Limerick Hurling thread 2023

Replying To Doylerwex:  "One of two things can happen now and it all depends how limerick respond.

I remember everyone saying how good it was for hurling when we beat kk in 04.

The whole hurling world paid for it for years.

We created a monster."
I really don't think we can take the credit for that Doylerwex! They won the AI in 2002 and 2003!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11848 - 02/05/2023 15:06:06    2475124

Replying To Doylerwex:  "One of two things can happen now and it all depends how limerick respond.

I remember everyone saying how good it was for hurling when we beat kk in 04.

The whole hurling world paid for it for years.

We created a monster."
Kilkenny lost to ye in 2004 but the year after conceded 5-18 when losing to Galway.

Reacting to a loss mid season is different but again looking at Kilkenny they've done it. They were annihilated by Galway in the 2012 Leinster Final but a few months later beat Galway in the All Ireland final replay by 12 points.

Great teams don't just fall away overnight and with the Manager, Coach, players and backroom team, we have all the tools to do it. They have earned the trust of Limerick folk and they owe us nothing. Whatever magic JK can work, if Limerick get out of Munster they'll be a huge threat in the All Ireland series.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 02/05/2023 19:59:25    2475247

Hegarty's body language wasn't great. Probably thinks he's some kind of victim. The more mature take on it would be for him to find a corner and have a little chat with himself. Don't know if your Sunday Game analyst does your county any favours either. He's always making excuses for your indiscipline.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 03/05/2023 14:33:35    2475427

Replying To gahfan:  "Hegarty's body language wasn't great. Probably thinks he's some kind of victim. The more mature take on it would be for him to find a corner and have a little chat with himself. Don't know if your Sunday Game analyst does your county any favours either. He's always making excuses for your indiscipline."
What's all this indiscipline you are constantly going on about are you talking this season or over a 6 year period, i'm not sure if you are genuine or just trying to wind people up. The Clare, Limerick match was intense and fiercely physical and not a dirty stroke pulled. The All Ireland semi and final didn't have a single yellow card and Hegarty put in one of the all time great performances in the final. The Munster final last year was one of the most intense and fiercely contested games in recent times and again there was barely a yellow card, if any, shown. The incident involving Flanagan was deemed by a neutral party as not being intentional. If you are 6ft 6 and you cover more ground than most and put in more tackles and more challenges and gain more possessions than most other forwards and indeed many defenders, then sometimes, yes you will also pick up some yellow cards along the way.

Damien Cahalane hit someone in the head on Sunday and there wasn't a word about it, there was also at least two other incidents in with contact to the head in the Galway Kilkenny match.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 387 - 03/05/2023 15:58:29    2475460

Replying To gahfan:  "Hegarty's body language wasn't great. Probably thinks he's some kind of victim. The more mature take on it would be for him to find a corner and have a little chat with himself. Don't know if your Sunday Game analyst does your county any favours either. He's always making excuses for your indiscipline."
You talk a whole lot of biased nonsense gahfan. I was speaking to a ref assessor after the KK/CK League Semi Final. He was from a neutral county and of course an expierianced referee. He said there was four players who should have seen red, but only one did, in that game. How come no newspaper or anybody on Social Media commented on this. Damien Cahillane has old history for pulling dirty strokes going back to the 2017 AISF, when he got away with a savage dirty tackle on Austin Glesson, but was still put off later in the game anyway. But of course he is a Corkman and immune from all criticism from you or indeed other Wexford contributors on here.
How many players had to go off injured as a result of injuries inflicted by Limerick Players over the past five years of indeed how times did you see any of their opponents going off to be sutured.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 03/05/2023 16:23:26    2475476

Replying To Fitzy01:  "What's all this indiscipline you are constantly going on about are you talking this season or over a 6 year period, i'm not sure if you are genuine or just trying to wind people up. The Clare, Limerick match was intense and fiercely physical and not a dirty stroke pulled. The All Ireland semi and final didn't have a single yellow card and Hegarty put in one of the all time great performances in the final. The Munster final last year was one of the most intense and fiercely contested games in recent times and again there was barely a yellow card, if any, shown. The incident involving Flanagan was deemed by a neutral party as not being intentional. If you are 6ft 6 and you cover more ground than most and put in more tackles and more challenges and gain more possessions than most other forwards and indeed many defenders, then sometimes, yes you will also pick up some yellow cards along the way.

