Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To fathermurphy:  "If we go down to JM it will ruin us for years to come, who is to say we we get out of it next year with the likes of offaly and other teams emerging, players will leave go travelling etc as there will be better options out there, the club scene in wexford is a total disaster ,players will be playing other sports, as the hurling champiionship is rushed and managment dont get enough time to field their best teams, wexford county board need to act fast because we are going in the wrong direction"
Not alone would it be blow to Wexford but to hurling. We need more teams at the top table not less. The game has been dominated by three teams for most of over a century with the odd break through for a year. Limerick has broke that mold. Three teams at the top and at most six some what competitive against each other is a paltry return for the sport.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 28/05/2023 14:37:22    2482155

Replying To fathermurphy:  "If we go down to JM it will ruin us for years to come, who is to say we we get out of it next year with the likes of offaly and other teams emerging, players will leave go travelling etc as there will be better options out there, the club scene in wexford is a total disaster ,players will be playing other sports, as the hurling champiionship is rushed and managment dont get enough time to field their best teams, wexford county board need to act fast because we are going in the wrong direction"
Not alone would it be blow to Wexford but to hurling. We need more teams at the top table not less. The game has been dominated by three teams for most of over a century with the odd break through for a year. Limerick has broke that mold. Three teams at the top and at most six some what competitive against each other is a paltry return for the sport.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 28/05/2023 14:43:05    2482158

Can we just finish now, who needs a second half

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 28/05/2023 14:56:26    2482166

Chinner a warrior. What a hurler. Superhuman. What a game

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 489 - 28/05/2023 16:01:09    2482190

Well we can add Kilkenny 23 to my list earlier

Bawling like a child with Rory and Jack's mother in my arms 20 minutes ago if you can believe it

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2720 - 28/05/2023 16:14:47    2482193

I obviously wanted Kilkenny to win, but well done Wexford on avoiding relegation. It's a shame that those of us who weren't be at the game, couldn't get to watch it. I dare say, that a few of you who were there, have shorter finger nails and a few more white hairs.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2482 - 28/05/2023 16:14:52    2482194

Congratulations Wexford. Well done. Good to see ye not going down! Chin is some detail!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1937 - 28/05/2023 16:15:42    2482195

Could someone check in on Stmunnsriver. I say he is broken hearted. Brilliant display. without the two recks as well. Anyway we enjoy tonight and look at the future going forward tomorrow . We'll done yo the players and supporters today

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 956 - 28/05/2023 16:33:23    2482198

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im 68 years old, that rubbish was grand back in my time, but its dated now give it a rest"
What do you suggest.....Tiktok? Snapchat maybe?

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 28/05/2023 16:38:19    2482201

Well done wexford

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 28/05/2023 16:39:44    2482202

What will we do when Chin finishes, absolute warrior for Wexford the last 10! year's, fair play to an All time Wexford great.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 153 - 28/05/2023 16:44:08    2482204

What a game. Powerful stuff by our guys. Kilkenny contributed greatly to what was an epic encounter.
Today we had heroes all over the field.
They showed heart, determination, skill, intelligence, hunger,accuracy, guts and a never say die attitude. Dee was just brilliant and proved to all that he should never have been left out last week.
Chin is a colossus, Rory, Mogie, jippo, Mac. Osian and Kevin Foley were superb. In fact all the lads should be proud of this result.
Looked bad when Kilkenny got the 2 goals but they tightened up the defence and took the lead at half time.
Second half was a real battle. Great finish and we deserved to win.
Relief is the word I would say is how we all felt at the end. Well done lads, Fantastic game that will live in the memory for a long time.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 287 - 28/05/2023 17:22:04    2482211

Absolutely fantastic game! In Kentucky with the kids now trying to calm back down!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 28/05/2023 17:29:01    2482215

Replying To Jedobi:  "What will we do when Chin finishes, absolute warrior for Wexford the last 10! year's, fair play to an All time Wexford great."
Best Wexford player I've ever seen he is immense

ChinCanHurl (Wexford) - Posts: 264 - 28/05/2023 17:30:17    2482216

Replying To Viking66:  "I've thought about it some more. We will either win or lose very closely, a point or 2, or we will be hammered by at least 10 or more. Really depends on how management and players approach it. There will be a big crowd so they will have their 16th man. Nothing much else we can do for them now."
16th man showed up and played well!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 28/05/2023 17:31:42    2482217

Replying To StoreysTash:  "It is a different animal but I had a tougher time playing against some of those 20-25 year olds at club level than against some older senior panellists.

I now realise my post the other night was a bit over the top and cringe but Wexford never needed support as badly as they do on Sunday. If I was within a short hop of Wexford Park I would not want it to be said at 4pm on Sunday "Where were you"?

People can talk about players commiting all they want but if they don't feel they have the peoples support then why wouldn't they just walk away like the support has done? "Why doesn't he commit" - why would he would commit 4-5 nights a week and support won't even commit to 2-3 hours every few weeks?

I honestly believe the crowd can help this team over the line on Sunday. A decision, a free, etc is easier won if the crowd are calling for it. Referees are human and need to be swayed some times.

Last point - we know full well certain posters who are quiet now will appear if Wexford get relegated on Sunday evening with their agenda, he is the problem this is the problem, county board, and so on. My advice to every poster here with Wexford hurlings best interest at heart is to not reply to these clowns. Let them post whatever they want. If they hide behind anonymity to score a point on somebody, then that is their own problem. All they want is a reaction. Don't give it to them.

My da is a Leeds fan all his life so he is going to have a tough day on Sunday but he said if only 1 are to stay up, he will gladly sacrifice Leeds.

Unfortunately the match is not on GAA GO but I'll be shouting at the radio and dying for a purple and gold win. UP WEXFORD."
Absolutely scandalous that that game wasn't shown on anything!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 28/05/2023 17:33:43    2482218

Replying To Afinestick:  "I agree with you unfortunately. The lads aged 21-26 just arent up to the required standard. We need to get the lads from the last 2 promising under 20 teams up to first 15 inter county standard asap. We also need lads like Cian Molloy and AJ Redmond to commit to the set up, I know its a huge commitment but its very disappointing to lose lads that have hurled for Wexford since they were 13/14"
Lads 21-26 arent good enough? Thought Ian Carty, Mikey Dwyer, Cathal Dunbar, Oisin Foley, Conor Hearne and Rory O'Connor all had good games today. The 2 Recks were injured.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 28/05/2023 17:39:27    2482219

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "Do people actually believe we can win on Sunday after that horror show last week,I can see us be beating by at least 5points?"
Did you go after?!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 28/05/2023 17:41:09    2482220

Replying To ChinCanHurl:  "Best Wexford player I've ever seen he is immense"
Yes in every way. Was wondering why he didn't take the last 2 penalties and I'm wondering even more now. Answered any criticism after the last game well!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12132 - 28/05/2023 17:45:25    2482222

Replying To Viking66:  "Absolutely scandalous that that game wasn't shown on anything!"
I agree. Especially knowing the history of these clashes and what they have given over the years. I predicted the result because of the spirit of Wexford in these clashes. Congratulations. It is too earlier to see teams gone for the year with this format. It is flawed despite all the accolades.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2671 - 28/05/2023 18:11:15    2482239