Club notes

November 25, 2008
Updates from the Clontarf, O'Dwyers, Na Fianna, Naomh Olaf, St. Margarets, Erin go Bragh, Lucan Sarsfields, Wanderers, Raheny, Scoil Ui Chonaill and St Brigids clubs Clontarf Senior Footballers lost to Skerries (1-9,0-10) in their last league fixture and now face a one game relegation playoff to maintain Div 2 status. Minor Footballers beats St. Pats (P) in the Championship quarter final and now play Round Towers in the semi-final next Sunday.Under 11 Footballers concluded their season with the A team defeating Plunketts and B team having a big win over O'Dwyers. Other B team lost narrowly to Plunketts B. Under 9 red team beat St Peregrins on Saturday by 12 points in St. Pauls. Another fantastic result and this continues the red teams unbeaten record since the summer break.Under 8 footballers competed well against Naomh Barrogs.Ladies Inters had a great night in the club on Fri for their end of season get together. Thanks to Peter Hickey and the band for great entertainment. U13 girls lost a thrilling Shield final to Sylvesters. Thanks to all those who supported our Race Night fundraiser at the clubhouse on Sat. Special thanks to Don Palmer and all who assisted in a very successful event - www.clontarfgaa.com O'Dwyers Results: O'Dwyers Inter team and U10's team took part in the Francis Leonard Memorial Day in Erins Isle on Sunday. Well done to all the organisers of this event in memory of Francis who tragically died during a football match against O'Dwyers 2 years ago. The Leonard family have since been responsible for the opening of a Standalone Cardiac Screening Unit in Tallaght Hospital. Juvenile: The Nursery skills camp is run from 11am to 12.30pm every Saturday morning in the Combined Clubs over Winter, and costs 2e per child. The camps are aimed at 5-8years old and they learn about both Hurling and Football. Contact Aidan Smith or Mary Kenny for more details. Social: O'Dwyers Bingo every Wednesday Night at 8.55pm in the Club House. All welcome. Cultural Club Classes: New Members welcome for all classes. For more information on any classes contact Freda Smith 086-3249476. Upcoming dates for your diary: Set Dancing Session and music with Liam Carter in O'Dwyers GAA Clubhouse, on Sunday 30th November. Dancing from 9.30pm. Everyone welcome. Don't forget Christmas Dinner Party on Friday 12th December at 8.30pm in O'Dwyers GAA Clubhouse with music by Liam Carter. Tickets ?18 available from Freda Smith or any committee member. Everyone welcome. O'Dwyers AGM will take place this Thursday 27th November in the Club House at 8.30pm. Na Fianna Great win for Minor A footballers in championship semi-final against Ballyboden on Sunday morning in gruelling conditions. Minor As will play St Brigidís in county final in OíToole Park on Sunday, 7 December in a re-run of last year's final. Big support needed from Na Fianna faithful. Great win also for U16 girlsí footballers who won shield semi-final against Crokes at St Mobhi Road on Sunday and will be in final this weekend. U14 hurlers drew against Ballyboden and U16B lost out on league play-off decider by one point. Congrats and well done to Tom·s Brady on being named as Dublin Young Hurler of the Year. Well done to our ScÛr na n"g cÈilÌ dancers and quiz team who became Dublin champions and qualify for Leinster Final on 6 December next. Sympathies to Colum Cronin, Na Fianna Juvenile Chairman, and Ciaran Fagan on recent deaths of their fathers. Please note Choir Service in club on Sunday, 21 December ñ tickets on sale soon. Only limited number of club calendars left, so get yours now to avoid disappointment. Calendars are Ä10 each or three for Ä25 and can be bought from mentors, club shop, bar or during nursery. Finally, short club newsletter to be published before Christmas. If you want material in it please forward to [email protected] before Friday, 5 December next. Pat Montague, Na Fianna PRO. Naomh Olaf Comhghairdeas mór leis na seachtar bpaistí as Naomh Olaf a ghlac pirt i gcomórtas ceannais