Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To WEX98:  "Today is the 225th anniversary of the Battle of Oulart Hill.

Let's hope that the 15 Wexford men tomorrow have the same fight and determination."
im 68 years old, that rubbish was grand back in my time, but its dated now give it a rest

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2838 - 27/05/2023 23:11:53    2482055

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "The club championship has everything to do with it.
Even back in the 90s, even in lowly Dublin our training sessions got a lift when the county men came back.
The club game is vital, club players and clubs pushing one and other on raise the standard of the game across a county.
It is a place for a player low on confidence to rebuild it if they are not hurling well, or for other players to put their hand up for the county squad.
What have the Wexford subs gained by playing no games for club or county this year? Nothing.
Remember when Wally Walsh was brought in to the starting 15 or John Hoyne for All-Ireland finals, they were brought in on the back of club performances.
A club scene with a bit of life to it raises the standard in the county. At the moment in Wexford, the club scene at adult level is dead.
I don't have a solution but a championship where 1/10th of the year is club hurling, 1/10th is club football and the rest is whatever cannot be in the interest of Wexford hurling."
Pull out the one or two exceptions and it suddenly becomes the 100%! You are comparing the the 90"s club and inter county game to today? Yes every club gets a boost from their players coming back to play but do you seriously think that the club players are getting better coaching at club than county? The club was knockout in the 90s in Wexford and Dublin so how did playing one or two games a year help hurling? If the extended panel is 40 players each county will use those players in practice games, the leagues etc. if what you are waiting for is the club adult championship to see development of these players for a county team then the game is up. You may find a rough diamond in the sand once every - how may years ? however the reality is unless players are showing the ability from youth then by the time they play adult, having a club championship to help keep the game alive is the plan.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1799 - 28/05/2023 06:43:23    2482070

Replying To Afinestick:  "Extremely nervous about tomorrow . The consequences of losing could be huge for the county. I hope the lads go out and give it absolutely everything . Us Wexford supporters need to back then very step of the way"
Would one season in the JM really be that bad? Couldn't it also have a beneficial effect? A new manager, with several new faces in the squad, finding their feet in a less challenging competition, with promotion and qualification for the All-Ireland at the end of it?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 28/05/2023 09:32:11    2482082

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Famous last words but I think some people are over-exaggerating how bad our hurling structures are. Could they be better? Yes. Are they bad? Probably not.

It's always interesting to hear an outside voice and Michael Verney was saying on Newstalk today (And said on OurGame during the week) that when Offaly got relegated, they were after receiving a lot of hidings in the few years before and that they were on the slide big time; he then said Wexford may be marginally on the slide but you can't really compare them to Offaly.

I think we've made 8 out of the last 11 Leinster Finals at U20/U21 level. Now we've only won three and haven't gone on to win an All-Ireland but over that same timeframe, Kilkenny have made 5 Leinster finals, Dublin have made 4 Leinster Finals, Galway have made 3 Leinster Finals, and Offaly have made 2 Leinster Finals. Across that same timeframe, Carlow have made 2 Leinster Semi-Finals and I don't think Antrim have even made a Leinster SF at U20 level (And of course, the one time they made it to the U21 All-Ireland Final was when they beat us, that's very on-brand for Wexford).

If our underage structures are so bad, then why are we making more U20 Leinster finals than Kilkenny and Dublin (Galway have made 3 out of 6 Leinster Finals which is a worse record than us)? Are we just lucky at that level?

Again, this is not excusing how badly the Seniors have played this year but whilst the underage structures could do with some improvement (Only won 3 out of our last 10 U20/U21 Leinster Finals), the underage results are hardly sufficiently bad that we should radically overhaul our underage hurling structures."
I agree, our underage structures are ok, ye they're not the best in class or anything and could be improved surely but overall they're good am definitely not this barren wasteland that some are attesting to, we do need to get over the line but we are there competing.

But our senior club structure in the county does absolutely noting to develop players, county players training with their clubs for what 7/8 weeks out of 52! And the nature of the "championship blitz" we run meaning they don't even get to properly train with their clubs with games only 7 days apart, 1 recovery session and 1 training being the gist of it. If we are producing decent underage teams but it's not pulling through once players leave underage structures then obviously somethings not working.

Young fellas missing half/entire championships on the back of minor enough strains etc, as was alluded to on the Wexford hurling podcast there isn't a chance for a fella to work himself in to the team, with games every week a lad doesn't get his chance to improve in training and get better each game etc etc.

Our club structure needs a radical overhaul and clubs need to start looking beyond "what's best for us as a club" and look at what's best for the gaa in the county overall, what's going to give us the best opportunity to compete for titles at national county level, it's hypocritical to lay the blame at lack of fans/county board and claim you want the best for Wexford hurling above all else and then fully support a structure that does the complete opposite imho. If that means foregoing clubs participating in Leinster etc etc then so be it, this is on the clubs no one else. All in my own humble opinion obviously.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1325 - 28/05/2023 09:40:25    2482083

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im 68 years old, that rubbish was grand back in my time, but its dated now give it a rest"
You cheering for Kilkenny today?

