Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Replying To Viking66:  "Did you go after?!"
No he got caught up in the traffic jam.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 28/05/2023 18:13:08    2482241

Replying To Viking66:  "Absolutely fantastic game! In Kentucky with the kids now trying to calm back down!"
Welcome to our fine country. That win will make the trip even more enjoyable!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 28/05/2023 18:14:02    2482244

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Welcome to our fine country. That win will make the trip even more enjoyable!"
: D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 28/05/2023 18:44:09    2482255

One little moment that impressed me was from Kevin Foley. When he was subbed off he made a point of giving Conor Hearne a gee up as he was coming on. Like Kevin before him Conor Hearne played very well.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 28/05/2023 18:47:18    2482259

What heart, determination and guts on display. The players were well up for this one. 2.12 in second half with just 1 wide.

It was great to see the players turning to the crowd during the game with fist pumps to get them going.

The crowd itself was very supportive of the players. All came together when it was needed.

That was the first game where we showed any bit of intensity.

What happens next is a conversation for another day. The 4 pervious games can't be ignored.

Different team with o keefe. The only question I have for today was he injured for the last 2 games or what.

Need to enjoy this victory but at the end of the day we are out and it is only the end of May.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 72 - 28/05/2023 18:54:53    2482266

Replying To Canuck:  "I agree. Especially knowing the history of these clashes and what they have given over the years. I predicted the result because of the spirit of Wexford in these clashes. Congratulations. It is too earlier to see teams gone for the year with this format. It is flawed despite all the accolades."
At least it is the same flaws for all the teams. Congrats on beating Tipp. I knew that there was a kick in Waterford hurling, and that it is not as dead as some pundits would have you believe. However, I don't know if the win over Tipp is going to be good for Waterford, as the likelihood now is that they might be inclined to stick with Davy. There is no future with that man at the helm. So, today's victory could actually turn out to be a pyrrhic one. I don't think that it was Davy's motivation or tactics that had Waterford revved up for today. Most of those Waterford lads needed no incentive to give it to Cahill in the neck after the way he treated certain players last year.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 28/05/2023 19:00:59    2482268

Replying To Viking66:  "One little moment that impressed me was from Kevin Foley. When he was subbed off he made a point of giving Conor Hearne a gee up as he was coming on. Like Kevin before him Conor Hearne played very well."
I saw the little dig he gave him.

I also loved mac turning to the stand to get a roar up.

This was the true wexford.

We need a change now though, and to get our best lads involved again.

If we'd produced half that for Dublin and Westmeath we'd be preparing for a leinster final now. Very frustrating

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2624 - 28/05/2023 19:07:01    2482271

Found myself emotional at the end of that. My heart wasn't able for the tension towards the end, but so proud that we got the job done. Dee, Mogie, Chin and Ryan all immense.

Ending the year on a positive note at least, but definitely far more questions that need answering in the off-season.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1409 - 28/05/2023 19:40:41    2482295

Made sure I caught Mogie on the field afterwards, what a servant. Everyone stood up today, including the supporters. The linesman got some going over at the uncovered stand side by the crowd.

Lots of discussion to come over the next while but let's just have a collective sigh of relief today and thank the team.

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 110 - 28/05/2023 19:45:26    2482300

Replying To beano:  "Found myself emotional at the end of that. My heart wasn't able for the tension towards the end, but so proud that we got the job done. Dee, Mogie, Chin and Ryan all immense.

Ending the year on a positive note at least, but definitely far more questions that need answering in the off-season."
It was a performance that left nothing but questions?

You just looked at everything that was so good about Wexford hurling today and asked the question, where the hell was that all year?

What was going on with o Keefe barely getting minutes here and there?

You could say the same for Kevin foley?

Where to from here?

That today is what we are capable of, but it took a backs against the wall do or die game for it to come out, that and the sight of the black and amber who came today to kill us off altogether.

Ended on a high but so many questions, the rest of 2023 is going to be an interesting one particularly in the off season, possible new chairman which may be a mistake imho and a possible new senior hurling manager. Our next appointments maybe be crucial ones in the grand scheme of things.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1326 - 28/05/2023 19:58:45    2482311

Replying To Viking66:  "Yes in every way. Was wondering why he didn't take the last 2 penalties and I'm wondering even more now. Answered any criticism after the last game well!!!!"
I hope Lee Chin goes on to have about 7 sons.

Be god he is some hurler!

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 712 - 28/05/2023 20:02:13    2482314

Replying To tearintom:  "It was a performance that left nothing but questions?

You just looked at everything that was so good about Wexford hurling today and asked the question, where the hell was that all year?

Where to from here?

That today is what we are capable of, but it took a backs against the wall do or die game for it to come out, that and the sight of the black and amber who came today to kill us off altogether.

Ended on a high but so many questions, the rest of 2023 is going to be an interesting one particularly in the off season, possible new chairman which may be a mistake imho and a possible new senior hurling manager. Our next appointments maybe be crucial ones in the grand scheme of things."
I hope the chairman stays tbh, contrary though he is supposed to be!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 28/05/2023 20:07:23    2482317

Well done Wexford on staying up, ye have a chance to make sure it doesn't get that close again.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 813 - 28/05/2023 20:10:20    2482321

Replying To Viking66:  "Absolutely scandalous that that game wasn't shown on anything!"
Now don't start that again, or Pat Spillane will be ranting about us 'Hurling Snobs'.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2445 - 28/05/2023 20:45:03    2482338

Brilliant result today, and crucial too with Antrim winning. Due to work travel commitments, I tried following on twitter and ( occasional) radio, and I got the vibe that there was a fantastic atmosphere in the Park.

Why was the KK goal disallowed late on ?

What now/ next for D Egan & Wexford?

And where are the " Egan must go" keyboard warriors who were so active last week?

Yellaman (Wexford) - Posts: 106 - 28/05/2023 20:53:27    2482343

Replying To Viking66:  "Absolutely fantastic game! In Kentucky with the kids now trying to calm back down!"
When I first read this, I thought wow!, he's watching it in the States, early Sunday morning, with the kids.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2445 - 28/05/2023 20:54:26    2482344

Replying To tearintom:  "It was a performance that left nothing but questions?

Where to from here?

Ended on a high but so many questions, the rest of 2023 is going to be an interesting one particularly in the off season, possible new chairman which may be a mistake imho and a possible new senior hurling manager. Our next appointments maybe be crucial ones in the grand scheme of things."
Ah come on, I know you're elated, but there's no need for nonsense like this '...the sight of the black and amber who came today to kill us off altogether."

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2445 - 28/05/2023 21:03:41    2482352

Replying To Yellaman:  "Brilliant result today, and crucial too with Antrim winning. Due to work travel commitments, I tried following on twitter and ( occasional) radio, and I got the vibe that there was a fantastic atmosphere in the Park.

Why was the KK goal disallowed late on ?

What now/ next for D Egan & Wexford?

And where are the " Egan must go" keyboard warriors who were so active last week?"
Antrim had nothing to do with the equation when we won.

The ball was put in the net after the free was given.

Egan still must go.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2624 - 28/05/2023 21:10:55    2482353

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "When I first read this, I thought wow!, he's watching it in the States, early Sunday morning, with the kids."
Haha!!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11714 - 28/05/2023 21:28:44    2482362

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Antrim had nothing to do with the equation when we won.

The ball was put in the net after the free was given.

Egan still must go."
Well done Wexford today.Brilliant win ! As for the Westmeath game I would nt be blaming the manager.When a team are up 17 points in a second half and lose it has more to do with the players than the manager.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 28/05/2023 21:59:51    2482379