Cavan v Carlow

Coming up for the game this Sat lads & just wondering where can i park up around Breffni? Will be my first visit to Cavan Town. Thanks in advance.

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1115 - 04/07/2016 17:48:34    1876307

The meadow view is on the Dublin road near breffni good food and place for a pint

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 04/07/2016 19:21:11    1876386

Replying To fergie:  "Coming up for the game this Sat lads & just wondering where can i park up around Breffni? Will be my first visit to Cavan Town. Thanks in advance."
you have 2 options really:

Look at google maps, I presume you'll be coming in the Dublin road. You'll drive through a roundabout at Liberty Insurance, then hit the Dublin Road Roundabout. You can go straight through that roundabout too and park as close as you can get to the ground, probably your best option.

If it's busy that way, you can go left at the Dublin Road roundabout and join the Ballinagh-Cavan road, then park at Lidl or closer if you can. A lot of Monaghan fans were diverted that way by the Gardai last Saturday but there was 20k+ at that game. Should be a much smaller crowd this week.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 04/07/2016 22:09:28    1876505

Fergie... You will have little trouble finding a parking spot for this one...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 04/07/2016 22:59:53    1876532

Ah you'll be grand Fergie, just come in good time and park as close as you can to Breffni Park on the Dublin road. There will be a small crowd at this game so you'll be able to get quite close, as in, 5/10 minute walk to the stand/terrace. Look out for Tractamotors at the top of the road, and park somewhere below this on the Dublin side.

As for the game, hopefully we'll get a good Carlow crowd up to experience some Cavan hospitality. Would be great to get the banter flowing between the two sets of supporters. We've been kept apart in the draw for too long over the years. I think there are strong natural bonds between the counties.

declando (Cavan) - Posts: 38 - 05/07/2016 07:50:37    1876577

Thanks for the info lads.

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1115 - 05/07/2016 13:35:59    1876785

Right can someone clear this up how much is the admission fee?? Twenty Euro for the stand and fiver for u16s but how much is it for an adult to go on the Terrace cant be twenty euro surely.

pologrounds1947 (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 07/07/2016 17:45:12    1878070

Got tickets in super value Dublin road earlier today. I asked for covered stand and I was told that It's €20 general admission for adults.

BIBS (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 07/07/2016 18:22:38    1878085

Replying To pologrounds1947:  "Right can someone clear this up how much is the admission fee?? Twenty Euro for the stand and fiver for u16s but how much is it for an adult to go on the Terrace cant be twenty euro surely."
Yes €20 general admission for adults. Got my ticket today in super value. I wasn't surprised, I work with a lad from Leitrim and he was in Sligo last weekend for their qualifier and he got a hop when he got to the turnstiles. It was cheaper to go to the terrace for the quarter final against Armagh even if you bought your ticket on match day

BIBS (Cavan) - Posts: 4 - 07/07/2016 18:42:26    1878092

Replying To BIBS:  "Yes €20 general admission for adults. Got my ticket today in super value. I wasn't surprised, I work with a lad from Leitrim and he was in Sligo last weekend for their qualifier and he got a hop when he got to the turnstiles. It was cheaper to go to the terrace for the quarter final against Armagh even if you bought your ticket on match day"
That's unbelievable....but when you have fools that will pay it they might as well charge it....!!!!

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 07/07/2016 20:19:13    1878137

Replying To Sean.66:  "That's unbelievable....but when you have fools that will pay it they might as well charge it....!!!!"
The price of tickets I might remind you has nothing to do with the respective county boards this price is from Central Council

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 07/07/2016 21:20:19    1878167

Replying To Sean.66:  "That's unbelievable....but when you have fools that will pay it they might as well charge it....!!!!"
That either means Sean you are a fool or you won't be at the game or most likely both.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 07/07/2016 21:46:06    1878182

Replying To fredflint:  "That either means Sean you are a fool or you won't be at the game or most likely both."
Fred..Only a fool would pay 20 euro to watch that rubbish and I don't fall into that category but you might...

