Australia Forum

Popular Posts from keithlemon

Disingenuous, Disgusting, Odious, Nasty!! - 7 Like(s)

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "McKenna is a polarising figure. On the one hand, his work on Dublin GAA and their finances is incredible. Well researched. Meticulous detail. Articulate. And of course, spot on. I challenge any Dub fan on here to read one of his many articles about your finances and dispute what he says. Hint - you won't be able to. However he also comes across as a sensationalist attention seeker on other issues, namely rugby. And now of course, this tweet about Lowry."
hahahaha nice try Ewan

keithlemon (National) - 22/07/2019 17:14:26

Is Dublin's Success False, Tarnished And Bought? - 6 Like(s)
Dublins success is not false, tarnished, bought or anything else. As others have said I do believe there is an imbalance in the funding operated at Games Development over the last 15 years and it is absolutely a factor in Dublins current success. How much of a factor, who can say. How do you measure such a factor exactly. For all the valid arguments MacKenna raises, he is also there to sell papers. He's been banging this drum for quite some time and its no coincidence that he's produced 2 articles in the space of 48 hours on the exact same thing to maximise his exposure right now. Its controversial so it works. Others have disputed his figures which he has never provided an adequate response on, not in my view anyway. His base argument is correct though, there has been an unfair distribution of the games development funding. I do find it disingenuous for him to label it Financial Doping. This insinuates cheating. He is more or less copying and pasting his original piece on this from 2 years ago to his latest articles yet funding numbers have changed (to an extent) even though Dublins success hasn't. He has concentrated solely on these monies and yet he's never tackled all the money issues in the GAA such as payments to managers, players or funding from outside parties. To me it smacks of someone with an agenda. I know he'd say its just the facts, but its not presenting ALL the facts nor the context in which some exist.

keithlemon (National) - 05/09/2018 14:58:19

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I have tried the best I can to explain things but either I am not doing it well or some Dublin supporters are in a perpetual state of victimhood. Bit of both probably."
And yet you've used a term like 'rigged' and, similar to Jim McGuinness, you've suggested that there should be an asterisk beside their titles won. I'm all for open debate on these matters but surely you can see that Dubs just might take some quotes like these as having a pop at them. Currently on twitter you have other well known journalists stating such 'facts' as that only 6 of the starting team on Saturday, started game one of 2015, therefore this isn't a once in a generation team. Call me mad but using such logic between a Leinster Quarter final and a 2nd round Super 8's game (with all to play for) is a little bit disingenuous to make such a point. If you applied the same logic to the great Kilkenny team of the previous decade, they had quite a few differences between say game 1 of 2006 to the AI final in 2009. Would anyone class that Kilkenny team and the conveyor belt of talent that came through them in the same period as not a once in a generation team? Nothing bitter about a fact. But when you pick arbitrary facts out of the air like that, on a consistent basis, then yeah, I think people are going to start thinking you're having a pop at them.

keithlemon (National) - 23/07/2018 11:18:48

Bringing Children To Games - 5 Like(s)
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/80-to-bring-a-16weekold-baby-to-the-allireland-final-tyrone-fan-slams-bizarre-gaa-ticket-policy-37211641.html What do other posters think of this story doing the rounds? Maybe I'm in the minority here but I honestly don't know why you would bring a child of that age to a game. I've brought nephews and nieces from 5 years old and up knowing full well that they'd be bored in 5 minutes but wanted to see how they'd take to it. But 16 weeks old!! Is this just another weak news article aimed to have a pot shot at the GAA? We had the breastfeeding story not so long ago along with random other mild complaint stories around delays, venue selection etc. I know Irish people like to moan but giving out about having to pay for a ticket to bring a 16 week old baby is nuts. For one the child will not understand what is going on at all, the noise at a football match, especially an All Ireland final would be very daunting for any child especially one that young. Maybe don't go to the game and then you won't be hit with the burden of paying money for a ticket. Maybe I'm being a tad cynical but is this lady getting the story out there to fish for free entry for the child come All Ireland final day?

