Advertisement

Predictions for winner of NFL Division 1?

hurlingdub

Dublin could have won by 14 as 4. Good late entry from the Westmeath boy for Oscar nomination in attempt to get MDM sent off.

It should have been a second yellow. Dublin knew he was on thin ice and thats why they took him off straight away after it.

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 09/02/2014 18:11:07    1543665

square_ball_69
County: Westmeath

hurlingdub

Dublin could have won by 14 as 4. Good late entry from the Westmeath boy for Oscar nomination in attempt to get MDM sent off.

It should have been a second yellow. Dublin knew he was on thin ice and thats why they took him off straight away after it.

A second yellow for what? MDMA stood there while the WM players ran towards him and threw himself on the ground before he even got to Mick. He should of at least ran in to MDMA as it would made his dive look a little less embarrassing.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13850 - 09/02/2014 18:18:41    1543673

Its funny the Guys who want the black card done away with are the ones moaning the most when it is not shown, instead of trying to hightlight every tackle and argueing whether it was a black or a yellow card we should be judging the players attitude to it as a whole, definetly on occasions this year so far lads have pulled out of body checks because they did not want to leave the field , that alone is a positive. A lot of other tackles will happen anyway, but the black cards whole idea is a deterent and on that alone its working.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 09/02/2014 18:30:12    1543689

redhanddefender

With regards the black card it is cutting out the body check on running men which is a positive but totally stupid to say it would cut out the tackle carried out on mc manus last year. you are missing the point, if the same situation arises any game, any smart player in ireland will take him down and take the black card. Refs clearly are pulling on producing the card and giving players a yellow or ticking or second chance instead.

Last year if the black card was there it could have been a different outcome with 15/20 mintues left if Cavanagh had to be taking off and he was probably ye main player that day. Also f a lad is already on a yellow and it gets a black that the team down to 14 men so unless its in the last few minutes players won't be cynically fouling.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 09/02/2014 19:01:04    1543711

Congrats to Derry today they are a fine strong team and missing a lot of players through injury and club commitments as 1 Derry fan was telling me, really nice people as well and all the best to them in the rest of the league, as for my own team we did really well but we are probably still a bit physicialy small and light, we seem to be producing very small light forwards for some reason, but all in all it was a good game lots of scores but very few goal chances. Derry kicked some savage long range points as well, very impressive.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2014 19:03:02    1543716

It was embarrassing square ball. Look at it again. Chap should be cringing when he sees it. Oscar nominations are closed :-)

Having said that, Westmeath were very good today. And hope you stay up.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 09/02/2014 20:11:41    1543801

The Westmeath lad dive was as bad as Aidan O'Mahony last week.surely referees should be punishing players for diving?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 09/02/2014 20:22:08    1543813

Very true...

If you can beat em... Ch**t em

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 09/02/2014 20:30:21    1543824

That was a good result for Tyrone against the second best team in Ireland. The most obvious difference between the Tyrone of now and the 2013 vintage is goals and lots of them. Last year we struggled to hit the back of the net with any regularity and in doing so heaped pressure on ourselves to close out some games, this year seems to have brought a renewed confidence among our forwards who are not afraid to have a go. Whether or not that will still be the case when its the cut and thrust of championship football, who knows.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 10/02/2014 15:12:59    1544247

Big win for Cork yesterday as well against one of Ireland's only unbeaten teams in this embryonic part of the season. To do so without Aidan Walsh, Michael Shields in particular was very impressive for us. The fact that all 6 of our starting forwards scored more than once from play is also satisfying. In two weeks we play Dublin in Croke Park. Games don't get much tougher than that but we must look forward to it. That game will be test of where we are it. Every game we get to bring our young lads on and come close to a settled team will be beneficial. We need to get to the league semi finals.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/02/2014 15:26:09    1544256

The way the Dubs are playing at the minute

No anti-hype BS

We will be doing well if we reach a semi-final

Big improvement required

I don't see back to back leagues... hope I'm wrong but might be a big ask

Def happy with the commitment and work ethic though... encouraging to see

We've had our backs against the wall and have come out fighting...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/02/2014 15:32:44    1544261

Hard to believe no one has mention the hit McCauley took yesterday absolutely disgraceful , if it was the other way round there would be a page set up about it seen as nothing happened to the Westmeath player. I'm all for hard hitting and stuff it's a mans game but that was way to dangerous and could have broken his jaw. But of course all people are talking about is McCauley should have gotten a black card. Great win away from home against a never say die Westmeath team. Jimbo Hudson was class from the bench and I thought Kilkenny for someone so young was unreal at quarter back yesterday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/02/2014 15:42:45    1544265

Bennybunny
Ye are doing very well in fairness, ye can go in to the Dublin game now with no real pressure and that'll be good for ye'r young lads, Dublin will be nearly back to a full strength team for that game I'd say goin by what I've seen the last few weeks. Ye'r young men will have no fear of them and should be a cracker of a game hopefully it'l be on setanta.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/02/2014 15:54:08    1544274

It's proving to be such a tight league at the moment. A win for Mayo or Kerry in Castlebar could put either team back in contention of a Semi spot. Derry look good and I think they could book a last 4 place.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 10/02/2014 16:10:43    1544289

Fair play bennybunny, ye were well worth your win. Wasn't overly impressed with Cork though. I thought both teams were quite poor.

Last year's match was much better from both sides.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 10/02/2014 16:18:35    1544297

Bennybunny

Yesterday was a pleasant surprise for me. Its great to see the young lads coming in and doing well. Dublin will be a great test in a few weeks( Top of the table clash!!) my only complaint about Cork at the moment is lack of goals.We are creating chances but not converting.

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 614 - 10/02/2014 16:19:05    1544299

Very good win for Cork yesterday, no Shields, Aidan Walsh, Paddy Kelly, Colm O Neill, Damien Cahalane etc. and we still got a result with many young new faces on the team. I think Ruari Deane will have a big impact at midfield this year.

The Dublin match will be a massive test for our new young players, will be interesting to see if we can run them close in 3 weeks.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 10/02/2014 17:17:15    1544358

Jimbo Hudson was class from the bench and I thought Kilkenny for someone so young was unreal at quarter back yesterday.

He showed something didnt he ClonD... a sort of X Factor

4 points

Two from play off on his left, one off his right... and a great free from distance off his left.

He has a long way to go though as you have said in the past... I think it's time for a start in the league.

He's already showed what he's capable of to Jim at U-21 and now the senior setup... time for a start.

No better time against Cork in Croke Park...

CK was very solid yesterday... he has a footballing brain that young man... lots and lots of potential

He'll be the first to admit that he's still learning... a clever young lad.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/02/2014 17:32:50    1544373

I love watching classy corner forwards and Tyrone have a gem in Darren McCurry, he is class Mayo just couldn't handle him at all. Why is Horan playing Coln Boyle at corner back that's two weeks in row now he's got a roasting there, he's a great half back but definitely not a corner back.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/02/2014 17:51:11    1544382

clondalkinsub...... Darren McCurry, he is class Mayo just couldn't handle him at all.
Correct clondalkin, and guess where the best corner back in the country was playing?? Correct! Keith Higgins at number 11. You couldn't make this up!!
I wouldn't mind but Brophy from Kildare did the same thing to us last week and where was Keith?? Right again, centre forward along with Andy out on top of him.

pcworld (Mayo) - Posts: 549 - 10/02/2014 18:36:42    1544412