Sean.66 (Cavan) - Posts: 293 - 07/07/2016 22:42:51    1878226

Replying To Sean.66:  "Fred..Only a fool would pay 20 euro to watch that rubbish and I don't fall into that category but you might..."
It's a free country, don't go then but please try and refrain from commenting on games you don't go to.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 07/07/2016 23:34:08    1878258

Replying To fredflint:  "It's a free country, don't go then but please try and refrain from commenting on games you don't go to."
I'll go to the game because I already bought my ticket. Doubt there's going to be a big crowd so parking won't be a problem. The Imperial main St or the Black Horse main St or the Kilmore Dublin Rd for food .
What do posters think of the team selection? Good to see Faulkner getting back. What is management up to ? Strange one , no Martin Reilly, jack Brady, the latter seems to be out of Terry's favour . Flanagan roasted last day. Is Killian Clarke a forward again ?

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 08/07/2016 08:35:50    1878294

Replying To fredflint:  "It's a free country, don't go then but please try and refrain from commenting on games you don't go to."
I'll go to the game because I already bought my ticket. Doubt there's going to be a big crowd so parking won't be a problem. The Imperial main St or the Black Horse main St or the Kilmore Dublin Rd for food .
What do posters think of the team selection? Good to see Faulkner getting back. What is management up to ? Strange one , no Martin Reilly, jack Brady, the latter seems to be out of Terry's favour . Flanagan roasted last day. Is Killian Clarke a forward again ?

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 08/07/2016 08:38:24    1878295

Very disappointing that no Ulster final appearance but the qualifier draw has been very favourable. If we play to our potential and win our games then Carlow, then Sligo, then Galway or Roscommon could bring us to a AI Quarter Final, which would soften the blow of last weeks defeat. Its very achievable and is probably what the players are aiming for.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 08/07/2016 08:58:12    1878297

Replying To Cluichepeil:  "I'll go to the game because I already bought my ticket. Doubt there's going to be a big crowd so parking won't be a problem. The Imperial main St or the Black Horse main St or the Kilmore Dublin Rd for food .
What do posters think of the team selection? Good to see Faulkner getting back. What is management up to ? Strange one , no Martin Reilly, jack Brady, the latter seems to be out of Terry's favour . Flanagan roasted last day. Is Killian Clarke a forward again ?"
Its Baffling that after conceding such a high score that Management has persisted with one of our best backs at centre half forward!!!!!

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 08/07/2016 09:02:08    1878298

Baffling is the word all right. Killian seems to suffer from the same problem as Damien O'Reilly (1997 vintage) in that he's such a good footballer he can play anywhere so he gets played anywhere. In Damien's case it was everywhere from full back to full forward.

Personally I think he's one of the best if not the best defender we have and the best man marker we have as well (witness the U-21 semi against Dublin a few years ago where Cormac Costello didn't get so much as a kick of a ball against him). Shouldn't be an issue against Carlow but still doesn't make a lot of sense.

cavandub (Cavan) - Posts: 67 - 08/07/2016 09:32:13    1878313

Replying To cavandub:  "Baffling is the word all right. Killian seems to suffer from the same problem as Damien O'Reilly (1997 vintage) in that he's such a good footballer he can play anywhere so he gets played anywhere. In Damien's case it was everywhere from full back to full forward.

Personally I think he's one of the best if not the best defender we have and the best man marker we have as well (witness the U-21 semi against Dublin a few years ago where Cormac Costello didn't get so much as a kick of a ball against him). Shouldn't be an issue against Carlow but still doesn't make a lot of sense."
Come to think of it, it does make sense. Terry came under fire for not bringing on Johnston, changing Killians position and he got keating back in the blue jersey. Keating hasn't performed to date but will have it easy on Saturday, Seanie will kick scores with his eyes closed and killian will at well , and everyone will say how great Terry is ! And the media and supporters will get carried away . No disrespect but if we don't beat Carlow by at least 20 points I'll be shocked . And the problems will be masked again . Club fixtures should go ahead with county players and Terry shod go to as many as he can, forget pandering to those threatening to walk and those who sulk and pick the best 15 and play them in the positions suited to their ability . That's what a good manager does.

Cluichepeil (Cavan) - Posts: 57 - 08/07/2016 12:03:53    1878401