Scór na nÓg ÁthCliath i CLG Chraobh Chiarin,Dé Sathairn seo caite. Cé nr bhuaigh siad an t-am seo bhí siad go léir srmhaith ar fad. Best of luck to all the clubs who won in the various Scór na nÓgcategories and now go on to represent Dublin in the Leinster semifinals in Mullingar next month. The club lotto was not won - numbers drawn were 15,24 & 31 - the jackpot is now 2200. The Payday Special is on this Thursday night in the club - all pints 3.50. Limited(50) 5 Turkey/Ham draw on Saturday.Trad music night is on Friday 5th December, Christmas Trees go on sale 6/7 December and the Barnardos Santa Dash is on 7th December. Naomh Olaf participants can be sponsored collectively on www.barnardos.ie. There was a good win for the U21 footballers who defeated O'Tooles 12 pts to 6 in the first round of the Championship. Well done to the U10 girls who finished second in league Div 2 to match their runners up place in the Div 2 Championship. Finally congratulations to the U12 footballers who are Div 3 league winners with an impressive 10 wins from 10.www.naomholaf.com St. Margarets The club AGM takes place in the complex this Thursday at 8pm sharp, we urge all paid members for this year to attend. The club will be holding an end of year centenary celebrations night in the Coolquoy Lodge on St. Stephens night, your support for this night is greatly appreciated, more information to follow. Congrats to Laurence and Sarah Flood on the birth of the beuatiful baby girl Jennifer Molly. Well done to Brian, Gear??id, Colm and Gareth who won the Meath schools league with St. Declans, Ashbourne on Saturday. U-13 shield final is due to take place this Saturday, see fixtures for details, best of luck to the lads and all support welcome. U-11's beat St. Pats Donabate at the weekend, best displays >from Emma Colgan and Liam Donoghue. No winner of this weeks lotto, numbers were 12, 23, 25 and 27. Winners of Eu20 were Stepho Williams, Rainey, Tommy Kennedy, Catherine Larkin, Joan McKenna. Next weeks jackpot is still Eu5,000.00 which would make xmas that bit easier for anyone, so purchase tickets to be in with a chance of winning or sharing the jackpot. [email protected] Erin go Bragh We will be holding a Monster quiz in the Paddocks this Friday 28th November to raise funds for the club. The cost will be EUR40 per team of 4 which can be paid on the night and the fun starts at 9pm. It was a local derby weekend with our U7, U8's and junior hurlers playing St Peregrines. It all bodes very well for next years under U8's with great performances all round and thanks to the mentors and kids from Peregrines for some great games. The current under 8's played some great football and came out on top. Commiserations to the junior hurlers who went down narrowly but they will be back up again next year! There was no winner of this week's lotto. The winning numbers were 4,12,23,32. Next week's Jackpot EUR5,000. For more information relating to the club please contact Keith Edgely on 086 350 6602 or visit our website www.eringobraghgaa.ie. Lucan Sarsfields Great news as Lucan Sarsfields was awarded the "Friends of Dublin Hurling" Senior Club of the Year award. Hard luck to Senior footballers who were narrowly beaten in the B Final. Congrats to U13 ladies on their Shield success. Good luck to our U21A footballers in the Championship tomorrow Wednesday at 8 pm in Balgriffin. Well done to winner Jamie Hennessy; and all the contestants in our hugely successful Sars Stars. Get your ticket for our Annual Christmas Draw. 40 prizes with a first prize of ?3,000 for just a fiver. Please return all the SOLD ticket stubs as soon as possible. The Annual Mass for Deceased Members is on this Thursday at 7.30pm in the Club. Our Annual Table Quiz in aid of St. Vincent de Paul takes place next Wednesday December 3rd at 8.30 pm sharp. All support for this event is encouraged. Adult Awards Night is on Saturday December 6th. Condolences to the Martin family on the passing of Pam's father Angus Macleod. Three clicks and you can