Australia Forum

Popular Posts from dakid

Open Letter To R.T.E. - 9 Like(s)

Replying To DermotTrellis:  "Open Letter to R.T.E. Dear Joanne, This is the sixth time I have sat down to pen this missive and I still haven't found the words to describe the anger I feel towards your panelist Anthony Daly. Daly's comments with regard to Gerry O' Connor's actions in Cusack Park on Sunday last were among the worst I've seen from any R.T.E. pundit. To those of you who didn't witness the Daly's heinous condonation of violence, Daly suggested that O' Connor's man-handling of Daniel Kearney was justified in that it got the Clare supporters and player's going. His quip that 'Maybe this is exactly what Clare needed', made my blood boil. And Daly's justification for this? Who knows? Probably some rubbish about it being a tough week for Clare hurling, about how a county that worked so hard to build a winning tradition in the nineties were being dragged back into the pre-Loughnane days, how many Clare players were the subject of pernicious personal attacks on social media in the week leading up to the match, how Clare hurling had become a spittoon for any lowlife who wanted to aim a hurling hocker at a county that had two bad games. etc. All hogwash. How dare Daly take pride in his fellow county man attempting to rile up the crowd in Cusack Park? I would like to compliment you for your brave riposte- 'Just because it gets the players fired up doesn't make it right'. The disdainful, politically correct look you then threw at Daly left him in no doubt that savage parochialism and pride in one's county is no longer tolerated on our airwaves. Kudos to you Joanne. So why Joanne, wasn't Daly pushed out the door along with Messers. Loughnane and Farrell?.The latter two should have been got rid of years ago. Their humorous anecdotes, easy manners and sense of humors were an affront to the G.A.A. public. The new batch of pundits are much more engaging. ( With the exception of Daly of course). On Sunday's, I usually have a tipple while watching the pre-match analysis. And what better accompaniment to my whiskey on the rocks than the monotone-voices of Tyrell and co? I can pay no bigger compliment to them than say I have often fallen asleep listening to their explanations regarding the new role of the inter-county sweeper. I heard from a reliable source during the week that one pundit was offered a contract by a sleep therapy company recently to be the voice of a new teddy bear that will help children who suffer from insomnia to sleep. R.T.E. must ensure that pundit is not lured away. Daly's change of heart at half-time was refreshing. Fair play to you Joanne or to whoever scolded him for his actions. I watched with pleasure as both Daly and McGrath blushed like to schoolboys and muttered some rubbish about the actions being unacceptable. Nothing like reminding someone that their job is on the line to get them to change their tune heh? They love their traditional music in Clare and it is now high time Daly danced to the tune of political correctness. Kind regards, D.Trellis P.S. Please inform Marty Morrissey that he doesn't have to remind us that Aidan Walsh and Eoin Cadogan are former dual players at five minute intervals . P.P.S. I have enclosed masking tape which can you use to muzzle Daly the next time he gets riled up."
Dear Dermot, Buy yourself a diary

dakid (National) - 17/06/2019 20:28:29

Championship Team - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I think you're destined to beat cork. Could you get kerry in the super 8's?"
Was just discussing this last night in the pub with my Dublin pals, only had 4 pints. Bit like yerselves

dakid (Westmeath) - 24/06/2019 13:54:00

Leinster Football Championship - 5 Like(s)

Replying To royaldunne:  "Last meeting was 9234. 65000 at Meath v Offaly (closer to 8k ) but sure we will leave it at that. Carlow will come"
65000 at Meath Offaly ? Was it played in the Maracana?

dakid (National) - 14/05/2019 12:21:26

Is David Clifford The Best Footballer In The Country Right Now? - 5 Like(s)

Replying To sligo joe:  "Just one point regarding multiple C. O'C type players, maybe just have a look at a point he scored against Roscommon in the Q/Fs this year, coming out from goal at speed he caught a 40 metre pass above his head, the rossie defender came under him from behind forcing him to land on his heels at 45 degrees, wonderfully kept his balance, leaned into the defender with his left shoulder, spun on his left foot, and slapped it over the bar, just a composite of the array of skills this guy has coming together in one play. If you believe there are multiple players around that would even attempt to execute a score like this never mind achieve it perfectly, names on a page please, you won't need much paper. By the way Clifford is a super talent. Con is the best forward on the best team in the land and not one of many equals playing with numerous counties now or in the next 5 years."
So Con scored a point against Roscommon you liked? That is the most romanticized description of a single score I've ever seen.

dakid (National) - 24/10/2019 15:48:57

Kerry V Tyrone. - 4 Like(s)

Replying To hamsterdean:  "Jason Foley gets away with a lot of pushing his marker when opposition player has ball in hand.referee need clamp down on him."
Mammy will leave your lunch and schoolbag on the kitchen table

dakid (National) - 10/02/2020 23:05:05

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 4 Like(s)
Meath are getting closer to double figure scores against the Dubs! Keep going lads, you're a whisker away from 10 points

dakid (National) - 21/11/2020 20:56:24

Meath V Dublin Leinster Final. - 4 Like(s)
Ahh the annual Meath delusion in the run up to a Dublin game is back. Enjoy it lads and hope to see ye back on earth next week.

dakid (National) - 17/11/2020 09:16:23

Dubs Back In Parnell Park? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To TheUsername:  "No Kingdomboy, no capital grants were given to Kerry last in 2019. You need to read the accounts. Though 13 million was given by the ISC and Munster & GAA in the preceding financial years, inclusive of additional GAA and Munster allocations for Currans COE and the Sports Campus in Tralee."
Aye that's me, Kingdom Boy loves posting on the Westmeath forum. Yer man Kingdom Boy must own every account on Hogan Stand at this stage.

