenge takes many shapes"
Good lad. A post from a man I would bet has never played a proper game of football. That's not how sport works.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 18/03/2024 21:36:11

Replying To eoinog:  "Wow. That's fairly slating. Did you have to belittle players by name calling and you an anonymous poster"
I actually think it's a pretty balanced view on how things are at the minute. I think it's a post from someone that actually goes to the games. I would agree with lots of the points made here.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 20/02/2023 13:49:10

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Either you or me have the wrong end of the stick here. I think that you think the lowest ranked team that places third is based on league positions from the national league. Whereas my interpretation is it's the lowest ranked third team based on the tailteann groups alone. So whoever out of the third placed teams has the lowest number of points in the taillteann groups is eliminated. If teams level on points then the lowest score difference amongst them that finished level on points etc etc And the teams are separated like that. On another note I notice a few posters on about Maxwells and Nevins kickouts. Any player can kick the ball out it doesn't have to be the goalkeeper. Nevin has been excellent in his shot shopping since going in to goals. Doesn't he play out field for club? Why doesn't someone else kick it out who is a more accurate kicker and utilise Nevin in the backs as another option. Just a thought"
I hope your joking here lad.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 11/05/2023 11:51:47

Replying To totalrecall:  "Sligo are miles ahead of leitrim, good underage structure in place, contested all ireland u20 final last year beating kerry , Galway, mayo, rossies along the way....calls to get rid of Andy?? I'm not a fan of his but the problem is alot deeper than him"
He should be able to put a bit of shape and structure on the players available to him? We look like a poorly coached club team.

3rdmidfielder (National) - 08/04/2024 08:04:34