Toolbar Header Preload Menu Menu

New Tom Markham Cup commissioned

25 November 2013

Tyrone captain Shea McGarrity, lifts the Tom Markham Cup after the ESB GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship final at Croke Park.
A new cup will be presented to the winners of next year's All-Ireland minor football champions.

It follows the decision by the GAA to commission a new Tom Markham Cup. Named after a well-known Clare GAA figure, the cup was first presented in 1929 and has been won by 18 different counties in the intervening period.

The decision to commission a new cup means Mayo - who defeated Tyrone in September's All-Ireland minor final - are the last holders of the existing cup.


What do you think ? Be the first to comment on this article.

Add new comment

Name: (*)  
E-Mail Address: (Not Displayed)
From: (Town/County)