enter our Lotto online at www.lucansarsfields.ie. Lotto 11, 15, 18, 24 - no winner. This week's lotto, sponsored by Careys Newsagents, has a jackpot of ?2,500 and Gerry McAndrew's team will be on duty. Mike Hanley PRO Lucan Sarsfields 087 295 7235 Wanderers Up-Coming matches: Our Junior A,Äôs take on Raheny this Thursday night (27-11-08) in Ringsend, throw in 8:00PM. All support welcome. The Wanderers end of season party and Award night will take place in the Merry Ploughboy on Saturday November 29th, There are very few tickets remaining for this event, so anyone who would like to go please contact any Committee member as soon as possible. AGM: The AGM will take place on Thursday December 4th in the clubhouse. All proposals/nominations should be sent to the secretary as soon as possible. 25,Äôs cards takes place in the club every Friday night starting at 9:00PM. All welcome to take part. Lotto: No Lotto results available at time of print. Results will be posted on the website when available. www.ballybodenwanderers.com Raheny Kevin Broderick,our hurling co-ordinator has organised a hurling course,given by George O Connor[Wexford]for next Fri.at O Tooles all weather pitch at 7.30pm.All are welcome.Details on www.rahenygaa.ie.U21 F/blrs lost c/ship game to O.Plunketts/Eoghan Ruaidh.U16s had a great win over St.Judes in a tight game.U15s lost to Ballymun Kickhams and U13s lost to Whitehall Colmcilles.U11s and U9s won against same opposition.U10s won against O Dywers and U8s won their last game against St.Magarets.Camogie section welcome new members 7-10yrs.Come along and join a team sport and have some fun.Queries to Pat at 8310176 or Joe at 8771019.GAA Craic Club meets at 8pm next Thurs in club hall.Scor na nOg committee thanks Raheny for sponship of the Novelty Act Trophy.Well done to all winners in the Dublin Finals held in Craobh Chiaran.Christmas trees available at clubhouse from Dec.6th and donations from sale of each to Club Developement Fund.Torthai an Chrannchur 17-11.Uimhreacha 17-24-20-16.Ni raibh aon buaiteoir.Pota Oir 24-11 E1600.Go n-eiri libh go leir. Scoil Ui Chonaill The AGM is on Thursday 27th at 8p.m.in the clubhouse and all members are asked to attend at this very important stage of the club plan. Well done to our under 21 squad on their winning performance in the opening round of the championship. Draw for under 7,Äôs and a win for under 11,Äôs while under 14,Äôs had a walkover but came out top of their league. Congratulations lads. Hard luck on under 10,Äôs and 12,Äôs. We need volunteers for bag packing in Artaine Castle on Friday the 5th December from 5-30o.m. until 8p.m. and all day Saturday.9.30a.m. till 6p.m. Please contact Niamh Crowe if you are willing to help 8333599, text 086 2246886 or email her at [email protected]. Children must be 12 plus to help. There was no winner of the Lotto jackpot. ¬?The winners of the Eu20 consolation prizes were:- Danny Smith and Mairead O'Carroll. Richie Flavin,Äôs farewell do was a great success and a tribute to this club stalwart. Good luck overseas Richie. St Brigids Junior A Hurlers Champo Final was postponed due to Naomh Barrog's involvement in Leinster Champo. Congrats to Paddy Andrews & Alan Daly on their blue star nominations. U21 Hurlers face St Vincents at 2.15pm this Saturday in Champo in PNU. Get out there and give the lads the support they deserve. Minor Footballers Champo Final will take place on Sunday Decemeber 7th in O'Toole Pk at 11am. Busy weekend of adult football with 4 teams facing important games. Senior 1 Footballers face St Marks at 11am in McGee Pk on Sunday while the Senior 2 Footballers face Sygne St in Dolphin Pk on Sunday at 11am. Inter 2 Footballers face Erins Isle at 11am on Sunday in Russell Pk while the Junior A Footballers face Raheny in St Annes Pk at 2.15pm on Sunday. Club Lotto takes place in The Roselawn this Thursday with a Jackpot of E5400. Club AGM takes place on Sunday December 7th at 6pm. Kids Xmas Party will also take place on Sunday December 7th.

Most Read Stories