All-Ireland SFC qualifier: McShane impresses as Red Hands negotiate Rossies

July 13, 2019

Roscommon's Niall Daly gets tackle in as Tyrone's Cathal McShane gathers possession

A second-half surge saw Tyrone past Roscommon in today’s round 1 All-Ireland SFC qualifier clash at Dr Hyde Park.

With Cathal McShane prominent, Mickey Harte’s men got their Super 8s Group 2 campaign off to a 0-17 to 0-13 winning start.

The hosts had cause for optimism when trailing by just 0-6 to 0-8 at the change of ends but the Red Hands’ greater experience told after the break as they outscored Anthony Cunningham’s side by eleven points to five.

Full-forward McShane took the scoring honours with 0-8 (three from play).

When these two sides met at this stage 12 months ago, Tyrone enjoyed an 18-point victory but they were made work harder for their win this time around.

Goalkeeper Niall Morgan pulled off two fine saves to keep Cathal Cregg and Roscommon captain Enda Smith at bay in the opening period.

At the opposite end of the field, McShane received good support from Niall Sludden – who finished with 0-3 to his name – while the crossbar denied Peter Harte a second-half goal.

Tyrone’s Peter Harte is tackled by Cathal Cregg and Enda Smith of Roscommon

Sludden’s Roscommon counterpart Darren O’Malley also saved smartly from McShane in that period.

An 18 minute barren period in front of the posts proved costly for the home side during the second-half whereas Tyrone kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Points from Mattie Donnelly, McShane and Harte wrapped up the win and they will approach their phase 2 game against Cork in a confident frame of mind.

Roscommon, meanwhile, have a mountain to climb with All-Ireland champions Dublin up next.

Tyrone - N Morgan; HP McGeary, R McNamee, R Brennan; M Cassidy, F Burns (0-1), M McKernan; C Cavanagh, B Kennedy (0-1); M Donnelly (0-2), P Harte (0-1), C Meyler; N Sludden (0-3), C McShane (0-8, 5f), D McCurry (0-1). Subs: B McDonnell for B Kennedy, K McGeary for HP McGeary, R Donnelly for B McDonnell, P Hampsey for M Cassidy, C McAliskey for N Sludden, A McCrory for C Meyler.

Roscommon - D O’Malley (0-1f); D Murray, S Mullooly, C Daly; N Daly (0-1), C Hussey, R Daly; T O’Rourke, S Killoran (0-1); H Darcy, C Cregg (0-1), N Kilroy; D Murtagh (0-4, 3f), C Cox (0-2, 1f), E Smith (0-1). Subs: B Stack (0-1) for H Darcy, C Compton for C Hussey, D Smith for C Cregg, F Cregg for S Killoran, A Glennon (0-1) for C Cox.

Referee - D Coldrick.

Most Read Stories