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 470 - 28/05/2023 10:13:25    2482087

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Would one season in the JM really be that bad? Couldn't it also have a beneficial effect? A new manager, with several new faces in the squad, finding their feet in a less challenging competition, with promotion and qualification for the All-Ireland at the end of it?"
If we go down to JM it will ruin us for years to come, who is to say we we get out of it next year with the likes of offaly and other teams emerging, players will leave go travelling etc as there will be better options out there, the club scene in wexford is a total disaster ,players will be playing other sports, as the hurling champiionship is rushed and managment dont get enough time to field their best teams, wexford county board need to act fast because we are going in the wrong direction

fathermurphy (Wexford) - Posts: 314 - 28/05/2023 10:19:20    2482089

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "You cheering for Kilkenny today?"
I think you can get rid of the question mark in that one.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1654 - 28/05/2023 10:23:20    2482090

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im 68 years old, that rubbish was grand back in my time, but its dated now give it a rest"
Your only 68, plenty of time to get that chip on your shoulder fixed.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1729 - 28/05/2023 10:44:17    2482094

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "You cheering for Kilkenny today?"
I think we all know the answer to that. He will be the happiest man in wexford tonight if we lose.anyway good luck to the lads today, i will be in there cheering them on.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 917 - 28/05/2023 11:09:20    2482099

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Would one season in the JM really be that bad? Couldn't it also have a beneficial effect? A new manager, with several new faces in the squad, finding their feet in a less challenging competition, with promotion and qualification for the All-Ireland at the end of it?"
Darragh Egan was not a good choice of Manager after Davy Fitz. Would Brian Cody go to Wexford for a couple of years. His wife is a Wexford woman. He'd sort a lot out. What's certain is that Wexford is a big county not punching its weight at all in hurling. They haven't won minor or U20/21 All Ireland hurling titles since the 1960s .An incredibly poor record for a county like Wexford. I hope they stay up because names like the Rackards are etched in hurling folklore in the purple and gold but the Wexford county Board need to fundamentally review the structures in the county from underage up.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 28/05/2023 11:17:07    2482101

I agree. It's a game of hurling, not a battle against oppression. No one today can really appreciate what it was like for the vast majority of people living in Wexford, and beyond, in late eighteenth century Ireland. It's almost an insult to them, to compare their struggle's, and life and death battles to a game of hurling.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 28/05/2023 11:40:34    2482107

Replying To tearintom:  "I agree, our underage structures are ok, ye they're not the best in class or anything and could be improved surely but overall they're good am definitely not this barren wasteland that some are attesting to, we do need to get over the line but we are there competing.

But our senior club structure in the county does absolutely noting to develop players, county players training with their clubs for what 7/8 weeks out of 52! And the nature of the "championship blitz" we run meaning they don't even get to properly train with their clubs with games only 7 days apart, 1 recovery session and 1 training being the gist of it. If we are producing decent underage teams but it's not pulling through once players leave underage structures then obviously somethings not working.

Young fellas missing half/entire championships on the back of minor enough strains etc, as was alluded to on the Wexford hurling podcast there isn't a chance for a fella to work himself in to the team, with games every week a lad doesn't get his chance to improve in training and get better each game etc etc.

Our club structure needs a radical overhaul and clubs need to start looking beyond "what's best for us as a club" and look at what's best for the gaa in the county overall, what's going to give us the best opportunity to compete for titles at national county level, it's hypocritical to lay the blame at lack of fans/county board and claim you want the best for Wexford hurling above all else and then fully support a structure that does the complete opposite imho. If that means foregoing clubs participating in Leinster etc etc then so be it, this is on the clubs no one else. All in my own humble opinion obviously."
If you go back to alternate weeks or blocks of 2 the club players, including most of our intercounty Senior hurlers and footballers, will still be playing a game every week. So I don't understand why what you are proposing is going to make any difference to them?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 28/05/2023 11:46:21    2482108

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "I think you can get rid of the question mark in that one."
It's a good thing knitting needles are hard to push through sliotars; )

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 28/05/2023 11:47:37    2482109

Shane Reck is out.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 374 - 28/05/2023 12:20:52    2482117

You obviously know nothing of the impact of such a thing has on generational culture, identity, or even genetics.

That narrative is what's missing the last couple of years

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2623 - 28/05/2023 12:53:53    2482122

Replying To WEX98:  "Shane Reck is out."
Glad u r back WEX98. He's not been at his best all year tbh. Was he carrying a bit of a knock? Hope they are both back fully fit for you for the end of the month.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 28/05/2023 13:24:22    2482132

Here and praying for a miracle

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 110 - 28/05/2023 13:47:16    2482135

I'd say he's starting by the look of it.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 28/05/2023 13:51:40    2482136

You were right I shoulda known better!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 28/05/2023 14:05:53    2482142

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You obviously know nothing of the impact of such a thing has on generational culture, identity, or even genetics.

That narrative is what's missing the last couple of years"
its well past its sell by date, it had an inpact in our day, not any more,

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2838 - 28/05/2023 14:36:38    2482154