Ulster Club SFC: Beggan sends over the winner as late Scotstown rally sinks Eoghan Rua

November 18, 2018

Coleraine's Colm McGoldrick with Emmet Caulfield of Scotstown during the Ulster club SFC semi-final in Omagh

Scotstown timed their run to perfection to secure a place in this year’s Ulster Club SFC final at the expense of Eoghan Rua, Coleraine in Healy Park today.

Kieran Donnelly’s side sent over the last three points of the penultimate stage contest to prevail on a scoreline of 1-14 to 2-10.

Defenders Ryan O’Toole and Damien McArdle roamed forward to kick crucial scores before All-Star goalkeeper Rory Beggan sent over the winner from a long range free.

An evenly contested first-half finished with the Colm McGoldrick captained Derry champions ahead by the narrowest of margins – 1-7 to 1-6.

A point from corner-back Barry Daly separated the teams at the short whistle after Ciaran Mullan had cancelled out Conor McCarthy’s early goal for the Monaghan men.

A converted Shane Carey frees drew the Monaghan men level three minutes after the resumption but Ruairi Mooney pounced for Coleraine’s second goal shortly after.

Entering stoppage time, Coleraine were two points to the good but they were caught on the line by Scotstown’s late scoring burst.

‘Keeper Beggan converted three frees for the winners and the Darren Hughes captained outfit now await the winners of the second semi-final between Gaoth Dobhair and Crossmaglen in the decider.

Scotstown - R Beggan (0-3f); D McArdle (0-2), E Caulfield, J McDevitt; R O’Toole (0-1), D Morgan, B Boylan; F Caulfield, D Hughes (0-1); C McCarthy (1-1), K Hughes (0-2), S Carey (0-2f); J McCarey, O Heaphey (0-1), F Maguire (0-1). Subs: R McKenna for O Heaphey, P Sherlock for J McCarey, J Hamill for F Caulfield, M McCarville for F Maguire. 

Eoghan Rua, Coleraine - R McGeough; B Daly (0-1), L McGoldrick, C Lagan; C Daly, B McGoldrick (0-1), C Mullan (1-0); N Holly, R Mooney (1-1); D Mullan (0-3), S L McGoldrick, G McWilliams (0-3, 2f); M McTaggart, Colm McGoldrick (0-1), Ciaran McGoldrick. Sub: R Carey for N Holly.

Referee - C Branagan.

Most Read Stories