Team news: O'Rourke keeps faith

July 14, 2017

Monaghan's Karl O'Connell celebrates after scoring a goal against Wexford.
©INPHO/Oisin Keniry.

Monaghan boss Malachy O'Rourke sees no need to alter his starting fifteen ahead of tomorrow's All-Ireland SFC Qualifier clash against Carlow at Netwatch Cullen Park.

The Fermanagh native has unsurpisingly kept faith with the same side that walloped Wexford by 18-points in the previous round last weekend. 

With no fewer than 14 different scorers over the 70 minutes, the Farney County put 'Banty' McEnaney's Model men to the sword in impressive manner.

Dismissed on a black card in the first half at Wexford Park, Conor McManus again captains the team from corner-forward, with Tyholland star Karl O'Connell reverting from midfield to wing-back in a swap with Neil McAdam.

Monaghan (All-Ireland SFC v Carlow): Rory Beggan; Fintan Kelly, Drew Wylie, Ryan Wylie; Dessie Mone, Colin Walshe, Karl O'Connell; Kieran Hughes, Neil McAdam; Gavin Doogan, Dermot Malone, Shane Carey; Owen Duffy, Jack McCarron, Conor McManus.

Subs: Conor Forde, Kieran Duffy, James Mealiff, Brian Greenan, Vinny Corey, Darren Hughes, Dessie Ward, Ryan McAnespie, Thomas Kerr, Conor McCarthy, Darren Freeman.

Most Read Stories