Australia Forum

Popular Posts from Torcaill

All Stars - 4 Like(s)
Mayos Durkan is very unlucky not to get one.

Torcaill (National) - 03/11/2016 10:00:05

Kevin McStay Incident With Linesman - 2 Like(s)
McStay, while I have a lot of time for him, had no reason to enter the field of play, let alone act in the manner he did. His previous unblemished record, while note worthy, has no relevance in this instance. He also didn't withdraw himself to allow his "supersub" take his place - he was requested not to patrol the side-line by the match official!!!!

Torcaill (National) - 27/07/2018 08:27:03

Mayo V Donegal and the league in general 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To panamasam:  "Ah here any contact was minimal and on the calf. The big lad (with previous) goes down holding his ribs....it was embarrassing. I am quite content with Mayo winning today as it frees up the U-21's for remainder of their Ulster game so not as if I have chip on my shoulder cause of the result. That was a joke and an embarrassment to the sport. Not so much the officiating side of things esp considering the ref involved."
Striking or attempting to strike is a red. He got what he deserved and no point crying that O'Shea went down easy - if the boot didn't fly he would have no need to go down.

Torcaill (National) - 03/04/2017 08:29:57

Mayo vs Clare - 2 Like(s)

Replying To 890202:  "They deal with cynical "play" not off the ball incidents"
Not totally right either. To threaten or to use abusive or provocative language or gestures to an opponent or teammate. To remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a Match Official.. Both hardly cynical?? To deliberately pull down an opponent. To deliberately trip an opponent with hand(s),arm, leg or foot Neither has to be on the ball to incur the black card!!!

Torcaill (National) - 09/07/2017 08:58:04

Introducing The Mark - 2 Like(s)

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Couldn't make it to Breffni today for the Tyrone vs Cavan but listening to it on the radio. The ref has made 3 errors regarding the mark already. Commentators going mad, called it a joke. How are the other games going regarding the mark?"
Perhaps the commentators don't really know what the rule is. Wouldn't be the first time!!!!

Torcaill (National) - 08/01/2017 17:16:33

THAT Wexford goal - 1 Like(s)

Replying To perfect10:  "It understandable that refs bring their own umpires for club games but surely for inter-county games surely the umpires must have some minimum qualification i.e. have proper eyesight to begin with......... county man (Limerick) - Posts:891 - 03/07/2016 21:57:30 1875690 i have long said that every umpire should have to do a test in croke park and only the best should be on the post for big games.it is fine in croke park as they have the backup of hawk eye but there was a disputed point in the cork game where the linesman said it was a point. that could have mattered so much. a test,with hawkeye to verify their competence,pay them the same as referees,would change a lot."
. Pay them the same as refs - refs are not paid!!! 50c a mile for travel expenses and a vouched meal allowance for himself and umpires. It's all about team work, and the top refs will be used to working with his team week in week out, both at county and club fixtures. Yes, there will be mistakes made. Yes, they will be pulled up on them. Might even be requested to consider giving one of his umpires a leave of absence. These guys are brought to seminars, advised how to perform their duties, and are continuously part of the referees overall assessment. And for what? A meal after the match!!! You don't have a mad rush of people giving up their time to umpire at club level, never mind nearly the entire day to travel the length of the country for do the posts at a division 4 hurling or football match. Yes mistakes are made, some of which could have been avoidable. How many video replays does it normally take to get the TV pundits agreement on these issues? What player or manager doesn't make a mistake during the course of a game?

Torcaill (National) - 05/07/2016 13:12:31

7 minutes extra time? - 1 Like(s)

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "There was a new directive with regards added on time this year but only has being enforced from quarters on. 20 seconds per sub so that's four minutes. Hard not to see where seven comes from. There was extra couple minutes added on to seven because of hold up in added on time. The standard one at ht and three at ft was always the same regardess of what happened before hand."
There is no set time to be added for subs. Referees are instructed to add on whatever time is lost for each substitution and incidental delay / time wasting.

Torcaill (National) - 20/09/2016 09:07:45

New Kick Out Rule Change - 1 Like(s)

Replying To arsebiscuits:  "As already stated by myself and other posters; the current kickout requires kickouts to be taken from the 13m and only must pass the 20m line (minimum of 7meters) so far it has not been clarified how far the ball must travel or if it must be played forward."
As shaggy has stated, the rule book is clear in stating that the ball must travel 13m before being played by a team mate. This rule has not been changed!!

Torcaill (National) - 26/11/2018 22:02:13

Castlebar players forced to jump wall to get to pitch - 1 Like(s)

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "well was that retaliation in the FBD fiasco? the game could have been called off much earlier, interesting"
They could have but then you would have people complaining if the pitch was playable at 2.

Torcaill (National) - 08/01/2018 11:28:27

Westmeath v Armagh - 1 Like(s)

Replying To s goldrick:  "I read where Jamie Clarke got a BLACK card after only 15 seconds for pulling back an opponent. This must be a record for the fastest black card ever. were you at the match ?, was it deserved ? . seems very harsh to be carded after 15 seconds."
Is there a different rule book for the first minute of play?

Torcaill (National) - 09/07/2017 09:03:01

Egg on James Horans face - 1 Like(s)
In fairness, not too many felt any different in their views on the probably result. Hindsight is a great thing.

