Connacht U20FC: Mayo thump Sligo to seal final berth

July 03, 2019

Mayo U20s are back in the Connacht final after a comfortable win over Sligo at McHale Park

Holders Mayo advanced to the Connacht final with a 1-25 to 1-6 victory over Sligo at Castlebar.

This was a one-sided contest and the outcome was never in any doubt, despite a great effort from the Yeats County, whose goal was scored by Sean Carroll in the second half.

Corner back Oisin Mullin registered the winners’ three-pointer four minutes from the end, but the match was over as any sort of contest long before then.

The winners bossed the first half to turn around with one foot already in the provincial final – 0-12 to 0-2, dangerous trio Evan O’Brien, Tommy Conroy and Aidan Orme each slotting three scores before the break.

O’Brien struck the opening point from a free and Conroy added the hosts’ second and third after Barry Gorman had equalised. Conroy and Orme raised white flags, Alan Reilly delivering the losers’ second and last first-half point in the twelfth minute.

Mayo finished the first half with eight unanswered scores, Paddy Goldrick (2) and Stephen McGreal also getting in on the act. The Yeats County had a chance to grab a lifeline five minutes from the short whistle but Jamie McNicholas frustrated them with a fine penalty save from Reilly.

O’Brien pointed for Mike Solan’s charges either side of one from Gavin Durcan when the action resumed and it was telling that the home team’s next two scorers – McGreal (2) and Conroy – both played in last year’s inaugural U20 All-Ireland final.

Galway, who beat Roscommon in tonight's other semi-final, await Mayo in the provincial decider, which takes place in Tuam next Wednesday.

Mayo - J McNicholas; J Coyne, R Brickenden, O Mullin (1-0); A McDonnell, C Beirne, E McLaughlin; E O’Brien (0-6, 4f), G Durcan (0-2); J Gallagher (0-1), P Towey (0-1), P Goldrick (0-2); A Orme (0-3), S McGreal (0-3), T Conroy (0-5). Subs: D McBrien for J Coyne (BC), D Gannon for E McLaughlin, N Moran (0-1) for P Goldrick, M Moran (0-1) for S McGreal, K Conway for J Gallagher, C Gavin for T Conroy.

Sligo - A Davey; E Lyons, J Ellis, D Barrett; C Surlis, R McHugh, J Carroll; L Towey, D McDermott; K McKenna, S Deignan (0-2f), N Connolly; A Reilly (0-1f), B Gorman (0-3), G Gorman. Subs: S Carroll (1-0) for J Carroll, H Gilvarry for D McDermott, C Marren for N Connolly, C Brett for A Reilly, P Flynn for K McKenna, E Hallinan for D Barrett.

Referee - J Molloy.

Most Read Stories