Australia Forum

Popular Posts from panamasam

Croke Park Stewards - 9 Like(s)
Not surprised reading the experiences of different people across social media in response to the appalling treatment of Tom Parsons. I was there yesterday evening and had left the ground after the Division 2 final. Rather than sit for ages in traffic waiting to get out of the parking area I decided to stretch my legs and get some exercise. On my way back to the car park I was walk past the Hogan stand and at the car park corner there was a gate open so I went down to get a photograph as the lights were on and the stadium looked amazing. Just as I approached gate I got accosted by a steward who came from no where. Anyways I explained why I was there sure enough it be grand as was just taking photograph then going to which he could witness. I was told in no uncertain terms that I could not in what was anal to the extreme. Despite trying to politely reminstrate he was having none of it and got slightly aggressive even though I was friendly throughout. Anyways I just left laughing really at the absurdity of it bewildered by the lack common sense.

panamasam (National) - 31/03/2019 22:19:59

Donegal GAA thread - 6 Like(s)
Been a while since I posted largely due to a combination of work, not coming on here as much and feeling really disheartened about how the last couple of years have gone especially this where I feel Donegal have really regressed. Before I put down some thoughts I would like to thank the team and management for their undoubted efforts throughout the year. The Armagh game showed all the hallmarks of this team and management over the last couple of years. Some brilliance in the first half before returning to type thereafter followed by a complete collapse both mentally and in how we played. While I have nothing but great respect for Declan and what he's done I really feel like there is no comeback after the second half in what appeared to these eyes as a rudderless downing of the tools from the players. I'm not sure what training they are doing in the background but Donegal are a pretty poorly drilled side. While Patton was central in some fairly monumental brain fart moments in the last couple of games a well drilled side wouldn't have coughed up what happened with what were fairly straightforward catches. There seems to be noises about Rochford going so is he the scapegoat? Is he the one setting up all our teams to play in such a systematic laborious manner? Or is Declan for that matter? I would say probably not on both counts but they do have influence at senior level. The Rochford situation is completely bizzare as doesn't have his hallmarks at all. I just cannot figure out what really has gone on with him. Regardless the nice footballers but loser weak reputation is back in Donegal. I live down the country and believe me its what people are saying here too. In regards to poor attendance for the Armagh game do you really blame people. I was wearing a training top about a couple of days after the Ulster final and I had complete strangers approaching me disgusted with how we played. In my mind there is no question that the management need to go at all levels. Donegal need leaders and strong management on the sideline rather than facilitators with a history and legacy built on excuses. Will this happen? I have my doubts especially given the cosy nature the board have with some set ups which is not a good look something I alluded to months ago. Donegal certainly have the players to be reaching at least the last 4 every couple of years. Good strong management makes a big difference and those suggesting otherwise really are clueless about sport in general. Donegal need a full cold hard review and evaluation of where they're at and to act on it. In an ideal world McGrath and Declan would go now and bring in fresh people at board level to make these decisions. I doubt Jim will be back as I know he is very happy at where he is at in Derry City but couldn't he be used in a consultancy role and part of the review process? If Declan stays I expect more of the same. For those saying maybe a backroom shuffle will work didn't we have that last year in what was underwhelming to say the least bar Rochford staying whom it appears really isn't having any influence at all? Is Michael Murphy too influential? It appears he might be which really isn't a good sign and another point towards weak management. Murphy has plenty left to give but needs to be managed correctly rather than him doing for himself. This is why strong leadership is essential to whoever might come in. My feeling is it might take till McGrath goes for this to happen which might not even happen if its a passing on the somebody already there. Donegal are still producing quality talent no question. I think this will always be the case but harnessing it is another matter. A final point and another bugbear for me. Unless a defender is being picked to man mark a player then they should be more than capable of taking a score. If not should they really be starting? Donegal seem to be carrying a few of that ilk and to me its just not good enough.

panamasam (National) - 26/06/2022 12:18:51

Championship - 5 Like(s)

