Where to from here

Nice post supermon, and fair play to you lads, was watching yous the other day and I have to say, I was left wondering why can't Cavan play like that? As you say there was little or nothing between us last year. But it is interesting to see that experienced players are stepping up to the plate for you boys. Finlay, Clerkin, Corey etc, these lads look as fresh as ever, but the experience is hard bet. Maybe thats what we're missing right now.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 18/06/2014 14:58:04    1605596

I didn't see what was free flowing from Monaghan on Sunday, it was their defence which was their impressive aspect. Mcmanus and Hughes have some class look lightweight after that in the forwards,Finlay a good sub to bring on

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 18/06/2014 15:24:02    1605606

it was their defence which was their impressive aspect. Mcmanus and Hughes have some class look lightweight after that in the forwards,
We are in no position to talk about light weight forwards !!!

What impressed me was they played as a team and went for it ! I looked at it on the telly and to be honest they could have had Tyrone dead and burried as they had at least two more goal chances.
I sat in the rain in Armagh on that dismal day for both weather and Cavan football and saw a negetive nervous team who were more afraid of loosing than actually winning the game.
Monaghan have pushed on from last year - won promotion to division 1, won the div 2 league title and are in a position for back to back ulster titles.

There was a single point between us last year, now they are miles ahead.
Fair play to them, their experienced players stepped up when they were needed.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2014 15:53:28    1605629

They beat Donegal fairly comfortable in the League final, but Donegal were after coming back from a week of hard training in Portugal and were more focused on Derry in the prelimanary round. I doubt Donegal would be as flat as they were last year should both sids reach the Ulster final this year.Injuries from the club championship affected Donegal last year hence why they have held back the start of the championship until Donegal are finished in the championship this year.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 18/06/2014 16:23:34    1605641

Miles ahead? Did you forget Cavan were missing 4 regulars from last year against Armagh.

Armagh were seeking revenage as soon as the draw was made last October, Cavans focus was on promotion and then the championship. they are a not bad team and will put it up to Monaghan

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 18/06/2014 16:45:46    1605654

Let it go FoolsGold- you're starting to sound a bit jealous of the neighbours! Time for the Cavan men to stop looking over the ditch tidy up our own side!

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 18/06/2014 16:50:24    1605656

FoolsGold

Miles ahead? Did you forget Cavan were missing 4 regulars from last year against Armagh.

Armagh were seeking revenage as soon as the draw was made last October, Cavans focus was on promotion and then the championship. they are a not bad team and will put it up to Monaghan

looks like I hit a nerve there !!!
We did well to get promoted by as that was our goal it looked like we had no interest in pushing on - promotion achieved lads, job done ,thats our ambition this year !!!
I can tell you this much, looking at them in the league final in Croke park and in the rain in Armagh, it certainly looked that way.
No bite, no fight, no appetite for battle. Its my opinion on what I saw

As for missing 4 regulars from last year v Armagh - big deal - Every team has players missing - you are looking for excuses now !! I thought we had a panel !!We even had Garoid back
Truth is we were poor - poor in the league final and poor in Armagh
We gave Monaghan a run in the semi last year and were afraid to play against Kerry when we got to the quarter finals.
Our neighbours on the other hand showed a bit of bottle. Despite the set back in the early part of the league, they went on to win the div 2 title, win ulster, win the div 2 final beating Donegal once more. They now have the Tyrone monkey off their back and I hope they do back to back title wins and get a decent run this year as they deserve it.
Derby games are generally close but in reality we are miles behind them this year in bottle, appetite, ambition and hard work not to mention attitude, savvy and manegerial tactics.

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 18/06/2014 17:03:33    1605663

No the year didnt all depend on promotion, but thats what the players wanted and managment firsty. Ronan Flanagan made it clear at the start of the year he intented to go travelling after the league as the aim was to get Cavan up to Div 2

As for any teams can cope without 4 players. Do you think Cavan would have progressed as well as they did last year without Mackey? Alright saying Cavan have a big panel, a lot of inexperienced players on it and some maybe not up to it.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 18/06/2014 17:27:22    1605670

FoolsGold

I didn't see what was free flowing from Monaghan on Sunday, it was their defence which was their impressive aspect. Mcmanus and Hughes have some class look lightweight after that in the forwards,Finlay a good sub to bring on

Never mentioned anything about Free flowing football? And if Monaghan look lightweight in the forwards, then we are threadbare! How many forwards do you need in the modern game? 2 out and out scorers and ball winners is usually enough (McFadden and Murphy, case in point) which Monaghan have in McManus and Hughes, but they're surrounded by others who can get scores, Finlay can swing them over, Darren Hughes can hit them, Malone etc.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 18/06/2014 17:29:06    1605674

I know we look poor in attack, but since the discussion was about Monaghan i mentioned them. Donegal also have Paddy McBrearty. If Monaghan got an injury to McManus could they cope ,who knows. #Honthefarneyarmy

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 18/06/2014 17:54:47    1605689

Well word is tommy freeman is back training so hopefully that will add a bit of razzmatazz to our forwards. McManus, K Hughes and T Freeman up front sounds ok to me.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 18/06/2014 20:53:26    1605779

i see Givney has transferred clubs. Big blow for Mountnugent as they appear to be struggling in div 2

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 19/06/2014 10:01:14    1605857