keithlemon (National) - 14/08/2018 09:13:53

Connelly/Holmes - 5 Like(s)
Just reading Ronan McGarrity's comments in the Indo today, I'm not surprised that he's supporting the players as he was one himself but to say that Holmes / Connelly should have just kept quiet is ridiculous. Why shouldn't Holmes / Connelly be allowed to come out and have their say? People say it's doing Mayo football no favours, since when did calling a strike and giving county boards ultimatums do anyone any favours? The players created this situation, not Connelly and Holmes. I don't want to be giving Mayo GAA people a dig here because we all know how good a team they are and how close they've been in recent seasons to finally land the big one. We've had loads of posts and threads this season with people taking cheap shots at Mayo supporters who I think are really good skin. I don't have a bad word to say about any I've met in Croke park, but I dare say that a lot of Mayo people are really disappointed with the players here. I hope for Stephen Rochfords sake that he doesn't fall off that tight rope, like the players in that squads trust, it would appear to be a very thin line. Surely he's got to be worried about his own back here, what happens the next time he faces a big call, how does that play with the rest of the team or the group that got the last guy kicked out. If they're airing grievances about not getting on a tv show, or going the wrong way around a town to a match or getting fed 15 minutes late because mass went long, he's got to be thinking, what else can they get me sacked for??

keithlemon (National) - 20/12/2016 09:52:32

Cork should lodge complaint - 5 Like(s)

Replying To KK1926:  "I suppose it's not unusual for brothers to speak/write alike. Anyway you're using it as a deflection from criticism of another of your wonderful threads. Trying to bring in the Master with you? Can't fight your own battles? Why wouldn't i be interested in a Mayo thread on a national forum? I played as much gaelic football as hurling. Jack Sparrow, i suggest you go back to your nest, you left it too soon."
Now how would you know who the Master is if you've only been on this board a couple of weeks? The Master was last seen on the grassy knoll in Dealey Plaza wearing his Justice For The 96 t-shirt

keithlemon (National) - 23/07/2017 16:18:30

Confess Your Really Unpopular View/Opinion - 4 Like(s)
1. The provincials are dead. The current league format would be a far superior format for a championship than playing teams off in an antiquated knockout style format, grouped by a line on a map. 2. Nostalgia is such a boring trait in both the GAA and Irish life. The 'member berry' brigade need to move on and start accepting change. How many times can you hear the same stories about the same matches over and over!!

keithlemon (National) - 23/02/2018 15:01:39

Jimmy speaking sense again - 4 Like(s)
Yeah really enjoyed that article Lockjaw. Would anyone be against all the sponsorship money generated from all counties to be pooled together so that all counties can benefit? As Jim says, every kid throughout the country should have as much chance to excel in the sport. They might not necessarily win an All Irelands but they'll be able to say that I got to compete with as much chance as the next lad. In my opinion, that shouldn't be restricted to football, hurling and camogie too.

keithlemon (National) - 05/09/2017 11:50:02

The pinnacle of cute Kerry h***r*sm - 4 Like(s)
God forbid that we stay on point when Kerry's finances are put under the microscope. Imagine being a chairman of Wicklow, Leitrim or Fermanagh county boards and reading that email from GAA - "give us €5k so we can help fund a centre of excellence in Tralee" and answering "Yes I will because Dublin get all the other money" Isn't this your argument Hermit??

keithlemon (National) - 19/01/2018 16:11:57

2019 State Aid Free Championship - 4 Like(s)
Is it true that they do Financial Doping tests on players after matches? I think they turn players upside down and shake them until they see any notes come out. I heard Seanie Johnston had to get a Securicor van home when he tested positive :-)

keithlemon (National) - 03/07/2019 16:58:30

Kildare Maintain Underage Superiority In Leinster - 4 Like(s)
Genuine question, would Kildare prefer an extra 1 million over the next 10 years to be pumped into GDO's throughout the county or have Jim Gavin as manager for say 5 years?