Replying To jacktheboy:  "Time to replace Bonner/Rochford, they don't know how to pick defences players, runners might look good when they are going forward but someone has to be able to defend also. Loosing Murphy and McGee was not that big of a loose as both were playing bad and are passed the sell by date."
Jack do yourself a favour and think before you type if you want anyone to take your opinion seriously. To say the loss of Murphy wasn't a big loss and that he is past his sell by date is among one of the dumbest things I have read here. Yes we know you're anti Bonner and yes it is probably time for a change but it wasn't poor management that lost that game today.

panamasam (Donegal) - 18/07/2021 16:15:42

Under 21 team for 2017 - 4 Like(s)
Where is Gary Mc? Not seen a post of his here in quiet sometime and despite being a Derry man he was a big advocate of the young talent Donegal were and are producing.

panamasam (Donegal) - 23/03/2017 15:12:42

Laois V Dublin U20 Leinster Final - 4 Like(s)
Congrats to Dublin on a fine win tonight the ease of which throughout the championship scarily mirrored the seniors. This is now a competition weighed huge in Dublins favour and the ease was entirely inevitable with the changes made a couple of years ago. Without mentioning the obvious financial advantage the rules are evidently in their favour. When originally contemplating my shock yet not surprised thoughts about the rule denying players involved with a senior set up to be available with their age group I immediately thought of the big advantage this would be to namely Kerry and Dublin. However I did not factor Kerry's need to fast track a player of the quality of Clifford to their senior set up meaning this obviously biased rule was also a detriment to Kerry. I also did not factor that given the timing of the competition meant that many counties are having players not commit due to exam pressure something Dublin also have an advantage in given the size of the county with most of their students based there. I really hope that one of the other provincial winners can make this a competitive championship and having seen Tyrone live I think they can. However it does not get away from the fact that the GAA have made a mess of this championship on numerous levels which raises more than a suspicious eye.

panamasam (National) - 20/07/2019 00:39:45

Tyrone Vs Donegal - 4 Like(s)

Replying To kevin03:  "I take yout point. I get that he gets targeted a lot but so dies Peter harte in every game. But you don't see Peter going down easily. Tierarn McCann jokes aside lol Aside from that the main issue I have with him is his constant crying to officals. He is constantly at the officials ear complaining. Pick any championship game in the next few months and count the amount of times he is moaning to the official even if he hasn't been involved in the tackle I can guarantee he will be beside them complaining. Anyway it is great to have the gaelic back on and to have something to debate about. Looking forward to all the matches and getting up to Donegal for he holidays. Pints, matches, banter and great scenery it's hard to beat."
Yes but did Peter Harte have to step away from the game for a few months on account of doctors advice due to numerous concussions from head trauma? Might explain why Ryan is so vocal now when some of those hits went unpunished.

panamasam (National) - 16/05/2021 18:02:15

Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)
Absolutely buzzing after that. I cannot say I'm overly surprised apart from the winning margin. Remember it's not that long ago since Paddy swung over that point in Ballybofey. Yes Murphy is gone from that team but that game really was the springboard for Derry. The media had really hyped Derry up much like ourselves a few years ago before the Cavan debacle. However alot of our lads have Ulster medals plus our minor and under 21 sides around 14-17 were well used to playing and beating alot of the same Derry players. The Jim template was there for all to see. Tactically on point, strong defense especially on forcing turnovers and attacking in numbers and at pace. A few bluffers here were telling us we don't have the defenders etc but anyone who has played sport at a decent level knows the difference that good coaching where everyone buys in can make. He'll also improve players and you seen that but it's only one game. Especially excited to see how Langan and Jason can grow and improve with Jim there.....then lads have massive untapped potential. Also who would have predicted that Caolan McGonigle the player he is becoming. He's turning himself quietly into one of the best footballers in the country driving with ball in hand. Plus Moore is some find. Hat tip to those of you here who predicted the exploitation of Odhran Lynch..... excellent stuff. Hard to believe we'll be out again next weekend, a loud of nonsense if you ask me. However I'm already excited to see what happens.