Torcaill (National) - 19/06/2016 08:38:43

Diarmuid O Connor - 1 Like(s)

Replying To beidhmeanseo:  "Its actually if youre sent of twice in a season your ban get doubled..."
Again not totally correct. You have to be sent off for a repeat of the same infraction to have your suspension doubled. "Repeat Infraction" in the Section of Rule above means a second or subsequent occurrence of any Misconduct at Games by Players Infraction in the same Category within a 48-week period (or 96 week period in the case of a Category VI Infraction). In relation to Categories I, III and IV, only an Infraction committed in the same Code and at the same Level as the previous occurrence shall constitute a Repeat Infraction. In relation to Categories V and VI, a second occurrence shall constitute a Repeat Infraction irrespective of the Code or Level of the previous occurrence. Diarmuid was sent off on a double yellow in the league and that is a different infraction so doubling the suspension is not permitted in this instance.

Torcaill (National) - 24/05/2018 07:55:56

Desperate Ticket Sales for Dubs Laois - 1 Like(s)

Replying To cuederocket:  "Absolutely correct tearintohim.I'm glad i made the decision to stay away from this game the minute the fixture was announced.Laois were shafted and the football hating cats wont be getting any cream from me.Turkey shoot and spending bonanza in the Marble city.Have we all lost our marbles?"
It was a Dublin delegate who proposed the venue at the Leinster Board meeting and put to a vote. What's all the fuss about? Laois wanted the home venue, didn't get it, was put to a vote and awarded to Nolan Park.

Torcaill (National) - 03/06/2016 17:10:39

Mayo vs Clare - 1 Like(s)

Replying To 890202:  "5 reasons in the rules to give black cards. These must happen during play. Off the ball incidents are dealt with in a separate section. So let's see, was it: 1. Deliberate body colide? No 2. Deliberate trip? No 3. Deliberate pull down? No 4. Verbal abuse to opponent or team mate? No 5. Remonstrating with match official? No Referee bottled it, like he bottled giving the clare wing back a 2nd yellow earlier in the game for a high tackle once he realised he was already on a yellow"
You are incorrect when you say that these infractions must take place in open play - they don't!!!

Torcaill (National) - 08/07/2017 22:19:55

Scrap the black card now - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "It is a hard job and listen to lot of people on sideline that do not know the rules .now on your point if I have bad game am told by the man that is over us and I have seen refs been moved down ladder for bad games and some never get back up to top level again in my county .now I got moved down once came back up and had no issues really since .but I hate black card and stick by that I reffed a reserve league tonight both teams only had 17 and I could have black carded six but give yellows and reserve football most of them are just out for bit of craic our footballers that struggle to get on first teams . Also in senior football play has gone so quick and a tackle lads are throwing themselves to ground but I gave black card one day in senior and crowd shouted for red as they thought it was professional foul , there is no professional foul in gaa ,but you have other things lot of people do not even know what foot block is ."
This is an example of some of the problems out there. You say that you should have given 6 black cards but didn't because of lack of playing numbers. That should not be your concern. Apply the rules that are there, makes no difference whether you like them or not. Do you not think that after the first incident in which a black card should have been given, and you gave it, that players might think twice about carrying out these infractions again?

Torcaill (National) - 15/06/2016 13:31:54

Diarmuid O Connor - 1 Like(s)

Replying To witnof:  "Haven't heard anything but it has to be atleast 3 months, it was bad"
How do you arrive at 3 months?? These are game based suspensions now and if reported for striking he will get 1 game and if reported for inflicting an injury recklessly he will get 2 games. This is increased if he has been reported for the same infraction in the last year.

Torcaill (National) - 23/05/2018 11:44:16

Dublin v Meath - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "I understand where your coming from but Burke is not a dirty our nasty player I reffed him many times"
It makes no difference if he is not a dirty or nasty player during the times you reffed him. He is to be judged of each particular incident while on the pitch, and in this instance he was dirty and nasty and should have seen red. You, as a ref, should know that too.

Torcaill (National) - 27/06/2016 09:27:53

Another referee making up the rules - 1 Like(s)

Replying To keeper7:  "Care to quote that rule please? Sounds ridiculous & totally unenforceable!"
2.1 The Referee, facing the players, starts the game and restarts it after half-time, by throwing in the ball between two players from each team, who shall stand one behind the other in their own defensive sides of the half-way line. All other players shall be in their respective positions behind the 45m lines.

Torcaill (National) - 22/05/2017 13:21:11

Tickets Controversy - 1 Like(s)

Replying To MuineachanAbu:  "I see Galway and Clare supporters are livid that tickets for the replay are only being sold online and in Supervalu/Centra. I really don't see what the issue is and in fact, I believe this access to tickets should be the way it is for every game. The county boards always hand select who in the club/county get the good seats. The county board should get a small allocation for players etc. and the remainder should go on general sale online and in the stores. Anyone else agree?"
No - agree fully that club members who work all year with their clubs should be looked after.

Torcaill (National) - 30/07/2018 17:21:53

New Kick Out Rule Change - 1 Like(s)
Ball always had to travel 13m on the kick out before it can be played by a player on the defending team. An attacking player could play it once he was 13m away when the kick was taken. This has not changed.

Torcaill (National) - 26/11/2018 11:15:32