dakid (National) - 20/08/2020 10:09:47

Westmeath Hurling thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "Wexford by 15-20 points on Saturday evening, a few pictures with the Joe Dolan statue afterwards."
Did ya get the few pictures after ?

dakid (National) - 15/05/2022 10:11:49

Hoganstand To Go Into Meltdown! - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Fionn:  "As I posted about this on another topic - this was started by those kerry lads - they were only a few feet away from us and were giving it loads from the start of the game. Dublin fans asked to stewards to calm them down but nothing was done. Game ended - the slagging started as the were leaving and they lost the plot. Lets just say they were very lucky they were in the section they were - full of older Dublin fans and families, otherwise if would have been a lot worse for them. Dubs showed huge restraint except one guy who should not have reacted. Gardai and stewards were told about them at least 5 times before this happened and no intervention was forthcoming. Do you not think kerry fans were have been shouting from the roof tops if the Dubs had started it.....??? People are very quick to throw dirt without knowing first at whom the dirt should be thrown at...."
The Gospel according to Fionn. Sure you wouldn't have an agenda

dakid (National) - 16/09/2019 16:26:55

Kerry National League 2020 - 3 Like(s)

Replying To avonali:  "Jesus things must be bad in Healy Rae land if ye are takling pleasure in a 3rd string team getting beaten by Longford. God love ye,,,,ID."
A dub patrolling the Kerry forum, but of course it's the Kerry people that are obsessed.

dakid (Kerry) - 12/01/2020 22:09:31

Mayo V Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Condorman:  "Spillane is so biased it's untrue.Mayo were rubbish yesterday and would have lost to any of the other Super 8 teams. Dubs hit 5-18 in a great exhibition of open football and he say SFA about it."
You've just accused someone of being bias and then launched straight into your own Dublin bias. Hilarious

dakid (National) - 15/07/2019 16:36:48

Kerry V Donegal - 3 Like(s)

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "A couple of very cranky Kerry lads on here this morning. It was a great game & a draw was a fair enough result. Yes we can debate a few things but no need to go all Jimbo on it."
Ahh to be fair to the Kerry lads it's hard to keep calm when posters like catch22 spout utter anti Kerry nonsense.

dakid (National) - 22/07/2019 15:31:09

Houses In Order? - 3 Like(s)

Replying To republicofcloone:  "It's bizarre but the most vociferous of defenders of Dublin on here appear to come from other Leinster counties. Counties the Dublin juggernaut have pummeled into irrelevance. It's a touch of Stockholm syndrome I think. Never mind the team spending. Check out the sponsorship and how much their county board have to fundraise each year, minimal amounts compared to other boards including your own who have to constantly fundraise to keep teams on the road. Why on earth would Croke Park do them favours. How much funding did Croke Park give any county in the 90s?"
It's generally the same posters making accounts to make their opinions look popular. People tend to follow the popular opinion so by upvoting their own opinions people gravitate towards that. Several obvious instances. There's a Cavan poster, Breffini something, who only appears to defend Dublin but is absent on Cavan topics and the Cavan county forum. Lilylanger is another example.

dakid (National) - 02/03/2021 15:41:18

The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices - 3 Like(s)

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Knew the culchies would be upset by this ;) Anyway one thing I've noticed on here is the amount of kerry posters that constantly moan and try to discredit this teams achievements. The big bad dubs are here to stay lads the GAA is finished bla bla bla... Doomsday merchants. You can just tell they are hurting big time. They can't stand this Dublin teams success!! Wasn't a peep out of them when we were winning nothing. Sure they loved us... And why wouldn't they... Considering we are their biggest rival in GAA yet failed to beat them in championship football in 30 years. Along comes a golden generation of Dublin footballers and they haven't beaten us this decade... So of course it must be the money. Just like the excuses they rolled out when they couldn't get a win over Tyrone in the noughties, too rough that Tyrone side they said. Very sore losers that lot ;)"
You "knew the culchies would be upset by this". You mean every person not from Dublin would be upset by Dublin fans displaying their complete ignorance to the financial benefits they receive. How did you know Nostradamus? The rest of your post is dribble trying to attack Kerry football not realising your disdain for Kerry is pertinent to their success, similar to to many peoples disdain for this current Dublin team.

dakid (National) - 28/06/2019 09:16:39

Gough Speaks Out Against Shamefull Slurs - 3 Like(s)
Shameful Dubs digging into Conor Lanes personal life. Paradox after paradox outta ye.

dakid (National) - 03/12/2019 15:44:20

GAA Funding And Fairness - 3 Like(s)

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Obviously Usernames post was too detailed for you to grasp , went way over your head !"
Why don't you explain it to us poor vacuous folk?

dakid (National) - 05/12/2020 21:07:22

Dublin Vs Kerry Replay - 2 Like(s)

Replying To catch22:  "Them boys are fierce sensative. Great men to dish it out but no good to take it. We'll have the violin out again soon enough I'd say."
Get the dictionary out while you're at it

dakid (National) - 10/09/2019 14:39:06

Off Season Discussions Thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To lilypad:  "my my such bitterness for a legend jesus wept"
Jesus would weep again if he had to listen to you

dakid (Kerry) - 12/01/2020 22:14:12

Best Of This Generation - 2 Like(s)
Does anyone know where the adult forum is? I seem to have stumbled into under 14 forum

dakid (National) - 08/10/2020 13:06:13