panamasam (National) - 20/04/2024 21:11:24

Donegal Vs Tyrone - 4 Like(s)

Replying To joeteor:  "Donegal going nowhere fast under Bonner. Plenty of talent there not being utilised correctly. Tyrone poor after the first 20, struggled in the forwards big time and got cleaned out in midfield when Donegal did push up on goal kicks."
Going for 3 in a row in Ulster under Bonner the first team since Armagh......

panamasam (National) - 01/11/2020 20:34:54

NFL Division 2 2019 - 4 Like(s)
A shorter journey (than I expected) for me than most Donegal supporters coming back from Ennis to where I am based. Given Donegal are in Division 2 there will be less coverage of games on TV so be good to get as much feedback as possible. I won't get to Ballybofey next weekend so reading peoples opinions on the Meath game will be much appreciated. As for the game it was not great from Donegal but certainly not bad either. The home crowd really get behind Clare especially when their tails were up so easy to see why they have such a good record at home in the league there. Therefore picking up the points today could prove invaluable plus it was a great learning experience for all the younger players. The Clare supporters will have every right to feel disappointed not to pick up anything today. They missed a great goal chance early in the game and their point shooting let them down in the second half. In saying that Donegal defended pretty well so they were not easy shot attempts. The extra bit of quality Donegal have in terms of getting scores was the main difference between the sides. In terms of stand out performers Jason McGee was probably my man of the match. Took some great scores at crucial times and also delivered some delightful foot passes inside something which was not near utilized enough by some of his colleagues. He shipped a couple of knocks so still needs to be handled carefully in terms of his development but today was very promising. I also thought Brendan McCole can be very happy with his performance. He grew in confidence as the game went on and generally defended well with tight marking. He certainly does not lack pace either and based on his last 2 games he is showing alot of promise. Conor Morrison also done well and can be happy too. Not shy to get involved and show for the ball which is a positive sign. Despite some eye catching moments in the game including one spectacular high catch I hope that Caolan McGonagle starts to show a bit more. He was a little on the periphery of the game but he has an excellent opportunity to lay down a marker. Again Jamie Brennan caused alot of panic when he got on the ball. His shooting off of both feet are so much better is hard to think that at the rate he is improving he will not be one of the most talked about players in the country over the summer. Collectively Donegal were still a bit rusty. There was a bit too much going nowhere safe hand passing going on with players not getting their heads up. There was evidence today that when Donegal do move the ball swiftly using the foot pass they are a very dangerous outfit. All things considered including it is only the first league game of the season not a bad days work.

panamasam (Donegal) - 27/01/2019 18:35:53

Mayo V Donegal and the league in general 2017 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "Aidan O Se is absolutely vital to this Mayo team. He came on and within seconds has ripped the ball of Murphy much to the roar of the home crowd and that started the Mayo revival. Donegal were excellent in first half cutting Mayo open at will. I think they lost their heads and got distracted when Aideen came on. Nice to stay up on our own terms. I still think we can be a force this summer and be at the business end but much to ponder and a lot of work to do."
Ya he is vital alright, joke of a red card.

panamasam (National) - 02/04/2017 22:03:29

Eamon McGee - True Gael! - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Seansy48:  "It might be a bit much for a Gaelic football forum to understand Eamon's passage from Lord of the Rings he posted on twitter and i'm not entirely sure myself of how exactly he's interpreted it but it hadn't been mentioned so I thought I might have a go! In the passage Aragorn is talking to Arwen who is the love of his life and he's essentially saying goodbye forever. Arwen Vanimelda Namarie means 'Arwen beautiful-beloved-elven-fair, farewell' I'm thinking that's Eamon saying goodbye to the game he loves or the county he loves to play for. The passage continues saying Here is the heart of Elvendom on earth,' he said, `and here my heart dwells ever. The passage then ends saying he left the hill of Cerin Amroth and came there never again as a living man." To me that's Eamon saying he's leaving Croke Park (the heart of the G.A.A on earth) though his heart will remain there. He left the hill of Cerin Amroth (Croke Park) and came there never again as a living man (Active player) I could be completely wrong but this way it's a true love letter to Gaelic football which I think shows the level of passion he had for the game and how much it meant to him. In the current climate of bashing the game at every turn not enough attention is paid to things like this!"
Yes I was trying to translate it myself. I was thinking along same lines as that though maybe the hill refers to Donegal? As in the hills. Not sure. Still in a state of shock that Eamon has retired at a relatively young age even though the media have being trying to convince us it was coming over the last 2 years. Great player for Donegal and like Colm Anthony another Donegal legend. I have to say feel a genuine sense of sorrow tonight.

