Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Great to see Lawlor starting too. Should be a good experience for him.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/01/2023 07:06:36    2453144

In fairness after all the talk about pre season tournaments should be scrapped this is fantastic 13000 people at is great atmosphere everyone on a high should be a great evening strong team out. Enjoy everyone enjoy

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 256 - 20/01/2023 08:55:09    2453148

Strong team named. Good to see likes of Carty, 2 Lawlors , Pepper and McGuckian get a chance,
Would have liked to have seen Ross Banville start again. Anyone know when Conall Flood and Oisin Foley will return? I know we'll have Matt, Moggy and ROC back over the next month

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 20/01/2023 09:42:50    2453152

Replying To Afinestick:  "Strong team named. Good to see likes of Carty, 2 Lawlors , Pepper and McGuckian get a chance,
Would have liked to have seen Ross Banville start again. Anyone know when Conall Flood and Oisin Foley will return? I know we'll have Matt, Moggy and ROC back over the next month"
Oisin Foley is in the panel as far as I know not sure on Flood.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 20/01/2023 10:40:48    2453165

Replying To Viking66:  "Great to see Lawlor starting too. Should be a good experience for him."
Same for Carty and Lawlor in goal, seems the lads who went best the last 2 weeks are getting a chance in front of the big crowd.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 20/01/2023 10:42:07    2453166

Replying To Viking66:  "Stronger team named for Saturday. Good to see Carty, Lawlor, Hearne, Mcguckin and Pepper start. And to see Kevin Foley named on the bench. Hope they do well. And hope Jacko really kicks on this season starting the weekend. Hope Ross Banville gets a decent run out also."
As an United fan, Jacko is a bit like Martial. It's the hope that kills you. Though to be fair, he does usually do well vs. Kilkenny.

Carty must be close to nailing down the wing-back spot, certainly for the league anyway, in the absence of Paudie. I see in the paper he is the first Taghmon player since the early 90s to play at this level- fair play to him.

I look forward to see how the two Lawlors get on, and happy that both are given their chance to stake a claim. Of that minor team of 2019, I always felt that Lawlor had the highest ceiling and would end up having the longest senior career (especially since Molloy seemingly has no interest in the very top). Midfield could be just the spot for him, in an area we need freshening up.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 20/01/2023 10:48:46    2453170

Nice to see carthy get a good run of games. We need more lads that stand out when playing with their club to be part of the panel.

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 251 - 20/01/2023 10:54:52    2453172

Is AJ Redmond injured right now or is he on Fitzgibbon Cup duty?

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 20/01/2023 11:14:49    2453178

Replying To beano:  "As an United fan, Jacko is a bit like Martial. It's the hope that kills you. Though to be fair, he does usually do well vs. Kilkenny.

Carty must be close to nailing down the wing-back spot, certainly for the league anyway, in the absence of Paudie. I see in the paper he is the first Taghmon player since the early 90s to play at this level- fair play to him.

I look forward to see how the two Lawlors get on, and happy that both are given their chance to stake a claim. Of that minor team of 2019, I always felt that Lawlor had the highest ceiling and would end up having the longest senior career (especially since Molloy seemingly has no interest in the very top). Midfield could be just the spot for him, in an area we need freshening up."
The way Carty is getting his chances is reminding me of Devitt last year, they clearly see something in him, given that Taghmon would be very much a dual club these days and he was playing soccer at local premier division standard with Wexford Bohs he should come alot by putting all his focus in hurling over the coming months.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 20/01/2023 11:15:43    2453179

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Oisin Foley is in the panel as far as I know not sure on Flood."
Would be surprised if Flood isn't involved. Thought he done well last year going forward and could be an option at midfield / half forward line

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 20/01/2023 11:29:07    2453181

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Is AJ Redmond injured right now or is he on Fitzgibbon Cup duty?"
He's not playing Fitzgibbon this year as far as I know.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/01/2023 11:51:46    2453188

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "The way Carty is getting his chances is reminding me of Devitt last year, they clearly see something in him, given that Taghmon would be very much a dual club these days and he was playing soccer at local premier division standard with Wexford Bohs he should come alot by putting all his focus in hurling over the coming months."
Like Stephen O Gorman he always preferred hurling. The 2 lads played underage hurling for Wexford all the way up to u21. And the Taghmon team they played underage for won u14 and u16 County hurling titles.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/01/2023 11:54:13    2453189

Replying To Afinestick:  "Would be surprised if Flood isn't involved. Thought he done well last year going forward and could be an option at midfield / half forward line"
He was always a forward underage. Joe O Connor is another good hurler that has played mostly as a back at intercounty that did most of his underage hurling as a forward. Hopefully both will be options there this year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/01/2023 11:56:51    2453190

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "The way Carty is getting his chances is reminding me of Devitt last year, they clearly see something in him, given that Taghmon would be very much a dual club these days and he was playing soccer at local premier division standard with Wexford Bohs he should come alot by putting all his focus in hurling over the coming months."
Adam Winters, Jack Dunne and Stephen Stafford from Taghmon also had trials for the u16 Wexford development squad with Ian Carthy.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/01/2023 12:02:56    2453192

Adam Winters, Jack Dunne and Stephen Stafford from Taghmon also had trials for the u16 Wexford development squad with Ian Carthy in 2013. And all made the panel that year along with Stephen O Gorman. The same group beat Gorey in the 2011 u14 hurling final and went on to represent Wexford in the Feile na nGael finals in Galway. They also beat Gorey again in the div1 hurling final later that year and beat the Martins in the div1 football final the same year. A talented bunch of young lads!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/01/2023 12:14:28    2453194

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Is AJ Redmond injured right now or is he on Fitzgibbon Cup duty?"
I seen him at the Fethard Leinster final so 1st Saturday of December with a protective boot on his foot but don't know if he's still injured, he was with the subs but not dogged the day we played Laois.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1676 - 20/01/2023 12:22:02    2453196

Replying To Viking66:  "He was always a forward underage. Joe O Connor is another good hurler that has played mostly as a back at intercounty that did most of his underage hurling as a forward. Hopefully both will be options there this year."
Joe O'Connor might be worth having a look at in midfield. If memory serves me right he got on the fitzgibbon team of the year in midfield when he played with dcu.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 20/01/2023 12:34:30    2453198

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Joe O'Connor might be worth having a look at in midfield. If memory serves me right he got on the fitzgibbon team of the year in midfield when he played with dcu."
He played midfield for the u21s against Dublin in 2018 I think too.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/01/2023 13:10:47    2453204

Replying To Viking66:  "He played midfield for the u21s against Dublin in 2018 I think too."
Is he back training? Be some additions have him and Shane back fully fit too.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 640 - 20/01/2023 14:53:49    2453227

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I seen him at the Fethard Leinster final so 1st Saturday of December with a protective boot on his foot but don't know if he's still injured, he was with the subs but not dogged the day we played Laois."
Aj wasn't on the subs bench was sitting beside James Lawlor's dad last weekend and he said he didn't know what was happening with aj I also asked about Rory and he also said he didn't know. Hopefully Rory looks after himself and is 100 percent for championship at the end of the day that is all that matters. Like ya all we want to find some good players because at the end of the day a lot of the current team will probably leave in the next year or two

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 256 - 20/01/2023 15:30:52    2453239