Damien Cahalane hit someone in the head on Sunday and there wasn't a word about it, there was also at least two other incidents in with contact to the head in the Galway Kilkenny match."
Yes, I was talking to a Galway Supporter and he pointed that anomaly to me.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 03/05/2023 16:24:49    2475477

Watching the games at weekend and I'm convinced Limerick are reffed differently and othe counties aren't highlighted as much..a few incidents in Galway/kk match weren't even shown on high lights programme..I know due to the high profile we are in media eye more but for me other counties seem to get away very lightly..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 03/05/2023 19:13:12    2475520

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Watching the games at weekend and I'm convinced Limerick are reffed differently and othe counties aren't highlighted as much..a few incidents in Galway/kk match weren't even shown on high lights programme..I know due to the high profile we are in media eye more but for me other counties seem to get away very lightly.."
They are ya, the referee seems to forget where he left his Red Cards

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 04/05/2023 11:14:23    2475609

How long are you a body language expert? Hegarty has scored 3-15 from play in the last 3 AI finals, I think he'll be grand when the biggest games come around. As for our man on Sunday game at least he discusses his county's indiscipline instead of just ignoring other counties discipline eg. last Sunday 3 or 4 head hits and pulling face guard and no endless replays.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 04/05/2023 18:57:04    2475778

Can I just wish Sean Finn the very best of luck for a speedy recovery..big loss for rest of year..like his attitude and always plays with a smile on his face.

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 05/05/2023 10:50:20    2475852

Finn is an enormous loss. Best man marker in the game. As the pressure ramps up he gets calmer and calmer. Best wishes to him on his recovery. He'll be back. I'm sure he'll be involved going forward. There's an incredible bond in that group and he's one of the most likeable of them all.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1127 - 05/05/2023 10:55:54    2475854

Best wishes to Sean Finn on his recovery from the ACL injury, best defender around at the moment in my view, I'm sure a massive loss to club for later in the year too.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1716 - 05/05/2023 10:56:48    2475856

Gutted to hear about Sean Finn's injury. Mister dependable, doing what he does without fuss.

He will be hard to replace.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 05/05/2023 11:48:22    2475874

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Can I just wish Sean Finn the very best of luck for a speedy recovery..big loss for rest of year..like his attitude and always plays with a smile on his face."
Terrible for Sean, really wish him well, one of the best defenders of his generation possibly all time will be huge loss even for a County like Limerick with strong panel.

Its a long recuperation but he will have best care

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 05/05/2023 11:55:55    2475880

Our midfielders are not scoring which is a problem ,they do a lot of work people say but so does David Fitzgerald of Clare
and he chips in with 3or4 pts in every game ,I,d bring Cian Lynch into midfield and Kyle Hayes centre forward .

Dublinculchie1 (Limerick) - Posts: 129 - 05/05/2023 13:02:43    2475895

Replying To daveboy:  "Finn is an enormous loss. Best man marker in the game. As the pressure ramps up he gets calmer and calmer. Best wishes to him on his recovery. He'll be back. I'm sure he'll be involved going forward. There's an incredible bond in that group and he's one of the most likeable of them all."
Terrible to see any player suffer such injury after what they put in and now the work behind the scenes for Sean to recover. This effects all aspects of his life. The best of luck to him on this journey.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 05/05/2023 13:51:12    2475916

Tipp v Clare Munster final

Premier28 (Tipperary) - Posts: 105 - 05/05/2023 14:22:47    2475928

Wishing Sean Finn a speedy recovery, a class act,

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 05/05/2023 17:25:51    2475974

Wouldnt be too worried for Limerick just yet! Kiely said before the Waterford game they got a good bit of work done since the league final which was hard to fathom given it was a two week turnaround. I'd say thats the reason they were flat as much as anything. Also getting to the league final regardless of how the game went was a drain any team could do without that close to chamionship. From a Tipp point of view I'd be worried as we could be in for a right mauling in a couple of weeks. Thankfully for Tipp though the fixtures have most definitely been kind to us this year in terms of gaps between games.
The Tipp-Cork game could well decide who finishes third in Munster but there are sure to be a few more twists.

Finally got to sit down and watch Clare and Limerick. Never thought i'd say this but Limerick are def been reffed differently particularly Heg and WOD. They look at a player and its a free (not going to go into the big incidents). I think Kiely will be disgusted with Hegartys attitude when he came on the last day. He looks very frustrated all year tbh. One strange thing I've noticed for the past year is the play of Mike Casey - he goes on crazy runs up the pitch and hes no Barry Nash. He was inside the Clare 14 yard line the last day at one stage. The game has gone crazy!
Also finally great to see a team just push right up on Limerick and not let their backs have easy possession. I still think it will be an easy AI for Limerick but finally some bit of hope for the rest!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/05/2023 00:37:37    2476012

Replying To Premier28:  "Tipp v Clare Munster final"
Your posts are full is wisdom and knowledge

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 06/05/2023 09:05:55    2476017