panamasam (National) - 08/08/2016 23:08:39

Mayo V Donegal and the league in general 2017 - 4 Like(s)

Replying To yew_tree:  "He did kick hi, though....that's a red card. Although Aidan did seem to go down easily. The Donegal player did not even argue with the sending off."
Ah here any contact was minimal and on the calf. The big lad (with previous) goes down holding his ribs....it was embarrassing. I am quite content with Mayo winning today as it frees up the U-21's for remainder of their Ulster game so not as if I have chip on my shoulder cause of the result. That was a joke and an embarrassment to the sport. Not so much the officiating side of things esp considering the ref involved.

panamasam (National) - 02/04/2017 22:49:00

Donegal GAA thread - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "It's funny how the same fella who always backs the managers to the hilt and wants everyone to do the same is already questioning this manager on the first bit of news - that's based on rumour and hearsay."
The username says it all and still has it despite recent events regarding that individual. Dunno how many times I've read the comment "he's not ever coming back" or words to that effect. Well he is back. Just a shame there is no more county forum anymore.

panamasam (National) - 14/12/2023 12:09:42

Donegal V Dublin - 3 Like(s)
Enthralling game for the time of year. Two teams leaving nothing behind them. The draw is an excellent result for this Donegal team who I think upped their performance today by at least 20% from what we have seen so far from them in the league. Delighted to be proven wrong as i thought the dubs would win well today. I have to admit though that while the draw was probably deserved it was no way a free for MM leveler what was that about? Dublin can feel hard done by by the ref by blowing back when clear advantage was on. So while previous poster complained about the black card not given the ref was not the Dubs friend either. Real coming of age for alot of these young players. Eoghan Ban, Jason McGee, Caolan Ward and Ciaran Thompson really coming on in leaps and bounds and I just hope that they are lucky with injuries and fatigue in relation to the U-21 Ulster championship as there is quite a team there. What do the dubs make of Dean Rock? Missed plenty of frees today and basically if he not knocking them over what does he actually offer ye? Again going forward Donegal over elaborated with the hand passing and sideways running which is so frustrating to watch at times. The death knells may not be ringing just yet for Donegal football. I must mention Frank, MM, Neil McGee (who looks in serious shape) and Paddy Mcgrath for all showing their experience and showing up when it counted when needed today.

panamasam (National) - 26/02/2017 15:56:13

Kerry V Donegal - 3 Like(s)

Replying To blueshirt1:  "So mcbrearty, murphy and McHugh are yere reserve team at the end, only for them ye would have lost the game by a fair amount. We on the other hand were missing our first choice midfielders from the start, moran and barry, our main back, crowly and our most experienced and decorated back, young who is only coming back after a long term injury not to mention a former footballer of the year, james o Donoghue, think yere selfs lucky, oh and another ps. we have a fair more talent coming down the line for next year when no doubt we will be bumping heads."
Plenty more coming in Donegal too I can tell you. Maybe next time when not down to the bare bones we can let Michael Murphy loose more in an attacking sense. So won't be thanking ourselves lucky but thanks for the advice.

panamasam (National) - 23/07/2019 21:24:57

All Ireland U21 Football Championship - 3 Like(s)
I would also argue that if the Donegal lads were wearing different colours and from a different province would we be getting the same rhetoric. Amazing that a team who scores a combined 6-34 in 2 games are accused of not being great to watch. At least they cannot be accused of having old legs and too much mileage on the clocks.

