Carlow Forum

O' Byrne Cup 2013

(Oldest Posts First) - Go To The Latest Post

Maybe Im stupid and dont understand modern day tactics but if Carlow are to make any progress they must get some pace into their game. Ive been observing this method for the last 3 years and it aint workin. The only strategy appears to be to win frees and hope Foley and Leger will convert them. Jesus lads that is not good enough. One more point is that there are prob. 10 players currently in panel who are not fit for inter. football let alone senior inter. co.

pennypincher (Carlow) - Posts: 777 - 14/01/2013 12:36:53    1318021

Link

Pennypincher - i think your fairly spot on with that assessment there. A lot of the players on the pitch yesterday were certainly slightly overweight and unfit. I know its only January but Carlow were given permission to train earlier than other counties so had a head start. Unless management have a Plan B in their minds it looks at this stage as if its more of the same for the coming year. I dont understand why they are putting our best players in the space behind the halfback line? Ray Walker, Derek Hayden are 2 of the paciest skillful players we have and i am at a loss as to why they are playing where they are when we are struggling big time in the middle of field?

dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 14/01/2013 14:04:26    1318113

Link

Lads can we genuinely say that the best panel is involved this year?. There must be other lads out there who were not asked in or simply refuse to go in.
Rainbows backroom team must ensure that the best possible team is involved. How much contact did they make with the clubs. What was the criteria for panel formation. Were there trials held? I would suggest even at this late stage that a trial match between the possibles and probables to include new faces should be held. Carlow supporters deserve more than they are getting at present.

Chips (Carlow) - Posts: 141 - 14/01/2013 14:14:43    1318125

Link