keithlemon (National) - 08/07/2019 13:52:25

Bringing Children To Games - 4 Like(s)
I probably am being too cynical Jackeen and I get the ridiculousness of the fact that if she were to purchase the ticket it leaves an empty seat. I don't want this post to be deemed anit-woman or anything like that, I just want to open a discussion around this. Would you bring a child of that age to the opera or go to an over 18s horror film? I can't for the life of me understand why you would entertain going to a game with a child of that age knowing it will need constant care and attention along with being breast fed. Why not just sit this one out and enjoy the game from the comfort of your home? I don't want to be telling people what to do, but surely logic has to come into this argument somewhere

keithlemon (National) - 14/08/2018 10:56:08

Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown! - 4 Like(s)
I'm pretty sure someone from Tyrone started that whole thing!!

keithlemon (National) - 16/09/2019 11:20:30

Connolly Returns - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "There's a few (some amongst our own) that have to stop believing that Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot He spoke honestly to the media on the Connolly issue and was deemed to be playing the politician and spinning things.. Some folk really don't have a clue about the man"
Absolutely jimbo, the man just doesn't play the media game. I think that frustrates sports journalists because he doesn't give them any great insight, but he doesn't have to. He keeps his own council. He doesn't seek the limelight, all the success is for the team. Amazing manager I thought that was a lovely touch where he rang Roy Curtis' mam in the hospice to say that Connolly was back just like he promised he would tell her the last time he was in to see her

keithlemon (National) - 17/07/2019 09:18:32

Boycott Leinster Championship 2020 - 4 Like(s)
Hows the boycott going lads? Anyone taking bets on whether there'll be a boycott or not?

keithlemon (National) - 02/07/2019 14:20:09

Disingenuous, Disgusting, Odious, Nasty!! - 4 Like(s)
I notice that he seems to delete quite a lot of his more sensational tweets. Apparently he got burned for comments he made over a radio interview around the cricket last week. The presenter of said radio show put him on the spot and asked for the evidence, when he couldn't provide it, he just deleted all his tweets I also spotted that he was the number 1 Irish sports journalist that tweets in terms of volume, on average he tweets 94 times a day!!! 94!!! Too much time on his hands. According to some on twitter, he monitors message boards like this one to pick up on things being discussed, takes up all the best points and regurgitates them. He even was supposedly caught using multiple identities on another message board and got caught when responding. So no doubt he's probably having a read of this thread

keithlemon (National) - 22/07/2019 16:20:28

Keep The Dubs Fans Happy - 4 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Very true Some very strange looking thumbing going on It stands out very blatantly"
Probably all your usernames jimbo doing this Oh no wait, that would mean I did this to you as well I mean, I did this to me!!! Some people have too much time on their hands

keithlemon (National) - 30/07/2019 11:19:39

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 4 Like(s)

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Trust me, trust me I'm a doctor! Jack McCaffrey reminds me of Dr. Bob from the Muppets, similar hair style."
Muppet jokes in 2019 And I thought I was old

keithlemon (National) - 25/07/2019 15:47:38

Just in case you doubted the Anti Dublin felings.. - 4 Like(s)
Does 06/07 really count as a REAL back to back? They didn't win their province in 06 so it takes a lot off that achievement Everytime they went for that REAL back to back, the team of the decade beat them, beat them with ease really

keithlemon (National) - 05/01/2017 13:19:50

Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President - 4 Like(s)

Replying To oneoff:  "You would know a lot about carrying out poor resurch to be fair"
Has jimbo done something recently that was badly researched that you, with 36 posts a relative newcomer to the site, has already noticed?? Do tell

keithlemon (National) - 25/07/2019 16:33:12