panamasam (National) - 11/04/2017 14:42:54

Under 20S - 3 Like(s)

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Mmm, thought for 40 minutes Donegal completely dominated and had they got a goal it would have been curtains. The second Monaghan goal was a real momentum changer, followed by 3 quick points. The point you make about recent minor success is spot on, gave them the belief to come back. Underage success did play a part. Referee did us no harm either in second half. Would not be too hard on your lads, good all round team, we dodged a bullet there in all honesty. Down U 20s are not Down seniors, and as previous posters have said we can't afford a repeat first half performance like that next week. Good to see a tradition of attacking half backs continue in the County, crucial scores came off them."
I think we can put all analysis aside after the tragic news that emerged this morning. A truly sad day for anyone with an interest in Ulster GAA. My condolences to Ogie's family, friends and teammates. Absolutely devastating. RIP.

panamasam (Monaghan) - 17/07/2021 13:04:48

Larry Mccarthy Takes Over As GAA President - 3 Like(s)
Missed a trick in not getting Burns in whom certainly would have taken on those elephants in the room which is why he ultimately failed getting the desired backing. Good luck to McCarthy don't much about him but hoping he is an improvement on Horan which shouldn't be hard which says what I thought of him.

panamasam (National) - 02/03/2021 00:05:32

Ulster Championship - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ballboy101:  "No one is saying that he didn't make a massive contribution to donegal gaa. He was brilliant as mc Guinness' assistant but he just wasn't at it in terms of being the main man. Said it before on here, he was excellent at setting up a team but did not have the ability to counter in game changes, which cost us in ulster finals. The one against tyrone in particular showed how mickey got his tactics wrong but was able to rectify them. Rory never had a plan B. I'd also suggest he surrounded himself with the wrong people on the line as no one seemed to be able to read the game the way it should have been. And it will be interesting to see what happens if donegal do storm into a lead, how will fermanagh react? And my last point, pointing out faults of a manager that we pay a lot of money to go see is not having a go, it's part and parcel of football debate, we could be completely wrong but fans are entitled to opinions. And that's what people come to sites like this for!"
Excellent post. I think people have every right to express their opinions when paying out alot of money going to games. Most people here will know I was never a fan of RG after the 2015 campaign. At the same time I have no malice or especially bitterness towards the man and will always be grateful for his role within the set ups of 2011 and especially 2012. But as pointed out above there was never a plan B with Rory and the excuse of 'tired legs' after an Ulster campaign never sat well with me after defeats outside of Ulster. When you look at a team like Mayo and their age profile this was shown to be what it was bull. He has made a fine start to things with Fermanagh and I wish him well there. But in saying that I will be one very happy man next Sunday if Donegal go out and show Rory that Donegal won't be dropping out of the top 10 sides in the country anytime soon. An absolute nonsense statement.

panamasam (Donegal) - 15/06/2018 12:03:39

Donegal V Monaghan - 3 Like(s)
Commiserations to Monaghan supporters you must be wondering how the f**k you didn't win that game. Often looked like ye were playing with the extra man but the efforts of playing with a man down for alot of the game certainly took its toll in the latter stages of the second half. I thought Began was fantastic and my motm despite McCarthy's first half exploits. Also Kearns was excellent when coming on as was McManus who bought a couple of handy ones with his wily old head. Defensively we were an absolute shambles but to get a draw despite feels like a win. In fairness lads stood up in the second half when needed. Often when Murphy and Ryan are nullified Donegal can forget it. However with Murphy off and Ryan having a mare we somehow got a result largely through our forwards. I thought Gallen showed great character in the second half after a poor first half. I thought Langan was probably our motm and MacNilais showed why he needs to be an automatic with getting game time an absolute priority now. While Thompson was poor he still kicked a couple of worldies in clutch situations. I dunno what McGonagle was at not playing Gallen in at the start of the second half but I suppose getting a point in the end might mask poor decision making. Again the quality of refereeing was shocking. Both red cards were not warranted and how Donegal did not have at least one black card was bemusing to say the least.

panamasam (National) - 22/05/2021 20:08:48